218572 User submitted reviews online!!
Overland Trail Campground was rated 5 out of 10 based on 14 user reviews. Phone: (432) 426-2250
CGID6149

Overland Trail Campground

Camp Information
Sites
20
Date of Stay
March 2013
Latest Rate
$16



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
4   5   6   4   4   8   1   6   2   4   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  no  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  no  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
March 2013
$16
Office was not open when we arrived at 11:00 am. Campground was small and in need of some TLC. Weeds, old cars, and old mobile homes made me feel like we were staying in an old trailer park instead of an RV park. Confusion on my part led to sarcasm from person who finally arrived late to open the office. I felt like I was interrupting his day by trying to check in. Good location, in the center of town, but will not stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
February 2013
$25
Older park in the middle of town. OK for the couple of nights we spent there, but other than a place to park not much to offer. Sites were small, but the one next to us was left empty so not overcrowded. Hookups have been upgraded and work well. Machines in the laundry are old and don't work all that well. Price seems high. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2012
$17
Positive things first: Owner is a cool guy and gave us good advice where to go in town. Rates are cheap, WiFi was working excellent and all in all we felt comfortable on this campground. On the more negative side: As someone mentioned before, the park could use some maintenance and a little more attention. Laundry is equipped with quite old machines, bathroom/restroom is a bit shabby and it seems it doesn't get cleaned daily. Also there's only one bathroom for each men and women. And last but not least, the office is open a bit irregularly which can be a problem if you desperately need something - like quarters for the laundry. Bottom line - not my first choice but still ok for a couple of nights if you're looking for an affordable place with wifi and laundry. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2012
$30
We just checked out the place and did not stay there, in the middle of town. Tiny tiny pull-throughs, but as we visited there was nobody. People told us they put rigs with one place in between. Still not much of a place to go to, need a lot of attention. Back-ins are next to a gravel road so very dusty at the campground. Place needs a lot of improvement. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
April 2011
$24
OK park in the middle of town. All dust and dirt, of course there has been no rain for 1 1/2 years, so everything is dirty! Owner was very nice: gave us info on what to do in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2011
$25
Great owner, close to historical downtown and just around the corner from Ft. Davis National Historic site. Nice wide, backin spots with several day pull-through slots. There were some tent sites also. The only negative is the sites and parking were all dirt. Dog owners be aware of random loose dogs through out the town. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2010
$20
This a small shabby run down park in the middle of town. Owner tries to charge you extra for everything. Would not honor the Passport America advertised rates because it was two weeks before the 4th of July. Owner had a very strange way about him ,and the park was terrible. Moved to another RV park which was much better. Would not stay there and do not reccomend it at all. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2010
$13
We stayed here on Passport for 2 nights and were not charged extra as the other reviewer was. The owner didn't have the most pleasant personality, but was not that difficult to get along with. The park is a typical desert park and one should expect wind, dust and dryness. The power, water pressure and sewer worked well, but only 30amp. It is a great location for visiting Ft Davis and the surrounding mountains. The McDonald Observatory was great, I would recommend it. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
November 2009
$20
This is a small campground located in the town of Ft. Davis. It has a few RV sites, and a few tent sites, scattered among "historic" cabins. We used Passport America but were charged an additional $5/day for 30 amp electricity, there is no 50 amp service available in this campground. The owner also charges $2.50/person/day to use his bathrooms and/or showers, and $2.50/day for Wi-Fi, we did not use either. He tries to nickel and dime you back up to the regular daily rate if you use a discount. Our site was so small that our fifth wheel, with slides out, and truck filled the total length and width. Our car had to be parked in another campsite. Driving into and out of the park and maneuvering within the park is tricky, due to narrow roads and sharp turns. Verizon cell and air card service was virtually nonexistent and there was no antenna TV service. The park cable is very fuzzy and gets few channels, he forgot to charge us to use it. The campground laundry is the only one in town and is very expensive. This is a cramped, shabby park that we will not return to. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
January 2009
$13
Campground is small and cute and compact. Our site had a covered picnic table; close to all amenities in town. Clean, good water pressure, electric (only 30 amp), Owner is very rude. Internet WiFi is horrible, almost non-existent. When I asked if there was a problem with the internet, he talked thru the door and told me its my problem. Would not stay there again, we camped in a 5th wheel and stayed for 5 nights. No trouble using Passport America rates. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2008
$28
I was sent here by the state park because they were full when I arrived, and utilized my PA discount for the first two days. During those two days I visited the state park facilities and, even though it cost more for the additional days, I elected to stay here. It was quiet and no kids were in sight. The shower rooms are more like private suites and the laundry room was clean with new machines. They have a real nice under-utilized social room that looks brand new. The space between rigs was more than ample and I had full hookups with a great Wi-Fi hook-up and can find no fault with this park as far as my preferences tend to be. I am a solo, full-timer and would not hesitate to stay here. The former owner of this park had high hopes and was thoughtfully laid out (but kind of missed it on the hookups for a big rig) but a happy medium for the 5ers out there. If anybody wants a tax write-off, I'd be willing to act as park host for the winter months. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2008
$15
Campground is small and compact. Our site had a covered picnic table; within walking distance to all restaurants and shopping in city. Very clean, good water pressure, good electric, nice laundry, friendly owner, very informative on area, gave us lots of info. Took us to our site. They haven't had rain since November 2007, so it was dusty. Would stay there again, we camped in a 29' travel trailer and stayed for 7 nights. No trouble using passport america rates. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
February 2007
$11
The previous reviewer is right about Overland Trail's website. It is very nice. However his/her take on the owner/manager is off base. We stayed at Overland Trail for a week. It is a small park, has few amenities, but does have laundry and shower facilities. The wifi was free and worked great. We were in Fort Davis to sightsee and enjoy the area. We found the manager very helpful and friendly. Matter of fact, the day we left I lost my cellphone and didn't discover it until we were 200 miles west on our way to AZ. I called, asked if he would see if he could find it around our space. He found it and mailed it to us at our next stop. During the week we were in his park he was a down to earth, Texas style, friendly host and we will certainly visit his park again when we are in the area. For a "down home" quiet and friendly place it can't be beat. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
November 2006
$21
This campground looked really nice on the internet. When we called for information, however, the owner/manager was rude or was apparently having a really bad day - so rude that we decided not to stay there. Upon arriving in Fort Davis (staying at another RV Park) and driving by the Overland, we found we had made the right decision as the place looked like a real dump. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com