206676 User submitted reviews online!!
Mosquito Lake State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 8 user reviews. Phone: (330) 638-5700
CGID5790

Mosquito Lake State Park

Camp Information
Sites
234
Date of Stay
July 2013
Latest Rate
$26



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   7   7   9   8   7   6   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  no  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$26
Most of the sites were heavily treed which made the hot, humid days more tolerable. If preferred, there are sites in full sun. Pets are allowed in all but one row of sites. There are naturalist led activities available on the weekends in addition to all the many regular activities. This is a very family friendly park. The volunteer group is organized and active. The pit toilets really needed attention but their terrible condition might have been exacerbated by all the rain we experienced during our week long stay. The showers were in good condition as were the flush toilets in that building. Park is convenient to shopping areas. If you want free Wi-Fi, you must go to the office where there is no seating available inside and only one picnic table outside. AT&T cell service was good so we used our phone as a Wi-Fi hotspot at our site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$25
You only have electric service, but if you don't mind filling up and emptying your tanks, some of the sites are great. Shaded, on the water or near the lake. For the money, it was a great park for three days. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$27
Great campground with plenty to do. It is peaceful and clean. Camp store has everything you may have forgotten. Friendly staff. Will return again We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$28
Really liked having 50 amp service. When the 50 amp breaker burned out in the pedestal, a replacement was installed within an hour. We were there over Memorial Day weekend, the park was super busy but not loud or bothersome in any way. There is a fenced in dog park available where the pooches can even swim if their owners let them. The side yard at our site was not very good, it had too much slope to it, but the parking pad was absolutely level. We will return to Mosquito Lake State Park again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$28
As always this Ohio State park makes for a nice weekend get-a-way. Fishing, nature programs, playground, and movies too. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2008
$26
This State Park was peaceful and quite. Some sites were wet although we arrived after a big rain. The beach was about a half mile away and very nice and clean. The marina had a free concert the weekend were there and it was great. They were installing a new dump station and the camp office and shower house looked new, but the only drawback on this park was the pit latrines, but that why they call it camping. We camped at site 212 right on the lake. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2006
$21
I am probably the biggest fan of the Ohio State Parks system in the entire state but was a little disappointed in the this park. There is a large (7850 acre) man made lake that this park is built on and it attracts a lot of boaters, jet skiers and fisherman since it is an unlimited horsepower lake and the largest stocked inland lake in Ohio. The lake is a marvel, you can drive for miles and still be alongside it. The campground however is older and very few updates have been done to it. Some sites are very small. Our site (#14) really only had room for our travel trailer and that was it. I barely got my awning out and there was no possibility of a safe campfire. Most sites are very wooded, so wooded that it seemed gloomy in our site and a lot of others. I would make sure to look at the site description on the website and make sure that is says the site gets some sun. The back area of the campground is in very poor condition. The pads are covered in moss and there is very little grass. It seemed depressing to me. I recommend a scout trip prior to reserving a site. There are two things that really confounded me. One: on the first day the ranger came by and very rudely informed us that we cannot even let one tire of our cars touch the grass (what grass I wanted to ask) but yet people had boats and tow vehicles attached to the boats all over the so-called grass. Two: there are some waterfront sites that are actually a good size and pleasant but are walk-in, non-reservable sites. The showerhouse was decent and clean and had flush toilets but the rest of the park has pit latrines in them and I was told that they are horrible. I seemed to me that this is a place where you could have a good time with a lot of luck and some planning. The rangers were rude but the park office people were very nice. One ranger held a kids/family program Saturday night, made ice cream and then there was a movie at the ampitheatre. That was nice. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2006
$21
Very roomy sites. The campground is pretty quiet and the sites are wooded. They have pit toilets scattered throughout the campground. They are pretty nasty. The showers are clean but need updated. Overall not a bad campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com