206622 User submitted reviews online!!
Desert Gem RV Resort was rated 8 out of 10 based on 22 user reviews. Phone: (250) 498-5544
CGID5785

Desert Gem RV Resort

Camp Information
Sites
65
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$34



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   8   7   2   6   7   8   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$34
Nice small park directly off Hwy #97 in Oliver. Also has the airport directly behind, but road noise and aircraft noise is surprisingly low. The park is spotlessly clean and very well maintained. It is mostly asphalt, with strips of well maintained grass between the sites. Our site was a pull through and was level. Interior roads are excellent. Services are all at a single location, at each site, and are well placed. Power - 50, 30 and 15 amp available at each site. Water pressure is good, but water has lots of minerals. Cable TV has almost 60 channels. Wireless signal strength is excellent, but internet access is periodically lost. They have a small clubhouse at the office, which also has an outside covered area with picnic tables and BBQ's. Only downside is the sites are rather close. Nice park close to a number of wineries in the Southern Okanagan. Grocery store within walking distance. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2012
$32
Very clean park with fairly level pads. The laundry facilities are clean but a bit pricey. Although the park is right on the highway, the noise is fairly limited. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$46
This is the 4th park we tried for the night, for a variety of reasons. It is very functional but primarily all paved with strips of grass and newer trees. Hard surface is great for leveling and walking about. Adequate room for slides and enough room between neighbors. It does have one of the nicest bathrooms we have seen. It does not have a dog walk area inside the park: go out the rear gate and walk along the road which we felt very safe doing (dogs may pick up stickers). The park is located next to a shopping area with grocery store and a Tim Horton's donut shop. It was pretty quiet: much appreciated after 3 nights with little sleep. We would not hesitate to stay here again if our other choices were not available. It is a good stop. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2011
$33
Nicely maintained park. It has some grass strips here and there but it is mainly all asphalt. The spaces are a little close for big rigs with multiple slides. Staff was very friendly. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
April 2011
$1
Had phoned for a reservation the day before we needed it. They would return call to confirm reservation: the call never came. Stopped the next day, they did not have a pull through, had just rented the last one. I asked why my reservation was not confirmed by a call back, as per voice mail instructions. They apologized but could not give a reason. We were offered a back-in but they are not big rig friendly. This is a very tight park with very little room. Can not comment on park, but if the reservation system is any indication of how it is managed: move on. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2010
$40
This a very nice, but tight park. It is a great place for an overnight stay, but very narrow sites make it cozy with your neighbors. Has very nice and helpful staff. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$26
Very clean RV park: has friendly park hosts, level sites, mostly pavement park, clean laundry and washroom facilities, gated and fenced park, good location. Overall, we enjoyed this park and would return. Reasons for rating lower are: narrow tight sites, our 40' coach with 4 slides fit the site but our slides were over our neighbours picnic table, roadways are good, but tight on turns, WiFi worked with a slow connection. The rate of $26 is based on pay for 6 get the 7th night free. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$38
We stopped here in our 45' coach. A very clean and tidy campground. We would stay here again, however it's just a tad tight for a 45' footer. Do able but tight on the corners. Forty footers and less, should have no issues. Strong Wi-Fi, and strong power hookups. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$38
The park owners were very accommodating. They allowed me to clean my truck and trailer with a bucket, sponge and chamois. This was very much appreciated. They do not allow washing with a hose and that is fine. The park is very, very clean. The sites are fairly close together, but you are not squeezed. It can get very hot with the pavement, no shade trees and the very hot air temperature. Air conditioning is a must have. Their power supply was very good. This is definitely a "resort" type RV park. Gates are locked over night and security is excellent. We sure enjoyed our stay there. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$40
This is a very nice campground and we would stay here again. Only downsides are back-in sites are quite close together, you hear some traffic noise and right now the orchard air guns are going off to keep the birds away from the fruit. I would rate noise issues minor. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$30
This is the most outstanding campground that we have seen or stayed in throughout British Columbia. The campground has been in existence for eight years, yet it looks brand new. The sites and other facilities are beautifully maintained. Everything is spotless. The office staff is very professional and helpful with suggestions about the area. We would stay here again anytime we were in this area. This is an area and campground in BC not to be missed! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$30
Nice park, nice hosts. Perfect for exploring the Okanagan wine country. Might get a bit hot in the summer as there are no shade trees between sites. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
January 2009
$15
The campground itself was OK, but the hosts were a total pain, and we eventually left before our month was up. IF YOU HAVE DOGS: DON'T STAY HERE! We have 2 dogs, 1 of which was a 3 month old puppy. We were yelled at for our dogs wetting on the grass! They said, "Can't you keep your dogs from wetting until after you've left the campground?" Are you kidding me? We left and went up the road to the falls and enjoyed ourselves there. Another couple we met, left for the same reason (they too had dogs) and went to a campground in Osoyoos. Also, we had to pay extra to park our trailer in a parking spot, as none of the pull throughs were long enough for us to stay connected. We will not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2008
$24
The park is very clean and neat, well maintained. Check in staff were courteous and friendly. All roads and sites are paved. Excellent Wi-Fi included with fees. The only draw back is that you are quite close to your neighbors. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2008
$33
Located just outside Oliver there was good signage to the campground. Limited area to park and register. Office staff are friendly and efficient. Manicured RV resort all paved full hook-ups and a bit car parkish. Too much tarmac not enough grass or plant landscaping. Well maintained. Narrow offset sites which were flat. Still had quite a good ambiance if you like resort style sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2008
$35
Excellent RV park. Staff very courteous and helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2008
$40
Stayed here many times. Clean well run RV Park in downtown Oliver. All Paved so it is clean but hot in the summer. No Trees. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2007
$31
This place is a Wal-Mart parking lot with hookups. It is clean and modern - no trees. Very little grass and you cannot use your picnic table on it unless you move it at night - so people use theirs on the blacktop. WiFi works if you choose to disable your Firewall and other protection and use their un-secured site. They have a real "attitude" - lots of rules which must be obeyed or you get charged. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$30
Newer park that's good for one nighters. In the heart of BC's so-so wine country. Most of the nearby vineyards fire off "boomers" from sun up to sundown to keep the birds away. Two days there about put us over the edge. Pretty sterile park with close pads, little shade or landscape. 2-lane highway in front, small airport in the back. If you are heading towards Penticton, BC, watch out for all the elderly drivers who should not be driving. One guy turned left directly in our path and did $91,000 damage to our new coach. The police told us it happens on a regular basis there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$30
We stayed there for a week in June 07. Found the campsite very clean, sites level and the people incredibly hospitable. The Wifi worked well on our two laptops with no firewall problems. Although the campground is paved, there still are many grass areas available. It is the perfect location to visit the Osoyoos and the Oliver wineries. Given that many of the other campsites in the OK Valley only offer dirt parking and small sites that are often not very level, this one is a breath of fresh air. We would HIGHLY recommend it to anyone who is traveling through this area! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2007
$22
Just a fancy parking lot, but probably the cleanest and friendliest park we've ever stayed at. Makes a wonderful base for exploring the surrounding wine country and wineries. Exceptionally neat and clean! Highly recommended. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2006
$30
This park looks new. It is clean, well arranged, easy access, private, and the WiFi is very good from our coach. We are only spending one night here, but would not hesitate to stay for much longer - especially here in the Okanagan region. The hosts are very helpful and informative. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com