218863 User submitted reviews online!!
Cook Forest State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 14 user reviews. Phone: (814) 744-8407
CGID5686

Cook Forest State Park

Camp Information
Sites
230
Date of Stay
June 2013
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   9   8   7   9   8   7   8   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$25
Remote park - Verizon had no service. Attentive camp host who kept us up date when a tree fell on some power lines. Site are not level. Bathrooms are outdated, but plenty of hot water. Would go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$25
Like always the park is fantastic. Our rate is for weekend with senior discount. Restrooms clean and sites are tidy. Grass is mowed and weeds are under control. Campground host is very present and on top of things. The same host has been there over 20 years. The swimming pool is closed, I don't know why or when it will reopen. We have always preferred the Clarion river over the pool anyhow. We intend to continue visiting this gem of a park. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$32
We camp here every year at least 3 times. We love it here. It is nicely shaded. They are all very nice at the office. We love the fact they have a dog area away from those of us that do not have dogs. I do wish that other campers would take a bag with them to retrieve their animals "droppings" when they walk them. The bathrooms do need some attention, but it truly is a wonderful park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$25
This state park is nice. Yes the bathrooms are old, but they were nice and clean while we were here. The park amenities are rather spread out, as is the case with a lot of state parks. Clarion River is beautiful for kayaking and the livery service is located right at the park entrance. The old growth forest is beautiful. There is even a theater within the park. Quite a nice spot. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$20
This campground was hard to rate. The sites were spacious, well-maintained, and the rangers were very friendly. The kids enjoyed the ball field and riding their bikes on the paved, relatively flat roads. However, the restrooms are in rough shape - very old, a bit dingy, and in need of a remodel. There are not a lot of structured activities at the campground nor are there many hiking trails. However, there is plenty to do in the area - hiking, canoeing, mountain biking, etc. - all which are a short drive away. The campsites are gravel instead of paved, but there are plenty of sites with electric. This was our second trip to this campground and I'm sure we will return. The pros far outweigh the cons. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$25
The park itself is very nice, clean and appealing. They have somethings to do, like a movie one nite, which was nice. The only thing is the other campers. I chose not to stay in the pet area, but people walk their dogs everywhere, some don't clean up after them and let them bark. I just don't get it. The area itself is great for hiking and canoeing, which we love to do. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$19
Finally, the entrance road has been repaved and you no longer have to dodge potholes. There are nice wooded sites, well separated affording some privacy. Many sites have been improved by leveling with gravel. The bathroom/showers were generally clean but could use some updating. Camping with pets is limited to specific portion of the campground. This is a very scenic area and a great economical place to use as your base for exploring the many outdoor experiences. The park swimming pool is a couple of miles from the campground. The crystal clear Clarion River runs through the park and is great for tubing or canoeing. There is poor ATT cell service. I've been here many times and is one of my favorite camping areas. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$24
We camped here relatively early in the season, and they were probably short-staffed. While the showers were okay, there was a lot of grime in places, and it was evident that they hadn't had a thorough cleaning in some time. We were really in an isolated site so things were quiet, despite several groups staying here. There are no site sewer connections available. We tried connecting to the Internet through our data card, but there was no appreciable signal available in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$20
This is a very nice state park. The sites are very spacious, the grounds are well-kept, and there is a lot to do in the area. I wish the campground had paved roads, and the bathhouses were old, but clean. I appreciated the hot showers. There is no camp store but there is a little store just down the road from the campground. If you enjoy hiking, you will love this area. You can also enjoy fishing in the Clarion River. Lots of people brought canoes and kayaks as well. We will certainly return here next summer! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2008
$24
This is our ABSOLUTE favorite campground to stay at. It's peaceful and clean and the price is great. We reccomend this to all of our RVing friends. The Clarion River is right down the road and is fun to go down and play in. If you stay here, you definitely won't regret it! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$20
This is by far our favorite campground to stay at! There is a lot to due in the area. Campground offers level gravel pads, lantern hooks, and spacious sites. We have been staying at this campground for about the past 10 years. We always want to try other places, but always come back to our favorite spot! Bathrooms are older, but staff maintains them to keep them clean. Pets allowed. Next year, they are opening up another loop to allow more pets. We would highly recommend this state park. Always a reliable choice! You can't go wrong by staying here! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$16
This is a slightly better than typical Pennsylvania State Park campground. Most of the the sites are at least partly shaded and many are full shade in beautiful surroundings. Sites are gravel or grass spurs and reasonably level. The roads going in to and within the campground are not in the best condition and some are roughly graded gravel/rock -- go slowly! Restrooms and showers are not the most modern but were clean enough and staff was there to clean them even in the off season on a weekday. We made this an overnight stop on our way to the Erie area. We didn't have a lot of time to explore the park, but would definitely make this a destination for a longer stay. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$18
We camp here every year, and they are updating sites to accommodate bigger rigs. They fill up quickly, and reservations are almost always necessary. The road into the park is very rough. Park personnel are always very friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2006
$18
Ridge camp is the state park campground in Cook Forest. The campground is right in the state park and some parts have a 'Yellowstone' look to them. Access roads inside the campground were either gravel or broken up asphalt. There is a check in post at the front that was staffed. The only thing I didn't like was you could drive right in and not even be given a wave. Poor security but at least the rangers drove through often in the daylight. Never saw one past dark though. We brought our dog and were limited to a certain area for pets. The pet rules are strict. You are not allowed on any trails except one for pets. You cannot walk your pet outside of the pet area. You are charged $2.00 a day if you bring a pet to cover "added maintenance and program costs" whatever that is. The sites are large and include a picnic table and fire ring. The park has 50 and 30 amp electric sites, a dump station, drinking water spigots throughout, and shower houses. Out of the 230 some sites, 60 of the sites have electric hookups, the remainder are primitive. The site we had was primitive. I have a battery so that didn't bother my much. The bathrooms are OK but not real clean. My wife overheard a lady telling her child "it was only a mouse, don't cry". I choose to shower and use the toilet in my popup this trip! There are a few canoe liveries and gift shops in the area. Lots of trails but like I said above we couldn't really do any hiking since we had a dog. It rained quite heavily all weekend which didn't make out stay enjoyable. We may try this park again sans the dog. There are a few other modern campgrounds in the area that look better though. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com