218071 User submitted reviews online!!
William M. Tugman State Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 13 user reviews. Phone: (541) 271-4118
CGID5716

William M. Tugman State Park

Camp Information
Sites
115
Date of Stay
June 2013
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   10   8   8   8   10   7   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$40
Nice busy campground near the Oregon Dunes. There is a big lake at the end of the camping area with big pines right down to the shore. Saw people fishing and boating. There is not really any dune access from the campground (you can get to the dunes, but it’s a hike!). The campground is nicely wooded and nearly every site has some privacy. No Wi-Fi. Lots of mosquitoes in mid-summer! Several camp hosts are there, and they keep the place under control. We rented RVs and had fun riding around the dunes. We would stay here again. Watch out for $8.00 online registration fee, if you need to make a change, it’s another $8.00! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$17
This is the usual wonderful Oregon state park. This is a campground plus a day use park located right on Eel Lake. Campsites are clean, sandy and roomy. Not very long (big rigs are still OK) but lots of lounge space in each site. Showers are clean and warm, lot's of park hosts to help you out. Hiker/biker camp is cozy and private. Open year round and close to Umpqua Lighthouse. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$20
Great campground where we have stayed twice a year for the past 8 years. Great friendly staff. Sites were kept clean. No problems with anything. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$20
Another lovely OR State Park. Nice paved sites (Electric/water only) with decent separation & privacy. Many sites big enough for big rigs. Right next to very nice lake with large grassy day-use area, swim area and hiking trail (around the lake). Short drive to Umpqua Lighthouse/Winchester and hiking on the dunes (the fabulous John Dellenback trail is only ~1 mile down 101). Only real ding is some road noise on West side of park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$20
Easy access from highway 101. Lake and nice sandy beach are an easy walk from campground. Traffic noise high on west side of park. Camp has one dump/compactor by registration booth. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$23
We ended up here because it was the only park that we could find with an opening for Labor Day weekend. We are very glad that we found it. It is a very well managed park with mostly semi secluded shaded and paved sites and roads. They have 50 amp electric and water but no sewer [there is a dump station]. Several walking trails nearby. The staff was very helpful and professional. There is some road noise if you are on the West side of the park. There is a grocery store in nearby Lakeside. No complaints, we enjoyed our stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$20
As with so many Oregon State Parks, it's great; people in Oregon and it's government should be proud of their system. This park is a fine example of a well run, nicely managed park. Clean, well laid out, with nice employees and hosts. They keep it clean by having a central trash site at the entrance, and with dog waste bags all around the park. It's very treed which provides great privacy. Equal access to Coos Bay/North Bend and Winchester/Reedsport with Florence a reasonable drive. Very highly recommend this place. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2008
$16
This late in September the only sites that were really in demand were the Yurts. The park is immaculate, the sites deep (particularly the outside of the loops) and very well cared after by the mostly volunteer staff. The reservation policy was still in effect here and almost every site that was not occupied said "1 or 2 day use", even when the park was mostly empty. Without a reservation the most you could count on was two days. If you are unlucky in the reservation lottery, you have to move from a site that has been reserved, because the reservation system does not know you are there. They come around every morning and tell you if you need to move. ugh. If you want to go through the reservation system, it costs $6 through reserveamerica just to retain the site you are already in. And you can't do this within 48 hours of the requested reservation. Our other issue was the road noise from Hwy 101. When the wind is right, and you are outside, its there. An annoyance in an otherwise great park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$16
This park sits in a beautiful location in the trees. We found it to be very peaceful. Everyone was very respectful, the management was very nice. We will be back here. The only negative would be that we could not get the satellite dish signal because of the tree. The positive is that we didn't miss the TV at all! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$16
My family has camped in this campground for the past 4 summers. The first 3, I was in a tent. Lots of space for a large tent and great showers and bathrooms. This year we bought a small motorhome. We always reserve the first part of C loop 9 months in advance (they go fast). Between the lake, the big campsites with lots of trees and the kids love the trails behind the camp and the swimming hole, it makes a great vacation. In the reserved "C" loop, we have never had problem with neighbors. Everyone has been respectful and courteous. Biggest hint-reserve early-the best go quick. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$16
Sites are close together but the forest is so thick you don't even know you have neighbors. All sites have water, elec, and tables. Restrooms, showers are close to every site, nice trails to hike, and great staff. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2006
$16
Underused Oregon State Park. Sites are relatively small but have decent separation from each other. No sewer hook-ups - just water and electric. 30 amp power available. Some road noise during the day but not objectionable. Two loops are first come - first serve all year. Loop C is reservation only. Good boating and fishing on Eel Lake which is in the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$16
This park is mostly first come first served but has 37 sites available for reservation. It has to be one of Oregon State Parks best kept secrets. It is located on Eel Lake offering fishing, boating, and lakeside hiking trails. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com