221721 User submitted reviews online!!
Lafayette Park Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 18 user reviews. Phone: (308) 537-2299
CGID6196

Lafayette Park Campground

Camp Information
Sites
30
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$15



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   9   6   6   9   7   9   8   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2014
$15
For the price it was great. The lake it sits next to is basically drained. It was difficult to get satellite. Sites were haphazard and not very level. However, it was a pretty and quiet location. We will stay again for the Wild Horse Golf Club. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$15
What a nice park! Our second year staying here. Lots of trees, but we still got satellite. Small park, but big on charm. You will look hard to find a nicer park than this for $15. Very friendly staff. Dump station available. Thirty amp electric. Easy access from Interstate 80 and very quiet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2013
$15
This is a small city park on the north end of town that can accommodate large rigs. The sites were not particularly well-marked and were difficult to level in. There was some train noise, but certainly didn't bother my sleeping. We stopped here to see the Pony Express building and would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2013
$15
Off I-80 in town. Some mild train noise. Water not at every site, nor a picnic table. Spaces not marked well, if at all. But for $15, we were very happy to stay in this pretty city run park and we would certainly stay here again We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$15
Sweet little campground about 5 miles off I-80 in the lovely town of Gothenburg. The sites are grass, level pull-thrus with water and sewer. Did not use the restrooms. As others have said, the camp host is a dear, extremely friendly and told us all about what to do in the area. The area is extremely quiet with nice walking paths to stretch ones legs after a long day of driving. Verizon cell/Internet strong here. Make sure to stop and see the Pony Express Station in Gothenburg. Would camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$15
The phrase "It is what it is" fits here. We are in a 37 foot motorhome parked in space 28. Was easy to access. Local TV has only a few chanels. Satellite is blocked by trees. Very friendly hostess. Good food nearby. I agree with all previous posts, except you should call for availability for a big rig. It is right off of route 80 and a nice place to spend the night inexpensively. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$15
What a gem! This pretty little city-owned campground is nestled among huge cottonwoods and abuts a park with walking trails and a small lake. Quiet and lightly used while we were here. Campsites are a bit haphazard, so you may need to cruise around once to identify an appropriate site. Several pull-thrus are long enough for big rigs. Limbs are kept trimmed, but turns may need some caution. Level gravel sites with 30 amps, shared water on some, dump on site, clean but rustic showers/restrooms. Good internet and phone signal on Verizon, poor on ATT. We'll certainly be back! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$15
This is about 2 miles off the Interstate, easy to get to though. The park is very tight into some spots, we have a 30' Class A pulling a Jeep and had no trouble getting into our spot (pull through) but the park was pretty vacant. We would not have been able to get into some spots without unhooking. Check before pulling in. Good lake at the park, nice walking areas. Good deal and very quiet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$15
Nice little city park campground with 30 amp electric and shared water. Sites are not well defined and are mostly grass, a couple of sites are stone. Verizon cell and broadband were both strong and TV via bat wing was good. The park is about a mile from US-30 and the train tracks, so the trains were not too bad. Not really big rig friendly, I would not bring in a 40' here. We are a bit over 35' and towing, site was OK but the roads are tight. The campground is separate from the city park, but connected with nice walking trails. Walkers Steak House just east of town on the left side of US-30 has very good sandwiches at a decent price. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$15
The name of this lovely park is Lafayette Park Campground. It is on the outskirts of the town, adjacent to a large public park with lots of open space and man-made ponds. The RV park is grassy and shaded. Most sites have grass pads but some are gravel. Our site was level and most of the others looked level as well. Each has water and electric hookups. Water spigots may be shared with an adjacent site. Overall we liked it very much and will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$15
Pretty park. Shaded. We were the only ones there on a Wednesday so were able to pull through and leave the fifth wheel hooked up on gravel. Bathrooms were old and looked like they weren't cleaned every day. Staff was very friendly and there is a nice walk around Lake Helen. Our Golden Retriever went swimming in the canal. The Pony Express station is just down the road, and FFA was selling sweet corn in tow. The Union Pacific trains were busy the night we stayed there. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$15
We stayed here for over a month while my husband finished a job, and we just loved this scenic park! The hosts are the best anywhere! The town is scenic and friendly, and we were welcomed everywhere. This campground is adjacent to a small lake with a wonderful walking path. The sites are shaded by cottonwood trees over 100 years old. Though it sounds like it is in town, the park is actually at the very end of town, on a dead end road. We loved this park and will return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$22
We have spent several days camping at Lake Helen in Gothenburg. Have always enjoyed our stay there. Very peaceful and restful place to spend a weekend. We look forward to going back again this year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$15
Park is very grassy, was hard to identify sites. Needed to seek out the utilities. The spots were not very level, even kind of scary. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$16
We made a last minute decision to stay here while traveling out west and wish we had a day to spare to stay another night. The campground is located in a town park and had a large lake with walking trails on one side and the fairgrounds on the the other. Being the 4th of July weekend, we saw beautiful fireworks and the Pony Express Rodeo was going on at the fairgrounds. Even with the commotion, the hosts were very nice. The campground was tightly packed and there was some modest noise and firworks from other campers, but this eneded by 10:00. The restrooms were clean and the showers hot. We hope to return to stay longer next trip. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$15
This is a beautiful park with lots of trees and beautiful lush green manicured grass. We weren't able to use the power as our progressive industries surge protector (it's very sensitive to protect our onboard electronics) wouldn't let the power into our coach. We run into this now and then at some parks but we stayed and just didn't use the power. There are LOTS of trains running day and night so be prepared if you're a light sleeper. I would have given this park a 10 if it had sewer hookups and the power worked. We used this park as an over night stop. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$15
I'd like to thank the previous viewer for directing me to this park. Not only was I thrilled with the park (lots of big old tree and friendly managers) but the town of Gothenburg is really wonderful: small town America at it's best. I pulled in to take a break on my third day of I-80 driving and loved it so much I stayed another day. I've deemed Gothenburg the friendliest town in America. The city park is on the back end of town and you can just barely hear the train whistles in the distance, which I loved. And you can't beat the price. The locals show up to play horseshoes and have picnics after church on Sundays. I highly recommend this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$16
Off I-80 on the north edge of Gothenburg along Highway 47 and 27th Street. Another gem for $16. Fairly large city lake just across the covered footbridge over the canal. I heard they have a world-class golf course too. And a downtown (Mayberry type) with a Pony Express station. Lots of easy hiking and lots for kids to do. Unlevel gravel sites are the only drawback. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com