214403 User submitted reviews online!!
McGrath State Beach was rated 6 out of 10 based on 7 user reviews. Phone: (805) 968-1033
CGID5926

McGrath State Beach

Camp Information
Sites
173
Date of Stay
October 2009
Latest Rate
$0



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
1   8   9   6   8   6   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
October 2009
$0
As of October 20, 2009, this park is closed for camping except on weekends. Call (805) 968-1033 for the current schedule. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$30
This is one of our favorite campgrounds. Most of the sites are very spacious with lots of shade. The beach is close by and is a nice beach. There are some great trails for hiking. The people tend to be very friendly. The only drawback of this campground is that it doesn't have any hookups, but it does have a dump station and many spigots throughout the park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2009
$25
This was one of our favorite campgrounds on a trip up the California coast. The sites were spacious and clean and though we didn't have a view of the ocean because of the dunes, we could hear the surf. The personnel were friendly and helpful. Our only complaint was that they did not enforce the generator rules. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2008
$25
For what it is (state park), this was OK. This park had availability when all the beach-parks were sold out. We were a bit disappointed about how far away the beach is -- my husband estimates 4 football fields of walking. The Sand Dunes aren't clean; several littered items and evidence of last night's parties along the way. Surprisingly the beach / ocean were very nice, and the sand so clean. Down the beach is some kind of refinery, and you can smell it. There were plenty of sites available, the area is all flat (i.e. should have brought bikes). There is a communal sink for dishes, etc. but don't look up if you don't like spiders. The restrooms/showers are pretty clean but it's a state park - wear your flip flops. Ditto on the spiders. Don't use the picnic tables unless you like red ants (bring your own fold up table). The squirrels kept the kids entertained. Many tent-campers and families there. Park rangers very nice and helpful. Nearby there's a good shopping center with a Vons, etc. We spent next day in Santa Barbara, 25 miles north. This was a good 1st-2nd night of the trip and we would stay here again but only for 1 night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$25
I like Mcgrath. It is definitely a State Park, but it is usually easy to get reservations, unlike the other So Cal beach CGs, so we can make plans at the last moment. We have a tent trailer, so it fits, but I have seen much larger rigs in them. Some sites are surrounded by bushes, but others are more open (and less private). The beach is not really a swimming beach, but there are marsh areas for bird watching, etc. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2007
$25
We arrived here on a Saturday at 3:00 and were told there were only 3 sites left. Here is a map with the 3 sites circled, come back after you pick. The rangers were not very friendly. The first site was 105 it had standing water by the fire pit and picnic table, but was a large site. The second was 74 we could not fit and it had huge overhanging trees (nice for tenters). We ended up with site 60. It was a small site, but at least our 30ft TT with slide fit. It is a really long walk to the beach and it is not really for swimming. But a short drive will take you to a nice swimming beach. They did have activities for the kids, Junior Rangers and talks on nature. The night we were here, the talk was on bats. They actually had a live one to show the kids. We would stay here again, but only if Point Mugu was full. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2006
$25
Typical California State Park - park is laid out in circular loops, some bordered by shrubs that back to grassy areas perfect for tents or playing around. Not a good place for large rigs, our 33' TT would have been tight in many of them. The beach is a looooong walk - not the best for swimming due to high surf, no lifeguards etc. This park is very close to the Ventura Harbor for shopping, whale watching tours, and the Visitor Center for Channel Island Nat'l park. No hookups but dump station in the park. Good for a weekend visit, but not too much to do at the park itself. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com