224206 User submitted reviews online!!
Ainsworth State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 24 user reviews. Phone: (503) 695-2261
CGID5889

Ainsworth State Park

Camp Information
Sites
49
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$24



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   10   9   10   9   8   7   6   7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2014
$24
$24 per night (all sites are first come, first served which will be changing to the use of the reservation system in March 2015) was for a slightly un-level asphalt pad site with full hookups, picnic table, and fire ring. Most sites have shade at some point during the day while others are in full shade—at least during the summer. This campground is located 35 miles E of downtown Portland and is out in a country-like setting but near to shopping/dining. This is bicycle country so there are many miles of trails for riding/ walking/hiking. This campground is located adjacent to the Historic Columbia River Highway, I-84, and railroad tracks but is surprisingly quiet as the train doesn’t blow its whistle because there are no crossings nearby. The traffic noise from I-84 is like white noise as trucks don’t use their compression brakes and traffic flows at a steady pace. AT&T cell service was two bars LTE. Our Millenicom Jetpack was getting two bars of 4G LTE which was great for Internet access. There was plenty of over-the-air TV. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2014
$24
No reservations accepted, which suited us very well. Plenty of spaces if you arrive early in the week. Mostly shady, convenient to Portland and Columbia Gorge. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$16
Fall or winter rates are in effect this time of year. This campground is very easy to get into this time of year and our preference for camping is on the upper part of this campground. One reason we started staying here was it was far enough away from the train and you did not have too much freeway noise and it's close enough to Portland that if you want to drive in for the day it is very convenient. The campground has full hookups and for the fall or winter rate it is excellent. We definitely would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$20
Third time we have stayed hear, always for multible days. Great location for visiting the area. Portland to the west Columbia River all around. We like the pull throughs on the upper level. Many over air TV channels. ATT and Verizon coverage. Sites may need a little leveling on one side. There is train noise, this bothers some people. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$20
Well, one turn inside the park is pretty tight for large RVs, & they have upped the price a bit but for what it is, even with train noise & highway noise, there is not much worth a complaint for the price. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$16
A little bit of train sound, but not bad. We like this park and with full hookups you can't beat this price and location, great place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$16
Great overnight stop for us. This park is in deep trees so no possible way to get satellite reception; no cable at sites; no Wi-Fi. We used site A2, one of the first sites we encountered, a pull-through that was a bit difficult to level but we managed to get our 27' 5th wheel level with 4 boards (2 under each wheel on one side). We had some distant train and road noise but not too intrusive and it wouldn't keep us from staying here again. Next time we might try some pull-through sites that are more on the way out than on the way in and hope they are easier to level. At $16 a night this we think this was a very good deal. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2011
$16
If you want a shady place, this is it. Along the Columbia there is no escape from Hwy and train sounds, but they are muted here. Making the best of the topographic challenge of being in the Columbia Gorge, the sites are well laid out, with decent pull throughs. Level, and with full hookups, we had no complaints, though would not stay here again. The notice on the bulletin boards about theft were off-putting. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$20
It is a state park. Some noise from highway and train, but not bad. This is a first come first stay. In summer plan on stopping early afternoon to get a place. Weekends are busy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$17
This is a very popular state park with two campgrounds, one just shortly off of I-84 Exit 35 and one closer to Exit 30 that is suitable for tents, there was a sign "No trailers". Don't miss the turn into the campground near Exit 35, as there are few opportunities to turn around (we were towing a car), the road through the park is narrow and the park was very crowded on a Saturday afternoon. The campground was full, however the park ranger let us have his parking spot (at a reduced rate) that still had hookups since it was an old campsite. We were right next to the dumpster and recycling, but were grateful to have a site so we could stay at the park and hike the beautiful trails. The restrooms were clean and there were programs at the campground for kids. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$22
Beautiful Park, with easy pull through sites. Trail was quite steep off the camp. The water was very chlorinated, we had our own water for coffee thankfully. The trains didn't bother us. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$16
We loved this park. We were able to make in into the first loop just great. We stayed close to the top of the hill. We had to back down the hill to turn around, but that wasn't a big deal. The slots had a nice amount of space, so we didn't feel crowded. There were nice tree. The park just had a nice pleasant feeling. We enjoyed a campfire while we were there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$20
Oregon State Park across the highway from the Columbia River. There is some train noise, but we stayed 3 nights and no train noise during the night to wake us, and not too bad during the day. Sites are in the trees, so we could not get satellite service, but we have Verizon cell service. A couple of trails to go to the nearest falls from the campground. Camp hosts patrol regularly but there really were great campers here with us, no noisy neighbors while we were here. First-come-first serve campground so get here on a Thursday if you want a weekend spot! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$20
This is a very nice park, unfortunately it is close enough to the Interstate and railroad that noise can still be heard. There is also an extra ($5) charge for the tow car. The noise is the reason for not rating higher. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2008
$16
Park here is nice but dirt pads not level. Bathrooms and showers clean. Campground full but quiet. Occasional trains but not bothersome. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$17
We enjoyed the Columbia River Gorge and this park very much. It is well shaded and the sites are a good size. The camp host was great too. While we were there Good Sam "Oregon 79ers" were there doing a big clean up. Thanks for that and the bun! Get in early because there is no reserving a site here. Hike, bike, drive the historic highway, or just relax. Take a few extra days here and enjoy amazingly lush forests. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2008
$12
As with other parks along the Columbia Gorge, I would give this park a higher rating if it weren't for the trains. However, Ainsworth is probably the least noisy compared to either Viento (awful!) or Memaloose. The setting is certainly beautiful and the amenities are good. We stayed 3 nights and had a great time exploring the old Historic Columbia River Highway, much of which can be driven in a car (but NOT a large RV), and some of which can be hiked or bicycled. Be sure to see Multnomah Falls and Vista House at Crown Point. One note of caution: sites A1 through A13, being on a hill, all slope to a greater or lesser degree. We had a devil of a time getting level and finally moved to a site lower down the hill that was closer to the train tracks, but more level. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2007
$16
Wow! What a treat this park is. Beautiful surroundings and lots of pull-thru spaces. At $16/night in a state park, I wasn't also expecting to get electric/water hook-ups and showers. Absolutely perfect and couldn't have been more delighted with this park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2007
$16
I agree with the Sept 2006 reviewer; but to add, there are two loops; one for larger RVs and the other for campers and tents. The first loop is farther away from the traffic and trains. The campground is really a nice one and would rate a 9 in our book but for the trains and traffic. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2006
$20
This is a first come first serve state park campground with 45 full hookups and can accommodate up to 60 feet. It is a very pretty little park with lots of trees and ground cover. The sites can accommodate RV's with slides and awnings, there's plenty of room. There's a creek on the east end of the park and walking trails. The Bonneville Dam is nearby where they have tours and there are a number of waterfalls in the area. The only draw back to this campground is that it's located too close to the I-84 and the train tracks. You can hear the roar of the traffic and the train whistles day and night. We would only stay here again as a stop over. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$16
A very nice park. Shaded forest, 13 pull-thru sites. I only heard the train once, early in the evening. Otherwise a quiet area. Convenient to Cascade Locks and Multnomah Falls. No reservations so stop early for best selection. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2005
$16
Very nice state park campground. Mostly shaded sites. Well maintained. Small and doesn't take reservations but there always seemed to be some sites available. Very convenient to I-84 and historic Rt 30. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2005
$16
Very nice park. Excellent shade and spacious, well maintained sites. Great jump-off point for the US 30 waterfalls that start less than a mile down the road. There is some distant road and train noise that was somewhat annoying or I would have rated it even higher. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2003
$16
Very nice park. Well maintained and the views are fantastic of St. Peters Dome. There is a train track running by the park which can be noisy at times but never woke me up at night. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com