224136 User submitted reviews online!!
Ridgway State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 67 user reviews. Phone: (970) 626-5822
CGID590

Ridgway State Park

Camp Information
Sites
283
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$26



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   7   9   4   8   10   7   9   6   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2014
$26
An excellent park! There are actually 3 separate areas. Dallas Creek is a day use area. Dutch Charlie has the main visitor's center, a swim beach and boat moorings; most of the sites here are smaller and tighter. Pa-Co-Chu-Puk (Ute for "Cow Creek") has the best facilities for RVs, but also has tent sites, with a few sites having both; we stayed here. Some sites here are on a bluff over the river. Restrooms and laundry were first-class and very clean; we did not use the showers. Sites facing south have sun shelters. Activities on the weekends; schedules are posted at the Visitor's Center and the restrooms. Hiking/biking trails in the park. About 8 miles to Ridgeway, and another 10-12 to Ouray. Most of the staff are camp hosts or volunteers, and very friendly. Firewood and ice are available for purchase. There is no Wi-Fi and cell coverage is marginal. Verizon probably a little better than AT&T due to there being a Verizon cell tower on a hill at Dutch Charlie. Overall, really enjoyed the stay and would come again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$28
Wide open sites with lots of room around each. Water and sewer is available but not at each site. Didn't use the showers or laundry. Problems were, half of the sites are laid out backwards. The hookups and tables are on the wrong side of the site so that your door faces away from your table and the patio and firepit? The grass is in need of mowing and we felt it was a fire hazard. All that being said, we enjoyed our stay and the folks here were great. overall nice an quiet, just laid out by someone who never stayed here. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$28
A very nice state park. We stayed in the loop which had full hookups. Very level sites with concrete pads. Nice bathrooms and laundry. Nice central location for many activities. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2014
$23
Ridgway State park consists of three separate campgrounds: Dakota Terrace, Pa-Co-Chu-Puk & Elk Ridge. Pa-Co-Chu-Puk: This has the full hook sites. We made our reservation in January for our July trip. I specifically reserved a site by the river. Google Earth does a very poor job of demonstrating terrain, because the river access consists of almost rappelling down a 40 foot cliff....not good. In addition to no river access, the mosquitoes were horrible to the point that we couldn't be outside for more than a few seconds before we were attacked. I think I saw a small dog sucked dry by those bloodsuckers! The park rangers said that the mosquitoes are always a problem during the summer months, and I wish I would have known that before the reservations were made. We stayed one night out of the six nights before we were able to get the rest of our reservation moved to the Dakota Terraces campgrounds. I would not stay at this campground again based on the mosquito problems. We were in site #267. Dakota Terrace: This campground was a trip saver based on all the problems that we had with the mosquitoes at Pa-Co-Chu-Pak. The campsites were close together to see what the campers were doing, yet far enough away to where we weren't on top of each other. There were few established large trees in this campsite. The pads weren't the concrete pads that were available in Pa-Co-Chu-Pak, but rather asphalt and required a bit of leveling. The bathrooms/shower facilities were clean and well-kept, and the park hosts did a good job to keeping the place clean and well organized. Overall, it served its purpose and we would stay there again if necessary. Elk Ridge: This is the campground you want to try to reserve in. A lot of big established trees that did a good job of allowing better privacy between campsites. While we didn't use the bathroom or the shower in this campsite, I would assume that based on the exceptional job of how well the other amenities were maintained, this one would be no different. The website says that Elk Ridge is the most popular campground and I can see why. Site #186 is the best in the park with a great view of the lake. Out of all three parks, this one offers the best seclusion. Summary: All three parks have their strengths and weaknesses. Dakota Terrace and Elk Ridge offer the best options if traveling with kids because it allows the easiest access to the swim beach and the playgrounds. All the campsites had a fire ring and grill, all had easy access to clean showers and bathrooms and all campgrounds had a good play area for the kids. A big kudos goes out to the Colorado State Park Department for providing clean, safe and enjoyable camping facilities. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$29
This was a very nice park. We stayed in the Dutch Charlie Dakota Terraces section. Most spots have view of reservoir or mountains. There are smaller trees at most sites. Sites had a patio with a fire ring, picnic table (some had a shelter), and shared water. Water tank needed to be filled then disconnected from water spout. The showers are $1 for 4 minutes and 25c for each additional minute. So, we just showered in our camper. The price includes the $7 entry fee. We did not reserve online. If we did that, it is an additional $10 fee. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$26
Can I give this park a "11" rating?! No matter what time frame you have when making reservations to visit here, plan to stay at least 2 weeks as the opportunities for incredible activities abound in and around this top-notch facility. Each site is level, on concrete, and many loops offer full hook-ups. All sites are well groomed and spaced out for real privacy. Beautiful views of the river and surrounding mountains are all around you. A birder's and fisherman's paradise with direst access to the revisor for boating and swimming. There are several sections of Ridgway State Park and many loops/locations options to choose from. Wonderful groomed trails, several large public pavilions, a playground, showers, a clean laundry facility and helpful, knowledgeable staff combine to help you feel at home. This park is located between Montrose and Ridgway and we loved it so much, we became Colorado State Park Camp hosts! We stayed here in a 37 ft 5th wheel with two dogs. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$27
Nightly rate was based on a 14 day stay. We have a 40 coach with 4 slides and a tow vehicle. We had a site in the full hook up loop that was level but we had to trim back the bushes around the hook ups so that we could open our slides. There was a concrete pad with asphalt in front and behind the pad so that your leveling feet were not in the dirt. Water pressure fine; electric fine; sewage fine. Great location for multiple day trips. If you are doing and extended stay like we did, if you are going in and out with your tow vehicle, it might pay to get the CO annual park pass because there is a charge for the day each time you leave and enter a CO park. Staff professional and polite. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$22
Excellent for a government campground. Bath, showers and laundromat were excellent and clean. People in visitor center were very helpful and pleasant. After reservation was paid for 5 nights at $22 per night, I got an email that I would have to pay $7 per night for vehicle access, or $70 for annual pass. Friendly host routinely circles park in golf cart to keep and eye on things. Quiet and relaxing. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2013
$32
For a state park, this is a decent one! The spaces are a good distance from each other, there are many pull throughs and the park is quiet and away from the city and highway. The river offers fishing and hiking. We were disappointed in the lack of AT&T cell service, no Wi-Fi and no cable. All three of these amenities are usually standard in a private park. So for 32/ night we thought it was overpriced and under featured. Due to the Wi-Fi and cell issues we won't be staying here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$33
We stayed at Ridgway State Park Pa-Co-Chu-Puk campground for 4 nights while visiting the Ouray area. Full hookups and a lot of room between sites. Very big-rig friendly and I don't think there is a bad site in the park...best sites are furthest from the road. Full laundry facilities on-site and the bathrooms/showers are modern and spotless. The campground is about 15 miles north of Ouray but the drive into town is quick and beautiful. The river running through the park is great to listen to and hike beside. Wonderful park....we will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$22
Our first time at this park and we love it. We stayed in site 80 something, nice with trees. Electric only, no water hookups or sewer. Host's were so nice, they welcomed us as soon as we got there. We bought firewood and ice (yes, they sell ice!) and they delivered it to our site! Now that's service! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$22
This was our 3rd stay at Ridgway State Park. We like everything about the park: great views, very clean new restrooms, paved roads, good space between campers, great access from highway and great rates. We could ask for nothing more in a campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$15
Very nice park. Well maintained. Little town of Ridgeway was great with good restaurants. Use town hall for WI-FI. It is free (no password needed) and the park next to it is great for picnics and relaxing. Laundry in town is a good one. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$26
Best all-around state park we have camped in. We camped in Pa Co Chu Puk area, on the Uncompaghre River, downstream from the dam. The other camping area is on the lake itself, and there is an additional day use area at the upstream end of the lake, where the river comes in. Boating and fishing are great, caught two nice rainbows in the lake and a large brown trout in the river, which is catch-and-release. Nice walking trails, and a very clean laundry and shower facility. We stayed 3 days, and we will stay again if we have the chance. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$22
We have stayed in Ridgway State Park on numerous occasions over the years. We even had our wedding ceremony on an overlook that you can reserve for that purpose behind the visitors center. We have camped on all of their different loops and stayed in the Yurts that are available. The camper services buildings are always clean. Most sites are level or require moderate leveling. We enjoy this park and will continue to use it every summer. The camp hosts are always great people. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2013
$24
Do not stay in summer, power is unreliable. Running one a/c and entire park lost power each day. Sites sound long, but they are curved and my Motorhome is not. Would recommend in cooler months with smaller RVs. Grass not cut, seems unkept. Staff not friendly when approached about power problem, host said they do not get paid and are not work campers. Will not stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$29
We spent 3 nights on the E loop with a nice view of the valley. After spending the previous week in a campground with dirt roads, it was a nice change to not have the wind kicking up dirt as all roads are paved at Ridgway. The showers cost $1 for 4 minutes. My wife didn't like that idea at first but soon found 4 minutes was enough, and there is a need to conserve water in this region. There is no individual water hook up but shared faucets. That was fine as we filled our camper tank when we got there. We also had enough hose to get more water without having to haul it if we had run out. We really enjoyed the trails around the park. We walked the gravel paths and bicycled the paved ones. Overall, this is a really nice park. It was our first trip here in nearly 18 years. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$26
This park is our "home away from home". We have had our travel trailer one year and camped out at Pa-Co-Chu-Puk four times. The sites aren't jammed together but spacious. The restrooms are very clean. There's soda and snack machines, a laundry center and playgrounds for the kiddies. There are fish cleaning stations. It seems like no detail has been overlooked, this park is complete! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$17
Stay at Ridgway nearly every year about this same time to shoot the fall colors. This year only stayed one night since it was way past peak for the colors. No problem getting a site since the park at this time of year is pretty empty. Drive the loops and find a spot that you like. Main bathroom does have showers but out on the loop B where I was located it was just a simple restroom with the prison style toilets. Everything was clean. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$27
The Colorado State Parks, are unbelievably wonderful. Large sites and clean, I have yet to stay at one that I did not enjoy! We stayed in Loop G of the Pa Co Chu Puk area. There really isn't a bad site in the place, but the sites furthest from Hwy 550 are quietest, although the road was quiet at night. Great fishing, deer in the campground, perfect fall weather. The reservoir was low, but he river offered excellent trout fishing. Our Verizon signal was weak but worked. The signal is very strong in the Dutch Charlie Campground which is closer to the reservoir, but further from the Uncompahgre River. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$27
For Pa-Co-Chu-Puk CG, which is north of the main site on the lake. Colorado state parks are excellent and this is no exception. Easy access, level sites, good utilities, beautiful views, nice setting on the river and two small ponds, friendly staff, well kept grounds (but watch out for the prickly pear) and lots to do in the area. The main CG is on the lake and last year we had a great spot looking out over the lake. Book early. Also, only some of the sites have covered picnic table areas, and it is a really nice perk. We'll be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$30
This is our 2nd time staying at Ridgeway. We were in the Pa-Co-Chu-Puk section this time so that we could have full hook-ups and a pull through site. Everything was what we expected. Colorado State Parks are a real deal! As far as I am concerned if you want to be near Ouray, this is the place to camp. We will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$26
Stayed in site 278 in the Pa-Co-Chu-Puk Campground with view of fishing ponds and creek. Very pretty. I'd stay in this site again, but note two things: no shade in afternoon, and site is right by path, so lot's of foot traffic. Nice to have full hook-ups, but if you don't need, several very nice large sites in the other campgrounds in the park. AT&T worked OK and Verizon was fine. Decent trails in the park and excellent hiking in the area. Hope to stay here again. Add $7 to nightly rate if you don't have a park pass. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$20
Very nice for a state park. Elk Ridge has all the trees and shade. It is the best part of the park to stay. The rest of the park has small trees but very little shade. We stay there often We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$28
This is a very nice Colorado State campground with full hookups. The electrical service is 30 amps. We have Verizon telephone service and had no problem with it. This is a rural campground with Colorado mountain scenery. The attractions of Ouray and Silverton are within easy driving distance. We have a state pass, but if we did not we would have to pay an additional $7 for a daily entrance fee for one vehicle. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$26
Pa-Co-Chu-Puk Campground - We stayed here hoping to work from the park during the week and take fall color photos over the weekend. The problem: very poor AT&T 3G connectivity and no reliable Verizon or Sprint cell phone coverage. For the weekend, however, what a nice place! Loop F & G are full hookups with 30 amp service (G loops around to overlook the river, so those sites are usually full). Loop F gets some road noise, but it quiets down at night. Deer wander through the open spaces in the center of the loop. This is typical of a nice CO state-run campground --clean, well-policed, clean facilities. The park is convenient to Montrose and Ridgway. We will stay here again. Price reflects no park pass for the RV since we are annual members. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$33
This review is for the Pa-Co-Chu-Puk campground within the state park. This area has full hookups and is ideal for big rigs with many pull throughs. We arrived after Labor Day when reservations are not accepted and had no problem getting a site. The restrooms and attached laundry were immaculate. We were in the river loop which is quieter than the other loop which is closer to the highway. Two ponds and the river is accessible from this campground. The large reservoir is accessible only from the Dakota Terraces and Elk Ridge campgrounds which are three miles away although there is a hiking trail connecting to the reservoir. There are miles of nice hiking trails in this park. The $33 nightly rate includes the $7 daily fee. The Colorado state park annual fee for non-residents is $70 so it's worthwhile buying the annual if staying in any of the state parks more than ten days a year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$29
We camped here the day after Labor Day, so lots of sites were available. The 10 rating is comparable to other state parks, not private parks which have more amenities but much less ambiance and space. (We first drove through Pa-Co-Chu-Pulk because it had full hookups. It was very barren and we did not like the ambiance.) Moved 4 miles down the road to Dutch Charlie. Their web site said that the Elk Ridge area was the most popular, so that is where we requested. The front gate discouraged us due to the size of our 40' motorhome, but we found lots of sites that fit us. We selected D99 pull-through loop. This campground has nice ambiance with trees, but most sites do not have trees that interfere with satellite. The Elk Ridge area is elevated and Verizon worked very well here and provided us with good Internet. They have 30 amp electric and "shared water." There is a water faucet about every other site, so pick one and fill your tank. We found it to have very private sites with lots of room, picturesque, good roads and level sites, nice picnic tables and convenient to local things to do. Some sites have lake view. We would definitely come here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$23
One of the best state parks in a state with great state parks. We were in Elk Ridge campground E section. Our hosts were wonderful. Ice was available from the host so you don't have to go hauling off to town to fill up your cooler. My daily rate reflects a discount for Aspen Senior Pass. All CO State Parks have coin operated showers. I know people complain about daily use fees and pay showers but this year the state parks in Colorado received zero dollars from the state. We are very lucky to have our parks open under these conditions. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$24
We had a beautiful site overlooking the lake on site 66. The park and the lake are very nice. No shade for the coach but there was a shed over the picnic table. Fairly level site, with 30 amp a charcoal grill and water facet accessible across the road. Be ready to pay the extra daily, or annual, fee in addition to the camping fee. And, hopefully, you won't have to deal with the rude camp host. He was very unfriendly and down right nasty to us on 2 different occasions. Maybe he's a retired cop or drill sergeant? We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$21
Camped here to visit the Ouray - Telluride areas. Stayed in the Elk Ridge CG with just electric, but water was too far to hook up to. We selected a back-in site because the pull-thrus were a little tight and we don't have a big 5th wheel. All the sites were paved as were the roads. They were very friendly when we registered. The hiking trails were great and well marked. While there isn't any Wi-Fi in the park per se we did find a free location in the small city of Ridgway, about 6 miles away. We drove up next to a small coffee shop on the south side of the road thru town (can't recall the name) and we were able to log on without a password from the parking lot (we don't drink coffee or we would have gone in). We'd definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$33
Very nice campground. Price reflects daily vehicle entrance fee. We stayed in the full hookup sites. Laundry room, clean bath house, beautiful views, hiking, biking, the river, what more to ask for? We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$20
We were supposed to stay at Haviland State park but could not make it over the pass. Lucky for us we found Ridgeway State park,. It is a beautiful campground. Our site was in the back along the river, so peaceful. They have 2 fishing ponds where we caught several nice trout. We recommend this state park to everyone we know that camps. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$28
Wow, what a beautiful park! I have visited many Colorado State parks but none that are as nice as this one with the views so spectacular. We stayed in the Pa Co Chu Puk campground, loop G and had a site on the Uncompahgre river. Sites are concrete and asphalt, level, full hookups. Park is very well maintained. Spotless restrooms, shower, and very nice clean laundry area. This park is at the top of my favorite parks in Colorado. Staff was very friendly and helpful. The only reason I did not give it a 10 was no Wi-Fi or cell service where we were. I could not even use my Verizon card. We stayed here for 4 days and I would return tomorrow if I could. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$22
We stayed in the Elk Ridge section of the Dutch Charlie area. This state park is big, so the different campground areas are quite a ways from each other. The Elk Ridge area is shaded by Pinyon and Junipers and is the most shaded campground. State park has many nicely developed trails with good marking. Very scenic location. Electric at sites with shared water. Bring lots of hose. There is a dump station at the Dutch Charlie section to the right after the check-in station. Camp hosts were wonderful! We would definitely stay again. If reserving, pay attention to the side of the road your site is on. It is a one-way road, so you may be "backwards" in your site. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$26
We had the Colorado state pass so the $26/night is the camping rate. Couldn't ask for a more beautiful place to camp. Nice level sites, good utilities, lots of open space so you don't feel crowded. This is the best state park we have ever been to - it even has a nice laundry room with front loaders! The park has multiple areas with different entrances from 550 - we were at the most northern one with the full-hookups. Hiking trails go around the fishing ponds (beautiful) and the river - and then up to the hills where the tent campers are (those sites also looked great). Reserve ahead for weekends and holidays since the campsite will sell-out. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$24
We stayed here last year about the same time. Water at most of the sites is turned off but they do have some turned on where you can go and fill your tanks. 30 amp hook ups and sewer hooks were working. The showers and laundry rooms were closed until it gets a bit warmer. Probably May. This is great site along the river. The $24/day does not reflect the daily park fee you have to pay. If you're planning on being in the state for awhile, buy an annual pass and save some bucks. The State Parks system in Colorado has some nice parks and gets it's capital money from the lottery. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$26
We stayed at Elk Ridge Campground in space 96, and thoroughly enjoyed this wonderful park. It was very quiet, and even though there were other campers nearby, the large sites, spacing between sites, and abundant trees really dampen any sound. We thought we would have some view of the reservoir from up here, but the abundance of trees pretty much blocks the water and mountain views. Still, we didn't spend too much time there, since we were mainly in the area for viewing the spectacular fall aspen in the mountains around Ouray, Silverton, and Telluride. This is a perfect location for accessing those areas, and Montrose is nearby for shopping and most services. We were surprised that such a jewel of a park was so uncrowded during peak fall colors in the area. Hope it stays that way! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$30
Stayed at the Pa-Co-Chu-Puk section of the park. Main reason for the stay was to drive up Red Mountain Pass in the car. The CG is great, always clean, and tidy. Has a camper service building with a laundry area which has large washer and dryers. Sites are level and spacious and depending on the loop you're in can have quite scenic views. Rest rooms were spotless as were the showers. The above rate reflects the additional $4.00/day use fee on top of the $26/night camping fee. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$24
This review is for the Pa-Co-Chu-Puk Campground (Cow Creek) which happens to be one of our favorite state campgrounds (in spite of some problems as detailed below.) Attributes include full hookups, paved interior roads, concrete pads, low density of camping sites to area, fire ring, BBQ grill, picnic table and close proximity to Ouray and Silverton for sightseeing and 4x4 trails, and Montrose for shopping. After staying here for a few days it was very obvious more management oversight was/is needed. Issues: 1) Speeding in the campground is a persistent problem in spite of the few speed bumps. I observed a little tyke on a scooter almost get run over by a speeding motorhome (my heart about stopped while I watched this unfold.) This fellow must have been going 20-25 MPH in the campground loop (speed limit is 10) and he came very close to me while I was walking my dog. They had a friend following in a car going just as fast. More speed bumps are necessary for those that choose to ignore rules (more about ignoring rules later.) 2) This is just too weird to believe - check-out time is 12 noon and check-in time is 12 noon. For the 99.99% of parks we have been to over the last five years, the times are wisely staggered. We arrived at our site at 12:10 pm (I looked at the time) and was amazed to see a 5th wheel, truck, and truck/boat still in our site. Obviously check-out times were not enforced at least in this instance. 3) In site #245 I observed over a several day period up to five (5!) vehicles not including their 5th wheel trailer parked in the campsite overnight. The rules and I quote are: "The allowable combinations are: One passenger vehicle and two tents; or One motorized vehicle towing a camping trailer and one tent (if space allows) If space permits, *-ONE-* (emphasis added) additional passenger vehicle and/or motorcycle may be parked at a campsite." In this same site I thought we had Bubba's Garage set up. They were working on the engine of an old 4x4 vehicle, and I suppose changing tires around; there were a pile of tires under their 5th wheel. All of this happened with rangers and park volunteers making their regular rounds. Absolutely unbelievable. What's the point of having rules if they aren't enforced? Are they just suggestions? 4) In just about every campsite we looked at, the bushes that would be on the street-side or left side of the camping unit as parked on the pad are in dire need of trimming. We had to position our unit way to the right to avoid opening our slide into the bushes. Of the few trees on the campground loop, one in particular needs limbs trimmed; we had to drive around the tree to avoid scratching our paint. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$30
We really like this park and return yearly after visiting Blue Mesa. Only stayed one day but we enjoyed it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$30
First of all, AN IMPORTANT NOTE: If you are driving a motor home with a toad, you will only have to pay one $6 vehicle fee, not $12 for "Two motorized vehicles," as some thought. The policy at Colorado state parks has been changed and they will give you a free pass for your toad. So, the $30 rate reflects $24 for a full-hook-up site and one $6 vehicle charge per day. This is a beautiful park. If you want full hook-ups you need to stay at Pa-Co-Chu-Puk Campground which is north of the Reservoir next to the rushing Uncompagre River and two ponds stocked with trout. Sites are very spacious and private with lots of pull-throughs. No WiFi but Verizon works. Montrose is 14 miles up the road with anything you might need, including a Super Wal-Mart, Target, etc., but Ridgway is only 5 miles south and has a decent market and other stores. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$20
We were in the riverside (as opposed to highway-side) loop in Pa-Co-Chu-Puk Campground; site #254. We had full hookups. Our site was fabulous: next to the fishermen's access parking, so no neighbor on that side, just a field that was visited every morning by several deer. We could walk down to the river and fish the prime trout water (artificial flies/lures only). Each loop has only one bathroom building, and each bathroom building has two stalls. There's a central "camper services" building that has a laundry room (3 washers, 3 dryers, $1.50 a load each), and a restroom with hot showers: $.25 a minute with 4 minute minimum. Spacious showers; good water flow. We have AT&T cell phone, which is "off network" here in case you need to be using your data plan. Service was intermittent. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$20
Another beautiful Colorado State Park. Large park with different camping loops. We stayed in the Dutch Charlie/Dakota loop. 30 amp electric at site, water nearby but not at site, dump station. The Dakota loop has expansive views of the mountains and some have reservoir views also. The upper section at Dutch Charlie is 150 feet higher with closer site spacing, higher trees around to block views. Lower campground at Po Cha loop has full hookups, but unless your on the river, IMO not as nice as Dakota loop for ambience. Great laundry on site. Note campground fee does not include $6 daily motorized vehicle fee unless you have Colorado annual state park sticker ($60). Bike trails/hiking/swim beach (but cold), boating and fishing. Bigger rigs may need some blocking for level. We had a nice shade cabana over our picnic table, some don't. DirectTv good, AT&T cell strong, Verizon air card 2 bars. Quiet, friendly, weekend ranger programs. During the week, we have been one of only a few rigs in the campground, with weekends are closer to full. Great location for touring this part of Colorado, including Ouray, Silverton, Telluride etc., all within an hours drive or so. Groceries and fuel close by in Ridgway (about 10 minutes) and there is a Wal-Mart in Montrose (about 30 minutes). We definitely would come back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$20
We stayed loop E of the Elk Ridge campground in the Dutch Henry section of the park. Elk Ridge loops have more shade than the other camping areas. The restrooms were clean and had flush toilets. The showers cost 25 cents per minute with a 4 minute minimum. It is about a .7 mile walk down a trail to the lake. The lake was good for swimming. There are some really nice views from the park, the lake is very pretty, and there are plenty of trails for walking. Pets can use the trails but must be on leash. The campsites were nicely spaced out. There is a cell phone tower in the Elk Ridge loops, but cell service went from 4 bars to none occasionally. However, we were not able to get Verizon EVDO data for our air card without an external antenna. With the antenna we were able to get a strong reliable EVDO data signal. We found this campground very conveniently located to explore the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$26
Spaces were well isolated, level and quiet. Verizon phone services was intermittant, WiFi worked very slowly but was ok for email. Had no TV reception. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$20
Very nice park, but we were not told when we made the reservation that there is an extra $6 day use fee (or buy an annual pass for $60). Good hiking trails, well-patrolled by park police & hosts, very clean & nice views of mountains & reservoir. Good base for Black Canyon of the Gunnison, Ouray & Telluride. Supplies 5 miles in town of Ridgway. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2009
$22
This is a great place, but gets very, very busy in the summer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$34
Nightly rate includes the vehicle fees ($6 for RV plus $6 for towed car) for a 30amp full hookup site at Pa-Co-Chu-Puk (site 269). This park is amazing. Our back-in site was right above a creek, with a soothing sound of running water. The view to the creek is obscured by hedges, and there is a pretty steep drop off behind the site down to the creek, but there is enough room behind the concrete pad to safely and easily move around the rig. Site 269 was 'special' in that the actual picnic table and grill were on a concrete pad on the driver side of the rig - i.e. awnings etc were useless - we walked around the back to sit down at the table. No big deal, just something to be aware of. It appears as if the pads for the tables for other sites were in the normal spot, on the passenger side. Even though, maybe because of the late season, we did not have any issues with this set-up, since the trees and hedges provided enough shade to comfortably sit around the table in the afternoon and evenings. Highway noise in our loop was pretty much nonexistent, and we slept with the windows open with the creek sounds in the background. Side tip: When visiting this area, do so in late September to get the full effect of the changing colors. And take an SUV or other 'back roads capable' toad; it'll be worth your while exploring the many dirt and gravel roads around Ridgway, Telluride, and Ouray (or rent a Jeep in Ouray). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2009
$22
We stayed in the Pa-Co-Chu-Puk campground in loop G. We have stayed here many times over the years and have always enjoyed it and found the park well maintained. However, this year we found the park to be showing it's age. The vegetation around the sites isn't being trimmed as in the past. This has caused the bushes to overgrow the sites and makes it more difficult to park the RV. Trees have been cut down in spots and not replaced. The roads are in need of patching in some spots. All of this is probably the result of the state's financial condition. Hopefully they won't cut more of the State Parks budget and the economy will improve. It is still a beautiful area and the staff is always friendly and helpful. We will probably come again in the future. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$22
We stayed in the Elk loop on top of the mountain and it is very nice. Quiet and scenic: this is the best loop for camping. The pull-through sites are a bit tight for a big rig, but they will work. Most of the back-in sites are better. Take a long hose to fill your tank with fresh water so you want have to haul it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$22
We stayed at a pull through, full hookup site on the F loop. Sites were level so of course they all puddle-up in the rain. Note: the rangers at the gate tend to give incorrect directional instructions for an RV needing to use hookups once at a site. As far as state parks go this one seems just average. An annual pass will save you $6 a day from the posted rate. The advertised beach and snorkeling is a drive away and the sand there looked dirty and disgusting. We chose this place as it's a good location for visiting Ouray, Silverton and Telluride with a tow car. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$22
This is a review of the Pa-Co-Chu-Puk campground. This is the "full hook-up" campground that is at the north end of the park. The sites are nice and some have great views of the river and fishing ponds. There is not much shade so it might be too hot in the middle of the summer. However, stay in loop "G"! Loop "F" is too close to highway 550 and there is a lot of traffic noise there. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$24
We stayed in the very pretty Elk Ridge campground, and if you like trees and shade this is really the only campground to choose in Ridgway State Park. It is electric only. The playgrounds were relatively new and well kept up, and the hiking trails kept the kids busy. The pay showers were the biggest drawback at a dollar per 4 min shower. Some sites can require a lot of leveling, but most had nice privacy. If you have a boat or fish then the other two campgrounds in town may be more useful since they are right on the water. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$24
My family and I decided to stay at this park after reading many of the positive reviews. We booked a three night stay in the "upper" loop with full hook-ups. Our site had no shade at all and the area consisted of a dry prairie type of grass. It was out in the open, hot, and not very picturesque. After one night we decided to relocate to a campground in Ouray, which was much cooler and more scenic. All of the utilities at the site worked great and the area was very clean. All park employees were very friendly. My main complaint with this park has to do with the close proximity to Hwy 550 which was very busy and NOISY! It also bothers me that the state of Colorado charges entry fees for both the motorhome and toad. This tends to negate the "good deal" which is usually associated with state park facilities. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$22
This review is about the full hook up section called Pa Co Chu Puk (or close to that). We had heard such wonderful things about Ridgway being the showcase park in the Colorado State Parks System. We ended up mildly disappointed. While the park itself has wonderful attractions like a marina, lake, trails, river and such, the camp sites in the full hook up section were dispersed amidst cheat grass and sticker weed and fully half the sites were way too close to Hwy 550 for any degree of quiet. It's largely a matter of where you end up but your choices are broadly: quiet but mosquito-city or noisy and lesser mozzies. Dog walking was tough on the little paws due to stickers - why is it that Colorado system affords the poorer sites to the campers who pay the highest fees? having said all that, the facilities were clean, campers were well behaved, it's a great base camp to explore Ouray, Telluride and other phenomenal places. Just wasn't quite the super duper park we had had hoped. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$22
We stayed in the Pa Co Chu Puk - G loop. I usually resist giving a perfect score, but this area earned it :) The sites have concrete pads and are very level and clean. The sitting area, with a campfire ring, was also concrete. The views are fabulous we enjoyed ourselves a lot, there is a lot to do in the park and surrounding area. It does warm up during the day, but luckily in Colorado it cools off nicely at night. During the 4th of July weekend, we did have 1 night that we felt more comfortable in a lite jacket by the campfire. We were impressed with the thoroughness and quickness of the camp hosts during check-out time. They did a wonderful job! **Things to consider when visiting Ridgway** 1. Bring Mosquito repellant! 2. There are actually 3 camping areas, plus a walk in tent area. Pa Co Chu Puk is the furthest from the lake. 3. The Elk Ridge and Dakota Terraces campground roads are one way. Keep that in mind when reserving your spot because most sites are pull-thru and the hook-ups are on the driver side of your rig. 4. There is a swim beach. 5. There is a lot of fishing in the area, so bring your fishing supplies. 6. The showers are coin operated, with a 4 minute minimum. Count on paying $.25/minute and the showers do not give you a warning when your time is near, they will just turn off when your time is up. We enjoyed ourselves so much that we have already reserved our spot for Labor Day weekend too! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$29
We spent a week here this summer (2008). It is a well maintained park and has a very pleasant and helpful staff. We do not boat but appears to be great area for boating and fishing. We found it well located for day trips to sites in all directions. Some of the camping loops are in the open, but several of the sites are in wooded areas with great views of the lake and surrounding mountains. If our future plans take us to Southwest Colorado we will consider this park again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2007
$26
This must be one of the best state parks in Colorado. Great location for touring Ouray, Telluride, etc. The CG itself is huge with a number of different camping areas not connected to each other. Sites are paved, level, and many have full hook-ups. Shade is somewhat limited but since it never gets too warm here that is not a problem. This state park puts most of the private RV facilities in the area to shame. Reserve early for the best riverside sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2006
$20
A State Park campground with RV Park amenities! Every site I saw had concrete or wood deck dining pads as well as asphalt drives. Most sites are handicap accessible and have electric or full hookups. Many pull-thru sites. The shower/bath houses were newer and quite clean. They even had a large coin laundry room that had a sink for washing dishes as well as vending machines. The park is in arid foothills. There is a lower loop close to the boat launch that is rather open/exposed. The upper loop is on top of a foothill and has great views of the lake and San Juan Mtn range plus more short/squatty pine trees for a tad bit more privacy and wind protection. Great location to explore the northern portions of the San Juan scenic loop and not too far from Montrose if you need some city conveniences. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2006
$20
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Ridgway State Park. We stayed in two of their campgrounds, mainly because their requirements for reservations are so confusing that we came in to one for one night and then transferred to another. The views of the mountains are spectacular, the river is close for fishing and there are numerous hiking trails around the park. This was a highlight of our three week trip to the West from Mississippi. We will plan to return to this State Park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2006
$25
This is a great state park! The sites are very large, level and easily accessible. The hosts were very friendly and helpful. Fishing is just a short walk away. The only negative is the lack of trees and shade. Don't stay in the sites with a drop off with kids or dogs, they are very narrow sites with a steep drop. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2005
$28
One of the best state park CG's. Rangers friendly. Nice quiet campsite! We'll be back!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2005
$38
Having to pay an extra amount for pulling a vehicle is not acceptable. The workers were rude. One of our friends that were camping with us had car trouble and we pulled their vehicle back to the campground. We pulled it over out of the way of others and the campground workers made us move it. It was not running, so had to hook up and tow it about 3 feet. No view whatsoever! Just the backside of the dam. Will not stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2005
$23
Great place to camp!! There are nicely stocked fishing ponds, fantastic trails, and water galore! Rangers and volunteers kept everything under control over the busy 4th of July weekend. We're heading back again next month!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2004
$16
Views are terrific. Water recreation available includes boating,swimming,paddleboat rentals, fishing,etc. We would recommend you reserve ahead of arrival. Campsites were kept fantastically clean. This is one of the best campgrounds we have utilized in 30 years of camping. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2004
$20
Our family camped here twice in 2004. I want to begin by saying that this is one of our favorite places to camp in the Ouray/Ridgeway area. It is a beautiful campground, with beautiful scenery! The staff is great and friendly! Our main objection is that the area in the campground where we camped on both occassions was over-run with rats and mice! They were so bad that it spoiled our time here to a large extent. The second time we were here in September we trapped 6 mice! We thought we had cleared them all out to find another rat in the cabinet under the sink in Albuquerque! We will try it again, but if the rodents are a problem, we won't stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com