223556 User submitted reviews online!!
Beaver Dam Campground / Caney Lakes Recreation Area was rated 9 out of 10 based on 9 user reviews. Phone: (318) 377-6727
CGID6095

Beaver Dam Campground / Caney Lakes Recreation Area

Camp Information
Sites
27
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$9.5



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   9   8   8   9   10   10   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$9.5
I believe someone called this campground a Hidden Gem and that is exactly what it is. We planned about three days and just keep extending. By the time we leave it will be over a week. It is quiet and beautiful with great views of the lake. All the sites are excellent; not a bad one at all. Not all sites have water views but if not they have beautiful forest views. The sites are large with level paved pads, a fire ring, gravel patio area and a picnic table. Some of the picnic tables need help but we got a good one. We are in site #20 with a view of the lake across the road. We are on the back half of the loop and most people don't come this far so there is no one around us. About half the sites can be reserved and the rest are for walk-ins. Only 15, 16 and 17 seem to get reserved. The bathrooms need some help but they work. We have 50 amp power and good water. There is a dump station on the way out. Our Verizon phones and jet pack don’t work very well but sometimes they are fine. The Sugar Cane Trail goes through the park and is a wonderful walk in the woods. It is good for mountain biking also. The rate reflects the Golden Age discount. I would definitely return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2014
$15
We, too, agree that this is a hidden jewel! We've not found many National Forest CGs that have hookups or are big enough for our rig. The main thing we had a problem with was that the directions to the CG on the USDA Forest website could have had some additional instructions especially since we ended up arriving after dark. Their directions tell you to go to Webster Parish Road 111, but the highway road sign says "Caney Lakes Rd". The Webster Parish road sign is on the road side (front) of the sign post making it parallel to the road you are traveling and it cannot be seen until you are even with it. We ended up missing the road and had to turn our 38" FW around on a 2 lane road. Not fun! But we did finally make it and were pleasantly pleased. We only stayed overnight on 2 different nights, but would like to return. There is not a lot of lighting (street lights)at this park which is ok with us. Just be sure to have a flashlight handy if you need to be out at night. Another observation we found is that the sites that are "Walkup only" have an Open sign on them and the ones that are reservable have a "Reserved" sign on them, but if they have no dates on them they are basically "open" as well. Check with the host but he was the one who told us we could use one with Reserved on it since we were only staying overnight and it had no dates on it. We payed the $15. rate as we are not eligible for the $9.50 discounted rate. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$9.5
The comments of previous posters is very accurate. This is one of the nicest forest service campgrounds we have ever been in. We have stayed here twice and are amazed that it always seems underused. Perhaps on holiday weekends it might get more use, but we stayed over a summer weekend and there were only 5 rigs in the whole place. It is a gem. The only negative issue is that you have to drive through Minden to get there. There are some very narrow streets with rather tight turns. It's very doable, but you need to be on your toes. We have a 43' fifth wheel pulled by an HDT, plus a car. We fit in many of the sites. Although there are many tall trees, finding a hole for satellite reception is not too difficult. The regular price is only $15 and the senior pass price was $9.50. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$9.5
Rate Golden Age Passport. Another well kept secret in the National Forest Service list of campgrounds, the Kisatchie National Forest, Caney Lake Recreation Area. The roads and wide sites are paved and most have groomed gravel patio area. 50 AMP and water at the sites with a convenient dumpstation on the way out of the CG. There is a buffer zone between sites and the lake, but each site has direct access to the shoreline; however the beach is in the "Day Use" area. There is a boat launch ramp. The road is a little narrow, but access to the sites is not limited or restricted. There are fire rings and grills at the sites and well placed restrooms and separate showers in each section. There is a great bike trail and a hiking trail which takes you around the 350 acre lake. Peace and quiet, helpful park employees and unit manager make for a pleasant stay. We would return if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$15
Absolutely beautiful! We had a site right on the water and the view was breathtaking! The only thing to know is that once you're in the park the first campground sign is for tent camping. Keep following the road to the electric sites. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2012
$9.5
What a find! Located about 5 miles off of I-20 in Kisatchie NF. We camped here on site #17. Quiet, lots of trees, interior streets easy to navigate with a big rig, paved sites, some with lake front view. Best sites are #15,16,17, and 20). Half of the sites are first come first serve and the rest are reservable. Would definitely stay here again. Our rate was Golden Age. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2011
$9.5
This has to be the nicest Forest Service campground we have ever been in. The sites are huge, although all back-ins. There is plenty of room to maneuver so it should not be a problem for anyone. We are 65 feet long and got in easily. We were even lucky enough to find a site where our satellite works fine, although not all sites will work for that. There are large trees, but they are spaced out well. We got the senior rate of $9.50 so you can't beat it for 50 amp with water and huge paved sites. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2011
$15
This is our kind of camping! Beautiful, lots of trees, lots of space between sites. Quiet, paved, electric and water. Dump station available. Camp hosts came by and told us all about the place. Very helpful. Beautiful views of the lake. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2006
$10
This is a good get away campground that is well kept and quiet. Boat ramps and recreation facilities are available. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com