218177 User submitted reviews online!!
Elk Creek Campground (fomerly New Castle/Glenwood Springs KOA) was rated 5 out of 10 based on 19 user reviews. Phone: (970) 984-2240
CGID579

Elk Creek Campground (fomerly New Castle/Glenwood Springs KOA)

Camp Information
Sites
86
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
3   3   3   5   5   7   3   10   9   1   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  no  no  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  no  no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2013
$25
If you don't need Internet, cell service, or lights at night this is for you. This park has such potential, but is neglected. Weeds swallowing up picnic tables and extremely unlevel lots. There is never anyone in the office. This place could be so great. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2013
$18
Very poor and spooky. We stayed there for one night. It's an ex KOA RV park, but they still used the KOA sign. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2011
$18
We stayed a here a month. This park has a beautiful location. However, clean and well maintained are not words to describe it. Neglected, overgrown and dirty are more appropriate. The bathrooms were hit or miss as to whether they were clean. The laundry machines are newer, but are not wiped down like in other campgrounds / parks. Their website claims 4 Ws from Woodalls, but Woodalls doesn't list them. Given the amount of sucker growth on the trees and the amount of weeds, it has been several years since the 4W rating was granted. We could barely get our awning out due to growth low on a tree. We couldn't fully park in our site because of sucker growth from an old stump. The park has such potential, but it is being allowed to deteriorate. A pruning saw, weed wackier and bucket of hot soapy water would go a long way to improving the park. I would not list this park as big rig friendly. Our 5th wheel is 34' and we felt squeezed. As others have stated the sites are packed close and every which way in an attempt to get as many as possible. There are lots of shade trees and a lovely stream. They do provide lots of dog poo bags. The adjacent county road is good for long dog walks and the locals were courteous to me and the dogs. We will not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2011
$1
This KOA was sold several years ago and is now the privately owned Elk Creek Campground (2011). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2010
$30
After reading the other reviews regarding the strange layout, I decided to try it anyway because I only have a 21' motorhome. I should have listened. Once I did the night deposit, a man came and told me to go to any site I wanted. I asked him where the WiFi was the best, and he told me two areas. I tried getting my rig into 2 different spots with no luck. I finally parked in one right next to the stream. It's not very level. It's very pretty, but the WiFi was hit and miss inside my RV. I got no channels on the TV and my cell phone doesn't work. Those things are important to me as I travel. For those people who just want a pretty spot, it would probably work well. It's very dark at night, and I didn't hear any noise to speak of. My price for for electric only. There's a different price for whatever hookups you want. I probably will not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$45
This is a beautiful campground. Very natural, with a beautiful brook going through it. BUT, the sites are very poorly laid out. Very difficult to figure out what's what. It says big rig friendly, but I would have to say NO. We have a 38 foot rig and we just made it. I spend about 20 minutes in the car driving around trying to find something that we could fit in. WiFi is great as are the hookups. If they would just fix the sites so that you can figure them out. I would not come back here as it was just too hard with our big rig. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2010
$45
Great location on the relaxing Elk Creek, in a gorge with many surrounding trees and interesting red cliffs. Poorly laid out campsites are close together and crammed with as many tents and RV’s in each site as possible. The day use area is in the middle of the overnight sites. No rules were enforced. Even the manager’s husband never had his dog on a leash as required. Off and on all day were unsupervised, screaming, rock throwing, cliff climbing children walking through and playing directly in front of our creekside site. We could not sit outside and enjoy the creek ourselves. The manager is very friendly but keeps erratic office hours so we had difficulty making a reservation, and upon our arrival we found that she had neglected to write down our reservation information. Luckily we arrived early enough that there was still space available. We planned to stay 4 days but left after 2. This park is a zoo. Perhaps it might be a better place on weekdays with fewer out of control campers. If you want a peaceful, relaxing visit as previous reviews refer to, don't stay in a site on the creek. But then why stay at Elk Creek without the creek? We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$25
Ignore the reviews prior to this season! Elk Creek Campground was a magical place for our family. This site is full of natural beauty and gave us the real feel of mountain camping. Our tent rested on a corner of Elk Creek and the rushing river sounds lulled us into a deep restful sleep. The campsites are well spaced and tree-lined, giving you a feeling of privacy, no roadside lines of tents here! Water and electric are offered at every site, too. The bathrooms and laundry are clean and bright, even a cozy arm chair while you wait for your clothes to dry! The best part is the new management. They were helpful and available for any questions and led us to a great hike nearby. I would highly recommend any Glenwood Springs visitors drive the extra 30 minutes to stay at Elk Creek Campground! We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$50
We had a very pleasant experience here and found out that the bad reviews that were written about this place took place with previous owners who rented to local workers. The new owners have worked hard and cleaned up this place very well. The spots were convenient and the feel of the place is quiet and peaceful. The new owners are very pleasant and went out of their way to be helpful as we arrived in the dark. This is a great place to stay and I wish them good luck. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2009
$50
This campground has not been kept up. The website online information and some of the pictures are no longer correct. The camping cabins are not cleaned. The campground is messy and unkempt. There is no store on site. It's very noisy as workers in trucks drive in and out. Trash was picked up at 7AM and woke everyone up. We left after one night. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
April 2009
$20
We stayed at park from September 2008 to April 2009. The company my husband worked for leased our site. This was a beautiful park but that's about the only good thing I can say. Phone and internet connections were poor. After a couple of months using the water, they brought in large tanks and delivered water to us every day. At times we would run out of water. Never did find out what was wrong with the water. Therefore we could not use the laundry facilities. There was a "no rules" atmosphere. Party animals could party all night long and be as loud as they wanted, with no regard for others. Children were not supervised at times. Some pets were allowed to roamed the park: a couple of the kids were bit. If you had a complaint you might as well keep it to yourself. If, and I'm saying if, you could contact the person that was suppose to be managing the park: nothing would be done. Hope I never have to stay here again! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2008
$65
Elk Creek Campground, New Castle, Colorado does not deserve the support of the RV community! I've been planning a trip to the Glenwood Springs area of Colorado for the past year to take two weeks of instructions. I tried making reservations last Fall, but none of the RV parks in the area (there are only 3!), would accept reservations until the first of April. So I did my research and found the nicest of the 3 (supposedly Elk Creek Campground) and made my reservations the 1st of March. I'm glad I did, because they were almost booked for the summer when I called! I'm supposed to leave for Glenwood Springs on the 15th of June. Just 7 days from now. Last night I received a telephone call from the campground telling me they'd cancelled my 15 day reservation, along with everyone else, because an oil company had come in and reserved the entire park for the whole season and beyond, for their employees. There are no other decent reservations in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2007
$41
Definitely a campground! No WiFi, no cable TV, no local TV, no wireless signal cause it too deep in the woods and mountains. 6 miles off interstate on narrow winding road. Appeared to be several worker travel trailers and 5ers. VERY STEEP driveway. 50 amp was $51, 30 amp was $41, way overpriced. Definitely not a good overnight stay. Old KOA, owner didn't want to spend the $ for WiFi and cable TV, trees need trimming, sites were muddy after a little rain. Walmart is across the interstate and there are more RV parks down the road in either direction. Would not stay here again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$47
A beautiful if bit pricey campground. Wanted to stay closer to Glenwood Springs but other parks were full so drove 10 miles farther to Elk Creek. Groceries available at I-70 exit and campground is about 4 miles north. Lots of big trees and a nice running creek spans the property. Only drawback is the price with no pool, wi-fi, etc. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2006
$38
This former KOA campground has truly seen some major improvements over the years. The campground staff is friendly and patrols constantly to keep everything clean and orderly. The nearby stream helps to drown out other noises, which we appreciated with an 18m old baby sleeping. The sites are a bit small and full hookups are limited. (I would definitely call in advance if you need a full hookup.) I do feel that the price is a little high given the lack of space and extra activities available. I asked about price breaks for weekly or monthly rates and was told that they "paid a pretty penny for this campground and couldn't afford to give any discounts". (This was a little off-putting.) The "game room" consisted of three out of order video games and two pay-per-play pool tables. I don't know if all the balls were present, because cue sticks certainly were not. The playground has a very nice Little Tikes set, but the grounds inside the area could use some work. The sole bench was overrun with ants and rugosa roses. Across the campground's bridge there were two main hiking trails. One leads alongside the stream and the other goes almost straight up rock outcropings. Both trails were easily climbed by my 7 year old son. Pets are allowed but cannot be left unattended. (We did leave ours in the trailer with the air conditioning running.) Dogs are required to be on-leash, except for the two that are owned by the campground owners. We adore the Glenwood Springs area and this campground is by far the best we have stayed in. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2006
$38
Nice park, very friendly staff. Little pricey for the size of sites, lack of pool, etc. Quiet hours enforced nicely. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2005
$30
What a surprising find! A lot of work has been done to this former KOA. About 10 minutes from Glenwood Springs (our destination), this is worth the drive. The staff was friendly, the setting was gorgeous. Nice little playground and camping store. We checked out 2 other RV parks in Glenwood, but they were not as scenic as Elk Creek. There is no sewer hookup, but the dump station is accessible. The owner drives his 40' motorhome around, just to make sure everything is trimmed up. Cute little town, too. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
2004
$35
No pride of ownership here. A beautiful setting and with a little TLC could be nice. Bathrooms badly in need of repair. Campground Cabin dirty inside. Used to be a KOA. We camped here in a Campground Cabins.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$32
This is one of the nicest KOA's we've run across. Well off the highway there is absolutely no traffic noise. Showers were very clean. We thought it was a brand new KOA but the owners told us it is 20 years old. Friendly staff, and the sites are not too crowded. Lots of shade and nestled down in a valley by a stream. Follow the signs because it's quite a distance from I-70 and well worth the trip. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com