219014 User submitted reviews online!!
Desert of Maine was rated 8 out of 10 based on 19 user reviews. Phone: (207) 865-6962
CGID5996

Desert of Maine

Camp Information
Sites
40
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$31



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   5   7   9   7   8   8   5   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2014
$31
Clean, quiet, well-kept little campground. They let us pick our own site. Many permanent/seasonal campers. Discount for AAA. Electric on "wrong" side at some sites. Maine "desert" (free admission for campers) surprisingly interesting sight. Very close to Freeport shopping area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$30
We were delighted to find this park open in mid-October when nothing else in this part of Maine was. We were the only campers the night we were there. It is a small, simple campground under large trees. Our site did not have a sewer hook up. I think the sites would be close together if it were full. The "desert" itself is an interesting place and fun to walk around. Not sure if I would like it during the high season when they are giving guided tours and lots of people coming and going. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2013
$36
When we made our reservation we were told that we would have a full hookup site along with WI-FI. This turned out not to be the case - to get full hookup service you are assigned a site amongst the treed area of the campground. You have to go to the office area to get WI-FI which will not even work at the campsites in that area. Furthermore, there are no full hookup sites near where the WI-FI will/might work. This is pretty much an overnight campground if that. The roads are narrow and dusty. A big rig/fiver would find it very difficult the maneuver around in the full hookup area. There is no cable. We didn’t determine what was available for entertainment, but did see an above ground swimming pool on our way to our site. As we felt that we had been misinformed when we made our reservation, we decided to relocate after staying one night. We cannot in all good conscience recommend this campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$33
We really enjoyed this campground and will likely return. A little tight getting a large motorhome into the rear area, but the 30A power and water were strong. Access is via a gravel/dirt road and sites seemed to have the same surface and were fairly level. All sites had fire pits and tables. Lots of trees in the camping area, and spacing between sites was good. Bathrooms and showers are dated but clean. There was a laundry room with 2 washers and 2 dryers which looked like it hadn't had much use. This campground was nice and quiet while we were there during the week for 3 nights. The "Desert of Maine" tour at the front office is quite interesting and half price for campers. Access to grocery stores and the very busy outlet/restaurant area of Freeport is only 4 miles away. Staff at the office were very friendly and helpful. We did not use the park internet, but Verizon service for our phones and amplified internet was strong. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$35
We were pleasantly surprised at this RV campground. We had a pull through site for our 36 ft Motorhome with space enough on the side to park our car trailer. It is next to Desert of Maine...a phenomenon of acres and acres of pure sand that is there because of bad farming techniques back in early 1900's. It does look like a desert and they even had camels there at one time. You can buy a tour of the desert right next to the campground office. We like the cuteness and specialness of the area and it was quiet and owners were very helpful. Easy on and off access from the Interstate also. We would definitely recommend this to anyone. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$35
The desert is an interesting place to visit. The park keeps a well stocked store and butterfly house. The interior road is tight and the electric service is barely adequate. The owners are friendly. The campground is not busy but there are regular tour groups of the desert. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$32
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. The staff was courteous and helpful. They shared dining recommendations and local haunts to visit. The atmosphere was quiet and family friendly. There was an additional $3.00 per day surcharge for running our AC. Which we ran 2 of our 3 days stay. We would definitely stay here again. While we never used the rest room, shower, or laundry facility, they appeared maintained though small and rustic. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$37
Nice campground at end of Desert Road. Tight maneuvering through tall pines in the campground but well maintained roads and nice fairly level sites with E-W-S hookups. No cable or Internet other than a hookup in the office itself. No Wi-Fi. Handy (2 miles) to LL Bean and all the outlet stores. Very friendly and helpful staff. We also stayed here for another over nighter in early October. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2010
$38
Extremely friendly and helpful people at check-in. We stayed in a water and electric site for one night as no full hookups were available. Site was sandy with lots of tree roots and tall trees, close to the pool, which seemed mostly unused. Not a busy park, but located close to Freeport and the many outlets. Although clean, the bath houses were old, had tissue paper thin walls, and an old washing machine and dryer were located outside the bath under an overhang. Full hookup sites were located around the bath house in the rear of the park. Narrow, tight dirt roads into campground area. A nice touch was the floral planters with hummingbird feeders at the entrance to the water/electric sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$35
We were pleasantly surprised at the quietness, cleanliness, and attention to detail that is evident at this park. Washrooms are exceptionally clean. Well treed lots, which are spaced quite far apart. The staff clearly checked the sites in between guests. The fire pits were cleaned out and the surface was raked clean. It's also less than a 10 minute drive to LL Bean. Too bad our commitments wouldn't let us stay longer: it's a very restful campground. And dogs are welcome as well. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$40
The Campground was very clean and quite. The pool was closed for repairs. There is no playground for the kids. There are some sights where tight for larger rigs. The staff was kind and helpful. The restrooms were clean but needed some TLC. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$40
Very nice, clean and very quiet campground. Sites are on the small side. Lacks a playground for children. Pool was out of order while we were there. The pool appeared to be of residential quality. We may camp here if in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$35
This is a very nice campground. Our site did not have a sewer hookup, but there is a dump site available. There is lots of shade and it's an easy in and out. They only had two washers and one dryer working. In the morning, they delivered the newspaper. Nice touch! You must go on the tour of the "Desert of Maine." Very interesting information. And, of course, LL Bean's and other factory outlets are just a few miles away. This is a good campground to do the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$35
This is a really interesting spot. It is a great location for exploring Freeport & Portland. It is also on the Desert of Maine - yes, a real desert. They offer tours of the desert at a discounted rate for campground guests. The owners are the best. They work very hard and the place shows it. The owner is going to fence in a portion of the park for a dog run with agility obstacles. They also are trying to get cable installed. It is a very quiet, lush spot. We would definitely come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2008
$33
Overall nice little campground, Staff very helpful. Little tough if you have a large unit. They do have some sites for large units ( >35' ) these sites are in a open area near the store. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2007
$33
Very nice campground with friendly owners and staff. Very helpful in directing one to area interests. Unique to see desert in Maine. This is off season, but I would imagine in peak season sites are pretty crowded. While we are in a pull through it is designated as two sites. If you are into chocolate you definitely go to Scarbough and see the 1700 lb moose made of chocolate, but be forewarned you will part with a few bucks if you purchase any of the chocolate. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$32
Nice park, close to everything in Freeport and coastal Maine. Friendly owners. Very few big rig sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$29
This is a very friendly, quiet park in a unique location. We considered it one of the nicer experiences on our trip. The owners have made an effort to make the park enjoyable for all guests. The grounds and the pool were very clean. Although our site did not have sewer, we found the dump station a convenient stop on the way out of the park. We enjoyed walking through the dunes, and our grandson enjoyed hunting for "gem stones". The drive to Freeport is short so we were able to run into town for dinner. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2006
$28
In the woods at the "Desert of Maine" attraction of nature trails, an unusual sand desert of 47 acres. Big rig access at only a few sites - call ahead and verify. Many sites have no sewer hookup. Lovely shaded, wooded sites for smaller RV's. Great location right off 295 in Freeport, very friendly help. Lots of things to see easily accessible from here. Quiet, scenic, natural type campground, clean and well-kept. Desert is quite interesting to visit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com