223200 User submitted reviews online!!
Camp James Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 12 user reviews. Phone: (760) 376-6119
CGID6116

Camp James Campground

Camp Information
Sites
75
Date of Stay
February 2012
Latest Rate
$47



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
no
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   5   10   7   2   7   10   9   1   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2012
$47
The idea of charging $5 a night per pet is somewhat ridiculous as our pets never leave our campsite and we pick up after them. I would give much higher grades if the management were not so adamant about gouging us for having a pet. If they want $50 a night they should charge that - the $42 price is misleading. Otherwise everything worked. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2011
$45
Pets are another $5 per day. For this, you would think they would come pickup after your pet, to establish a value for this fee. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$45
What a great place to camp. We stayed in the full hook up site #8 and could see the Kern River and also hear it. Now they have cable TV. Great Wi-Fi and lots of quiet. This campground is close to town and we went and ate the first night at a lovely Italian restaurant. Will return this spring. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$37
We booked a site by phone after checking the camp ground layout on their internet site. We wanted a site by the river but there were none available. So we chose a site near a creek because we wanted very much to be by some water during the hot summer days. When we arrived it turned out that the creek has been dry for a number of years and no one had bothered to change the campground map by erasing the blue colored creek flowing by the sites. We felt that we had been misled. In general the place is very clean and well maintained. However the Wi-Fi was very weak. We stayed for 4 nights. On the last day the manager did make an effort and moved us to a riverside site, which was very nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
March 2010
$42
The riverfront sites are nice and the campground is clean. The manager is a nuisance. She patrols, and there were many campsites she had her issues with. She enforced a one car per site rule to the extreme, the only rule that is not in the numerous pamphlets of campground regulations. Our party had nine people registered for the fishing derby. When we would return to camp, she was there in two minutes chasing out a second car that was simply dropping off our float tubes and fishing gear. After this happened more than once, she banged on our neighbor's trailer, and actually told them they could pack up and get the 'blank' out. This campground has excessive rules, and includes the suggestion to put a bark control collar on your dog if you think they will make noise. The one to wear the bark control collar should be the manager. We will not return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2009
$35
Price is approximated. Very nice campground. We will definitely return. The park is on the Kern River, and many spots have the perfect view and sound. There is also a stream running through the park, so if you don't luck out with a "river view" the creek will do fine. Nice shade trees, quiet surroundings. Suggestions to the management: (1) Add an off leash dog area to exercise the furry kids. My dog has a lot of energy and a long-term stay would be better if I could tucker him out a bit; and (2) Thank you for the wi-fi but if you could do something to de-bug it, that would be great. I had to reboot my computer several times for it to work, and the wi-fi itself is very slow. I need internet for work, and it was near impossible to do so during my stay. The hosts and maintenance people are friendly and helpful. I would highly recommend this park and will happily return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$35
My Dad has lived in Kernville for many years, we have visited many times but this was our first time camping here. Wow! have we missed out. We camp regularly and I have to say, Camp James is one of the nicest campgrounds we've been to. Lots of shade, easy access to the river (and Sequoia National Park), clean bathrooms, easy parking for large trailers, and a very helpful staff. Thanks. We'll be back! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$38
This was a lovely park. We were right on the river, space 86. There is lots of shade, which is good for our vintage travel trailer. The staff was helpful and friendly. The grounds are well maintained and landscaped. There was a gardener working every day. The ground itself is dirt, but the speed limit of 5 MPH keeps the dust down. Most people camping there were friendly, but occasionally people would ask to enter our campsite to take pictures of their friends rafting on the river, even though there is river access open to everyone just a few feet away. Kind of rude. But overall very nice, except the Wifi which never did work with my MacBook. I liked the quiet at night, with the sound of the river 24 hours. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2009
$35
We never got a chance to camp here but we were charged for it! Horrible customer service. Due to the weather and the fact we have 2 small children and an infant, we tried calling to change the date. We were willing to pay cancellation fees or any other fee due to the change. The campground (which is family owed) was unable to make any arrangements. They refused to change our date and charged our credit card the full amount of $70.00. I have camped at alot of places and never have been so disappointed. They clearly do not care about their customers and only want there money. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2007
$45
We had a great spot right on the river and were able to float off down the Kern right from our campsite. The spots next to the water have no sewer hook-ups, just water and electricity, so be warned! They didn't tell us that when we booked it. They do have sewer hook-up sites, but they are in the least-desired part of the campground. It's small and hardly much room to bike ride, if you like to do that as a family, like we do. I was a little bored with not much to do, but it was a shady place and very quiet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2007
$42
We camped here for 4 days on a site right on the Kern River. The park is well maintained, but the sites are all dirt and quite dusty. The close proximity to Kernville means that resupply for those forgotten items is simple. Caution for low overhanging branches and tree limbs. While they advertise 50A service, the truth of the matter is that only a few are. The balance are 30A, so be sure to ask when making your reservations. Same goes for the cable TV; only certain sites (I believe it's the same as the 50A one) have hook-ups. Be advised that this park is very intolerant of any noise, and the staff will evict violators without hesitation. My family enjoys this park very much and we'll definitely be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2006
$38
Campground is next to the Rivernook. It is a smaller CG. The hosts are awesome. Some sites have 50 amp & cable TV hookup. Tent campers are allowed to use the same spots as RVers. Only a few spots are large enough for 35 to 40 foot motorhomes or 5th wheel, be specific when you call. Good rules regarding playing of music & barking dogs. We took our dogs & there were no issues. We will definitely be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com