221717 User submitted reviews online!!
Oceanside RV Resort was rated 7 out of 10 based on 17 user reviews. Phone: (250) 544-0508
CGID5675

Oceanside RV Resort

Camp Information
Sites
150
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$36



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   8   9   6   9   9   9   9   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2014
$36
Very nice park with well cared for grounds. If you are looking for a 'Resort' which has lots of facilities this is not the park. I think most people, however, are happy to stay here for the price as it is the only park with services fit to stay in before Victoria. We would stay again waiting for the ferry. Rate is for shoulder season. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2014
$56
Very clean, short walking distance to the beach and ocean (Harrow Strait). New facilities, very attentive staff. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$52
This is a very nice park. The permanents are in a separate section. The sites are level and most have a partial view to the water. The only criticism I can offer is that the Wi-Fi is very spotty and not dependable. You have to go near the office to get good Wi-Fi. This RV park is close to Victoria so it is easy to sightsee and tour the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$28
We stayed here for 1 month while visiting family. Campsites are large, level, and very well maintained. Had a nice view of the water and the beach was wonderful. Washrooms and showers were spotless, and staff was great. Full timers are in another section with no derelict units. WiFi and TV worked fine. Like previous reports said, look the other way on the way in. We would stay here again; it is the best park by far on southern Vancouver Island. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2012
$27
As far as parks go this is a very well kept park. On the plus side, the sites are a good size full gravel and the roads are paved and wide. The shrubbery and flower beds are trimmed and weed free. The park maintenance crews work very hard to keep everything just so. All the staff, office and grounds are polite and helpful. All the buildings are in very good condition and the washrooms are spotless. On the negative side, There is no security in the park, no front gate and no security perimeter fence. The park is located on aboriginal land and the park's neighbors walk, drive, bicycle and skateboard through the park day or night. Our coach was damaged on several occasions by children throwing and batting stones from a neighboring property and road. The dog run is a very narrow strip of dead grass that runs from the road side to a drainage ditch about 2-3 ft. wide and 100 ft. long, no doggy do garbage pail. As in all parks some do not clean up the dog do. This is by far one of the nicest parks on the island. Security is the #1 pressing issue. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$50
Good location. As other reviews mention, don't be put off by what you see driving up to the park. Has lots of long term residents but well maintained and in their own section. Actually probably only 30-40 short term sites. Beautifully landscaped. Good cable TV and ok Wi-Fi (dropped off line at times). Good views of the water. Very convenient when coming off the BC ferries and also very convenient to Victoria and all of south Vancouver Island. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$33
Very clean and well laid out, nice landscaping. Some long term residents, but everything was quite tasteful. This is a pretty good park, convenient to the ferries. The price was with a Good Sam discount, so the basic price is a bit high, preventing a ten rating. Almost all sites are good for a satellite connection. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$50
This is a very nice RV park. Internal roadways are paved, sites are level gravel and quite roomy. The multiple restrooms are modern and spotless. Wi-Fi worked for my laptop at our site with no problem, but my wife needed to take hers to a hot spot. The beach is distant and on a bay, but access may be muddy if it's rained recently. The location is convenient to the ferries and Victoria. This is an expensive park, but this is Vancouver Island which is not known as the bargain capital of Canada. (Getting your rig out here on the ferry will cost upwards of $150.) We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$45
The office staff kindly moved us away from the noisy neighbour in the private house next to the campground. Staff were friendly and helpful. This is a very quiet park, surrounded by wetlands and ocean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2011
$35
Spacious, landscaped, well-maintained sites, but “Oceanside” recreation and “Resort” amenities were not as advertised when we stayed here. The beach path was flooded and, from what we could see, the beach did not look suitable for the saltwater swimming, canoeing, and kayaking listed in Woodall’s. The adjoining property has beach access, but it is Indian reserve posted as “no trespassing.” It’s a 2-km, hilly bicycle ride through the reserve to the Lochside Trail, and a 10-km, steep bicycle ride to the nearest beach (Island View). WiFi did not work reliably, although we were assured it did when we phoned ahead. Dog owners should note that dogs are not allowed on the beach or the lowland areas. Bottom line: this is a clean, safe campground, but expect to leave the Resort to access the region’s attractions. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
February 2011
$35
This is not a resort. This is an expensive long term campground. People speed through here without a care for anyone who might be walking their dog, or with their kids. The beach access is only usable for 3 months of the year. The rates are too high, and things get stolen all the time. My husband and I stayed here for a few months (2011 / spring). While we were here the Internet NEVER worked. The "resort" is on native land, so their are always hunters and kids coming through the park or through the wet lands in behind the trailer park. Hunters with huge shotguns, and covered faces. Seems like a great family atmosphere: guns going off all the time. A resort to me (and any one else that has visited this campground) has amenities. No pool, pay showers, no hot tub, one lousy fire pit for the whole park to use, that had no real firewood, just stained and nail filled building scraps. No entertainment, no games room, unless you call the cook house with ping pong a games room. This park is way overpriced and under staffed. The guy beside me had an issue with his service post and the maintenance guy was rude and abrasive, and was absolutely no help at all, when he finally did come around to "help." After being here for a few months it was hard to tell what he actually did around here. The surrounding area, (Victoria / Sidney By The Sea) is beautiful, and worth the visit, but next time we are definitely staying somewhere else. All in all: overpriced, and named wrong. Definitely NOT a resort, and NOT resort quality. Makes you wonder what Woodall's is smoking when they do their evaluations. When I phoned to make reservations, I was told that there is round the clock security. A blatant lie. There is NO security, in the spring anyway. I am not sure what they do in the summer, but there was none whatsoever when we were here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$40
A beautiful well kept park. Sites are good size, gravel but level, with fences and shrubs between. Everything is immaculate, including the three modern wash-houses and the three laundries. There is a large games room/cookhouse and a pleasant walking trail to a quiet beach. Very helpful staff. Conveniently located for Victoria and other places of interest. OK, so there are a few scruffy dwellings on the approach road, but really that is not a problem. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$50
Visiting from California, we thought the park was very nice. Friendly staff. Quiet. Clean and easy to get around. Beautiful location. We enjoyed walking to the beach area daily. Great cable TV channels!! Short drive from Victoria, Sidney and Butchart Gardens. We didn't think it was appropriate to charge for showers when the fee to stay here was pricey. But I do have to say the washrooms were nicely done and very clean!!! Also charged more here to do laundry and my clothes were not dry when finished. Over all we had a good experience here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$35
My husband and I pulled in here a bit late at night. The trip from the highway into the actual campground was a little un-nerving. The campground is situated on a Native Reserve and it was kind of dirty and messy driving in and we both thought, "Oh what have we gotten ourselves into". But there was light at the end of the tunnel! What a beautiful park to arrive at. Bright, clean everywhere! Lots of new RV's and a whole new phase has just been put in. You can stay long term, permanent, or daily, monthly. Pets are welcome, although you cant take them on the beach there is a great 'off leash'park 5 minutes down the road. Bathrooms were sparkling with cleanliness! This is a very clean, private, quiet park. We sill definitely be returning! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2008
$25
We were disappointed as there is a big difference between the WEB site and the 'paradise' view illustrated compared to our site which backed up on dilapidated houses on an Indian Reserve. We had booked for a month and when we asked if we could move, the staff was rude and with checking anything said NO. The area is not very tidy, with a garbage pile jut in the front of the main entrance; It looks like they may not like 'travellers' and caters to 'owners' or long term campers. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2007
$50
Under construction the whole time we were there! Large equipment started as early as 7:35a.m. All the trees have been taken down and the wetlands have been filled. As a result you may only see the wooden eagle at the front and not the real thing; as the machines have scared them away. The wind break from the ocean has been removed by taking the trees down. So be prepared to dress warm. The only real wild life that has not left is the mosquitoes of which there are many. The sites are nice size but very dirty, road base is gravel, there is no concrete or grass. The washrooms are clean but were not given a good cleaning on weekends. The office does not open until 9:00 a.m. So if you need any assistance before then; forget it. If you arrive late and the office is not open you had better make sure you have change. A loonie to shower and two to wash, again no way to get change until the office opens. When we were there they had boondock areas (no service) available, but they will add services for next year. If you are a camper in a tent, bark mulch is the base and no where to stake your tent. They do have picnic tables but only one tap to get water and it is quite a walk to get it. That will end though as they are building a cookhouse and more washrooms, they said. If you do not have a toad with you it is quite a hike to the bus so you will need to take your rig. It is about 25 minutes to downtown Victoria. Sidney a lovely little seaside town, and is only about 15 minutes away. They have a payphone. Internet is in the office and only available when it is open (short hours) and not a place to set your computer . I don't think we will ever return here. For the money I would expect more, it is not a resort only a new campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2006
$50
No picnic tables, sites hard to get into with big rig due to big rocks and posts at end of site, dirty gravel sites, expensive laundry with only three machines , no playground as advertised, not gated, no pay phone, $50.00 per nite and $1.00 for 5 min. shower, beach is lovely but poorly groomed and grass path is quite a walk through a swampy path with lots of bugs. Bring long sewer and water hoses as the services are not well placed, there are very few 50 amps most are 30, intenet is available only in office from 9 a.m.-9p.m. Park advertises itself as an RV resort - it's not ! On-site manager obviously has had little experience running an RV park. Not all bad: very quiet, away from highway, lots of birds (including bald eagles), close to the ocean, close to quaint town of Sidney, not too far to drive to Victoria. Phone ahead to confirm the amenities you need are indeed available. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com