220198 User submitted reviews online!!
Agave Gulch FamCamp (Military Camping Only) was rated 9 out of 10 based on 29 user reviews. Phone: (520) 747-9144
CGID5726

Agave Gulch FamCamp (Military Camping Only)

Camp Information
Sites
182
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   8   10   10   9   10   9   8   10   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2014
$20
One of the nicest FamCamps I've stayed at. Welcoming staff gave a very thorough introduction to the park. In addition to almost 200 full hookup sites, there is ample over-flow if needed during the winter season. Entire park is gravel. Sites are large and level and include a picnic table. Desert landscaping throughout the park and a very few trees. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$20
We like it here and normally don't stay in the area where sites are tight. I don't like it when I can here conversations and TV in the rig next to us. That happens often here in the busy season. We would stay in the new area next time instead of near the showers which we did for our overnight guests. This is a well-run and top notch campground and we will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2013
$22
Best park by far. Excellent dog run and dog park. Very clean showers and laundry room. Very impressed with the recycle program. Water lines seemed to have a lot of air in them, but overall wasn't that big of deal. Good location to do a lot of sight seeing. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2013
$18
Very nice park. Close to commissary and PX. Large walking area with doggie bags located approximately every 75 feet. There are a few small trees but we were able to park the RV where we only go some morning sun through windshield. Laundry room was very clean and nice washer and dryers. Have both top and front load washers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$19
Requires military affiliation. Level, gravel pull-through sites. Office staff friendly and professional. We had to change sites because branches from young trees would have prevented us from opening slides on one side - but not a problem. Wonderful place to stay. Easy drive to hiking and many activities. Caution: roads in Tucson City were ripped up in order to install trolley tracks. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2013
$19
Beautiful campground. Manager very friendly and helpful. We have stayed here quite a few times and look forward to going back, when we are in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$19
Nice facility especially for the price, but need to have military affiliation or sponsorship to get on post. Military jets flying overhead were a plus and add to the ambiance. Sites are pull-through and hooks-ups are easily accessible. The employee at the desk was extremely helpful, and provided excellent tourist options. There is a newer and older section of the park. We were in the older section, which has a bit more shade at the right time of the day. Generally there is no shade. Very good location to the activities available in the Tuscon area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2013
$19
This was our second time here. The 1st night we were in the overflow area. Which wasn't bad at all. We moved to site 41 the next night. Won't do that area of the park again! The electrical box is on the concrete slab you're supposed to park on. It was a major pain to try an get the 5th wheel on the slab and not hit the electrical box (several boxes have been hit and were bent over). The park is close to a lot of things to see and do. We found we love with Tucson and will definitely be returning. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2013
$19
This is a great place to stay when you are in Tucson (and are military). The couple in the office were so wonderful trying to meet your needs. The park itself was just what you need for a short stay or a longer stay. We will definitely stay there again when in the Tucson area!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2013
$19
We stayed here for two nights. Last year we stayed here for seven nights. Here's a secret: they don't accept reservations but they never turn anyone away! They have a huge dry camping overflow capacity and they charge you only eight dollars per night while you're waiting to move into a full hookup site. Great place. Watch your dog, though - lots of prickly stuff on the ground to get in his paws. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2012
$21
Arrived after dark on a weekend - phone call before closing got friendly directions, and instructions for after-hours check-in; pretty straightforward. Gravel-parking with concrete pad - plenty long, and reasonably level. Nice park - and plenty nice overflow area too. We awoke to rows of P-3's and B-52's in the adjacent corner of the "bone yard." Sites are a mite close, but are fine for short-term stays. Security is the biggest attractant. As with other AF bases, be careful of the "bumps/humps" just inside the gate (some are even outside) - we didn't see them until we'd already traversed one of the two at the main gate (only one open after-hours); they could use either some direct lighting, or re-painting with reflective paint. Good "passing-through" campground, and it's right-handy to the Pima Air Museum and Missile Museum, if you want to spend a few days. We'll stay here again when out this way. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$19
Stayed here 2 years ago Nov. when it was crowded -- not so much this time of year. Sites are tight but well maintained and we got a 2-tree shaded site this time! Nice dog walk and park, but very strict about dog on leash and leash in your hand, not tied outside. A few miles off I-10. Great water pressure if you remove their added valve and use your own (up to 80psi, so must use something). Staff helpful, all base amenities available, great place to see Tucson and surrounding area from. Always feel safe on a base and stayed 6 nights. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$19
Nice sites, large and level all gravel. Easy in and out. Great place to stay. Base facilities were great. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$19
Very clean, nice park. If you go in June, there is plenty of room because it is HOT. Everything worked fine, but only here one night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2012
$17
Nice park, staff very friendly, willing to help in anyway. Pluses are staying on the base with all the facilities. Minus - Wi-Fi is spotty, however, you can go to the office and hook up to DSL which works fast. Sites are close together. We were lucky, only had to spend one night in overflow (no hook up). Good base for touring Tucson area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2012
$19
Great famcamp! Large level sites, full hookups. We stayed in the new area (200's) and had plenty of room on either side of us. Great base facilities and anyone who complains of the "sound if freedom" (airplane noise) needs to find a park in the middle of nowhere. The street noise was barely noticeable. Staff were extremely helpful. We stayed in overflow one night while waiting for a full site. Overflow is dry camping. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2011
$19
This is one of the best FamCamps we've stayed in. Professionally run, including welcoming office staff. Well kept. Large PX and commissary; filling stations and class six store. Several organized activities for longer-term visitors. Mostly quiet. Wi-Fi: could not connect. They seem to be aware of the limitations on throughput. Was able to connect via Verizon tethered to PC. All-in-all, a nice place to stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$19
Agave-Gutch Famcamp on Davis-Monthan AFB is adjacent to the Wilmot Gate (open M-Fl, 0530-1830 and closed S/S and holidays) and the “boneyard” (old plane storage). We came in the Craycroft gate as it is always open. The famcamp sites are gravel, some with shade trees, and offers free Wi-Fi and patio with picnic table and low water pressure (so low our ice maker wouldn’t work). We camped in early October so there were no real famcamp activities. They do have a dog wash ($5.00 for 10 minutes) and an off leash and fenced dog area but we found the grassy perimeter w/ provided “doggy bags” ideal for our two travel companions (fewer goatheads to “bite” them than other western AZ/NM military parks.) They have an adequate laundry (approx 8 washers & dryers) at the famcamp so could be crowded during full season and a free ice machine behind the laundry. All the usual base amenities are in place including a nice golf course (senior walk rate $13.00: goes up on 1 Nov to 15.00 to walk). Retirees have a “league” that plays M,T & Th and once the famcamp gets organized we’re told there is a camper golf league on Wednesday. If you need RV maintenance, we had great service at Cameron’s Reliable (520-490-7632). The park offers a 6 month section but you must pay the entire amount $3300.00, up front to camp here. Not sure if there’s a rebate even if you have a real emergency and must leave. It is a typical USAF famcamp: no reservations taken and first come first serve. So if in the area and if we could get in, we’d stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$17
Excellent RV Park. We used the park as a base camp for day trips to Catalina Mountain, Saguaro Nat. Park, Desert Museum, Air Museum and several other parks and attractions. Easy to find. Sites in the sun but level and clean. Bathrooms and laundry also clean and conveniently located. Staff very professional and helpful. Be sure you get the Tourist Attraction book for $15. It will save you a lot. Would definitely come back again. Wish other military parks were this well managed. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2010
$17
Great Military campground. We arrived after hours and left before they opened. The campground was clean and we had no problems getting into a great pull through site (we didn't even have to disconnect the trailer). My only complaint is that the Wi-Fi is password protected and they did not post the password for after hours check-ins. We didn't hear any airfield/aircraft noise while we stayed, and will definitely return if we're in the Tucson area again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$17
Very friendly office staff, easy access from two gates. Sites are narrow and elevated from roadway, low hitches could bottom out. No shade. Lot of overflow parking when full hookup sites are full. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2010
$17
Outstanding RV Park. Management is very professional. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2009
$16
This is a well run park for military families with access to base facilities. There are no amenities for children, but the base has a daycare center and playgrounds. The sites are large and easy to get into, and they are very well maintained. Most are concrete pad with gravel parking for tow cars, picnic table and benches. As with most military FamCamps, reservations are not accepted, but there is a large overflow section with electric. Stays are limited to two weeks when overflow is occupied, so overflow stays are usually short. The runways are on the other side of the base so jet noise is not a problem. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$17
For those with Military ID only. Very well kept campground with good 50 Amp Service. The Base Exchange and Commissary are huge. Take a bus tour of the 4000 plus airplanes stored here. Trees provide little shade as they are small. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2009
$17
This is a very good park. That said these are my observations during my recent 16 night Jan/Feb stay. Pro's: Excellent staff with great attitude. Clean park. Animals are always under control. Very fast Wi-Fi with AgaveGulch4 router in park. Bathhouse in long-term part of park updated and clean. Availability of overflow. Extremely fair and executed overflow: park policy. No reservations; first come, first served is best policy. 21 day policy before rotate out of park. Con's: Sites are too close together in most of the park. Wi-Fi in overflow (AgaveGulch2) is scared turtle slow. Pressure to vote for park on MilitaryCampgrounds web site. Bathhouse at laundry and west end of park not updated and not very clean (especially showers). Laundry too small for size of park. No fitness facilities in park. Actually, there are no real campground facilities: you must go across base and use the base facilities if you want anything extra. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2008
$16
This is a great place, but it is restricted to Military families. We very much enjoyed our stay here. The staff was friendly, things are well maintained and secure. Access to base facilities were convenient, and it was a good experience that we plan on repeating as, frequently, as possible. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2007
$16
One of the best five military Famcamps in USA We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2007
$5
This is a military Air Force Base FamCamp and is only open to military or retired military. It is very busy during late January through February. No Reservations. Get into the park by 15 January and you’ll probably not have to wait. Later than that, you’ll end up in the overflow without services until a space comes available. Bathhouses are still available to the overflow sites. You’ll wait from 3 to 5 days to get an actual full service site during late January through February. The overflow area is bad, but the actual sites are great. Cost is $5 in overflow and $16 per night in full hookup sites. WiFi and hardwire internet connections are available. The rating above is for the actual sites. Overflow rates a 4 in my book. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2005
$13
This campground is located on Davis-Monthan AFB, and you must be a DoD ID card holder to access the campground. It's a fair campground, as far as military campgrounds go. There is a clubhouse with internet and a laundromat. The base pool and shoppette are within walking distance. Most sites do not have shade, and the sites are not very big. It's packed in the winter, due to the great weather. Not much grass for pet relief, most of the landscape is crushed rock. Great security with armed guards and fighter airplanes! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com