218149 User submitted reviews online!!
Southwoods RV Resort was rated 9 out of 10 based on 30 user reviews. Phone: (585) 548-9002
CGID6127

Southwoods RV Resort

Camp Information
Sites
232
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$34



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   10   7   7   10   9   10   9   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2014
$34
Stopped here for one night on our way back from a trip to New Hampshire. Pleasantly surprised at the size of the sites. The amenities at the site were well placed and all strong. The WiFi was strong as well, even though we were a good distance from the office. We didn't have cable but TV through the air antenna was quite good. The campground seems well situated in the area to see Buffalo, Niagara Falls and Letchworth State Park. We would definitely stay at this park again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2014
$35
Had a great weekend stay. Always a lot to do for the kids. Lots of open space for kids to run and play. Pool is great for them, too. Park recently upgraded WiFi which is very fast. Even though we're camping it's nice to stay connected. New security gates installed are a great addition for the safety and security of everyone. Overall great campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$29
We were here for two weeks; the price reflects that. This is a nice park, and seems to be the best one close to Rochester, where we have family. Cable TV hookups are only at some of the sites; they are planning to put it throughout the park. There is a Camping World close by. There are quite a few seasonals and the park was full on weekends with large groups. The WiFi worked well at one site, but not so great at another after we moved. However we did have Verizon access for internet. Some of the sites are too close together for us. The price is right: great value! We will be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$36
First, the office gets a 10+ for person-ability. Price is great. Good electrical strength and hookups. On the minus side, not enough showers, sites not level, and waaaay too many barking dogs during our stay . It sounded more like a public campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$40
Clean park with nice people. Lots of kids and they were well behaved. The pools are crystal clear and clean. There are nice shady camper spots and ones with full sun. The grounds are fun for kids and walking. I recommend it. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$30
We loved this CG. As others have posted, bathrooms are clean and well maintained. We had no trouble getting our 27-foot TT into its back-in site. On arrival, we were effusively greeted by one of the staff. Plenty of places to walk the dog, including the edge of some woods that, when we visited in mid-July, had plenty of ripe wild blackberries. Good mix of seasonals and transients. We stayed 3 nights. I did some cycling on the mostly flat and bike-friendly roads. We took day trips to Lake Ontario and Niagara Falls. Like just about every other CG we've been to, Wi-Fi service is uneven; hence the 9 rating. If our plans take us to that part of NY again, that's the CG we'll use. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$32
Ok, absolutely fantastic place to stay! DISNEY CLEAN bathrooms, showers, and grounds. Very well kept. Camp store has everything needed and staff is very professional and helpful. Sites are very big rig friendly and very level. Definitely will stay here again! 5 stars + !!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$34
Clean lovely RV park. Good Sam rate. Many seasonals here and it appears to be a destination for weekends but all sites are well maintained and clean, not at all run down. Our gravel site was level and easy enough pull through. The place is gorgeous, woods all around. Quiet. The only downside is so many trees that the satellite dish could not get reception. The pool looked lovely although we did not use it. A small store on-site too. We only stayed one night en route and were glad to have found this in an area where nice spots for big rigs are few. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$18
Positives are very well maintained with large relatively level sites. Many seasonals, but all well maintained. Swimming pools were just opening and looked very inviting. Large open activity areas for both adults and children. Baths and laundry areas spotless. Easy access from NYS Thruway and good location for access to Rochester, NY. Negatives are internal roads were wide but not paved with some bumpy spots. Wi-Fi had strong signal but was throttled down way to slow to use. Good 4G with Verizon however. High volume of railroad noise. Rate reflects monthly discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$39
Lovely campground and a nice short drive for a short weekend! The staff was extremely friendly and the owner was checking the pool and stayed out to chat with us while we sat next to the pool. The pools were beautiful and they even have adult swim times posted which was fine because it provided time for quiet around the pool. The sites were fabulously level and so clean and well maintained. The playground area was large which made it easy to throw the frisbee and football and play ladder ball, and you definitely need space for those games. The snack shop had ice cream cones and also sold many other items that you may need while camping. They provided arts and crafts for those interested. We definitely will return to camp here again! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$34
Very nice big pull throughs, lovely grounds, well maintained. No road noise, very quiet and clean. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$32
Staff was friendly and helpful, both over the phone and in person. Sites (we stayed at two different ones, one full HU and one W/E, both in the newer B section) were relatively wide and provided more shade (not much, though) than most in the park. Pads were gravel and wide enough to walk on or, on one of the sites, even accommodated the picnic table. All sites we saw had picnic tables and fire rings. Restrooms were relatively clean and well-stocked (though after everyone's morning showers and ablutions needed re-stock of paper towels and general clean-up). Store was nicely stocked with basic groceries and RV supplies. The game room had a huge TV and people appreciated its air conditioning during the heat spell. A video library and exchange-book library were also available. Pools and playground looked nice, though we did not use them. Though we were not here to participate, it looked like the pot-luck buffet, hay ride, and other activities could be fun. This park was one of the better ones I've found for walking; streets are long and many, and the nature trail offers additional walking area. Wi-Fi worked well. We would definitely come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$30
Top notch campground from the owners and workers to the large sites. Plenty of things to within a 1 hour ride. Highly recommend this CG it’s the best we have seen in this state, a good model for others! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$38
Family oriented park with many activities for young and old. The addition of the second pool was a great idea by park owners. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$30
This is one of the nicest New York State campgrounds we have ever visited. The owners are very friendly, always on site and greeted us on arrival. This is a beautiful campground with large serviced sites and the playgrounds and pool are fantastic. There is a good balance between permanent, seasonal and transient campers and we really enjoyed biking through the campground every day of our stay. We hope to return soon. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2009
$30
The owners of this park are some of the nicest, hardest working people you'll ever meet. We were checked in by a really helpful woman. She even told us about a great meat market nearby. When the owners are here, I'd give this campground a solid 10. When they are gone, this park deteriorates to a five or worse. From dirty showers to a surly front desk worker who ignores you while she makes personal phone calls or is just plain rude. Also when they are gone, some of the other employees won't even say hello or ride by in golf carts and demand to know what you are doing. We joked that we could tell when the owners were here and sadly we were right. The owners work their tails off trying to make this a great park. It's unfortunate many of their employees don't take as much pride in this place as they do. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$32
Very well maintained park. The owners of this park are very friendly and helpful. Great playground area for kids and a lots of space to ride your bikes. The campground was quiet and had a private feel. We enjoyed a visit to Letchworth State park which is about 45 minutes away. Pool was nice as well. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$30
Great park in the country. Highly recommend. Owners have a great friendly attitude. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2008
$29
We used it for an overnight stop, as it has very large pull-through that enabled us to remain hooked up. Based on what we saw we would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2008
$32
We used this as a stopping off area to see the Falls one hour away. Campground site was large and level. Only two occasions to meet staff briefly to check in and second time was when I was advised I had exceeded the camp speed limit. Free wi-fi a plus, no cable. The one surprise I did have was that in previous reviews there was no mention of railroad tracks and almost 3 times a hour the horns sounded day and night. It's not an issue to the permanents and may not be an issue to others but I think it deserves mentioning. We stayed in a travel trailer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$32
Lovely park-like setting with level, long sites. Well designed layout and the owners seem to be hands-on and have a vested interest in making their campers happy. We have visited several times before and have returned this year to see several improvements with new sites. I wish more parks were like this! Wifi was really good in most areas. Shopping is about 15-20 min away, if you need something. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2008
$31
Outstanding RV park. Wide camping spaces, super friendly staff, activities for kids if needed, clean pool, grassy camp spots. This goes on our "will stay here again" list. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$36
Very nice quiet park with friendly seasonals and a helpful staff, very nice pool, would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$27
This place was clean, with pink wallpaper in the bathrooms! Love it! Great owners, staff, and fellow campers, including the seasonals. Could use more shade, but was fine for us. Wi-Fi FREE and worked really well. Decent sized sites and I'd go back anytime. Everything very well kept there. I hear they have great dancing on the weekends if you are into that. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$26
Large, well laid out campground. Many full time or seasonal residents, but all sites well maintained and neat. Many of sites are under full tree canopy, although many also open. We chose one under a tree canopy, but soon learned that in the fall, those leaves can be a pain with all awnings, especially once the leaves become wet from the rains. The staff were very personable and helpful. The only issue that we had was with Wi-Fi. Although a Wi-Fi antenna was on the front office roof, it didn't have much range so it necessitated going to the office to use the laptop. I waited too late until the office was closed so had to sit outside to use the Wi-Fi. Kind of miserable what with the rain and fall weather fast chilling down. The owner came along and offered to open up to let me inside if I wanted - I declined the offer since almost done. Like I said, they are an inviting and personable staff. Well maintained roads leading up to campground and good paved interior roads. We will return without a doubt. Great location for those visiting Rochester area although out in the country. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2007
$30
Very nice campground. And everyone is nice there. The bathrooms are as clean as the ones at your own house or so I thought. No charge for visitors which impressed me! A lot of pretty flowers planted around. The only bad thing is the weekend sites are all in the sun but on grass - and it is CLEAN CLEAN CLEAN everywhere here!!!! We will be back to camp again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$25
Well kept park. They are still expanding sites and also expanding their WiFi. Lots of room for kids to run and ride bikes. Owners go out of their way to please you. A great get-a-way. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2007
$35
This campground is nice, but really caters more to the permanent people. The owners are extremely nice and helpful and fairly casual--for example, pool hours are posted, but often changed when the owners decide to close early or stay open longer. The campsites for overnighters without sewer are up on a hill with no chance of shade--a problem for us, since we're in a pop-up without an air conditioner. We did talk to the owner, though, who moved us--like I said, they are very nice. There are few amenities close by, so don't come in on an empty tank or stomach and hope to fill up easily. Overall, this was a nice campground if you want to relax or just camp overnight, but not really one to stay in for a week or so. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2007
$35
We were just traveling through, so we only spent 1 night. Park was nice, they were just finishing up expanding, so it was a bit dusty. Nice playground for the kids. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2006
$30
There had been a lot of rain just before we got there, so the sites were quite wet, but because it was on a hill it had run off nicely. The camp was grass-covered and green. The owners friendly and helpful. The other campers were friendly as well. The childrens play areas were innovative and cute. The double-dump site was easily accessible and usable. The restroom facilities were quite new and very nice - probably an 8.5. There was also a large pavilion area that was available for bands and other entertainments. They had a band one night while we were there - great music and all seemed to having fun. Shut down totally at quiet time without any problems. I would definitely recommend this park if you are in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com