224250 User submitted reviews online!!
French Creek RV Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 19 user reviews. Phone: (605) 673-3727
CGID6087

French Creek RV Campground

Camp Information
Sites
18
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$18



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   4   6   4   8   7   9   7   7   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2014
$18
We stayed here and paid the PA Rate. At $35 this is a very overpriced Park. We moved on after two nights at PA Rate as they would not consider extending that rate. We would not pay $35/night for this Park. Sites are very tight and so are the turns for big rigs. We watched some struggle to get to their sites. There is no laundry room. Basically it is a parking lot in the downtown area of Custer, SD. A very expensive one. We moved on to a Park elsewhere in the area. Look Around. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
November 2013
$30
We found this park by chance and only because pretty much everybody else was already closed. The owners are very friendly and helpful and their attitude or gun wearing didn't bother me at all. The office is much nicer inside than it looks from the outside. The sites are level, on gravel and long enough for big rigs, but not really wide. We were able to push out our slideout and didn't use the awning on the other side. We could have as the next site was empty. The sites are really tight and you might have to do some maneuvering even in the pull-throughs. In November, most sites were empty but in summer with all sites occupied it might look different. The hookups worked, standard power pedestal and a winterized water tap. Cable TV was available and had a fairly good choice of channels. I liked the music channels best. Wi-Fi was good and reliable. There is 1 restroom with 1 shower, 1 toilet and 1 basin for everybody. It is not state of the art and could be presented nicer and cleaner. The advantage of this RV Park is its location right in town. Walking distance to pretty much anything and only a real short drive to Crazy Horse Memorial. I would return if everybody else is closed but if not, I might try another one. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2013
$20
Our little 25' fifth wheel barely made it into its assigned space, but with jockeying and patience, we made it. If your not good with back in sites, try to get a pull thru although even those are tight. Rate was PA. Right in the middle of Custer, it's convenient, no-frills and perfect for our one-night stand. Could use a little TLC but it's a tourist town and we here to see the sights, not hang out in the park. WiFi was excellent. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2013
$28
We chose this park because of the good reviews. Obviously they stayed somewhere else. The owner was grumpy and obtrusive. He took a knife and cut off our hose because it was leaking. The spaces were so close together that my husband hit his head on the neighbors slide out trying to get between the space. It is conveniently located close to town so you can walk to shopping. There is no laundry facility here, so we had to find a place to do laundry. Would not come here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$28
This park is located one block off of Main St. in Custer. You can walk to most everything in town and get to all the major tourist attractions with this as your central base. The park is small and cramped, but the owners and the location make up for the tight quarters. A campground employee cooks the meat every Friday night and you bring a covered dish. He is quite a character, definitely not your normal park owner/host, and does carry a gun on his hip. If the tight, cramped sites and gun carrying owner make you uncomfortable, then stay away. However, if you like small parks with fun owners, then this is the place. WiFi works best close to the office. Everything else works fine, but you are very close to your neighbors. We would stay here again. Rate shown is based on staying at the weekly rate. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$28
Road narrow; Sites narrow, but we got the 40' motor home squeezed in. Great for walking the town. Friday night potlucks are fun and filling! Would stay there again. Rates are PA. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2012
$24
Rate reflects weekly off-season rate. We planned for a week here and stayed three. The location right in town is perfect for easy access to grocery store, bank, etc. Custer is a good location from which to explore the Black Hills. Sites are tight in this park, but ours (#12) was perfectly level and long enough to park the car behind the motor home. There are a number of long-term residents here, but their sites are neat. There is grass between each site, but there are not many trees. All utilities worked well, as did cable and wi-fi. The on-site manager works hard to make visitors feel welcome. We will most definitely choose this park when in the area again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$18
This is not the most picturesque campground, but the hosts more than make up for it. Spaces are kind of close together and the driveway is narrow, but the sites can accommodate big rigs. Full hookups are available, as well as free Wi-Fi (close to the office) and free cable TV. The Friday night potlucks are a blast. They even purchased a birthday cake for our 1 year old son. Rate cited is with PA. We would stay here again in a heartbeat. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$18
Price is right with PA discount! Sites are small, all hookups are in good working order. Restrooms/showers were very clean. Great cable connection for $2 extra per night. The manager is THE reason to stay here versus other parks. Make sure you pull in with thick skin and immediately ready for banter. If you're OK with being forced out of your rig (not by gunpoint, for us at least) in the evening to socialize and eat/drink with the most WIDELY diverse group of guests, then you need to stay here! Seriously though, this manager gives the CG a Sturgis-like atmosphere while ensuring the park is quiet, calm and safe for a good night's sleep. We regret having to leave after one night and would return in a heartbeat. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$35
This was a hard campground to rate. While it has various shortcomings, our stay there was extremely pleasant. Location near the main street of Custer was convenient. Easy walk to shopping and restaurants. Sites are very narrow. Our awning almost hit the slideout of our neighbor. Utilities are good but Wi-Fi had issues. Two city parks within walking distance. Mickelson Trail, a rails to trail, runs right in front of park. Owner of park is a genuine character. He made the stay very enjoyable. Their Friday night potluck BBQ is not to be missed. He supplies meat and fresh cut french fries and others bring a dish. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$35
French Creek RV Park is a wonderful experience for us. We have never stayed at an RV park where we have felt so much at home and welcome. The owners have a BBQ every Friday night during the summer months with pot luck dishes brought by the people staying at the park. And the owner is an EXPERT cook. We can kick back, enjoy each other, laugh a lot, share stories and develop friendships. It has been an unforgettable experience. We very highly recommend the park. Being at the edge of town, there is so much available within walking distance, food stores, drug store, restaurants, laundromat, banks, just about anything you could want. There is a nice public park just across the street. It is really awesome here! We shall return!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2012
$25
This campground is open year round. The owner lives on site and is eager to please. The campground is in the heart of Custer, and was very quiet when we were there. It was a tight fit to get our rig into the site in the evening and out in the morning. There was only about two feet of clearance on each side of the coach when we were parked. We have no slides. Fortunately, the park was mostly empty, allowing us enough turning room to exit our site in the morning. The Wi-Fi worked well and the electrical hookup was in good condition. We didn't use any other facilities. Most of the ground was covered with snow, so I don't know what comprises most of the surfaces. There were a couple of grassy areas where I could walk our dog. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2010
$17
Stayed here for one night in late August (after the tourist rush) at PPA rate. I would guess it is hard to get a site here during the peak of the season. Some of the sites seemed to be extended stay customers. Most of the important aspects of this park have been noted: narrow, tight sites, a "different" owner, great location just off Custer's main street, etc. Our site was FHU with cable TV, somewhat unlevel, unable to get WiFi in RV, and below ground level water hookup. I would have stayed longer if not for the WiFi problem and the absence of a laundry. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$25
We paid $98 for 4 nights, of which 2 nights were 50% off due to being Passport America and $2 per night extra charge for cable TV. This park met our needs with clean restrooms, cable TV and WiFi that is fast. The sites are plenty long, however they are quite narrow. There is no laundry on site, however the owner and his wife are super nice and yes he's a character and does carry a sidearm. Park is 1 block off the main street and easily within walking distance to almost everything in town. That is its main draw. A few of the sites on the West side of the park have partial afternoon shade. This is a very quiet park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$16
This is a very tight campground: not much room from the next camper. Has very clean restrooms and showers. The guy running it is very nice. He is a little off but you have to admire a guy that wears a pistol on his side. A great place to spend the night and go sight seeing. The price reflects 1/2 off for Passport America. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2007
$14
Small, quaint park, fine for a night or two. Everything works, clean restrooms. Herds of deer in the campground all the time. Right downtown. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2007
$28
This is sort of a pocket park, tucked away behind the main drag of Custer. The location in town and the Black Hills, the Passport America rate ($14 FHU but only 2 nights), and strong ,free wifi are its best features. And then there's the unique owner, Rock,who is entertainment by himself. Big rigs will have a tight fit and some of the hookups are in odd places. Sites fairly level, not much shade, but grassy areas. No laundry, no tv signal, but cell phones fine. The 2 common bathrooms are in a shack of sorts but fine inside,with nice woodwork. Mickelson bike trail runs right along park, so be sure to ride or walk it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$18
A very unique small campground. The manager had a sense of humor and made us very comfortable. They had a 4th of July BBQ. The park supplied the meat and the campers brought pot luck dishes. Great food and a great time followed up by the city fireworks show that we could watch right from the campground. They normally have a BBQ every Saturday night during the season. The sites were a little tight for our 38 foot MH, but we were able to get parked without difficulty. We will stay at this park again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2006
$26
Nice park,, a little tight with a 65' rig but, managable. Friendly management, walking distance to all of Custer shopping. No laundry on site but one available within 2 blocks. WiFi free and would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com