215256 User submitted reviews online!!
Desoto Caverns Park was rated 5 out of 10 based on 9 user reviews. Phone: (256) 378-7252
CGID5758

Desoto Caverns Park

Camp Information
Sites
16
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   5   6   4   6   6   1   8   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2013
$30
No other reason to stay here other than for a night or two to see the caverns. Not much to the RV park. Extremely small. Unlevel crushed stone pads and odd layout. We stayed in site #2, but sites 1, 2, and 3 are all in a row so if you had someone staying in any of the other sites you would be unable to pull thru. The playground badly needs updating. Mature trees were a plus, but no fire pits. Bathrooms/showers worked, but lots of spider webs in them. Cavern tour is nice, but the rest of the "attractions" are overpriced and need maintenance. This is an alcohol free park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2013
$13
“Interesting” doesn't even come close to describing this park. In the 70s and 80s, we could easily see this being a “destination” park. Now it has all the charm of a large “outdated” playground. During our stay, we were the only rig, other than a “permanent”. Restrooms are ¾ style bathrooms. Laundry facilities are a single washer and dryer set up in the community area kitchen. Cost is $1.75 per unit. Sites are small and very uneven. Maintenance seems to be a major problem in both the “amusement park” and campground. Internet was free and slow when you got a connection. As it is an unsecured connection, it is obvious the neighbors take full advantage of it. Television is antenna or satellite. Had no issues with cell phone service. Rate shown is Passport America weekly rate divided by 7. Doubt we will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2012
$28
Affordable with Passport America ($14 I think). Nice small campground with lots of trees. Mainly functions as an amusement park with many visitors daily, quite pricey and for older kids than ours (6+). The cavern is very neat, although we were a little taken aback about the religious aspect of the tour. We came to see a million year old cave and instead got a Genesis lightshow. Small playground, good laundry facilities. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
November 2011
$25
There is no staff available outside of the hours when they are selling tickets for the cavern tours and the 'fun park'. There were three free roaming cats that disrupted their 'dog-friendly' claim. I have left 2 messages for the 'manager on duty' and have never received a call back. There is no security on site, even at night time. Anyone can drive or walk into the camping area without a pass. The caverns are beautiful minus the gaudy holiday decorations they've added, and I'll return once the staff issues are corrected in a responsible way. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2009
$15
The sites are gravel and could use some leveling work. There are 5 or 6 pull through sites that can handle rigs >35 feet the rest are <35. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Nice park and cavern attached. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2008
$30
Quiet camp area with only a few other campers. Only a couple of 50 amp sites, Wi-Fi worked great at site in the motorhome. If you have kids they will enjoy the cave and outside games. Most sites are small, only a couple of pull-throughs. Other than host who works at the park no one else ever checked on things. Sites have small grills no fire rings. One bath house by large pavilion near the front. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2008
$13
After booking our reservation over a week in advance, and guaranteed with a credit card, we arrived to find the campground full. I had to walk the entire facility to find someone to talk to. The campground host was off duty for the weekend. Christie offered to let us share a site with tent campers. We declined her generous offer and told her we would not be back. This was our first and last visit to DeSoto. I hate to give them a one star. They weren't that good. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$20
The park was very nice and quiet. We will camp there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2006
$12
Adjoining the Desoto Caverns Attraction. Lots to do for the kids and the cave tour also. It's worth the trip to see it. It's quiet and has mostly back-in [shaded]sites.My antenna got some reception. The campground does not get any attention by the staff. You pay your fee up at the attraction and never see anyone in the campground. The wild house cats roaming around the campground kept my dog very ALERT. The $12 Passport America fee was worth it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com