214822 User submitted reviews online!!
Henry Horton State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 15 user reviews. Phone: (931) 364-2222
CGID6077

Henry Horton State Park

Camp Information
Sites
82
Date of Stay
November 2013
Latest Rate
$24



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   6   8   9   8   4   9   8   9   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2013
$24
We stayed here in a 42 ft fifth wheel. We prefer the atmosphere of State Parks versus RV Parks. As a previous reviewer stated this park is somewhat older and showing signs of age. There are no sewer hookups or 50 amp service. As we stayed only a few days this was not an issue. The park was not made for big rigs. I found the road condition okay, but very narrow with many trees adjacent to the road making the winding road interesting. Drive very slowly! We chose a pull through which is basically a small half circle next to the main road. The site was not very level and it appeared one of the better sites. I had to level partially off the pad to make it work. On a positive note, the handicapped sites were in great condition and perfectly level. We called a few days before we stayed and the individual we spoke with was very helpful, although there was no one on site when we arrived in the afternoon. The campground does not have internet service, but the lodge does. However, when we went to use it the internet was not available and had not been for some time. There were other amenities on site, but with limited time we did not get to use them. The restrooms and showers were very clean and updated. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2013
$18
This is an older park in some disrepair, but according to the host the state is trying to fix it up. The restrooms are modern and OK. The sites are narrow, and although we leveled, our front wheels were off the ground. The pads were narrow, in the trees, so no satellite TV. The roads through the campground were very rough and narrow and difficult to navigate -- so narrow that we damaged our RV, although in part that was due to driver error. The dump site was antiquated and the rinse hose was on the opposite side of the RV from the sewer opening. All the negative comments aside, this park is in a beautiful and rustic setting. The campground is a popular one, and we had a somewhat limited choice of sites in the middle of the week, due to reservation, so if you go here without reservations, arrive early. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$20
Nice, quiet campground with large sites, shade and lots of trees. In Chapel Hill there is a grocery store, Dollar General and a country diner. Is is a good base for visits to Columbia (tour the President James K. Polk home) and Lewisburg. The Henry Horton State Park restaurant is across the road and has a good buffet. We could not get any television channels using the antennae. The sites have asphalt driveways and the edges are crumbling so you have to be careful to get fully on the asphalt when you back in. The road through the campground is very bumpy due to deteriorating asphalt - no pot holes, just uneven asphalt. There is a hill near site 30 and the kids like to race down it on their bikes. The camp hosts were very friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$26
Very nice camping here. Helpful staff & working resident staff very good. We had good solid 30 amp. There was no sewer, but restrooms & showers were very clean. The site was right in the trees and just beautiful. A thunderstorm came through at night, but we were safe. Our back in was level and a large site. We would stay here again anytime. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$20
My husband and I traveled here with our 4 young boys to watch the tractor pull show. Our site was nice, and we were surrounded by nature. The campgrounds were very quiet, and there were other children out riding their bikes. There's a playground within walking distance, and lots of nature to enjoy. The Henry Horton Restaurant offers a buffet, and was a nice way to end our weekend camping trip. No frills, but very enjoyable. We will definitely be returning. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2010
$20
Campsites are nicely shaded. Sites on the hill are unlevel and many of the hookups are on the wrong side. Some of the electric boxes are only 15 amp. Campsite fit our 30 footer, was fairly level and had 30 amp service. I think this part of the campground had been flooded and there was a smell of decay and the campsite was not very clean, trash in the firepit and laying around. No satellite or TV reception. Only one restroom at the top of the hill away from most campsites. We are travelers and it is unlikely we will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$20
We spent a week here in April, quiet, relaxing, and very peaceful park. The pull thru sites were quite adequate for our 36' 5th wheel. There were many things to do, hiking, disc golf, fishing, a lodge, restaurant (not the best), but there were several good and inexpensive place's in Chapel Hill or nearby Lewisburg. Camp ground was very private, lots of trees between sites and the rangers patrolled the park, constantly doing drive thru's and waving, they seemed to do this into the night. Love this State Park!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$20
The rating one gives of course, depends on what one likes. This park is very quiet. It's full of trees, little sun, in April not so good. The sites seem relatively easy to get into and fairly level (at least 23 was). But we found this campground a little boring, no views or waterfront sites. We only saw a ranger once, when he collected our money. Not our favorite, but not bad either. There's a nice golf course a mile away. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$20
This is the second time we have camped here and just love this park. The site was beautiful and peaceful. Felt very secure, as there were park rangers around frequently. Showers and bathrooms were very clean. We have a 38 foot 5th wheel and found the sites easily accessible. We plan to come back annually. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$25
This campground is very quiet. It's full of trees so my dish did not work very well. The sites seem easy to get in and out of, and there's a nice golf course near by. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$20
We live near this area and camp here frequently. This was about our 12th trip and we always enjoy it. There is a lot to do - golf, playing in the river, trap/skeet range, swimming pool, trails, etc. The only downsides are that some sites are quite unlevel and there are no sewer hookups. We will continue to be regulars here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2008
$22
Great park with a small number of trails for hiking. Canoeing nearby that my family and dogs really enjoyed. The staff was friendly and helpful. Awesome golf course at the park. I would not recommend this park for a long stay only because the park is somewhat small with a limited number of hiking trails (since we camp primarily for the hiking). However, it is great for a weekend stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$20
We have camped here several times this year. Nestled in the trees, clean shower houses, park personel are friendly as well as the rangers. It has been quite every weekend we have gone. Good trails to walk on. Even got visited by a racoon a couple of times. This is a great park to go to for a relaxing weekend. Programs are great for the kids. I recommend it for couples and families. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2007
$15
Nice state park campground with large spacious sites. Very family friendly with plenty of available activities such as tennis, disc golf, and hiking. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2006
$17
This park is nice if you want to get away for a weekend or an overnight stopover. It is showing it's age though and they appear to be starting to renovate the bath houses. It is a wooded campground and there is of course wildlife such as deer and raccoons that can be seen. The campsites themselves have paved (chip sealed?) spots to put the camper but they have not been paved in many years so they are not all level. Overall the park is clean and the campground hosts are quite friendly. We typically camp here 2 to 3 times a year as it is close to home for that weekend getaway. We camped in a hybrid camper . We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com