206911 User submitted reviews online!!
Mom and Pops RV Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 43 user reviews. Phone: (505) 327-3200
CGID5804

Mom and Pops RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
35
Date of Stay
October 2013
Latest Rate
$22



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   7   7   7   7   7   8   9   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2013
$22
This is just a parking lot with RV hook-ups. It was fine for a one night stay, but would not stay any longer. "Pop's" rules for dogs were a little extreme in my opinion. They were only allowed to do their "business" in the 10x10 fenced in dog area. Did you ever try to stop a male Basset Hound from urinating for over 30 feet? However, other parks in the area looked worse, so if we were in the area again we would probably stay there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$22
We stayed here 2 nights, and that would probably be the limit I would stay. The campground was adequate, but the sites were very tight unless you were fortunate to get one of the pull throughs. We were in a 35' motorhome and there was no room to park our vehicle in front. If you were to use your picnic table, you would be sitting next to your neighbor's sewer/water hook ups. The owner was very nice and knowledgeable about the area suggesting things to do. There is a great walking/biking trail that follows the river about 1/2 mile away. There is no laundry but there is a laundromat a block away. Great little restaurant about 1/2 mile away - Sonya's. Lots of places to eat and shop about 5 miles from campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$22
This is not a destination park, but a nice enough place to use as a base for exploring the four-corners area or for an overnight stop. There are six pull-through sites that will accommodate a 45 foot motorhome. Sites and roads are packed dirt. The campground is clean and the few trees are trimmed. The approximately 10 long-term RVs at the park are decently kept up. The on-site owner is friendly and willingly shares his knowledge of the area. We are full-time RVers and lived here for a week. If we are ever back in the area or passing through we would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2012
$22
This is a small park with constant oversight by the owners or at least Pop. They have a very small dog walk area but it worked for our dog. The spaces are level pavement for the rig and gravel for the picnic table area. As an aside, Pop has built/carved a large model railroad, associated buildings and people in the front yard of the Office. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2012
$22
Small park, but convenient since it is almost in town. Great base for going to museums and other historical sites. Owner's hobby is building miniature models - has complete village with trains set up in front of the office. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2012
$22
This is a good place for an overnight or as a base camp to explore the area around Farmington. It's basically a gravel parking lot with paved pads for the RVs. Pop was very accommodating, had a great list of local places to visit, and a map showing where everything was in town. There is a small dog area with nice grass at the front of the office. Not much ambiance here but it served our need for a good overnight stop well. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$15
Nice small busy park. The price reflects the 'stay 3 nights for $60 and get the 4th night free' discount. The sites were fairly level. There was a fire pit, grill and table at each site. "Pop" gives you all the local information with addresses when you check in. The park is centrally located for visits to Chaco Culture National Historic Park,. hiking in the Bisti, Aztec Ruins NHS and Salmon Ruins. It is also convenient to shopping. There is a Dunkin Donuts in town also. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$20
Very nice place, considering. It is in an industrial area and is basically a parking lot with close spacing. But its well laid out providing easy access for even big rigs, and the neighborhood noise didn't bother us because we're pretty well insulated (double pane windows) and we didn't hang around a lot between 8 and 5 on weekdays anyway. Uniqueness (see earlier reviews), helpfulness, cleanliness and price more than make up for those issues. And there is a 4 nights for 3 deal that would make it an exceptional deal. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$20
"POP" was so helpful and friendly. He provided us a map of the area and told us some of the things to see and do. Everything was clean and in working order. Our only complaint was the noise. It's nobodys fault, the park is in a industrial area and there are large trucks leaving early in the mornings. But we would not let that stop us from returning. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$15
I agree with the previous reviews. Utilities are good and the rate is reasonable (we stayed four nights). Level, gravel sites - pretty close together. We used this park as a base for visiting the ancient Indian ruins. The dog run is postage-stamp sized and I did not like walking my dog through the very industrial area - so we drove down to the River Walk which is pretty and has lots of grass. I am not much interested in War Memorials but the one on the River Walk is pretty incredible - tells you about each war. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$20
This is a well-managed campground in a city setting. The campsites are paved, level and well-spaced. The campground is only average in attractiveness, with lots of pavement and gravel and not a great deal of landscaping. The proprietor is helpful, particularly in pointing out the local sights to visit in the Farmington area. Only 30 amp electric is available. Camping rate is $20/night with the 7th night free. I would stay in this campground again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$20
This park is pretty much summed up by previous reviews: a small, clean place with good site size for large rigs. No cable TV or WiFi. Open for satellite, close to town for TV. Would call a few days in advance for reservation. A nice place like this at reasonable price fills up fast. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2011
$20
The campground is neat and well maintained with level paved sites and graveled areas between the trailers. The sites also have picnic tables. Water pressure is excellent. Wi-Fi at our site was weak, but usable. Except for the occasional traffic noise we found the campground to be fine as a base camp for visiting the surrounding natural attractions (Aztec Ruins, Mesa Verde National Park, Angel Peak Rec. Area, Bisti Badlands, Durango-Silverton Railway, etc.). Pop was very helpful and friendly. At check-in he gave us a packet of info including a map of area amenities, a day trip guide and map, and a restaurant guide. We would definitely stay here again. If you pay for 3 nights, the 4th night is free. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2011
$20
This is an older park, but clean and well maintained. "Pop" checked us in. He took extra time to tell us about area attractions and good places to eat. The sites are paved with gravel between. The utilities are located so that it is necessary to unhook your toad and park it in front of your rig. No cable TV, but the Wi-Fi works very well. This was an overnight stop for us, but we would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2011
$20
Owners very friendly and helpful, showers clean with great pressure and plenty of hot water. We were told that if we paid for 3 nights the fourth night was free (I don't know if this is always available). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2010
$20
Let's start off that the park owner, Pop, was very friendly and helpful and that this is not a bad park. That said, here are my observations about what we experienced. First off, ONLY 30 amp service is available. The sites are level and you park on asphalt pavement. The sites themselves are tight and there is nothing but gravel between you and the next site. There is a place to take your dog, BUT it is a small (maybe 6x15) grassy area outside the park on possibly the city easement. Not too much of a problem since it appeared that most people have cleaned up after their pets. The biggest complaint that I had is the way the sewer and electrical hook-ups are located at the beginning of the site entrance and, unless you have a very long electrical cord, and a very long sewer hose, you will have to disconnect your toad if you plan to use the hook-ups. Everyone that pulled in while we were there had to disconnect the toad and drive it around to park in front of the coach. That is not really too much of a problem unless you plan on staying only one night and then it is a hassle. The park is located between regular US 64 and business US 64 which means that there is a lot of traffic noise. Even with the windows closed in our coach it was loud. Summer AC noise in your coach may mask the traffic noise. Based on owner friendliness, I would have given this park a 10. The park does have it's limitations and negatives that have nothing to do with the owner. If we were in the area, we would stay here again because it is the best that Farmington has to offer. Incidentally, if you are reading this review and are comparing it to the other two parks in the Farmington area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$20
Nice, basic campground for in a city. Nothing fancy. Price is perfect for what was offered. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$25
The owner was nice, the bathrooms were very clean, everything worked, but no or little shade for tent sites. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$20
We were just here 1 night, but it served the purpose quite well. It is on a busy street but we don't sleep with our windows open so the traffic noise was not a problem. Had a nice long pull through site, level, good electric power and water pressure. The town has about any kind of shopping you might need to do. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2010
$20
Park was tight and the back in sites were short. Quite a bit of road noise plus a loud varying power-plant like hum. Pop was very pleasant and helpful. The shower was adequate, but could have been larger. Old restrooms and showers could have been cleaner. There was no laundry in the park. Very nice walking trail nearby at the Riverwalk. Good eating at Sonya's just down the road from the park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$20
Stayed here four nights and got the 4th night free. This campground is in a more or less industrial area but that did not present a problem. It is basic, full hookup camping, very clean and well maintained. We used it as a base to visit area attractions including Chaco Canyon and Aztec Ruins. There are many things to see in the surrounding area. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2010
$20
As others have said, this is not a place you travel to in order to spend time here. It's what we call a stop spot. Convenient location, full hook-ups, well run. Because we've found all parks look the same inside our trailer at night. But we enjoyed "Pop' and his amazing collection of metal toys & model trains, He also gave us a little packet with maps, local points of interest and shopping spots. So what if parts weren't legible, it's the thought that counts. Oh, and how's this for service: because it was going to freeze overnight he came around at 10PM and disconnected everyone's water line. Farmington is a surprisingly big place w/great restaurants and stores.Try Taverna-A Greek Grill with great food and wait staff who breaks out into dance and flame-spewing! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2009
$20
This park is adjacent on the US-64 truck bypass in Farmington in an industrial district. The location makes for a noisy stay; large trucks pass by 24 hours a day (there is no noise screening from the highway) and a disposal company starts emptying a nearby dumpster with gusto every Monday, Wednesday and Friday at 5:30 AM. This older park offers 30-amp power service only, no cable TV (the major networks are available via HDTV), but does supply very good internet access at no charge. Upkeep is very good, with no trash visible and indications that efforts are made to maintain the facilities. The park does not accept credit cards, although payment with a personal check is accepted. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$20
This is not a fancy campground; however it is clean, comfortable and has wide sites that are level. We enjoyed meeting Pop and stayed here 8 nights - 4 before a rally and 4 after the rally. It is centrally located to visit the Bolack Game Reserve, Aztec Ruins National Monument and Museum, Four Corners National Monument, Mesa Verde National Park, Durango-Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad. Good water and electric with Wi-Fi that worked well for us. We would definitely stay here again. Also very fairly priced. Stay 3 nights - 4th night is free. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2009
$20
Of the three RV parks in the Farmington area this is by far the best. It's a relatively small park but has adequate space between sites. It will handle big rigs with no problem. The only drawback is there is only 30 amp available which during the cooler weather is really not a problem. The park is kept in a clean condition and the sites are asphalt and level. We would definitely return for a one or two day stay while traveling through. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2009
$20
Shore Services: 30amp only. Sewer had a problem draining. It is city sewer so it can be corrected. The water pressure was good. No Wi-Fi at the park. - AT&T cell phone: Good. Verizon Air card: Good. No cable TV. Sites are gravel and level: wide enough but not long enough to park a tow vehicle on site. Sites are fairly close but acceptable. There's an asphalt road around the park. Did not use the restrooms or laundry. No long term tenants. Had good Directv satellite reception. No discounts and no additional charges: paid with a credit card. This is an older park. It is good enough for a couple of nights. It was warm enough I would have liked 50amp to use the second AC. The sewer at my site had a bit of a problem draining. It did drain but it was slow. The owner said he would get it fixed. It was interesting to see his train collection. It was out side and getting old but interesting to see. I would stay here again if I were passing through. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$20
This park is much the same as it has been the last 15 years with 2 exceptions. The fee is now $20 but they have Wi-Fi. The manager (Pop) down plays the reliability of the Wi-Fi if you ask him. We were in the middle of the park on this visit and had excellent signal strength, speed, and connectivity. In the past there were problems with the power at some sites. If you need 50amps be sure to state so when making a reservation. This is not a destination resort but a good buy for an overnight stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2009
$20
We had a reservation, but when we arrived, office was closed. There was a note as to our site number, and it had a sawhorse with a Reserved sign. No 50 amp as we were told. We were only in town for the day for some warranty work so this park served our purposes. We would return if in the area. This town was a pleasant surprise. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$20
We enjoyed our stay at Mom & Pop's RV Park. Pop is an interesting gentleman with lots of advice on where to go and see. He is a retired Chief from the USAF so we had lots of stories to share. If you are in the Farmington area I highly recommend staying there. We only stayed for 3 nights and was offered to stay the 4th night for free. We were on a schedule so could not take him up on the offer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$16
The rate reflects a five night stay if you stay for three the fourth is free. For the price,$20 per night, this is a great place to stay. The sites may be a little tight but the road is wide and they are easy to get in and out of. But best of all is Pop. He cares about his guests, wants you to enjoy the many things to do and see and is a wealth of information. That is on top of his Model Railroad sets and his hand made toy soliders. We did not find the road noise that bad and it is only a block and half to the convienence store and laundermat, also run by nice people. For the money, one of the top campgrounds in America. We will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$20
We stayed two nights. There was a bit of road noise, but not enough to be of major concern. The restrooms were spotless and large. The sights were level. The management was very friendly and helpful. For the train buffs: Pop has large model trains in the main office and in front of the office. He welcomes everyone to enjoy his trains. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2009
$20
There was free Wi-Fi with good signal. Pop is a model train enthusiast and has a nice set outside. He also makes and sells miniature toy soldiers and chess sets. There was good water pressure and good electrical power. Pop is very accommodating and will let you stay beyond check out time if you want to visit the local sites. I would use this park if I'm in the area again. It is a nice stop over and just about the only RV park in town. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2009
$20
We took advantage of the stay 3 nights & get 1 night free. "Pop" was a pretty nice guy. The park was adequate & convenient, nothing fancy. It was noisy because it is on a main street. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2008
$20
This is a hard park to rate. There is not a lot of competition in the area so your options are limited. The park is located in an industrial area on the truck route so we found it a little noisy. It is an old park, but clean and tidy. The sites are paved with gravel in between. There are a few trees, but the sites are not shady so it can be hot. Wi-Fi was only adequate; my signal strength was never better than "low". There is no laundry on site so if you want to do some wash you have to walk to a nearby laundromat. "Pop" is a model train enthusiast and his model railway layout is pretty neat, but it appeared the trains hadn't run in quite a while. Office hours are hit or miss, but if Pop is in the office he is a fount of information. If you pay for three nights (cash or check only) you get a fourth night free. Basically this was an adequate place to stay while doing day trips to Chaco Culture National Historic Park, Aztec National Monument and Durango. Don't expect anything fancy though. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2008
$1
Planned to stay here based on previous reviews. Called enroute, no answer so left message. Two hours later had not received a reply so called again. Spoke to someone and told them we'd need a pull-thru space for a 40' MH; was told no problem no reservation needed. When we arrived, we were met by Pop (we assume) and saw that there were only a few sites for big rigs, and all were full. Also only a few pull-thrus, also full. He advised us to go elsewhere (Lee Acres). Had we been advised, we would have gone elsewhere without wasting our time stopping here. If you have a 40' MH or larger, check in advance. We'll pass on this park in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$15
This is a small RV park with paved sites and gravel in between. The spacing of sites is adequate and the staff is very friendly. We really enjoyed all of the trains and figures in the office. I will stay here again when I return to the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2008
$20
Nice park. Pop is great. Three nights with fourth night free. Unique park with toy trains. Paved sites with gravel between spaces. Located on the edge of town; laundry across street with easy access to everything. Very quiet park. Will definitely stay here again if in Farmington. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2008
$15
Signage to campground good. Area to park and register. Owner friendly and efficient. Small town center campground with paved roads and pads in industrial area. Sites are wide,flat and well maintained. Very few trees. 30 amp electricity which was solid. Water pressure good. Some road noise. Limited infrastructure but clean and tidy. A good base to explore the area. Owner does a pay for three and get a fourth free offer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$17
This park is a bargain. Paved roads, paved sites, wifi, and full hookups for $17 a night. The park is in the town of Farmington. The owner is very friendly and offers a lot of information on the area. There is gravel between the sites with a picnic table. The park is very clean. This is an excellent choice for an overnight stay in this area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$17
Park is a small, friendly place that served us extremely well for a brief stopover. Owner met us and check-in was quick and pleasant. Very good information provided about area attractions. Outdoor train layout a nice perk. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2007
$20
Good clean camp ground off the main road. Very friendly staff, very helpful with maps and info of the area. Huge toy train layout in the yard. Small craft store on site. WiFi worked well. Will stop again if we are in the area. 10 years full time. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2006
$17
This is a small park, but clean and centrally located for visits to Chaco Canyon and Aztec. We would definitely stay here again. The owner is very friendly and helpful with respect to local attractions and restaurants. Even though it is small it was easy to maneuver our coach to get to our pull-thru site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2006
$20
Very clean park, very nice managers. In a industrial area, but very quiet 80% of the time. Pets are welcome, but has a small dog walk area. I would recommend this park to anyone who is looking for a clean safe park to stay in. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com