223344 User submitted reviews online!!
Balsam Cove Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 17 user reviews. Phone: (207) 469-7771
CGID5699

Balsam Cove Campground

Camp Information
Sites
125
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$33



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   9   4   6   10   7   10   10   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  no  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2014
$33
Nice campground with large level grass and gravel sites and good utilities. The pull-through sites do not have shade but this made it easy to acquire a satellite signal, they do not have cable. The Wi-Fi worked OK but was slow at times and our Verizon signal would drop out at times. The dirt road into the campground is a little tight but not a big problem. They have a huge bonfire at the pond on Saturday nights and activities sometimes during the weekend. The young lady at the office was very nice and helpful. Tip: site 75 has a large cement pad, the only one in the campground. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$44
We made last-minute reservations to stay here over 4th of July weekend, and they were very accommodating and helpful in finding us a spot for our tent camper. The only "bad" thing that I can say about Balsam Cove CG is that when the power goes out, as it did when we were there, the toilets won't flush; the toilets backed up and they were slow to respond to the problem. Other than that, they do a good job, and Toddy Pond is a beautiful lake! Definitely a good Maine campground! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$45
Went camping there with our daughter's family. We had a great time. Our trailer was parked across the road from the lake. Very family oriented campground with hayrides and bonfires if you like, plus other activities. We had full hookups so I can't say much about the restrooms. My husband showered there and said the showers were fantastic and restrooms were clean. This is one we'll go back to. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2013
$35
First the good: Really pretty lake, and nice launch area for boats. Busy campground, but very quiet at night. The sites in the wooded area are nice. WI-FI was fast and reliable. AT&T signal good also. Only 10 miles to stores and supplies. Good for families. Really good blue grass band played on Saturday night. The bad: 125 sites, and only one extremely dated bath house that does not even supply hand soap. This campground is heavily used on the weekend by the permanents, weekend tent campers, and day use visitors. Bath house was cleaned on Thursday, and then not again until Monday. It was the worst pig sty I have ever seen by Sunday night. They spent a ton of money on the new section that is big rig friendly with 50 amp and full sewer hookup, but has no appeal with sites being basically in an open gravel parking lot. There is also no bath house in that section. The local weekenders and permanents here, that make up most of the camp sites, are not welcoming to the out of state campers at all. Rules are printed out and given at check in, but they were obviously not followed or enforced. Huge fires going in camp rings that turned into "smudge" pots at many permanent sites that were left smoldering all night and deposited heavy ash and soot all over our rig and tow vehicle. We won't be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2013
$45
Half mile of narrow dirt road to campground, roads and sites dirt and gravel. No road and R/R noise. Plenty of room and long. Water, power good, cell (AT&T) low. Park is on lake. A few miles to town for shopping, restaurants, etc. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$43
A terrific, family-friendly campground! We found it a couple years ago and come back every year. It has something for every type of camping experience. Open area, trees, and waterfront. Bring your boats or rent theirs. Fun for kids/grandkids, a new food pavilion, supplies, and safe atmosphere. The owners have done a lot of upgrades and it's become a seasonal park for many. I use Verizon broadband for internet, and signal was fair. Beautiful lake and attractions nearby including hikes and Craig Pond Salmon Hatchery. We come every year at least once and have a very enjoyable experience! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$35
There is good and bad about this campground. The good: there is a new section that has been opened that will handle big rigs and has 50A electrical and full hookups. This campground is within 30 miles of Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park. The bad. The Wi-Fi in the new area was slow the further from the office you got. Another repeater is needed for the new section. Visitors are charged $5 each unless they are there less than 30 minutes. The first time I called I was quoted full price for Saturday and the Passport rate for Sunday through Wednesday. At check-in the full price was for Saturday and Sunday and the Passport discount for Monday through Wednesday. I agree with the previous poster that the management needs to honor the mistakes of their employees (children?). We would not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$35
Beautiful campground on the lake. We were lucky enough to have a site right on the lake.The owner and staff are very friendly and helpful. Sites are clean and large with full hook ups on the lake. We would recommend this campground to everyone. We had a great time the first week of July here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$31
We spent 11 nights at this campground and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The owners, couldn't have been more accommodating, friendly and efficient. Any question or request that we had was immediately met with a positive response. The campground is clean and well-kept and the renovations and improvements that have been done are obvious. The laundry is new and well-equipped and includes a well-stocked lending library. The bathrooms are slated to be totally redone but at the present time are clean, although dated. All utilities have recently been upgraded and a full commercial kitchen has just been installed in the pavilion in order to offer pizza and other items for campers' consumption beginning 2011. This campground is very family oriented with many planned activities, especially for children. We have a 33' motorhome and had a lovely roomy wooded site. We look forward to returning to this location in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$26
We stayed in one of the new pull through 50Amp sites. They are very long and wide. The staff was friendly and we enjoyed the stay. There were two problems. 1, The Wi-Fi is extremely slow. 2. When I booked the reservation it was only for 4 days and I was given the Passport America rate. I called and extended the stay by one day. I was not told that this would be at the full rate since it was a Friday night. When I said something to the owner about this she said she had told here son to call me back and tell me, but he had not, so I could leave without staying or pay the full price. Since it was there mistake they should have at least given me a partial discount. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$44
This campground is very clean. We can tell it has been completely renovated. Staff was very pleasant. This is definitely a family campground. The owners seem to love having the children and pets around. Activities revolve around families. A new kitchen has been added to the pavilion and the owners hope to have a "Pirate Ship" ready for tours on the pond for July 4th. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2009
$20
The park was clean and the staff was friendly. The owners dog was a Rottweiler which she said was a baby, but I wouldn't get near the dog. The trees had a lot of low branches that scratched the side of my coach as well as a 5er that passed by. We mentioned the low branches to the owners, but they said no one else complained and didn't seem as though they were going to do anything. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2008
$17
We found this to be an attractive park, good WIFI at our site. Some sites might be a little tight to back in but we had no problems. A lot of work has been done here to improve the appearance and performance of things. The campground personnel were quite friendly and helpful. We would definitely camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2007
$28
Never camped there. Had a terrible experience with the park owner about a cancellation refund. Lost $65. We didn't go to their website and the owner didn't tell us about the charge at cancellation time. We found out when we got our credit card statement. Owner was real rude and ignorant. We missed the 30 day refund period by two days. That's our fault, but her attitude was totally unprofessional. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$30
For anyone that may be interested, Balsam Cove Campground has been under new ownership since March of 2007. The new owners have cleaned up the sites, brought in over 50 loads of gravel to fix the roads, added a wooden pirate ship to the play ground and a sand box. New kayaks, new 16' Jon Boats with brand new engines and new boat docks. Gazebo for the waterfront and now have weekly bonfires and some entertainment on Saturday nights (weather permitting). Bathrooms are newly renovated and exceptionally clean. There are new washers and dryers in the laundry room. They are doing a great job and so far the campground has been quite full. They are friendly and very helpful. I think this campground, those once run down by former owners will now be quite successful. I am a seasonal camper at Balsam Cove. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2007
$30
We have a seasonal site at Balsam Cove. The new owners have cleaned the place up with a new pirate ship for the kids, a gazebo on the waterfront, weekly bonfires, and a stocked store for starters. They are now in the process of installing complete hookups in most of the sites, they are improving all of the sites with new gravel, and trimming some of the bushes that need to be trimmed. The bathrooms and showers have all been repainted, and cleaned up, and the hospitality is wonderful. I have never seen a campground pack so full on the weekends. We've made allot of friends there this year, and we're looking forward to next year! I hope the new owners stay for a long time, because we'll be going out there for as long as they own it! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2006
$22
Where to start?? There is no beach; the only "swimming area" is about 20 feet across and it's just a two-foot ledge on the grass that drops down to the water, impossible for little ones to play. The playground area, which looks huge on the "not-to-scale" campground map, is nothing more than a swingset, tiny slide and something to climb on, all crammed into a tiny plot. That said, the place is totally overgrown, run-down and neglected. We had to hunt through the overgrowth for our water hookup; it was on a plank that had fallen to the ground and been lost in the weeds. There wasn't enough water pressure to even flush the toilet in our camper, and taking a shower was out of the question. The shower and toilet facilities were also run-down and dirty. To top it all off, our site was next to three sites full of migrant farm workers who had van seats and beer bottles and all kinds of trash all over their sites, each with several tents under huge blue tarps. I have no problem with people making a living that way, but we've worked hard to buy our camper and were on vacation, and here we're in the middle of this squalor and noise. When I asked about all those men in the office, they said, "Yeah, they come to rake blueberries every year." The interior gravel roads are very narrow and in bad shape, with lots of potholes and ruts. I just was so disappointed with this place, and I guess other people have been, too, because they have a strict "no refunds after check-in" policy, so we were stuck with our unfortunate choice. Don't make the same mistake we did; we saw some nice-looking camps on U.S. 1 in Ellsworth. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com