214506 User submitted reviews online!!
Ouray KOA was rated 8 out of 10 based on 35 user reviews. Phone: (970) 325-4736
CGID583

Ouray KOA

Camp Information
Sites
120
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$55



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   7   10   10   9   8   8   1   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$55
Very professional staff, a beautiful park just outside of town. Lots of trees, sites reasonably spaced. Not really a place for kids, although neither is Ouray, but there is a playground. Wi-Fi horrible unless you're in the laundry room or up a 4 AM. Really, campgrounds in general need to work on this in this! Poor Wi-Fi is just not acceptable in this century! No cable, but I don't think the town gets cable either. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$42
Super friendly owners. They let us check in on arrival at noon and gave us an opportunity to look at several site options. They have gravel and grassy sites. We chose grass by the stream. With all the recent and continuing rain, we would choose gravel next time, but that a weather issue, nothing wrong with the park. We spend three nights here. The place was well laid out and had a nice store. No pool, but a hot tub. The only downside was a ton of speed bumps. I'm all for keeping speeds down, but they were a real pain in the RV. Overall, a great park and a fantastic location. We'll be back for sure. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$45
Park is located a few miles north of Ouray and off the main highway cutting down on noise! Park is very green (grass) and well maintained. Our site was about 70% grass although not as level as we would like; it took us about 20 minutes and moving our RV 3 times to find an acceptable spot. The "lovely stream" referred to on the web site is actually an irrigation ditch, but did sound nice. The park staff was nice and accommodating. The showers are dated and in need of upgrades, they also weren't the cleanest I've seen. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$45
I don't know why anyone would give this park a poor rating. We have been coming here for 7 years. Yes, some of the roads are tight, but we have no trouble getting our 39' motorhome in the sites in the back of the park. The sites in the back are wooded with plenty of room and lots of grass. This is a beautiful campground, yes it is a campground in the woods, not a gravel parking lot like they have in town. The Wi-Fi is good unless the park is full and everyone is on at the same time, then it runs slow - but that should be expected. The couple that own the park are very nice and have a great staff. I told the owner if they had cable I would say it was the best park I have ever stayed in. She explained that they were trying, but it was not available this far out of town. They are looking at other options. The food at the Creekside Cafe is great and prices reasonable. The park is really clean, they had a guy in a golf cart driving around every morning picking up any trash around - including Cigarette Butts (my pet peeve). Same guy was also cleaning fire rings. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$74
We have stayed at this campground several times in the past and that is why we continue to return. Usually we are in a tent camper but this time we stayed in a cabin. It was clean and very comfortable. However, I would recommend that a visitor reserve the larger, 2 bedroom cabins if available because the standard cabin was a bit cramped for 4 people. We will certainly return. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$37
Creek runs through and right past many sites. Sprint phone service good and Wi-Fi excellent. Place fills up in the summer. The staff, although very polite and accommodating, aren't always on the same page. Lots are wide and easy to put 6 X 10 trailer next door to coach. We thought place was great and will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$40
This is a lovely little park in a beautiful setting. It was a great home base for us to explore the towns or Ouray and Ridgeway as well as the many trails for our motorcycle and hiking. The park was very clean and quiet. There are two basic areas. We were in the "front" area which was nice but the "back" area seemed to have more space and there was lots of grass. We will probably opt for that area when we return. We also enjoyed strolling around the campground every evening - it was just lovely. One of the nicest KOA's I've seen. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$40
Very well run and maintained campground. Owners very involved in the daily running of the park. Rules are enforced, which I like. Loose dogs are not tolerated in the campground. We spent a week here and next time plan to stay a month or longer. Live music on the weekends and a good cafe on grounds. It is an older campground but so are most in this area, so some of the sites are not big rig friendly. A reservation is needed much of the summer as this park is popular with many campers coming to Ouray. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2012
$50
Stayed here out of necessity, owners so impressed with themselves, they can't see past their noses. Campground is extremely old and it shows, no updates or real money spent on improvement, too bad. It is in a beautiful location, too bad the greed obviously runs deep. Would never stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$40
Very nice campground. It is kept very clean. The south side of the campground has a lot of grass. The north side does not; it is all gravel. The Kreek Side Cafe is really good. Weekends they serve BBQ made on site. They are very good with their BBQ. The stream (very small) runs right through the middle of the park. Bring cash they have a $10.00 minimum for credit cards. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2012
$44
This campground is not big rig friendly. We have a 40 foot motorhome and asked for a larger site. Taking the office recommended route to our site, we encountered two trees with low hanging limbs that scraped the top of our motorhome. We had some difficulty getting our motorhome into the site because the road was narrow and the site was at an odd angle. It took three attempts to get it parked. I told the park workers about the low limbs and they were not trimmed during the two days we were there. The water pressure is low, fluctuating from 25 to 40 lbs. Not all sites are 50 amp. The 50 amp hookups were installed as an afterthought. Ours was inches off the ground and difficult to hook-up. This campground is in a beautiful location. It is OK for the RVs less than 40 foot but larger rigs might want to stay elsewhere. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$44
Great setting. There is a stream running through the park. Area is very well kept. Staff very friendly. Good Wi-Fi. Nice sites. I would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$45
We were happy to find this KOA just 4 miles from downtown Ouray. We stayed in a premium pull through site for 8 nights, which had more than enough length to fit our 38' fifth wheel and truck. The staff was friendly. The sites were clean. All sites have some shade. We had lots of room on the starboard (entry side) of our RV site, however the port (hook up) side was only about 6 feet from our neighbor. Since the KOA is away from the main highway, there was no road noise. The only negative we have about this KOA is that there is NO CABLE TV. After a long day hiking and trail riding, it's nice to come home and pop on the TV. Come on Ouray KOA. If you want big rigs and first class RV rigs to stay more than a day or two, you have to supply basic amenities like Cable TV or at least rent Satellite boxes for the 95% of RVers that do not have a dish. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$40
This is absolutely the best park we have ever seen for the scenery of the surrounding area, as well as the scenery around your camping area. The staff was friendly and helpful. They do have rental jeep type vehicles to see the surrounding area, but you need to get your reservations in early, as there are only so many of them available. The only thing we did not like about the park is their "Dog Walk", because it is located on a steep incline, and it is not maintained. Most people were taking their animals on a hiking trail in the middle of the park, and don't clean up after them. Management needs to address this problem and actually make the park "Pet Friendly" as advertised. Once this is accomplished, this could be the absolutely best KOA all around. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$43
We stayed here in a spot on the stream and found it to be one of the nicest KOA's we have stayed. Sites are relatively spacious and the campground is clean. There is a cafe on site for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Food was good. Be aware that in peak season this place is packed and very busy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$35
It may be the nicest KOA we have seen. Great area under large pines. Our dog loved walking on the soil instead of gravel. Meals served in the parks cafe. Ouray is the greatest for Jeep traveling. Expensive, but all parks in the area are expensive. They don't list any weekly or monthly rates. We would stay a month if we can get a better rate. Beautiful San Juan Mountains all around. Will stay again next year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$57
I had a hard time understanding how the reviews of this campground varied so drastically. Now I know. We were here for one week. Some of the staff was great. Others were rude and unfriendly. One day the bathrooms and showers were clean the next day they were filthy with only a swipe with a mop. Our fire ring was dirty when we got there and was never cleaned. Wi-Fi was sketchy as we periodically lost our connections. This campground is the best in the area. I truly think that there is a little room for improvement here. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$38
I had camped here about 28 years ago and had great memories and was not disappointed! The staff was the most helpful, and curious of any campground ever! There was a lot to do, music entertainment on the weekends, a well stocked store, lots of trees, 2 restrooms/shower houses on the property. Even massage therapists were available at a very reasonable rate! It is a bit more expensive than other campgrounds $2-3 per night to be exact but the amenities, atmosphere, security, grounds were well worth it! They even had jeeps for rent to use on the passes! The owners were the absolute best! A beautiful stream run right through the middle of it all. Already have reservations for next July! We loved it! And no there are absolutely $0 extra charges for use of showers, gesh! Plus they do have a game/laundry room and hot tub. Best place we ever stayed! Scouts honor! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$38
The Ouray KOA camping cabins are a yearly trip for us. We love the Ouray area and always stay here for a week or two during the summer. It is conveniently located right outside of Ouray. We have never been disappointed with our stay and we've been going there for about 8 years now. Their camping cabins are always clean and the locations are great. The restrooms and showers are always clean. The restaurant always offers up really good food at a great price. Can't wait to go again. Definitely recommend! We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$48
It is the nicest KOA we've ever stayed at. Friendly staff, amazing café, hot tub, little creek running through the place. I wish there was a place like this everywhere we go! Nice location, quiet, easy to find, just look for the sign. (By the way, it is pronounced "you-RAY"). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2010
$48
We stopped here for a day of rest after several days of dry camping. Although the staff was nice, the sites were tight and close together. Luckily the park was not crowded. We had to move from our first site because the shore utilities were in an awkward place and our electric cable was not long enough to reach. There was no fire pit at our site, only an elevated bar-b-q grill. There was an additional charge to use the showers. The store was sparsely stocked. I would not voluntarily camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2010
$34
This campground was clean, however the staff was not friendly or helpful. You can hear the traffic all night, since it is located on the main highway. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$45
We have stayed here before, and enjoy the location out of town. There are many sites for this location, and some of the sites are pretty close together. The people in the office were very helpful in getting us a reservation during the busiest time of the summer. While you are there, eat at their Kafe, their hamburgers are fabulous after a day of 4x4ing. We will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$38
This was a very nice campground. Ouray is a resort town but very isolated and has a limited amount of usable land. This campground is open and shaded. The folks running it have owned it 21 years and more than accommodating. We found not having cable was no big deal and although they have no pool, it is hard to compete with the Ouray Hot Springs pool in town. Just drive the five minutes there and go swim in 97 degrees of relaxation. We found the campground to be a great starting point to visit Ouray, Silverton, Ridgeway State Park, Box Canon Falls, and all the San Juan Mountains have to offer. We will be coming back and highly recommend this campground if you are in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2008
$39
Not bad for a KOA. Had more of a campground feeling rather than just an overnight stopping place like most KOAs. Some of the pull through sites were a little tight. We saw 2 RVs in the pull through section back to back with just a few inches between their slide outs. We had a back in site on the stream. Our site was a little short for our 32' 5er and TV. We had to wedge our truck between a fence and our 5er to keep from sticking out in the road. Campground was quiet at night. Each site had a picnic table and combination fire ring/grill. We rented a jeep during our stay. The owner was friendly but not very helpful or knowledgeable about the jeep trails in the area. Jeep rentals are limited to daily mileage unlike rentals in town. (800) 562-8026 We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$33
This place is spread out, but was a pretty good stay. Everyone friendly and helpful. Nice views of the area. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2008
$38
Staff was wonderful, found us a wonderful site despite the fact that we arrived without a reservation on Labor Day weekend. Nicely located between Ridgway and Ouray. We would definitely stay here again. Free Wi-Fi. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$45
This was a nice campground. We had a nice pull-through site which was big rig friendly and shaded. This camp ground has lots of trees and a creek running through it. It appears that all of the sites have picnic tables and fire rings. The employees were very nice and helpful. I had breakfast at the Kreekside Kafe and it was very good. The campground is located a few miles north of Ouray, but is very convenient to town, area Jeep trails as well as to Telluride and Ridgway. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2007
$55
Beautiful park, very clean restrooms & showers. Very friendly staff, check in was busy but moved quickly. I would have given this place a 9 rating until we went to eat at the BBQ/cafe. The owners were the loudest, laughing and drinking while working. Poor display of leadership. Take that away and a great park. I'd stay again, just not eat there. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2007
$45
We enjoyed this campground. It’s a busy campground the staff are friendly. After we settled into our site one of the staff stopped by to see if we needed anything from town. In the morning I was sitting outside reading with a cup of coffee and a deer walked within ten feet of me. They seem to keep motor homes, tents and trailers apart. Nice well kept grounds, great location for exploring area. Will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2006
$30
This is a very nice KOA and we have been staying here on our Colorado trips since the early 1980's. There is a cafe on site where you can get breakfast, BBQ, and other tasty meals. Jeeps are available for rent on site. Friendly staff. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2005
$34
We have stayed at this campground a number of times over the years and always enjoy our stay. However in late June, July, and early August, it is very crowded. There are a lot of very nice sites, although some of the pull throughs and full hookup sites on the stream are all gravel with no grass. There are plenty of grassy and shady water and electric sites. Cafe on site has good food at decent prices. Jeeps can be rented on site at competitive rates. Friendly staff. Clean unisex restrooms and showers are available. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2005
$28
We enjoyed our stay at this campground. The office was a little busy, but everyone was very helpful. We especially enjoyed the Sunday night barbeque and bluegrass music. The campground was well-maintained and clean. We stayed over the Fourth of July and the park was full, but we didn't feel crowded. We will definitely stay here again when we come to Colorado. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2005
$40
This was one of the worst KOA's we have been to in a long time! This campground has made it to my "never go back places", the rates were high and the check in was a cluster! The staff(workers) were rude and the sites very close together. Don't waste your money at this one!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$30
Great campground. 4 miles from Ouray. Staff was friendly and helpful. Wonderful mountain scenery and easy access to Black Canyon of the Gunnison. We will definitely be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com