218683 User submitted reviews online!!
Big Chief RV Resort was rated 8 out of 10 based on 20 user reviews. Phone: (512) 793-4746
CGID5876

Big Chief RV Resort

Camp Information
Sites
70
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   9   10   4   7   5   8   9   10   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  no  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2014
$40
We met the new owner.Dedicated to bringing this place back to its former greatness!! Quiet park and has such potential. Pool will be OUTSTANDING when it is back in service. We will be back for that! Lovely small town Texas attitudes. Laid back country setting and good restaurants nearby. Lake needs a good amount of rain to fill up again, but until that happens, whats wrong with just watching a sunrise or sunset or just playing cards with the kids? We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$37
We stayed here in the past. We have relatives on Inks Lake just about 5 miles away, so we stayed here...Sites are grassy and not all level. Lake is way down away from shore line and you need a 4 wheeler to get to it. Mostly towables and 5th wheelers. Great family park, pool and play area. Deer grazing everywhere. Very nice park manager. Town, shopping, restaurants about 15-20 miles away. Quiet and very peaceful with great sunsets. Very quiet at night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$42
Clean park. Great pool area, though it got extremely full because the lake water is so low, people (ppl) were using the pool and hot tub area more. Downside to the pool is that a wheelchair cannot get inside of the gated area. Did not use the restroom facilities, so cannot comment on those. Management was super friendly. Not a paved park, which makes a difference to some. There are cabins by the lake for rental and a big pavilion area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
January 2011
$35
This RV park has been for sale for 3 years and the owner and managers are sucking the $$$ out of it with little in return. The land is owned by the LCRA. The spa did not work our entire stay, and we received several excuses as to why. The sites are unlevel, full of stickers and ants which were carried into our trailer. There is very little grass. The office was only open 4 hours a day at best and seldom opened on time. The managers also have a don't care and you can go elsewhere attitude. Most cell phones do not work here. We will not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$40
Our first time to stay here, even though we have lived in the area for thirty years. Nice park. I found a fair amount of grass between sites, with a really nice view of Lake Buchanan from some sites. Lots of rules and regulations; "don't do this" all over the place. And, I echo a previous review on the Wi-Fi; marginal, at best. Not enough trash cans, either. Beautiful rocky swimming pool, but, difficult to get to if you have walking problems. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2010
$44
This is a fairly nice park but they have several problems. They state they have Wi-Fi, but it didn't work about half the time we were here. There was virtually no grass at any of the sites, but an ABUNDANCE of cockleburrs. Our rig is covered in them and our poor dogs too! If the burrs weren't enough, the fire ants were deadly!!! They had a party for the park on the 3rd that lasted until 1AM with loud booming music!! We wanted some friends to come have dinner with us on the 4th but the park wanted to charge them $35 just to come in for a couple of hours! We will NOT stay here again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$33
This is a very nice park located on a hill with very level sites. Each site is grass with gravel roads. There are two speed bumps but not so big to be a bother. The crew is excellent and took me around in a golf cart to see available sites. No cable TV but we received about 12 OTA (over the air) channels. Has a nice pool and spa. The restrooms were clean the first day but could have used some attention the second morning. They are on the small side but adequate. A few shade sites but they cost more. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$22
We picked a great time to visit Texas Hill Country. The wildflowers were in full bloom. And this campground is surrounded by them. The views across the lake are outstanding. There were few campers here this time of year. The place was very quiet. The office staff seemed to have limited hours, which is understandable with so few camp sites being used. We will go back again if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2010
$22
We thoroughly enjoyed our first stay at Big Chief. The sites were really nice and large, had picnic tables, several nice shade trees, a fabulous view of the lake, with lots of nice green grass! Had wonderful walking trails and great facilities. One of the nicer pools we've seen. We booked an additional stay before we had checked out of our first stay. I would highly recommend. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2010
$7
First park for our new 5th wheel, rented monthly at winter $200 rate and spent long weekends here. WiFi was very weak in the sites but good in the rec hall. Landscaping was very nice, had a beautiful small pool. Spring break had lots of kids and activity, all very nice. Great areas to walk dogs, though lots of "soft" burrs had to be combed out. Has a wonderful staff. Sunsets over the lake were not to be missed. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2009
$25
This campground was very easy to find from the instructions provided. The attendant working the desk was pleasant and had an info packet already compiled with directions to our camp spot. The campground itself was nicely arranged with quite a few spots with larger trees. There are multiple dog walk's, a reasonable clubhouse with some activities lined-up, and a good number of pull-through slots. While the campground itself is on a bit of a grade, the camp spots themselves were all fairly level. The campground also had very good views of the sunset over the lake. Overall: clean, quiet, moderately picturesque and reasonably priced. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$32
A very nice establishment. Everything is very clean and organized. Great pool, clean restrooms, and courteous staff. We will definitely visit again. The only problem encountered was occasional sewer smell in our campsite. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2008
$30
Nice pool, however poor lakefront sites. Nice staff. Big sites, but it didnt have a great feel to it. I'd probably try a state park next time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2007
$90
Nice campground on Lake Buchanan, great area, awesome views. The cabin we had was very clean, well-stocked with glassware, dinnerware, cooking utensils, linens, and towels. All we needed to bring was clothes and food. Office staff was courteous and bathrooms/showers were clean. Park could be manicured just a bit as to weeds, gravel in sites, lights out at sites, etc. We didn't have our MH, but it looked like some sites needed work so they would be level. WIFI was available (free) but was slow. Overall nice place and we would definitely stay again when in the area. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2007
$27
Very clean, very nice park. It sits up so that you can see the Dam and lake. The view is awesome. The pool, hot tub, game room and exercise room were all clean and well-maintained. The bathrooms are private and again, clean. We camped in pull-thru #58, by the pool. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$35
Great park right on the lake. Sites were long and level. Nice pavilion with a great July 4th celebration provided by the owners. Beautiful pool and hot tub area. Security gate. We will definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$35
Good place to camp. Great access to lake. Well maintained. Wifi was a little sketchy, but this is camping. Hope to go again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$35
most sites shady and level, paved roads, pool area is something else, wide sites, take Passport We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2006
$45
Park is nice being brand new. Absolutley no parking for your boat must take out of water each time. Lot of amenities but weekly rate of $140 or $350-400 monthly is WAY out of line compared to other parks at $165-200 for waterfront. Probally won't go back... Toooo rich for my blood. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2006
$30
Level, wide, graveled sites. Some shaded. Paved roads and easy maneuvering. Locked, coded gate. Good water pressure. Hot tub and swimming pool that compliment the natural rock surroundings. Store, rally and fitness room, laundry. Boat ramp. Pull-thru and water front sites cost more. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com