224137 User submitted reviews online!!
Arkansas River Rim Campground & RV Park was rated 6 out of 10 based on 17 user reviews. Phone: (719) 395-8883
CGID5928

Arkansas River Rim Campground & RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
36
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
2   4   5   5   8   3   8   6   9   4   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2014
$35
No access to the river. RV sites way too close together, dirt parking lot, and not much else. Laundry room is in the ladies bathroom. What are men who does laundry supposed to do? Wii was useless unless you were in the office. The one good thing I can say is it was centrally located to the things we wanted to see. I would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2014
$43
Positive, it does have great views. WiFi is nonexistent and would only work if you went to the office. There was no river access as the river was high. The tent camp sites had the river views and sound. Lots of road noise. The one washer and dryer was in the small women's restroom. One of their ads in a Colorado magazine talked about ice cream socials and BBQ's. There were none and we were there over the 4th of July. We would not stay here again, but we loved Buena Vista. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2014
$32
Nice location with gorgeous views. Enjoyed the river noise in the background. Needs a little TLC. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2013
$30
Park is on a bluff above the Arkansas river, so the river sound is great. This park has potential, but looks a little junky at the current time. We would stay here again, as we love this area of Colorado. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$30
Not a fancy place but clean, exceptionally level, well managed and has a view to die for. The owner is on site and is one of the best you will find. Rest rooms are older but clean. Could use a bit more privacy for shower stalls but the pluses of the park outweigh any small negatives. No better place in B.V. and we will be back. Extended our stay because we enjoyed the area so much. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2012
$38
We needed a place to stay for one night on our way to our next destination. We thought this one would be nice as it is situated on the Arkansas River. Boy, were we sorry. This park is all rocks and gravel with a few scraggly trees. The owners are not the nicest and the price was outrageous for what we got. We will not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$32
Because we enjoyed this area so much we extended our stay for almost a month. We are from Arizona and were looking for a cooler place to get out of the heat so this was a great option to park our 40ft toyhauler and enjoy the beauty. The owner was so accommodating and even offered his personal flatbed trailer to us so we could haul our quads to a riding area close by. We also ended up staying longer than originally expected and the owner was very helpful in making it possible to keep our same spot and not have to move to another space. We didn't use the restrooms so I can’t comment on their cleanliness but from what I could tell they looked clean to me. There is a washer and dryer for use but they are both located in the women's bathroom and wasn’t very convenient for my husband’s help. There is only 1 washer ($2.00 a load) and 1 dryer (.75 cents) which made for a long laundry day, but considering the owners love and care for this park, I was willing to overlook that small inconvenience. They also offer free Wi-Fi, and even though there was no cable TV we were able to pick up some local channels with our antenna. As far as spacious room between each RV spot there were a few spaces that were extremely close but we were in space 12 and had plenty of room for our patio setup. Also we had trees for shade which makes this park even nicer. Hwy 24 that runs right in front of the park was a little noisy at times ( running a loud fan at night helped allot) but having the river close by and the beauty of the mountains in our view it made this park a winner for us. The park is located about 5 minutes north of downtown Buena Vista and wasn’t a problem at all for distance. All and all I have to say that the owner and his pride for this park made our stay one of our favorites. Everything is kept so nice and clean and his willingness to accommodate whatever needs made him a class act park owner. Thanks to the owner for such a pleasant stay, we plan on coming back again someday!! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2012
$29
Price reflects weekly rate. CG was basic and mostly OK with nice view of mountains. But we didn't find the owners to be particularly friendly or welcoming, the sites are all pretty close to the road so not too quiet (better at night, of course), and our water hook-up was located at the neighboring site and on the wrong side, requiring that we run our hose under our rig and use our secondary hose (which had been used for grey water before so made us a little nervous, had to drink bottled water for that stay, etc.). This park is further north than most (other than Arrowhead, which really didn't get Verizon signal so was out for us) but still in a good location for most activities in BV. Our Verizon signal was good here. River access is so-so. The AR River runs right behind it, and there are paths down, but they are fairly steep. And since I forgot to mention restaurants in my other 2 BV reviews, I'll say something here. Quincy's has a great deal for filet Mignon and prime rib - very good! K's Dairy Delite is always super crowded (right on main drag), but the food is just so-so, and it takes forever to get your food!! We would NOT go there again! Asian Palate was OK - kind of pricey for Asian that's a little under par (too bland). Jan's was good for a good price. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$30
Excellent park, easy, laid back and great owners. I had stayed many times when former owners were here. It was great then; it is better now. Clean, well patrolled, accommodating. They keep a well kept eye on what is going on in the park. Will be back many more times to come as long as these owners have it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2010
$35
Had some friends put together a group trip, they were tent camping we were trailer camping. I have stayed in Buena Vista before and were unhappy with our stay here. The public bathrooms and showers were awful, not cleaned in the two nights three days we were there. They had area rugs hanging over the shower stalls that you had to put down and pick up each time, they were never cleaned either. The RV sites were very tight and somewhat close to the highway. The tent site was great and only a few minutes to the river. If you are tent camping, this is a great place but I would not recommend it if you plan on using the public restrooms during your stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$16
We are staying here monthly until we can buy a house in the area. Been here 2 weeks and the owners and very friendly and helpful. Cellphone does not work very well but it could be my phone. TV channels do not come in clear and sometimes lots of static. We rent a lot of movies. Well kept park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$28
Wide open lot adjacent to Rte 24, but fairly quiet at night. Snug sites. Only one washer & dryer, and bathrooms need a little TLC. Buena Vista is a lovely town with friendly folks. The route here takes you through the San Isabel National Forest - breathtaking views. Good area for gold panning, whitewater rafting, hot springs, jeep tours. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$50
We camped here for my Mother's birthday. Because she is 72 and doesn't tent camp it at her age, we got a camping cabin. It was small, but very cute and very clean. The bed was very comfortable. The grill on the porch, picnic table, and personal fire ring really added to our camping experience. The one we stayed in was above the river and had a great view. The bathroom and shower was clean. They could use another shower or two, but other than that, it was a great experience and I'd stay here again. The employees were very nice and friendly and helpful as well. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2009
$30
Laid back campground. Very low water pressure and weak wi-fi if far from office. Not many amenities. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$25
This is a nice little cg, and the third one we tried on the pm of the 3rd of July. The young lady in the office was very helpful about getting us into a good site (new owners and great people). The sites are quite close together, but you can get slides out and in several of the sites, your awning. That really doesn't matter as you aren't here to sit out during the day. There are a lot of things to do here such as ATV, biking, river rafting and gold panning. The man next to us showed us the flakes and chunks of gold he had found that day panning, and there was almost an ounce. Even though it is right next to a major highway, there was minimal noise at night. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$26
A young couple now own this campground. Very friendly and helpful. You can walk to the river fish. Very nice tent sites. We stayed 7 nights. Our group had 18 people with everything from tents to 5th wheels. There is a pavilion with tables and a gas grill by the tent camping area. Unlike some RV parks, they don't make tent campers feel like second class people. We hope to return next year. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2006
$26
New owner for 2006. A lot of improvements have been made. Walk to Arkansas River to fish. Very scenic with the Collegiate Peaks on one side and the river on the other. Very nice tent sites. We stayed 3 nights. We had my 33' travel trailer and a large 5th wheel. They also have a 5th wheel for rent which friends rented for one night. About 4 miles north of Buena Vista on Highway 24. Ghost towns and scenic drives in immediate area. We will stay there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com