206673 User submitted reviews online!!
Shabbona Lake State Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 7 user reviews. Phone: (815) 824-2106
CGID5624

Shabbona Lake State Park

Camp Information
Sites
152
Date of Stay
May 2013
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   9   7   10   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$35
We camped here Memorial Weekend. It was full and very busy. Unfortunately, still a little cold for our kids with small kids who also came in a tent. Came for some fishing for the little kids, but no luck off shore. Lots of trees and shade, would have welcomed a little sun. Pit toilets/water nearby, a short walk to the showers/flush toilets. Some trails to walk--next time! Didn't see any rangers coming through camp, but didn't see any issues with all the people here either. Visited the park's Pokanoka’s Café for fish dinner. Was OK. Nice boat rental and store and dock area. Might bring our canoe next time, and bikes. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$25
Typical state park. We had a great site near the huge lake in Canvasback Cove. Good fishing and a nice general store that has a variety of items for purchase. There is a restaurant on site, we did not eat there, but we will try it on our next visit. Has a lot of boat ramps which is nice if camping with a boat. Very nice camp hosts. Be careful picking your site. Some sites look like you need to back "up" hill to get into them. Those were in the Teal Bay loop. The dump and fill station was very clean and easily accessible. Two dump's, just wish they were opposite of each other instead of facing the same direction. It could get pretty tight in there if there were a larger motorhome in first. We are scheduled to go back for July 4th. Heard they have fireworks over the lake. It should be nice. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$20
I really enjoyed this campground, super friendly hosts, beautiful grounds well maintained, play areas for children adult picnics, very nice lake with boat rentals available. small restaurant, bait shops, tackle shops. We camp here several times a year, kids have a great time and always look back to going again!!!! We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2007
$12
Very nice campground. Nice hosts. Beautiful views of lake and landscape. Drawbacks. Most sites are terribly off level. Main gate is closed after 10pm. After that, must walk in from there, some 3/4 mile to campsites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2007
$20
One of my favorite state parks! The park takes reservations for a limited number of sites and the rest are first come. The campground map on the website has pictures of most sites when you click on the site number. So it is nice to be able to "see" the site when making reservations. Nice lake and some good hiking trails in the state park. Lots of deer and wildlife to enjoy too. Close to my home, so we camp here quite often and have always enjoyed our stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2007
$15
We loved this park. It was early in the season and only one of the 3 campground loops were open. It was the loop closest to the lake (Canvasback Cove) Each site is large and fairly private, some offer great lake views. They have a nice camp store with boat rentals and bait and camping gear. The lake is huge and they boast that it has great fishing. Nice playground and gazebo in a park area. The Hosts and the other campers were very friendly. Site price was very fair since they have no water or sewer...we will go back when it is warmer for sure. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$20
This is a very nice campground. The employees were very kind and helpful. When I was just about to pull into a spot the guy driving around in his cart stopped me and said he had one even better. He was right, it was right next to the lake and the playground for the kids. This camp ground was extremely clean and all of the sites have large fire rings. The restrooms and showers appeared to be clean as well. It appeared most of the sites have large shade trees. The sites appeared to be a little small but not enough to keep us from going again soon. There is boating and fishing, loaner poles were available to the kids for free. We camped here in a Motorhome We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com