221698 User submitted reviews online!!
Laughlin Air Force Base FamCamp (Military Camping Only) was rated 8 out of 10 based on 11 user reviews. Phone: (830) 298-5830
CGID5727

Laughlin Air Force Base FamCamp (Military Camping Only)

Camp Information
Sites
20
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$18



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   10   7   9   8   7   8   10   7   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2014
$18
This is a great FamCamp for those who are eligible. Concrete sites are extremely long and well spaced side to side. Sites are FHUs with 50/30 amp and cable TV. The base has added free WiFi that worked well. That was good because my Verizon WiFi could not get a data signal strong enough to get on the internet. ATT had a 4G signal. Downsides: stickers everywhere made dog walking challenging. There is no bathhouse for the FamCamp but there were bathrooms (toilets only) at the nearby playground. No laundry on base. Limited shade from a few small trees. We'd definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2013
$18
A very fine facility. Our site was pull thru, concrete, level, clean, with all amenities. Although we spent the one night just passing through, we took in breakfast at the Silver Wings Cafe overlooking the landing strip with pilots engaged in practicing takeoffs and landings. Got into a breakfast discussion with several pilots at the cafe. Very cool. Don't miss an evening dinner (TexMex) at "Manuels" in Del Rio on 12th street. Get there early as they fill up. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2012
$17
Nice park and like the convenience to staying in the area and base amenities. Very nice camp host who was very helpful and informative. Our site's cable didn't work, or was iffy, but we were on a hard stand, water pressure was good and even though the park guidelines states time limits are in effect, it definitely had that very "lived in" look. Facilities were closed for repair and had been since our last visit almost a year ago. Needs some TLC. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2011
$15
Very nice park. Hard stand and as others have written, nice long sites so one could park their POV in front or behind one's coach. Nicely maintained, spacious sites with fences between each. Our Verizon card works just fine and what I am using to post this. GREAT cable TV selections and even though no WiFi, would definitely stay here again and recommend to others. Location on base is good and yes, one can hear the planes, but knew that coming here with it being a training base. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2011
$15
Great park with lovely, clean sites. Yes, you do hear the planes. But remember "The noise you hear is the sound of Freedom." Appreciate it. It's not like they fly at night and keep you awake. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2010
$15
This is a military campground for active duty, retires, etc. No Wi-Fi but sprint air card works great. Verizon air card will not work at all. There is a small fence between each site . The sites are really long and about 30 ft wide. Commissary about 5 blocks away and BX one block. A really nice place to stay for a short time. Lots of flying aircraft as it is a flight school. Only time I have ever seen 1st and 2nd it's on duty at the gate checking ID cards. Was told they had to have something to do while waiting for a class to begin. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$15
Military park, so ID card is required. Full hook-up sites located up on the hill overlooking the dam and the lake with some beautiful views. Nice awning covers over the picnic/grill cement patio. Good access to the lake and boat rentals. Quiet and definitely off the beaten path. Has large gravel sites. Office staff was efficient. Would stay here again and would recommend to others to come and stay here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2008
$10
Cost based on weekly rate of $72 per week. VERY GOOD famcamp. Laundry machines are FREE, no showers, concrete pads, cable, excellent cell reception, free WiFi at Library. Only negative - located VERY close to the flight line and Monday through Friday it is BUSY!! Not much to do as we have no interest in visiting Mexico but the town of Del Rio is nice enough. Seminole Canyon SP is 40-45 miles away, other historical sites near. Lots of birding, biking and walking on base. I would definitely come back to the famcamp IF we are in the area but will not make this a destination due to lack of off-base activities we are interested in. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2008
$12
The RV park is for ID card holders only but the Marina is open to the public. The 15 full hook-up sites ($12) are paved sites with gravel/rock landscaping and are located on the top of a windy ridge. The 5 water/electric only sites ($10) have paved pads with grass, trees and covered pavilions. They are off the ridge top and have some protection from the prevailing southeast winds. There are also cabins for rent ($27.50) and the management (US Air Force) has moved some FEMA trailers into 4 of the RV full hook-up sites to rent ($25) as cabins also. Tent sites with no hook-ups and picnic tables are available and frequently used on weekends for local family get-to-gathers. The cable service is terrible and does not include any local stations, so you need a NOAA radio to find out what the weather will be. The ridge top sites are almost always windy and 30-40 mph is not uncommon. There is a great dog walking area but keep a good grip on the leash if your dog likes to chase deer. Deer, armadillo, skunks, etc. are all abundant in the area and will get into anything left out. Nice in winter, hot in summer, and a good fishing spot all year. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2007
$15
No disrespect to the previous rater. But, either things have changed since their visit or I’m not sure we are talking about the same campground. This one is a five star, and I’m very tight with my top rating. If I were rating this by the same standard that a typical commercial campground directory does I’d give it a 9.0 or four W’s. The sites are so big that one could probably park two motor homes on one site. If that isn’t big rig friendly, I don’t know what is. Each site has a privacy fence, grill, and picnic table. The sites are what I would call ‘partially shaded.’ In west Texas, a tree is valuable commodity so don’t expect a lot of them. I checked Wi-Fi available, but be advised that it is at the base library, which isn’t far from the campground. You can either take your own laptop and log into Wi-Fi or use one of the library’s computers. Voltage was excellent, but the campground was not at capacity. Pets are allowed. Since the campground has full hook ups, I did not look for a bathhouse. There are only a couple of washer/dryers available, but who cares when they are free. There is a minor downside to the campground. It is located fairly close to the airfield. There is some noise associated with military jets taking off and landing. As a former military pilot, I consider that to be the sound of freedom, but if you want 24 hour peace and quiet, you may be disappointed during certain periods of the day. As with most military campground facilities, entrance requires you to be an approved Department of Defense employee with appropriate ID. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2005
$10
This campground is located on Laughlin AFB, so you must be a DoD ID card holder to use it. It's one of the most disappointing military campgrounds we've used. There were no shower or laundry facilities at the campground. There was a nice base park adjacent to the campground, which had a restroom and was great for walking pets. The campground is small and the sites are close together. Fortunately, there weren't many folks there, so we had plenty of space. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com