223556 User submitted reviews online!!
Destin Army Infantry Center Recreation Area (Military Camping Only was rated 9 out of 10 based on 11 user reviews. Phone: (850) 837-6423
CGID6188

Destin Army Infantry Center Recreation Area (Military Camping Only

Camp Information
Sites
46
Date of Stay
October 2014
Latest Rate
$23



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   8   9   9   10   9   4   10   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2014
$23
Army Rec Center is a small complex of motel like apartments, duplex type cabins and closely packed RV sites. The sites are FHU, cement and in some cases almost level. There is a swimming pool, kids water play area, and a fishing pier. A favorite activity seems to be watching the sunset from the rocky coast along the park edge or fishing. Downtown Destin, with it’s tourist trap restaurants, store fronts and kiosks is about 1 ½ mile drive/walk. If you have a rooftop satellite dish on your RV, be sure and ask for a site clear of trees. There is cable TV in the sites and apartments. A pressure reducer is not needed for RV's. Patrons make reservations a year in advance to be able to come here. Eglin AFB golf course is located off base and is about a 25 minutes drive from this recreation facility. It is also less expensive than the closer civilian courses. Traffic, especially on weekends, is really slow and backed up coming into Destin so don’t be in a hurry. They advertise freeWiFi from hot spots but it is mediocre at best. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2014
$21
This park is in a great location. Is right off Hwy 98, just a few miles from the beach and right on the bay. Lots of stores, restaurants, activities close by. It is a small park and is pretty tight pulling in with a larger RV. Some lots are more accessible than other. Our lot had several trees that we had to "hug" with the back of our trailer in order to fit! All lots are back-in. We camped here in a 37' rig. The park is clean, marina right on the premises, nice laundry facility. Would definitely stay here again but will try to get one of the larger and more "user friendly" lots. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2013
$17
Costs per night varies with amount of time you stay. Wi-Fi was great. Looks like they're adding to the Wi-Fi which will make it even better. Nice heated pool, kiddie wet pad, patio by shore. If you want there are rooms and cabins with kitchens available. Military only but if you're active or retired, you can't go wrong stay here. Staff is wonderful taking care of us and the campground, too. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$20
Stayed here for a week in July. Beautiful park with lots of amenities and friendly staff. Restrooms were very clean and although some sites are a bit tight we had no problem with our site. Overall it was a great place to stay. Excellent cable service also. Only 2 issues kept me from rating this a 10. 1. WiFi should be free - almost all commercial campgrounds offer this service at no cost now and as a military benefit I think this is ridiculous to still charge patrons for internet. 2. There should be an ice machine in the RV area. If not a free one like the motel/duplex area has, then one of those vending type ones at least. Campers need ice, and it would have been a better use of funds than the colored lights that were installed to make the pool area look so pretty at night. Just my opinion. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$17
One of the best kept secrets in the military campground system. Great staff: friendly and accommodating. Concrete hardstands and full hookups. Wonderful sunsets every evening right on the bay. Near good shopping and a couple of miles to the white sand beaches. Wonderful place! We stayed here 10 days and will do it again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$19
OK folks, this is a great park. First it has been here a long time, but the staff have up graded and keep the grounds and bathrooms spotless. We stayed here 10 days with a 34ft rig and toad and had no problems parking. The roads are narrow, but if you can handle your rig, it is not a problem. And when you do pull in other campers are more than happy to help. I had my awnings out and so did my neighbor and we had plenty of room. Also when we were there two coaches over 40ft pulled in and parked with no problem. The sunset views are out of this world over the bay. They have jet ski and boat rental. You are in the heart of Destin but would not know it. It is very quiet and the staff is great. This is a military campground which is nice because it gives you a chance to say thank you to the people who have served. We will be back and hope to stay longer. Great park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2009
$19
I don't know what the previous campers were looking for, but this is a very nice military campground. The staff were friendly and helpful, camp and showers were clean and well kept. We would not hesitate to return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2008
$17
I can't believe the previous write-ups. The RV Parking is no more than a parking lot resembling a RV park. Sites were so small that accommodating a 40ft 5th wheel AND a one ton truck was nearly impossible. Had we stayed we would have been right on top of our neighbors with no room for an awning. Entry into park was very tight and narrow as were the roads inside the park. All concrete and asphalt does not make for great living. We had a month booked here and ended up going elsewhere for the extra room. Had I been in a motorhome with a small toad and not staying very long I would have stayed, but not for an extended time. Attendant at the desk was not very friendly, A smile goes a long way when greeting people for the first time, maybe he didn't know how to smile. We would not come here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2008
$19
Very well maintained campground. Spent Labor Day weekend there and was so nice . Campground has so many things to offer for family fun. We will be back every year. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2008
$19
Open to military or DOD only. Sites are a little close together, but are angled and easy to back into regardless of RV size. Sites are all level concrete slabs. You are not located right on the water but it is a very very short walk away. Lots of sitting area right on the water. There are two children's playgrounds. They have a couple of treadmills in the rec center. There is a boathouse with rental boats and jet skis available. Great kayaking area. Pool is seasonal. It is an excellent place to stay with family. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2006
$16
This is a wonderful place to stay for military. We loved it. The sites were all paved and very roomy. Each site had it's own picnic table on the pavement. There were several playgrounds around the area and just about 30 feet away is the Gulf of Mexico. There are stairs that lead right down to it. The bathrooms were very clean and very well maintained. We would definitely go back to this. If you are military or retired military, this is a great place to visit. Not far from Destin activities. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com