206609 User submitted reviews online!!
Custer / Mt. Rushmore KOA was rated 6 out of 10 based on 18 user reviews. Phone: (605) 673-4304
CGID6018

Custer / Mt. Rushmore KOA

Camp Information
Sites
136
Date of Stay
June 2012
Latest Rate
$53



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
no
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
1   6   6   9   1   1   10   8   6   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2012
$53
When we called one of the owners of this park, he gave me a rate of $38.29 per night. We were charged $ 47.39 for a 50 amp site with full hook up service, plus $ 3.00 per night per child for our two grandchildren, for a total of $ 53.39 per night. This charge was not quoted to us on the phone. It was also promoted that the Custer / Mt. Rushmore KOA had a pool, a jumping pillow, and a Chuck Wagon breakfast everyday. It was never stated that the jumping pillow was an extra $ 3.00 per child, per day, and the breakfast was also extra. When confronted about the price discrepancy, the female partner of this KOA stated that her male counterpart does not know what he is talking about. He only answered the phone because she was busy. I checked the rates at a couple of other RV parks in Custer and was quoted between $ 32.00, and $38.00 for all 4 of us to stay per night. One of the comparable parks also had a pool and a water slide (water slide is an additional charge), and the other park had no pool. The RV sites here were very close together, and were not maintained very well. I think you can have a better experience in Custer South Dakota by not staying at this KOA. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2012
$44
Great office staff and clean restrooms/showers. Laundry on site $2.00/wash, $1.75 for 44 minutes in dryer. Sites are VERY close, almost on top of each other (which is why we only rated it a 6). Just enough room for our RV on site, picnic table sits over next site's water & sewer hookup. Next site fire ring was at rear corner of our RV. Requires some leveling. No cable, no antennae reception. Wi-Fi worked very well. Some road noise. Close proximity to Mt. Rushmore (20 min drive), Custer State Park (a must do), Jewel Cave and Wind Cave. Great little town with plenty of eateries and tourist attractions. Baker's Bakery Cafe makes GREAT breakfast and donuts! Would consider another campground on our next trip here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2011
$32
Very disappointed in this campground. The sites were close together. The place needs new gravel on the road and sites. It was very dusty and dirty. There was evidence that someone rinsed out their sewer house behind our site. The people next to us threw a bunch of their trash into the field behind the sites. It seemed like the kind of place where that kind of behavior was acceptable. We won't be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$67
Very friendly and helpful staff. The cabin was extremely clean and they accommodated an early arrival for us. My boys enjoyed the jumping pillow and the pool and met many children while we stayed here. The cabins were a reasonable distance apart and bathrooms were clean. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2011
$40
We camped here in 2 tents which ended up being very crowded with the water and electrical outlet in a "deluxe" tent site (#28). Our site was very unlevel and crowded for our 2 tents. Our table was on a plateau about 2 feet higher than area for our tent which was half dirt/mud and grass. Luckily, the adjacent tent sites were not occupied. The other tent sites on the other side of the campground had gravel/rocks so we opted for the uneven site (the staff was very accommodating in letting us pick the site and switch if needed). We had to park our car alongside the site and it was a steep incline. We were very close to the bathrooms/shower/laundry facility at the back of the campgrounds which was very nice (better than the front restrooms/showers). It was nice to be able to send our kids over for the restroom and tend laundry quickly. The RV sites looked nicer and more level. It was a quiet area, too. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2010
$40
Promotional literature and receipt promised privacy and Wi-Fi among other amenities. Their version of privacy was putting someone's camping unit two feet away from the edge of our awning, and continuing to do so despite park being at least 50% empty. Wi-Fi was non-functional and no one seemed to care. Staff were arrogant, argumentative, somewhat hostile and didn't seem to care about our concerns. Pool had murky water and dirty pool tank. On a positive note, the washrooms were clean and some of the work camper people on staff seemed to have some empathy. I would recommend that people avoid this location. There are much better campgrounds very close by this one. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$50
We enjoyed the pancake breakfasts. So much recreational activity available! Beautiful view of the mountains near Mt. Rushmore. Very helpful staff. Wi-Fi signal was sometimes weak - but camp was very crowded for the holiday week. Car rental service was convenient. Restaurant quality was not so great. Very clean, very nice. Expensive but it is in a tourist area and has so much to offer! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$38
Nice park right in the middle of the Black Hills action. Just down the road from Jewel Cave and about equity distant between Mt. Rushmore and Wind Cave. A great fenced-in pet exercise area. Pull-thrus looked a bit tight but our back-in was awesome! I'd recommend for a short Black Hills stay! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2010
$47
Nice park, but for the price you would expect your site to be somewhat level, and cable TV. Especially in one of their larger sites. We saw some other campgrounds in the area that were probably better. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$40
We thought this was a very nice campground, and will come back again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2009
$40
Funny, the review right below this one recommends that you avoid the KOA that's closer to Rushmore. We stayed at this KOA because we couldn't extend our stay at the Hill City Rushmore KOA. That KOA is huge but we really preferred it over this much smaller KOA. Oh, don't get me wrong, this KOA is fine. It's a much quieter park but seemed geared more towards the senior campers rather than 30-something people. The staff is for the most part friendly. There are a few who are edgy and don't seem to like the younger people. The guy who drives around in the golf cart and escorts you to your site is extremely nice and very accommodating. We just felt the whole time we were there that we were being scrutinized. Even scared to death our dogs might bark as they don't seem to tolerate dogs well. The roads into the site are a bit worn and the sites themselves are nothing fancy...ours was even fairly unleveled. Laundry facility was decent. We didn't try any of the other amenities so can't comment on them. This KOA is outside Custer and really on the southern end of the Black Hills area. If you are looking for a base camp to explore the Black HIlls, there are probably better choices. If you are camping with children, there are probably better choices as well. But this park is quiet and clean, and I believe well maintained. We would stay here again, but it would be because we couldn't find anything else. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$33
About 20 mins to Mt. Rushmore. There is a closer KOA to Mt. Rushmore but don't bother to go there. IT IS HUGE and you get lost in the big shuffle. I will take this laid back KOA any day. The people here (most of them) are very nice and personable. The one guy was very nice and offered "anything you need, just ask me" service. There are some older folks working here, some are as nice as pie, others can be grumpy and down right confusing. I will take them any day over the youngins that work at most KOA's. Sites are good and are constantly maintained...A + all the way on that. There are a lot of rabbits running around the park...little ones, big ones, they do not let you pet them but they will get within an inch of you and let you feed them...very cute. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2008
$45
Wi-Fi did not work in the middle of the park. The staff was friendly and helpful. We probably would not stay here again because of the lack of Wi-Fi We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$38
This park is clean, has friendly helpful staff. Pool is a bit small. They are located nicely for many attractions. The sites were somewhat close but livable. The laundry had a broken dryer which irritated some campers and there was a problem with the sewer system where we could not use the sewer for a half day. They were quick to fix the sewer though and informed us timely. Having a firepit was nice. They do not seem to tolerate barking dogs well, no matter the size so luckily ours were quiet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$39
The reviewer who mentioned deluxe concrete sites with wrought iron furniture must have been describing the Hill City KOA. This place has dusty gravel roads and gravel sites, some not very level. There are tall pines surrounding the park and scattered throughout the park, but shade is not plentiful. Campground brochure mentions PBS and major network TV, but we were only able to get a blurry FOX channel; other campers reported same. Good Verizon and AT&T cell phone signals. Lots of pull throughs, full hookup is only $3 more than water & electric site. Dump station is on an incline. Good laundry facility. Pool is quieter and less crazy than the neighboring campground to the west. Fairly typical commercial campground spacing. Mostly overnighters, with a few people staying a few days while touring the area. There are good restaurants in Custer including Purple Pie Place ice cream shop & restaurant, and Bavarian Inn Restaurant. There is a chuck wagon breakfast on KOA grounds. Staff is friendly and helpful. Propane is sold by the tank size rather than by the gallon, which I believe is deceptive and dishonest and should be illegal. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$39
This was a great site. There are extra things to do on the premises and it is very clean. The deluxe sites were the best with cement pads and a wrought iron table set. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2006
$41
Staff was friendly. Sites are close together. Electric didn't work on our site, we plugged into the empty site next to us. Camp is under new management as of our visit. They are making improvements building new cabins. I don't know if I would stay there again for the price. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2005
$40
Interior roadways were of poor quality dirt. Camp sites are narrow and very close together. They are in some areas very unlevel. We used it as an overnighter to visit Deadwood and Mt. Rushmore, but we won't be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com