218141 User submitted reviews online!!
Jellystone Park Campground was rated 5 out of 10 based on 9 user reviews. Phone: (315) 963-7096
CGID5653

Jellystone Park Campground

Camp Information
Sites
125
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$54



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   2   8   2   4   9   4   3   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  yes  no  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  yes  no  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2014
$54
We go to Jellystone in Mexico at least once a year, usually for 2 or 3 night weekends. It's 30 minutes from home and is a quick and easy trip. The campground is set right on the Salmon River, which provides a great focal point for this campground. The site sizes are pretty good, and have about 15 that back up to the river bank and 4 or 5 with a great river view. There's a rock point that provides for a sitting/play area when the water level is low (summertime) and is great for the kiddos. The river in the spring time runs pretty quick and if you keep a window cracked open, it will lull you to sleep! The campground itself is nice. Not awesome, not fabulous, but a nice little park that our kids really enjoy going to. Wagon rides are a daily occurrence (unless it's raining) and Yogi and BooBoo come along. They have one of those big bounce pillows up by the pool area, which, even if you're 41, is a ton of fun! Staff has always been helpful, and the older man who directs you to your site in his golf cart is friendly. He's got a dry sense of humor and APPEARS a cantankerous old stooge, but he's a funny guy and very helpful. This place can get soggy, so if there's been a lot of rain prior to your stay, some of the sites can get muddy. Due to being on the river the campground doesn't drain very well, but when it's dry it's fine. Be warned: the drive down the hill after checking in the office is steep, and the longer rigs WILL drag rear bumpers at the bottom. Also, lots of mature and big trees, so yes, there is much foliage cover, but the shade is great. We really didn't use restrooms/showers very much, but they're okay. Pros: good size sites, lots of shade, riverside, fun staff, good activities for kids. Cons: older campground, steep grade at entrance, few sewer sites, when it's wet it's WET. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2012
$50
My family (wife, two daughters & dog) have camped at dozens of locations for the last two summers. We were excited to visit this campground following one of our best experiences at Jellystone, Java, NY. What a disappointment!!! We stayed in this park 5 nights, and this was too long. It started upon check in when the our greeter in the golf cart was very unfriendly. We were given strict orders not to use a "reel" leash, and only walk the dog to and from the dog area, not around the park. My kid’s heart were broken and the dog had to be crated much of the time when we left the campsite. A few times we deviating slightly from the walk to the dog area such as going to the rest room or store and were strictly reminded we were NOT allowed in the location with the dog. Unbelievable as the park was empty and no others were around. Believing everything is done for a reason, I questioned a long term worker about the policy and she had no idea when the policy began and had no explanation why the policy was strictly enforced. I cannot rate this park low enough for not being a pet friendly park. Another surprise was the pool and bathrooms. There was no ventilation and the stalls were growing mold in all the corners. The pool was very cold and dirty. Really no chairs were around when watching the kids. The only positive from the experience was the river running right behind the motorhome. This park has the potential to be a very nice park if new owners came in revamped the campground and ran it similar to Jellystone, Java. I will never go back to this campsite and shame on Jellystone for allowing a kid and pet unfriendly location!!!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$45
Very clean park with lots of activities for the kids. Has a nice store, canteen. Would go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2010
$39
We only stayed in this park 1 night, and that was too long. It started upon check in when the office staff wanted all adults and children to wear wrist bands to be on site. What? When pressed why this was necessary, they said that they get people wandering in off the street. What? This place is in the middle of no where, set back off the road, and gated. Paranoia was running amok. When being led to our site the staff member took us through a series of turns that we barely made without hitting objects or other vehicles. We requested a pull through for one night and didn't want to unhook the tow car. We were led to a space between two trailers and a large tree with over hanging branches into the site. When I complained to the staff in the golf cart he became visibly rattled. This was in light of the fact that the entire row behind us was empty pull through's with no trees. Most stayed empty all night. The sites are soft dirt and the levelers on the motorhome sunk. The 30 amp electric was poor and my electric meter rested in the red "low voltage" area all night. We were given strict orders not to use a "reel" leash, and only walk the dog to and from the dog walk, not around the park. Thus my rating of not a pet friendly park. Several trees in the park, both on the entry roads and exit roads are growing into the roads with no attempts to trim them. If you have a motorhome, navigating the roads without scratching up your rig is no easy feat. Another surprise was waiting for me in the bathrooms. There is no ventilation of any kind, which turns the bathrooms into a sauna. The shower stalls are growing mold in all the corners from the lack of fresh air to circulate and in some places a poor attempt was made at painting over the mildew with shoddy results. The bathroom supplies, like the toilet paper and paper towels are damp and shred when touched from the moisture in the air. The sinks only have cold water, and the press down and hold faucets so you can't wash both hands or splash your face with both hands at the same time. I have stayed in and reported on hundreds of camp grounds, and this one is among the worst. I have stayed in Jellystone campgrounds many times before with positive experiences. I don't know what happened here. The only reason this was rated a "2" instead of a "1" is because the river running next to the park is nice. I will never stay here again, and recommend that you don't either. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2010
$45
We have camped at this place for a number of years. I will guess at least 8 years, probably more. When we first started going, it had some annoying rules but no biggie (see dog rule below). After the owners gave/or sold the cg to the kids, it has been a nightmare. Customer service is atrocious. They are very miserable people, and we have started looking for a new place. We aren’t the only ones: when we started camping here the place was FULL on the weekends and had to be booked at least 5 months in advance. We always booked a year in advance to get the 4 to 6 sites we and our friends wanted. Again no less than 4, quite often 6. Last year, less than 1/2 the sites were full, the year before about 3/4. We looked around at a few campgrounds in the area: they were booked solid and had been for months! Just like this one used to be, so its not the economy, it's the owners. As stated in another review, the shower\bathrooms have no venting, and get pretty nasty by 10 am or so. They are individual rooms with toilet, sink, and shower. Rooms are larger than needed, and not very numerous. If you need to use the bathroom in the morning, the wait will be 1/2 hour plus. There are no plain toilet sites. The non pet friendly rating is because they only allow 1 pet, and you can only walk the pet directly from the camp site to the dog walk area. If you stray from that line, you get reprimanded. Within the last couple years they mandate wrist bands. I never wore mine and just kept it in my pocket. Never got called out for it, but I never use the pool etc. However my wife and kid did, and they were wearing their wrist bands!! (They gave us the wrong ones on check in.) Sad to look for another place but if they don't turn things around they will be out of business soon and are probably to ignorant to know it is them, and not the economy! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$30
We found this campsite by following signs from the highway. The signs to get to this campground need to be updated: so old they were hard to see at night. We were headed to Thousand Islands and it started getting dark: saw a sign for Yogi and figured it could not be that bad. It was the best choice. The owners were very accommodating considering it was 8:30 at night and we had no reservation. The site was a good size and the river on-site is marvelous. Very quiet campground. Would love to visit it again. Thousand Islands is only 1 hour away. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2008
$38
Very few sites available with sewer, though they wouldn't let us have one for only one night that was available!  Definitely needs an update.  Bathrooms have rusty pads in front of showers.  Too ridiculous on their "no reel leash" law for dogs.  Everyone has them, don't they?  WiFi didn't work at site; had to go to a location near the river for access due to "a part being on order to correct the system". Too outdated.  Would not spend another night here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2008
$40
Pool is old and in need of cleaning/resurfacing and is not lifeguarded. Playgrounds are dated and in need of repair/cleaning as they have recycled tire mulch that is very moldy. Sites are very-very wet when it rains (we had 2" + of standing water) after a t-storm. Wi-Fi is $2 per 10 minutes and connection is very slow and available only in ranger station. Prices at camp store exorbitant. Many areas in need of painting/general maintenance. Many campers also had issues with critters (namely skunks) that park staff didn't feel it necessary to address. Organized activities were scheduled but not well planned out and not suitable for small children. River is nice, but shoreline is not cleaned/maintained by the park (there was some "inappropriate" trash on the shoreline on a Saturday morning). We probably wouldn't camp there again. Park has a 2 adult-2 child-1 dog policy, be aware of that when booking and be prepared to pay beyond that as it's not flexible. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2006
$41
This is a very nice, family-oriented campground about 45 min north of Syracuse, NY. There are a lot of organized activities for kids. They also have a nice pool and a small playground. Also, the park borders the Little Salmon River, which is very shallow and can keep the kids occupied for hours. Some of the park's infrastructure is a bit dated, but the restrooms were very clean. The sites are generally large, and most of the park is well shaded. Some of the branches can be low hanging, so if you have a taller unit, you will want to be careful. Water and electric services can be a long way from your site. In many places, 4 sites share centrally located water and electric hookups. Our water hookup was about 35 ft away, and the electric hookup was about 50 ft away. Our site only had a 30A electric hookup, meaning my 15A extension cord wouldn't work. Fortunately, they let me borrow a 30A cord. The camp store is well stocked with RV supplies and fishing supplies. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com