214825 User submitted reviews online!!
Davy Crockett Birthplace State Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 14 user reviews. Phone: (423) 257-2167
CGID5965

Davy Crockett Birthplace State Park

Camp Information
Sites
88
Date of Stay
October 2013
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   5   8   7   6   10   9   10   8   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  no  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  no  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2013
$20
The park is small and dated. I was told that they will be doing major improvements to their whole campground to include new bath houses this coming fall. Over all this is a nice campground with beautiful views of the river and close to the museum. I camped here in a Class B. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2013
$30
This is your typical outdated state park. The views of the river and Davy Crockett's cabin are nice. We would not use the showers. May go back again? We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$29
AT&T cell phone service available. Wish they had campfire rings at every site, but they do have a couple of fire rings that are shareable. The entrance requires a very sharp backwards turn. Rate reflects in-season senior discount. Treed and beautiful scenery. Sites are close together but slides and awnings can be deployed. The Nolichucky River is beautiful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$25
In Greene County, TN which is so beautiful - it's like stepping back in time to a rural but thriving farming community. The drive from the town of Greeneville to the campground is lovely, lots of pretty farms and great mountain views. This campground is nice, situated on a big bend in the Nolichucky River. $25 price is full-hookup (W/E/S) and includes all taxes. Easy check-in, but no reservations accepted - first come, first serve. Very quiet with the exception of holidays when it's full. Pet friendly, bike friendly, not dish-tv friendly, but very cool with lots of shade right on the river (big trees and lots of them!). We watched a beaver swimming and feeding in the river on our first night here. Improvements have been made in recent years. Full-hookups available, new electic boxes, good water supply. Drive-thru spots may be considered short by some, but our 36' rig and Jeep toad fit fine. Decent roads in/out. Park has a huge swimming pool and lots of picnic areas near the river. One thing lacking is bike and hiking trails, there could be more of them. Great CG hosts (one wonderful couple is from San Diego CA and they work here every year). This campground is about 25 miles off of I-81 at Exit 23 in East Tennessee. It's about 50 miles from the Smokies area. There is a 14-day limit on stays as there is with a lot of TN State Parks. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2011
$25
The rate reflects an out of state W/E/S site. Davy Crockett Birthplace State Park is an old KOA park purchased by the state and run by a dedicated staff doing the best they can with what the state gives them. Recent renovations have added 15, or so, 50amp sites. Those border the Nolichucky River. The remainder of the park's sites are old, 30 and 20amp sites with low power. Our surge guard shut off our 30amp power multiple times due to low voltage. Campground roads and sites are paved but in poor shape for the most part. Most sites are no where near level. The pool is Olympic sized and seems quite nice. Campers pay half price ($2)to use it. The red clay ground does not absorb water. If there is rain in the forecast, expect standing water. The camp-host staff, and 2 out of the 3 park rangers are wonderful. The office does not open 'till 2PM but you can find the camp host if necessary. We'd return if we could get a 50amp site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2010
$16
Wonderful, quiet park. Nice level sites, clean restrooms and showers. Pull-thrus. Outstanding staff and camp hosts. Probably real busy and popular in season. Strong Verizon signal for cell and Internet. Would definitely stay here again. Rate is off-season, out-of-state senior. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$20
This park is a little tricky to get back to, roads narrow but not much traffic and worth the trip. Located on the Nolichucky River, the atmosphere was wonderful. Lots of trails and places to wander, several pull thru sites, not a lot of privacy on the pull thru's but the availability of sewer in a state park made up for the lack of trees between sites. The sound of the river running by as you sit at your campsite was truly awesome. One of my favorites so far We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$20
We did not actually camp here. We simply visited for the afternoon to enjoy the beauty of the park and the interesting replica of the David Crockett frontier cabin. My husband and I will definitely make more than one return trip. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2008
$16
The distance from the main highway to the park is a little on the long side. However, the ride is worth the wait. Although the roads a narrow they are passable. When we arrived it was confusing to me. I had to pull over and get my bearings as to how to get into the camping area. Our 1st impression was wow. The campground is nice and level for the most part. There seems to be 4 rows of full hookup sites and two areas for tent camping. One of the rows looks to be complete pull-thru. There are plenty of trees in this area too. The bathhouse was clean and in good repair. I noticed some playground equipment just outside the camping area. This park has a nice pool (we did not use, out of season). Over next to the pool was some basketball goals and I saw 2 sets of horseshoe pits. There was not a camp store, but there were several large pavilions. There shelters could be rented to have a good sized party. I only noticed one walking trail. It is a short one. There is a river right next to the camping area. It, too, was clean. The overall area looked safe and very inviting to families. Most of the full hook up sites appears to be concrete. All sites had a picnic table. Only the tent sites allowed for an on the ground fire. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2008
$25
This is a nice enough park; however, it is a little tight for bigger rigs. My chief complaint is that the toilets would not flush in the women's bathroom. When all three were "dirty" it smelled as if someone has used the shower to urinate. I had to flush a toilet 12 times and it never did clear. There's very little assistance from the workampers. There are no directions when you arrive, just a note saying they will be on at 2 pm but a helpful camper said it would probably be more like 4 pm. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2008
$30
Campground is located in a good location. State law enforcement presence is high due to this being a state park. Rules are strickly enforced. Breakers in campground trip frequently if ac units are in use. Very few sites with sewer hookup. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2006
$20
Campground is starting to run down some from lack of upkeep. Had breaker at campground breaker box keep tripping out. Host said they were having electrical problems. Had to watch for low hanging branches on roads in park and at sites. Some sites were closed due to sewer problems. Some sites had mud problems as no gravel had been put down in some time. A nice park, but some work is needed to get it back in to shape. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2006
$22
Beautiful Place! Spacious RV sites are concrete. 40 sites have sewer hookup. Sewage treatment plant is noisy, but otherwise an idyllic place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2004
$15
This is a cute little park. The fishing is right at your door. lots of trees. Quiet and relaxing. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com