224149 User submitted reviews online!!
4J+1+1 RV Park & Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 38 user reviews. Phone: (970) 325-4418
CGID582

4J+1+1 RV Park & Campground

Camp Information
Sites
68
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   7   8   8   8   7   7   10   8   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2014
$40
Ouray is in a tight valley, so not a lot of room for RV parks. We got the last spot at this park, with just water and electric for $37 a night plus tax. The sites are REALLY close to each other. Zero privacy. ATVs/Jeeps constantly going through campground. A lot of kids. Pretty loud during the day, but quiet at night. It is walking distance to town and the hot springs (about a 10 minute walk to both). Restrooms were pretty good. Cell signal not a problem as it's in town. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$39
This is a clean "in town" park. Walk the town and no need for a car. Access is easy along with gravel sites and roads. My satellite broke and the park doesn't have cable. Went four days without TV. We had a back-in site toward the rear of the park and it was great being almost alone. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$35
Enjoyed our weekend in the charming mountain town of Ouray here very much with a site by the river. Friendly greeting, huge restrooms, location near center of town and a wonderful box canyon within walking distance. Wifi and our AT&T cellular worked well, and we got a few TV channels via antenna. We had a rainy, relaxing Sunday and awakened to snow on the mountain peaks, which made for a beautiful drive to Telluride. Would recommend and return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$36
Would have scored it higher, but the sites are very narrow and piled on top of each other. We were less than 5' away from our neighbor's slideout. Otherwise, the restrooms and showers were great, with a very friendly office staff. Easy access to downtown with lots to do. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$40
This is the best RV park the area within walking distance to downtown and close proximity to the hot springs. Pet friendly. Spotless restrooms, and super friendly staff make for icing on the cake to the beautiful views of the river. Sites are level and on gravel- a small park but well laid out and can accommodate a big RV. We camped here in a 37" RV and would recommend this location to any fellow RVer wanting to stay in Ouray. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$35
When we arrived, our first site was blocked by a trailer. Our second site was so far off level the front tires were off the ground. At the third site, the auto levelers over-corrected and when we lowered them, the windshield cracked. We had paid for three nights, but after the windshield incident, we decided to just leave after two nights. management refunded one nights rate. She wasn't obligated to do so and we did appreciate it. All previous positive and negative comments that we read are absolutely true. However, we were able to get satellite TV, Wi-Fi bounced in and out but worked, and the traffic on Oak street wasn't an issue. They sprayed a chemical on the road and there was NO dust. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$35
Great location for walking to Ouray but be prepared for very tight gravel and dirt sites, no TV, wifi was marginal at best. Unable to get satellite TV due to the hills blocking the reception. Barely able to get slides out and the awning was impossible due to size of sites. Some of the staff was friendly, some not. The sites on the river are better but we couldn't get one. Lots of truck traffic on the dirt road adjacent to the back sites. Verizon worked fine. OK for a night or 2 but the crowded sites and lack of wifi and TV made this campground less than average. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$30
We stayed one night here at 4J. We got a site with water and electric only. It wasn't a problem since they had a dump we could use on our way out. The restrooms were clean and light! The lady who helped us in the office was very friendly and accommodating. There is a lot of traffic on Oak Street that runs by the campground but that's not under the campground's control. It's still in a sweet spot for anyone who wants to go into town for restaurants, great hardware store with RV supplies and of course, Mouse's Chocolates. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$35
Rate is based on a two-week stay. The sites are quite close together. It's all about location here, you are two blocks from Main St., Ouray so you can walk to everything in town. The river back-in sites are the best because they provide a cooling breeze and the sound of the river, which is a distraction from how close together the sites are. The Wi-Fi was spotty. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$35
Sites are Very narrow. No putting out awnings and slides can come within feet of your neighbor. Almost ever other pull-through has a tree blocking you from pulling-through. It took a long time to get into the site making the turn and not hitting the utilities. The pull-through sites, without trees blocking you, exit over a big drop from the site onto the road which is a dirt city road that runs through the campground. City trucks are on it 24/7. During my week there, most all backed out of the pull-through sites when leaving. Only a few sites allow satellite reception. I had to move after setting up for DirectTV. No problem with utilities. Sites were level. Campground is within walking of downtown and quiet at night except for the road in front of the pull-through sites. It is only about 12 feet in front of you which is just enough room to park a small car sideways. City water trucks attempt to keep the dust down, but the nearest car wash I found is in Ridgeway. The one place to get fuel in town listed diesel at $4.29 on 6-2013, fill up in Ridgeway before starting down the road to Ouray. Easy walk to the City Hot Springs and park. I would stay here again, but only if I could get into one of three sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$32
They have pull through sites but we opted to back up against the river. It was wonderful to fall asleep to the flow of the river. Perfect location for a quick walk to town. There was no cable access but we enjoyed using the TV room with the microwave available to pop our popcorn. Friendliness of the owners goes a long way! We would definitely stay there again. We love Ouray! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$40
Very friendly family owned RV park. The staff is very knowledgeable of the area. Mostly gravel sites with beautiful views of the mountains that surround the little town. Sites were plenty wide/long. I think I drove up on blocks before using the leveling jacks but not unreasonable. We walked from the campground to all the area attractions including the city's hot springs. Yes there is traffic driving by now and then but you're camped in town. The convenience of being close to things far outweighed the little bit of city sounds. I will/would camp there again and in fact can't wait. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$32
Personnel were nice and pleasant upon check in. Campground was level and well maintained. There is a rolling creek that runs through the campground which was very nice. The views of the surrounding mountains from our camp site were also pleasant. The washrooms and showers were clean and well maintained. It also has a laundry facility. Wi-Fi was very slow and sometimes non- workable. Campground is within walking distance to the town of Ouray. Would definitely stay again! We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$32
A family owned RV park, this is conveniently located just blocks off of the Ouray main street. The view of the mountains, from the park, is very scenic. The owners were very helpful with tourist info and our spot was nice and roomy. I would definitely stay in this park, again!!! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$36
We nearly left after the first night because of the street traffic noise; we were in the pull-through sites along the street (we do NOT recommend them). The campground either needs to put up a sound barrier, or the city needs to enforce the 15 mph speed limit. However, the staff was very nice about letting us move to a riverside back-in site. It was such a huge difference that we extended our stay another two nights (three nights total). The site was huge, with enough room for several toads and a large "living" area next to the river. Amazing views. Walked across the bridge several times for window shopping, shopping, dinner, etc. Easy access to great Jeep trails as well. Very charming town. We would definitely camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2011
$29
Very convenient park if you wish to walk to downtown Ouray or to the Hot Springs Pool. Beautiful high mountains hug the park for some great upward views, and nice mountain stream sounds at night. But the negatives were also considerable. My site was ridiculously cramped with tent campers literally so close I could not extend my awning or barely park my car. Wi-Fi showed a signal, but could never connect to my PC or iPad. Owners and staff were business-like and indifferent. Not rude, but not very welcoming or friendly either. Not sure I'd stay here again. Love the town, but there are other camping options nearby that looked more spacious. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$26
Great park, right in the middle of a beautiful mountain town. Our last trip was a month long, and this was our favorite stop. The park is gravel, but not dusty at all - it's more like small river rock than gravel. The sites are a little close together, but there was plenty of space for our RV and toad. The hookups were good, and the owners were very helpful. In the winter the river that runs behind the park can flow very fast, so you have to keep a close eye on children. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$34
The park is riverside, but if you have a large MH or fifth wheel with multiple slide-outs it would be best to request a larger pull-through. If you have small kids, pick a spot away from the river. If you have a dog, keep him on a lease and away from the grassy area near the river. That area is for the folks to view the river, not to get their shoes "fertilized." I would have given the park a "ten" if there was hot water available in the showers and if cable TV was available to the sites, not just the TV room. (The staff seemed a little indifferent about the luke-warm water in the showers two nights in a row) We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$33
We enjoyed camping right on the river. The setting, surrounded by mountains, is beautiful. We enjoyed walking around the corner to cool shops and good restaurants. The thermal pool, also an easy walk, was a treat. The restrooms were spacious and clean. This park and Ouray: delightful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$34
This park is located within easy walking distance to Main Street. Centrally located and well kept. It's an older park with a RV section and a Mobile home section. The river sites are very nice. WiFi worked well as did Verizon and At&T. Great views of the surrounding mountains. Most sites were tight but we got a 42' MH in fairly easily. Nice staff. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$32
We were able to squeeze into a river spot and enjoyed the sound of the water. The sites are very tight and the roads are gravel. The views of the mountains are spectacular. You can walk to the hot springs. WiFi was excellent. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$35
We enjoyed our stay here. Our original site was in a parking lot like setting and the Wi-Fi would not work. After a day at that site the owners told us they had a cancellation for a river site. That site was great! We backed up right next to the river plus the Wi-Fi worked well. If you are planning on staying there, be sure to ask for a river site. We really enjoyed our week in Ouray and would definitely stay at this campground again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2010
$40
Campground is conveniently located in town. The facilities are nice, but my only complaint is that the camp spots are too cramped! You barely have room to park your car and when you do it either sticks out into the road or it's right in your from door of your camper. We stayed in our pop up camper and the spot was so little that when we pulled the beds out on the ends, our bed hung right above the river! Good thing the bed didn't break! We would have been floating the river! Don't get me wrong, it is a very nice campground and the people are nice, just need to redesign the layout of camping spots. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$35
This is a great park, right in the middle of Ouray; you can walk to the Hot Springs Pool, or anywhere in town. We had a great back-in site on the river and enjoyed listening to the river roll by. The staff was friendly and the park is very clean. This corner of Colorado is one of the most beautiful areas we have visited. Ouray has great restaurants, nice shops and very friendly people. We took a wonderful hike up to the Alpine mine overlook, about 5.5 miles roundtrip: saw a bear, elk and beautiful forest. The park was busy, but quiet with mostly families having a great time. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$30
A very nice park: welcomed us with open arms and treated us very nice. The sites are a bit small for todays 30+ft rigs, and with 2 rigs having to be backed into a spot next to the river, it was a tight fit. The pull-through sites are very close together, and when the awning was pulled out, it over-hanged the neighbor's awning (good thing we were all together). Very easy walk to town and easy drive to a lot of sights in the area. The owners/managers of the park seemed to think that allowing their very young kids to ride round and round on a quadrunner during the evening hours was ok. Gathered around the fire trying to talk and have fun was interrupted by this quadrunner going back and forth for an hour or so. Even during the day, these very young people were allowed to drive a motor vehicle inside the park. This is unacceptable after paying a premium price to stay here. Yes, I and my group would be happy to stay here: just keep the youngsters off the motorized vehicles. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2009
$22
Nice park with paving. Staff was nice. Park was part of a trailer park but not too noisy. Liked the riverfront. Great for a night or two. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$28
We have stayed at 4J off and on for 12+ years. We have always found the owners very nice and accommodating. Campground is easy walk to town, some sites sit on the river. Clean park, clean restrooms, etc. The owners have done quite a bit to clean this park up and expand it over the years. They do offer discounts for 7+ days stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$32
Great location within walking distance of the town of Ouray and also the Hot Springs pool. The campsite is small and river sites are right on the river which is quite a drop and not accessible. We were parked next to a small grassy area, which everyone used to walk their dogs (and not everyone picked up afterwards), which made our dogs a bit anxious with so much traffic outside. A better choice was to walk the dogs in the park next to the Hot Springs where there didn't appear to be a leash law, so well behaved dogs were able to stretch their legs! The sites are small and large rigs had their slide outs nearly touching. Towards the end of the campground are permanently located mobile homes, which we were located opposite, but this didn't present a problem to us. The staff were friendly. Wi-fi wasn't strong enough at our site, but sitting on the bench outside the office with our laptops solved this problem. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2009
$32
We arrived here for a two night stay only to find out the owner mixed up our reservation and had us down as coming in the following day. I could understand how they could make the mistake as they keep track of reservations on a note pad. They told me they would have to put us in a pull through site for the first day and then we would have to tear down and move to our riverfront site and set up again the following day. He did not even have the courtesy to apologize for the mistake and was very rude simply saying take it or leave it. Every other park was full so we pulled in the pull through which was so tight we could not even put our awning out fully without hitting the RV next to us. There is no grass at any of the sites, only gravel. There was lots of noise from the road in front of us between us and the tent sites. On their website they advertise outdoor hot tub and outdoor swimming pool on property in central area for guest to use. This is totally false advertising, as you have to walk a short walk over to the city of Ouray hot springs pool which is very nice, but you have to pay $10.00 per person. There is no pool or hot tub on the property. The next day we had to tear down camp and move to our riverfront spot. When we made reservations months earlier, we told them we had three year old twins and were concerned about being close to the river. The women said we would have plenty of room between the RV space and the river. The space was so tight that our rear bumper was literally at the edge of the river bank and the river was moving very fast. We had to line up chairs and anything we had to make a barrier and keep an eye on the babies 100% of the time for fear of them falling in the river. The owners were very misleading in their description when we made reservations on the phone. We were very unhappy with this park which is an older park and in need of upgrading. We stayed at Silver Summit RV park in Silverton which is about 20 miles south of Ouray and it was much nicer with large spaces and grass at every site and very friendly management. Never again for us at 4J+1+1 We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$28
This was the destination for the maiden voyage in our new motorhome. Ouray is a beautiful place. We were here in '94 and '97 and are back again 12 years later. The awesome surroundings of the San Juan mountains and the peace in this small (7 blocks x 9 blocks) Colorado town feed a hunger in the soul. We brought our sons, ages 12 and 10, with us this time and we stayed in the 4J+1+1 RV Park and Campground. To have the RV park right in town was the attraction. No camps on the outskirts for us! Our spot backed right up to the Uncompahgre River and the short stroll to the Ouray The Hot Springs pool was a true bonus. This family owned park and campground made us feel right at home. The showers and restrooms were very clean and well maintained and included a wheelchair accessible shower, stall and a long mirrored vanity. Across the small gravel road was a laundry facility and children's play structure. We had a chipmunk join us a few mornings around breakfast time (yes, he got pancakes, too!). There are barbecue grills and picnic tables at each site which made outdoor dining among the mountains a pleasure. We stayed for a week in early June and were met with typical mountain weather - cloudy, overcast skies and the occasional abrupt downpour - which only added to the charm of this place. You know we'll be back! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2008
$27
We were in a 39 ft. 5th wheel, and were packed in so tightly that we couldn't exit our door without practically bumping into the next camper's slideouts. Our picnic table was up against over the next campers sewer hose. Grilling or eating outside was out of question, and parking for our vehicle was a problem. Hosts were pleasant, grounds seemed clean - we didn't stay long enough to check out much more. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$32
I just drove through and this place, is good for big rigs. New gravel and level sites. Looked like 70ft. plus- pull throughs. Seemed like a much nicer place than Timber ridge. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2007
$32
Very nice small campground convenient to downtown Ouray. If you would like the option of being able to walk to town, this is the best place to stay. As other reviews have mentioned the campground is older, but very clean. The bathrooms were immaculate. We had no problem with getting in or out, but the campground was not full. There is a trailer park on site, however the owners have done a nice job of making the grounds beautiful. We stayed with two children (8 & 10) and they loved the Hot Springs pool. You can also walk to the pool from the campground. We will return! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2006
$24
This campground has been a family favorite for years. Right in town. You can easily walk anywhere in this little town. A very quick walk to the Ouray Hot Springs, where you can soak and watch bats dart through the sky. We camped right on the river with a glowing aspen on either side of our site. The sites are on the small side, but worth it for such a great location. No WiFi, but several of the coffee and candy shops on Ouray's main street offer it free. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2006
$28
Spaces were a little narrow for RV's. No swimming pool on site but you can walk across the bridge to the Hot Springs pool and swim for $8.00. Not a lot of extra amenities but very pretty scenery and deer in campground at night. No designated pet area but people must have cleaned up after their dogs because there was no mess. Easy walking access into town for shopping and restaurants. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2005
$24
We stayed here six weeks this time and four weeks last year. Some of the sites are small (it's an old park). The park is right on the river and within walking distance of almost all of Ouray. The lack of internet is a problem, but the city library has free WiFi and free PC's available to the public. The owners of the park are very nice. The park could stand to be modernized for bigger rigs. Ouray has a pleasant climate and the temperatures seldom get above the low 80's all summer. We didn't use our air conditioners. We did run the heater most nights even in August. We did a lot of four wheel driving. There are many good roads within 20 miles of Ouray. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2005
$24
A bit hard to get into, and the opening of the road between the campground pull throughs and the tent sites was not a good thing, too much traffic! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
1999
$20
Owned by the Clark Family. Walking distance to the Hot Springs in Ouray. Jeep rentals available in town for 4 wheeling. Laundromat just up the street at the entrance to the campground. Walking distance to downtown area. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com