220830 User submitted reviews online!!
Hamlin Beach State Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 8 user reviews. Phone: (585) 964-2462
CGID5824

Hamlin Beach State Park

Camp Information
Sites
264
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   8   9   8   8   7   5   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  no  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  no  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2014
$30
The park itself deserves a 9 or 10 rating. It is spacious and beautiful. The campground has its good and bad points. Most sites are very nicely spaced with trees between sites. Some sites are much more level and/or larger than others. The park does not have sewer hookups, and the water spigots are spaced along the road, so you don't have your own water hookup. There is very poor cell phone service at the lake and no Internet provided. If you want a beautiful spot to rough camp this is the place, but if you want more services it might be good for a couple of days. We would only come back two days at a time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$21
Classic state park. Clean bathrooms, nice beach, well laid out campsites with a moderate amount of privacy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$30
This is a gorgeous park. I normally don't review campgrounds unless they strike me as exceptionally good or bad. This park is beautiful. It is a lateral park along Lake Ontario. It's BIG. Rather than having a small lake front and then deeper park, this park is long. There are many sections of beachfront with a paved bike/hiking path. Beyond the beachfront there is a long section of greenway with willows and pines and other trees. The grounds remind me of a golf course with manicured lawns. Beyond the greenway are the camping loops. There are 6 camping loops: 3 are dedicated to campers with pets and 3 without. The campsites are nestled in the woods with trees and brush around each site giving you a private feel. There are several "comfort" stations nestled in each loop so a person is never far from one. At the end of each loop is a garbage and recycling bins. There is a campstore and laundry area in the middle of the 6 loops. I would have given this park a 10 except there is only 15 amp electrical. Like a previous poster this park should update its electrical. Each site does not have water although water spigots are numerous around each loop. During our stay we noted many 5th wheels, travel trailers, class C motorhomes and popups (along with tents). Unfortunately I don't feel this park would be big rig friendly. But all in all, it definitely is a great park, with a beautiful view and landscaping and upkeep. Definitely would return again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$30
Hamlin was nice, and the neat thing was that there really was no need to leave the park at all. Considering it was a State Park, I felt the bathrooms were pretty well kept. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$23
Having now visited 25 New York state parks over the past 5 years, I can safely say that Hamlin Beach would easily rank in my top 5. But then I'm partial toward campgrounds that overlook large bodies of water and have sites that are fully shaded and quiet. I also have a soft spot in my heart for campgrounds that offer non-pet loops and Hamlin has four. Like most other NY parks, it only offers electric. hookups -- no water or sewer. With only 30 amp service, we had to refrain from using the electric water heater, microwave and A/C at the same time, during a record breaking heat wave. Restrooms, as well as the electrical circuits, need to be updated. Hot water is spotty and shower stalls are cramped, even dingy looking. Access paths to the restrooms are not well designed, tempting campers to take shortcuts through other camp sites. The staff seems very cordial, and the park store is quite nice. Overall, I think it's well worth a return visit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2009
$24
Very beautiful park as with all nys parks. Although the showers were old they were very clean: cleaned twice daily. It was a very cold weekend and heat in the bathrooms would have been nice along with hot water. The walking trails were very nice and well maintained. A beautiful beach and very enjoyable stay. Will stay again when warmer as we fully enjoyed this park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2008
$34
Hamlin Beach is a older park that need a lot of updates. The sites that are equipped to handle bigger RV's are in the open. The other sites are somewhat private, but not very big. There is a path that leads through all the loops which looks to be a bike path. The bathrooms need updating but were clean. The campstore was well stocked and the staff friendly. There was a storm coming in and the ranger warned us of possible high winds in advance. The beach was disgusting, with garbage everywhere, I will not return to the beach unless it is cleaned up significantly. This park brings back memories for my family as we grew up camping here. Our June 2008 trip was a let's go back and see kind of trip. I am not sure that I will go back again, unless it was for a quick weekend. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2006
$25
Hamlin Beach State Park includes access to a huge beach many hundreds of feet covered by lifeguards on regular daily duty. The campgrounds were clean and well organized, electricity was sufficient for AC use, and clean enough to run computers and televisions. The sites were all very deep and wide enough with trees allowing us easy access. At the end of the visit, the dump stations allowed three side-by-side RVs to empty, and the approaches were easily navigated allowing turnarounds to approach the dump station at the right angle. The camp hosts were polite and friendly, without being nosy. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com