223434 User submitted reviews online!!
American RV Park & Kamp was rated 7 out of 10 based on 42 user reviews. Phone: (605) 669-2461
CGID5911

American RV Park & Kamp

Camp Information
Sites
85
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$32



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   6   8   6   8   5   8   7   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2014
$32
The park has two sections we stayed on the cement pads below the motel. The spaces were long and level OK room between. Easy to get in and out. Looked at the other spots and they seem to be OK they are gravel and grass. Basic park nice people close to town and eating places. We would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2014
$29
We were here for a single night on our way through the area. The campground was okay for a single night and felt like a place that you stay just to have a place to sleep. Auto museum was within walking distance. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$25
Very plain park with no extras. Chances are you are passing through or seeing the pioneer museum (I highly suggest a visit, especially if you like cars! but it has something for everyone), so it will do fine. Pull through sites with pretty good room. Small stores close by. Very easy off and on highway. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2013
$31
Close to the interstate and OK for an overnight, at least in the part with full hookups. There is another area with trees that looked nicer. The part with full hookups was mostly gravel, but with concrete pads. TV connection didn't work, but was given an extension cable so I could get to the next site's cable box. We have a 35' MH and a toad-----just fit on the pad we were assigned to. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$30
Nice, long concrete pull-throughs in upper area. But some rigs could tail-drag on entry on many of these sites as evidence by pavement being very scarred. Free Wi-Fi worked well, nicely maintained, quiet location, we would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2013
$32
While I wouldn’t think of this park for a longer stay, it is just fine for an overnight. There are flat, concrete pad sites with reliable utilities. We have a 45’ motorhome and tow a Jeep and we had room to spare. There is only gravel between sites and they are fairly close together, but there is a nice grassy area with tables close by. We had a bit of trouble finding someone in one of the two motels that manage this park, but when we did, he was quite helpful. We would stay again if we wanted an overnight stop in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$29
Stayed for just an overnight in the upper section with full hook ups. A basic no frills park attached to a motel that appeared clean. Not much to do in the town other than the car museum which we did not visit. No issues, everything worked, good cable, did not try the Wi-Fi so cannot comment. Highway somewhat close but little noise from it. Would stay there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$32
Nice park. Quiet and clean. Hosts are very friendly. Concrete pads are a nice feature. Very easy access from the highway. Wonderful local eatery called the Star café or diner. Service was good and the food was down home cooking, great! Check out the car museum/hallmark shop. Makes for an interesting stop. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$32
Nice level concrete slabs, good 50 amp electric. Satellite friendly. Pool had no water in it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$32
Great overnight. Very little to do/see in Murdo. It is a place to stop on the way east/west. Pleasant staff. Concrete pads and good Wi-Fi. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$32
This park is close to I90 but we didn't hear any road noise. Our site was concrete with full hookups. Not much in the area for dining. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2012
$25
This park is NOT closed. Please remove the word 'Closed' in the park's name. Admin note: A call to this park confirmed that it is now closed for the season but will reopen in April 2013. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2012
$35
This park was not closed when we were here. True, it is not run very well, but they had a host. The site we had #73 was a nice pull through. There was some difficulty with our reservation and check-in, but if it is open, it is a good overnight stop. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2012
$23
Called to make a reservation but only was able to leave a message. Did not receive a return call. When we arrived, went to the office and no one was there. A note on the counter said to go across the street to register. Drove across the street and the owner was there watching television. I told him that I had called and left a message about a site and he told me that the park was closed. I was very surprised and asked if they were closed why were there units in the park and he said that they had rented before the decision to close was made and he wasn't renting any more spaces. I then said that it would have been helpful if the phone message had mentioned that and he said that he hadn't thought of that. Not friendly at all. So Don't waste your time stopping at this park We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$29
The gentleman at check-in was very friendly. The sites were a level concrete pad. Good space between sites. Great for big rig navigation. We would stay here again. Great price!! The Pioneer auto show museum is very close by and worth checking out. They have about 250 cars and misc. other artifacts. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$30
There are two different areas at this park. The older portion is in the lower level. It is a shaded area with gravel roads and pads. Water and electric and 30 amp in the older area. There are 9 concrete pull through sites in the upper level with water, 50 amp electric and sewer connections. There are some back-ins in the upper level mostly occupied by monthly renters. There are 4 camping cabins. Good space for tents. The park is affiliated with the American Inn motel which is just north of the park. Check in at the motel. Good, long term friendly management who also own 1880 Town. I will stay here again when in the area. Not too far to the Badlands and Mount Rushmore. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$30
Super pet friendly. Nice bathrooms. Good showers an very calm. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2011
$35
This is a good overnight spot, but certainly no place to consider as a destination. The staff was friendly and helpful, the park is located just off the interstate with easy access. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2011
$35
Based on common courtesy this gets an average rating from me. Woman who checked me in was rude to the point that if it wasn't already 7:00 p.m. I would have hit the road. They are no longer a Good Sam Park either. Sites are paved with a back slope. You definitely have to unhook your vehicle for the night. Weeds and junk surrounding the monthly rental sites. In a pinch I would stay here again. Maybe they'll have a different manager next time. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$32
Good stopover on our way back to Washington. Easy off/on hwy 90. Good power/water,sewer,no Wi-Fi. Not bad sites for a few days. Would stay here again if passing through. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$33
Good place for an overnight. The full hook ups were nice, Wi-Fi worked good. The concrete pads were behind the hotel and a restaurant. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2011
$25
The sites were very close together. The toilet had recently overflowed in the bathroom as evidenced by excessive water and toilet paper all over the floor. Wi-Fi was available and worked fairly well, even in the bottom area where we were. All in all this was an OK campground for one night while traveling, but I wouldn't want to stay any longer. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$20
Rates were great since we got a discount because the park was not de-winterized. All we wanted was a place to spend the night. Stayed on hard-stand since it was early in the season and no visitors. Would stay overnight again at these rates. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2010
$32
Nice first stop for a 20 day RV trip. No restrooms were available that we are aware of. We only spent one night. There was no one in the office but when we found him across the street he was friendly and helpful. Next to the freeway but didn't both us in the upper RV spot. There was a laundry available. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$29
This is a good place for one night. The cement sites located behind the motel are level and you have excellent cable TV reception. They do not give discounts but do give $1 off coupons on the Pioneer Auto Museum which is an excellent place to visit. It was quiet and we would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$29
This is a great little park. Well laid out. The pull through sites in back are 60 feet long. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$29
Camped on upper level with concrete pad. Level site. Hook-ups were good. Lower level had gravel sites and only had 30 amp service. It was very hot when we stayed and we wanted 50 amp. Excellent for an overnight stay. Staff was friendly. Would recommend when traveling across South Dakota and looking for overnight stop. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2010
$21
We were in lower level. Narrow sites - were able to get slide out but door had pine tree in way. Pull through sloped downward so if you don't unhook for one night you are headed downhill. Wifi was non existent. Upper level concrete pads look much better. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$23
This is a great place to overnight while driving through the vast grasslands. I can't imagine the bison herds that used to graze here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$28
We also stayed in upper level site 72. Murdo is in the middle of nowhere, but this is a great overnight spot. The Wi-Fi and cable TV were very good. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$30
We stayed in site 72 with our 40' quad slide motorhome. Concrete, level site with table, 50 amp and tree. Good WI-FI. We drove to Pierre and toured the Murdo Pioneer Auto Museum which is a must to see. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2009
$29
This campground has two sections: an older lower section with grass/gravel pull through pads, water and 30 amp electric, and the upper (and right) section which is a very nice modern campground with level cement pad and full service including cable and good free wi-fi. It is associated with a motel so check-in is done as you turn in off the highway before the campground. We stayed overnight without disconnecting the toad. It is a good overnight stop being just a mile off I-90. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$27
Strange set up. The pool is still closed or non-op but the Wi-Fi is good. The lower level sites, $24, are many but do not have cable and is far from the remotely located shower. The upper level has some backend sites that appear to be taken by permanents. There are 10 to 15 pull thru, full hookup. $27 with discount. The first two 69 and 70 are reserved for big rigs, and the owner refused to rent me one. The others have a severe dip where most rigs will drag. Once in the site they are reasonably level. Restrooms and showers were reasonably clean for a facility such as this. There is walking access to a restaurant we did not use. I suggest you drive by or through this campground before signing up. Check out the site that meets your needs. You have to register at the American Motel or across the street at the Sioux Motel, depending tine of day and who showed up for work. This is not a destination resort but is adequate for an over nighter, considering the options. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2009
$29
Good place to overnight & visit the Pioneer Auto Museum which is about all there is in the area. Easy access, sites are very close together & cement pads to park on but some are angled pretty steep so hard to get level with big rig. Good wi-fi & cable. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2008
$30
Adequate overnight stop with FHU, good cable, and WIFI. As noted previously, pool is no longer if operation. The above ground pool I enjoyed 2 years ago has at least one 10'+ gash in its' liner. Small auto museum a couple blocks away may be of interest to some. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2008
$30
The full hookup part was a concrete slab, angled so badly that we drug the bottom of the motorhome and the hitch getting into site. No grass - just gravel and a small tree. Sites sit downhill from a bar so at 2 pm the noise was horrid. There is a nice grassy shaded campground but no sewer and probably low electric voltage. Would probably stay here again if necessary since there isn't too much to choose from in this part of the country. Definitely overpriced for what you get. Cable was nice though. Pool was closed and apparently had been for quite some time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2007
$23
Easy access, but elbow to elbow angled pull-throughs, barely long enough for truck and fiver without unhitching. I heard the guy in the next site snoring. Showers and pool closed. Adjacent advertised restaurant closed. Wifi poor to average, cable TV good. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2007
$34
This park was overpriced. The road noise from the interstate was bad but tolerable. We will be traveling thru this area again but will pass up this campground! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2007
$29
Park is behind the hotel. The concrete pads are the best sites. They are level once you are on the site. Some sites have steep incline to access. The other part of the park is gravel. The pool is closed. There are a few restaurants within walking distance. We would use this park for an overnight stop again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2007
$28
Arrived on 7 May. One week after its opening for the season. No showers, no toilets, no pool, no spa, no WiFi. From the reviews I expected more. Really disappointing. No maps or instructions to show location of showers, toilets, trash, etc. A city road ran through the campground. They had cable TV and full hookups We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2006
$25
Good overnight stop. As mentioned in previous review, the new cement sites are the ones to get for overnight. They are in the open but have full hookups and cable. Good above ground pool - maybe 15X25X4'. Auto museum and a few restaurants within 2 blocks. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2006
$25
We stayed at this campground overnight and was glad to see they have put in 8 or 9 concrete sites with full hookups with 30 and 50 amp service. We arrived early in the afternoon and no one was in the motel office so we could not check in. We drove around the block behind the motel and found the new concrete sites behind the motel and parked on a site. The main campground is across the street behind these sites and the sites in the main campground are all gravel with gravel roads. If you plan on stopping here overnight be sure and stop early as all the concrete sites were taken by 5:00 pm. Be cautious entering the last 3 or 4 sites on the west end of the row, as they are a little steep entering the site if your driving a motorhome. Once on the sites they are level. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com