218071 User submitted reviews online!!
Trinidad Lake State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 23 user reviews. Phone: (719) 846-6951
CGID598

Trinidad Lake State Park

Camp Information
Sites
73
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$27



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   8   10   9   6   10   7   8   7   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2014
$27
I also prefer state parks to commercial campgrounds and this one has all of the reasons--great view, large paved spaces, enough room between sites for privacy, and is well-cared for. The lake level is quite low, but the view of the lake from the Carpios Ridge campground was nice enough that it did not matter. I also got good Verizon cell service and data service for my mobile hotspot. One warning, however, is that even though it says water hookups are available, they are really only available at scattered hydrants in the campground. So you need to fill your tanks before you settle into your spot. (For me that is not a problem, as long as I know in advance). Rate is $20 plus $7 entrance fee per day. I bought an annual pass for $70 because I am planning to spend enough time in Colorado to pay for it. This is a place I will come to again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2013
$25
We had the park to ourselves, off-season. Rangers were very friendly and helpful. The water spigot did not work and they were promptly there to fix it. Sites are nice with smaller trees around. There is a hiking trail to see the lake. We had to back in to our spot which was a bit tight for our 44' RV. Ample room to park the pick-up. There are fire rings and picnic tables at each spot. Would certainly return and stay longer to enjoy the rest of the park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2013
$20
We love state parks and Colorado has nice ones. We have a 45' rig and we had no problems. Roads are a little tight, and most sites are too short, but we were able to maneuver with no problem and there are enough long sites that we had our choice. Huge sites and plenty of quiet. Restrooms and laundry are clean. Need quarters for shower, but hot water comes on fast. Hiking trails, amphitheater, etc. AT&T signal good, but Verizon weak. We will definitely be back! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$37
The fee reflects $29/night (full hookups) + $8/day park pass. There are only 4 full hookup sites 1, 3, 6, and 63. However, the site we reserved (#3) was not level enough for our Class A. We had to try out 2 more sites before we found one level enough. Otherwise, the park was spectacular. Fisherman's peak in one direction and the Rockies in another. The bathroom, shower, and laundry building was new and very clean. Verizon 4G LTE service was very good. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2013
$26
A nice park. We had a little trouble getting level, but everything else was acceptable. Pretty much your standard Colorado state park. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2013
$24
What a gem! We lucked out and got their "handicap" space and boy what a beauty it was too. The only difference was, really, was that the patio area was a bit larger. The view, for most their sites, is right along the cliff over looking the lake. Really pretty! All state parks should be this well maintained and beautiful! All roads, sites, public areas etc were top-notch clean and well maintained and separated with plenty of foliage. I only wish we would have had more time to spend here! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$27
We used this state park campground as a one night stop over, and mid week the end of September, we had our choice of sites. We picked one at the top of the cliff overlooking the reservoir, put our chairs out between the bushes, and had a beautiful relaxing view. This park is just 3 miles from I-25 but is very quiet and peaceful. The sites are long, pretty level, mostly back-ins. The road through the campground is narrow with drainage ditches on both sides which makes backing a fifth wheel into some spots a challenge. We would stay here again if passing through. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$17
My family and I have camped here several times. We like it very much. It has big spacious spots. Friendly staff. We stayed there before they rebuilt the building for the restrooms/showers, and we didn't mind the bathrooms before. They were old, but they were clean. Now with the new bathrooms the park charges you not only to stay at the park AND the park pass, but now they charge you to take a shower as well. They should not charge a person staying in a tent so much if they are going to charge for taking a shower. Some people may not think that's a big deal, but going there for so long with the setup they had before to now paying the same for a tent site and with the addition of having to put in more money for something we got for free before is a little frustrating. I don't think that's going to stop us from staying there again because we do like the area. I would have given it 10 stars if it wasn't for that. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2012
$24
This park has only 4 full hook-up sites. The others are electric only with scattered water spigots. We camped in Site 1, which was full hook-up site near the office. The water pressure was very low, and the site was gravel and not particularly level. On the plus side, there is a very nice nature trail in the campground, and two nearby natural areas that offer good hiking and birdwatching. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2011
$35
This state park was VERY expensive at $28 for an RV site with electric plus the $7 entrance fee. The park had been updated with newer restrooms that were clean and close to most sites, but only 4 sites had full hook-ups. The loops are a bit tight, and some sites are not level, we chose one that was. The rules are not enforced. Neighboring dogs were not picked up after. Another group here was loud until nearly 12 a.m. We love state parks, but we would have been better off in an RV park with some shade and management for the price. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$32
Would have rated 10, if only they had full hook-ups and WiFi. There are 3 spots on higher ground with full hook-ups, but the rest only had electric. The roads were excellent and it was easy to drive our motorhome around. The clerk at the office said it is a "dwarf" forest and the trees don't get more than 12 feet, although I saw a few that I'd say were pushing 20. Our campsite was on a bluff above the lake. The site was gravel and quite level. Easy satellite access since the trees were not too tall. Very open private sites, neighbors 30' away on all sides. Quite, beautiful and clean. They are strict about dogs always being on leash. I would have liked trash cans more available, as they request you use the dumpsters near the campground entrance which was a ways away to carry the "doggie bag" every time! I did have very good internet access using my ATT i-phone tether, with a full signal and 3G. The campground was very peaceful and beautiful, we loved it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$20
We've enjoyed our stay here. It's a beautiful setting up on the hillside overlooking Trinidad Lake. Not at all crowded this time of year. Our gravel site is level and large enough for our 25' Airstream. There are plenty of larger sites available. Our site is electric only. Power is strong and steady. Verizon service is a little sketchy out here, but no problem with a booster. Also no worries setting up a satellite dish. The horizon is wide open. Nice hiking trails and scenic overlooks abound. Pricing is a little steep. The $20 is base rate/day for the electric only site we're in. Add to that a $10 registration fee and an additional $7/day park parking pass and it quickly adds up. I am not complaining, however. If we intend to keep these parks open, I believe that we, the end users, should bear the burden of cost. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2011
$11
This park has just gone through a major remodeling. Most sites now have 50 amp electric--even those which are much too short for any RV over 25 feet. Most of the sites had tent pads. There is a a large new shower house that serves both loops. It has handicap/family restrooms at the back. Only the handicap/family restrooms were open when I visited. There are 2 loops. The second loop, like the main restrooms, is closed off season. Colorado has great state parks. However, this one was a disappointment. The sites are short, lack privacy, and are difficult to get into. There may be a few real pull thru sites but the only ones I saw were just wide spots on the access road where the chance of being hit in the night by late arrivals is real. The paved access road is one lane wide with ditches on either side. It has been resurfaced. If the campsite opposite to mine had been occupied I could not gotten in to my site. The people who pulled in after me in a small motor home had to change sites because they could not get into the one they had been assigned. This park is very convenient to I-25 and gets lots of over nighters. There are other better state park options on I-25 than this one. Lathrop and Pueblo State Parks are much better choices to the north and Sugarite State Park in NM is just down the mountain. I was very disappointed in this park. I will not camp here again. The price of $11 is with an Aspen Pass. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$14
This is an exceptionally clean park. It's very quiet here with no traffic or train noise. The bathrooms were very new and clean. We had zero concerns, slept super, and look forward to returning here someday. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$20
We stayed 3 nights in the park and found it to be very clean and well designed. Most all RV sites had electric [50A], none had water or sewer that we found. We were told that a few sites near the restrooms had full hook-up but we didn't see any. The restrooms and laundry were in like new condition having been recently remodeled. There is a brand new children's play area. Staff was professional. AT&T service was fair to poor, Verizon was good. The CO State Parks use a third party reservation system that you are charged $10 for the use of. Its a strange system in that you can't make reservations for less than 3 days out and the park personnel will only sell you a site if you are a walk up on the day you want to camp. The reservation system allows you to reserve a specific site for from 1 to 14 days. This makes it difficult to reserve a site in the near term for a week plus since most sites have a 1 or 2 day reservation sprinkled about, restricting longer reservations unless you can make them months out. The sites are away from the lake about 1 1/2 miles. Recreation is limited to a very few hiking trails and a kids playground. I would stay here again if the reservation system were more user friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$20
Colorado State Parks are often great and this one is good but not the tops. There are only a few sites with sewer hookups and the rest have just water and electricity. While they list access for up to 40 ft. RVs this can be a problem in many sites if you have to back in a long trailer (ours is 35 ft.). We were in site #15 and it was tight. The laundry and rest room building has been rebuilt in the last couple of years but there is some question about how often it is cleaned. We had no problems during our stay. There are nice hiking trails leading from the campground to the lake and the surrounding area. The boat launching area is at a different location but there are some parking spaces in the campground where you can leave a boat trailer over night. Colorado parks require a $6 entrance fee each day so if you are going to spend any time in them, consider buying an annual pass for $60 (out of state residents, lower in state). I-25 at Trinidad is being reconstructed and exit and entrance can be a challenge if you have a long rig or have never been here before. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$24
The Carpios Ridge Campground at Trinidad Lake State Park was upgraded about a year ago. It now has some large sites for 40' motorhomes. It also has a few full hookups, but most sites offer only 50amp electric hookups. So go in with your water tank full and your gray/black tanks empty. The campground has some really nice sites with lots of pines around them. A lot of the sites are paved. A reservation can be made through the state park's website - www.colorado.gov/parks - or by phone. There are pictures of each campsite on the website's reservation page so you know what you are getting. There is a reservation fee. Also, there is a park entrance fee for a tow vehicle. Even though there is only electric available at most sites, we would definitely go back. What a beautiful setting overlooking the lake! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$24
This is a very nice state park. Sites on the outside of each loop have decent shade but interior sites have very little. Only the sites next to the laundry/restroom facility have W/S. The shower timer seems very fast and water pressure is low. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$30
We stayed at the Carpios Ridge Campground. Sites 24-61 were closed for the winter. Four sites have full hookups; the rest have 50 amp electric. Mostly back-in sites, with enough roadway for big rigs to get in to most of those that are long enough. Some sites have paved parking pads, some are well-packed gravel. Their web site has a down loadable PDF for with a description of every site. Lots of trees. Elevation 6,300', so it can get chilly at night. The new building with showers and laundry was not completed yet while we were there, so those services were not yet available. There were only one or two other campers there while we were there. Weak Verizon signal. Sites are $20 for electric only and $24 for full hookups. Note that you must buy a $6 daily vehicle pass in addition to the daily campsite fee. That brought our rate up to $30. We would definitely stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$24
Carpios Ridge is a recently remodeled campground. The new laundry/restrooms were not yet open for use. The only pull thru is extremely out of level. Back ins vary in length, but many are long enough for a large rig. They appear to be reasonably level with adequate room to maneuver. Sites are generally spacious with lots of room between them. The campground is in a pinion juniper area with limited shade and several hiking trails starting across from the restrooms. Nights are dark and quiet. Rate quoted includes a daily pass. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$16
We stayed at Trinidad on the way to Muller State Park. This is a nice park but the site we had was very tight. The site was very level. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2007
$22
Big sites. Good interior roads. Somebody was NOT thinking when laying out site power services. Many have hookups on the 'passenger' side instead of driver side so watch out. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2002
$12
Rural State lake area over looking a lake. Fairly decent overnight spot on way to Santa Fe, NM. About 3 miles west of Trinidad on State Rt. 12. Ranger patrolled. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com