206669 User submitted reviews online!!
Ozark / Fort Rucker KOA was rated 9 out of 10 based on 52 user reviews. Phone: (334) 774-3219
CGID62

Ozark / Fort Rucker KOA

Camp Information
Sites
68
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   7   8   9   7   10   10   10   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2014
$35
Very nice, small park. Immaculate with excellent management/owners. Close to the highway. Sights are level, clean,good Wi-Fi and cable TV. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$33
Lovely little park with easy access from 231 and pleasant staff. Excellent hookups and paved, level sites. Site 18 had good satellite reception. WiFi is marginal. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2014
$34
Sites are very tight. We arrived late and the campsite that was reserved could not accommodate a motor home with a tow. The site we were put in was toward the back of the campground and we were squeezed in between two other large motor homes. The only bath house is very small. The positive - it was clean but, I was the first person to bath in it the next a.m. The rate was with the KOA discount. The park would have been a bit nicer if they had not put so many campsites into such a small area. However it was OK for a one night stop over. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2014
$35
This is the second time we've stayed at this park and would stay here again when we visit Ft. Rucker. The owners are on site and very helpful. I needed a phone line to transmit a medical device's data and they went out of their way to help me do that in their office. The park is well run and neat. Sites are level and power hookups are modern and strong. Workcampers and staff were all helpful and friendly. Laundry and showers were all clean and functional. The park is a very pleasant place to stay and offers many amenities. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2014
$35
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this KOA. The grounds were immaculate and had pleasant areas to walk like a park near the pool and a garden with a fish pond. There was good signage from the road and easy access from the highway; however, the roads inside the park were a bit tight. There is some road noise and we noticed a distant train, but neither were loud enough to disturb out sleep. The concrete parking areas (we had a pull-through) are slightly sloped and some had concrete patios with picnic tables. Each site has an attractive post with water, cable, and electric connections. Wi-Fi is free and better than most campgrounds. There are large trees throughout the park and sites are roomy enough for slides and sitting out without feeling that you are on top of your neighbor. The laundry and bathroom are very clean and attractive. There is a large, fenced dog park in a treed area. It is on a hill, and has a nice, stepped walkway for the humans. The park has a water bowl and a doggie bag/trash receptacle. We felt so comfortable at the park that we extended our stay and we will stay here again if we are in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2014
$32
This is an attractive and well maintained park. Staff helped us out several times. Good cable and WiFi. Large fenced dog run. Other reviewers talked about helicopter noise from Fort Rucker, but we were here a week and never heard a helicopter. There is a nearby railroad track and there seemed to be a train passing at 10:30pm nightly, but we kind of like that. Shopping and dining about 5 miles away. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2013
$37
This is a very well run park and kept up nicely. The staff is very helpful and escort you to your site and even brush off the picnic table for you. Neat things to see in the park. They kept us close to our traveling companions. Thanks for making both our stays very nice. We will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2013
$37
Easy access, friendly efficient staff, level concrete pads, clean rest room facilities, nice surroundings. Definitely would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2013
$31
Stayed one night while visiting Ft Rucker Military Base. Very clean campground and laid out very nicely. If I was going to build a campground I would use this as an example of what I would want. Showers clean and hot! Great place to walk and see a real alternative fuel "still". Catch and release pond located on property with "glider" seating and hammocks scattered around pond. Small store located in office. When using this campground be sure to have a water pressure adapter as water pressure is at 95 PSI. Will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2013
$31
Nice level site paved with a paved patio. WiFi worked well. Good water pressure; I would advise using a pressure regulator. Satellite tv worked at our site. The park was neat and clean. They have a large dog park. Will return if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2013
$31
Now a KOA Campground. Rate is after discount. Most people tend to use this as an overnight stop, but the quiet setting would offer a restful extended stay. The owners are very enthusiastic and customer oriented. When escorted to site, they brush off the already apparently clean picnic table and under the electrical service's cover. All services worked well with good steady voltage. Roadway is hard surface as is the site. Underground storm shelter is at this campground. Will definitely stay again in this well maintained facility. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2012
$32
This is a great little park; the staff are extra friendly and helpful. The facilities are very good; laundry is expensive compared to others but very efficient. The setting is very beautiful, with a little lake. Firewood is supplied. A must if travelling through. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2012
$33
Good site for a stop along the road. Most sites are pull through and are very level concrete and pavement. The camp sites are well laid out, but there are a lot in a small space. It is close to the highway; convenient but you can hear the trucks. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2012
$30
The staff and owners of this park are very helpful and friendly. It seems that the relatively new owners are trying to do upgrades and make the park nicer. However, I do not understand how this park gets the ratings it gets from Good Sam and Woodall's. My point is that it's a nice park, but it's not a great park. The first site in which they wanted us to park would have been nearly impossible for our 45 ft rig, but they willingly put us in another site. One good thing I can say is that they have a storm shelter which is a great thing when traveling through Alabama during tornado season. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2012
$30
Nice, quiet, clean park with courteous and knowledgeable personnel in the front office. Will definitely stay here again when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2012
$30
Very nice, clean park. Roads were quite narrow but manageable with a big rig. Watch trees at some sites but not a big problem. Friendly front office ladies. Cable TV at our site was poor. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
January 2012
$27
This park looks better online than in real life. Lady working at the counter was new and tried to overcharge us for the weekly stay. When we told her the lower price we saw on their website she said something along the lines of being 'very busy and not having time for the internet' - although she did give us the lower website rate. Also, they assigned us a spot under trees and when we asked to move to a sunnier site, the owner acted like it was a big hassle to switch us, even though the campground was half full. We didn't feel welcome at this park and would not stay again. Rate reflects the weekly rate, including tax. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$29
Great park with level concrete sites. Utilities and restrooms are top notch. An added bonus is a fenced in dog run. We would stay here again and maybe go a little out of route to stay here. An eight plus. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$32
Campground is very clean, office staff very friendly. One of the cleanest and nicest laundry facilities that I had the pleasure of using all summer. We stayed two nights and will stay again if we are ever in the area. The sites are close together but still give lots of privacy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2011
$29
This park has a beautiful setting. It is somewhat noisy with road traffic. The lot was level and we had a concrete pad with table. All the amenities you would need at this park. We were without water for most of the day we stayed due to some digging in the park, but we went sightseeing at Ft Rucker. We did not use the restrooms or showers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2010
$30
Be aware that after we were hooked up in our overnight very narrow site, we were warned that they have a sugar ant problem.. Now we have a sugar ant problem. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$29
Very friendly and helpful staff. Restrooms and showers immaculate, pool clean. Definitely would stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$29
Overall a nice park for a few days stay. The park was clean, the person who checked us in was friendly and provided an escort to the site. There was no shade at our spot, but there are a few that do have it. The cable was very good, the WiFi was just ok, fairly slow during peak hours. They have a large, fenced pet area so you can let your dog off-leash. A recent review complained about the noise, we didn't notice it, there was one train in the early evening and a few helicopters from Ft Rucker, but nothing late. The road noise was minimal and didn't bother our sleep. We will definitely use this park again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$26
Great park, very well taken car of. Clean restrooms and very friendly staff. A lot of nice little things like leading you to your site, making sure you have all the hookups needed. The only thing negative is the sites were very close to each other. I look forward to the next time we go back and stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2010
$25
This is a good park if you only plan to stay overnight. The positives: You are escorted to your site and the bathroom and laundry were very clean, some of the cleanest I have seen. It is easy access from U.S. 231. Verizon cell service and air card access was great. The bad: sites are very close together. You are bombarded with noise from 3 sources-very busy highway noise, a loud freight train close by, and the helicopters from Ft Rucker. We were also disappointed that the dog run was in very bad shape. It appears that long tern tenants are staying in the park. Would we stay here again-probably not. This park does seem popular with snowbirds who stop for a night on their way to/from home. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2009
$29
We have stopped to overnight here many times on trips between Chicago and Florida. Park is extra clean and staff is very friendly. Most are very level pull-through slots and I never have to unhook. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$29
Stayed here before. Still a very nice, friendly spot to stop when on the road and want to relax for an evening or two. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$20
We are long-termers (hence the lower nightly rate) and have had a great experience here. The owners are awesome and respond to our concerns quickly. They are working hard to make upgrades to the park. We will be here two more months and wouldn't consider another park in the area. This is an extremely dog friendly park! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$29
This is a great park to stay at: over night or for a month. We have been coming here since mid 80's. The grounds are clean and neat. The bathrooms are very clean as well as the laundry room and the machines work! The staff is friendly and helpful. The store has a great selection of what you may need or have forgotten. There is a pool, a playground, a pond with a short walking trail and a dog park. The game room and kitchen area has a very down-home feel. The sites are level and wide with plenty of room for your family to move around. The park is close to other attractions in the area and is a short distance from Florida. We would not stay anywhere else, and we haven't! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$29
We visited this quiet, rural campground with shade trees and open grassy areas for the first time recently. The new owners were warm and welcoming. It was wonderful taking a tour of this breathtaking park. We enjoyed watching the koi and the waterfall at the lily pond. After sightseeing, it was refreshing heading back to the campground and enjoying a dip in the pool. The amenities were neat and clean. In my opinion, this is a premiere campground that we would not hesitate revisiting in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$29
Very clean, well manicured park. Their supply store is very well stocked (like a small Camping World). The streets and sites are concrete and very level. Personnel very efficient and friendly. The only negatives are things they can't change (noise from busy Hwy.231 and a nearby rail crossing with trains passing a couple of times during the night). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$29
Very nice little park. Everything clean and staff very friendly. Very good Wi-Fi. Site concrete and level, Has a new owner and he is a nice guy who wants you to be very happy. This is the first time at this park for us and we will come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$30
Visited park for first time on way to Florida. Will stay here again. The park was very clean and everyone was very friendly. The site was nice and the pool was very clean and warm. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$29
This is a very nice park just off US 231 at mile marker 47, about 3-miles north of Ozark, Alabama. My site #19, is almost dead-on level. The pad itself is concrete and the approach is asphalt although the interior roads are dirt. My 35' class A and toad had no problems negotiating the turns. The electric pedestal has both 30 and 50 amp connections as well as cable TV and two water connections. There are also two sewer connections spread a few feet apart. That's a nice touch. The clerk at check-in did warn me about the park's high water pressure (95 psi) and that a water regulator was needed. I always carry one (doesn't everyone??), so no need to buy one from them. The check-in process was quick and easy. No forms to fill out. They offer the Good Sam discount and needed to see the card to record the number. I didn't ask about other discounts. The nightly rate of $29 was after the discount and taxes. The staff (so far) has been friendly and efficient. What more can you ask for? The cable TV has roughly 60-channels and the Wi-Fi is provided by TengoNet but at no additional cost to the camper. I'm accessing the net from inside my coach and not using any sort of external Wi-Fi adapter. This park is just off US 231, but highway noise is minimal. Others have mentioned train whistles, but so far I haven't heard any. This park is a bit pricey for overnighting, but for an multiple day stay, it would do very nicely. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2008
$21
The facilities at this park are excellent and the owners are very friendly and helpful. Though it is located just off of a busy highway, there is not much road noise. On the other hand there is a railroad track close by and trains do come through, even during the night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2008
$21
Nice park with shade and paved roads and sites. Our jacks sunk slightly and would recommend putting something down prior to lowering jacks if you have a heavy rig. We had good Verizon cellular and internet connection. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2008
$28
Fine for an overnight stay. The sites and roads are a tight fit for a bigger motorhome. There is a train nearby and we heard the whistle throughout the night. The roads and sites are paved and there was a nice place to walk the dogs. They provide escort to site. We were told at check in that we would need an adapter (which cost us $11 in their store) because their water pressure is very high. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2008
$30
We have stayed here two different times going to and from Florida. The staff was friendly and helpful. The WiFi worked great. The pool is seasonal, so it was not available in March. We will plan on staying here again when we are in the area. They offer Good Sam Club discounts but you will need your card number. Unlike most campgrounds they have a Bomb Shelter (remember the 1960's) which is available during severe storms. N31.48805 W085.68722 We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2008
$26
Very nice park. The people were as nice as could be. We camped here when the weather was very bad: alarm sirens went off twice but they had a safe place to ride out the storm. Next year, we'll be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2008
$29
Good transient park on our way to Tampa area We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2007
$25
With smiling hosts to meet us at the door, register us and drive us to the site, we were made to feel welcome. Level quiet sites with complete services on a modern pedestal. Excellent store, clean bathrooms. We enjoyed this campground so much that we made plans to stay there on our return trip from Florida back home in Minnesota. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$27
We will always return to this park when in the area. The other local park is not even close in features. The pool area is very nice and very clean. The family owners go out of there way to help. The cable channel list is huge.The modem location and speed is great. Even the dogs are happy with the dog walking area. We like it there. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2007
$25
Very, very nice smaller park! Great, friendly staff. Free Wi-Fi which is a great plus for me. Used Good Sam discount on outbound visit; joined "Best Parks in America" for free, and received a $5 coupon that I used on return stop at this same park. Will use this whenever it fits into my travel plans. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2007
$27
Perfect for an overnight stay when traveling. Extremely well kept park with very friendly staff to check you in and lead you to your site. They even offered to hook up the utilities for me. Will definitely keep this place on my overnight stay list! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2007
$28
Very nice park, just stayed for an over night on our way through. People were very helpful and friendly. Would stay there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$29
Very clean and well kept. All paved, but expensive for the small concrete site. Huge cable selection and a very nice pool. Wonderful computer room and a large store. Plenty of places to walk the dogs. The owner very helpful and even loaned me a wrench to fix my water line. The ants are a problem. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2005
$27
Very nice campground with friendly people working there. We had a site overlooking the pond. Quiet, peaceful. Had a dog run which was great for the dogs but just a bit too buggy for me (time of year thing maybe). Peeked into the rest and laundry rooms and they were immaculate. The pool was well maintained. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2004
$22
Ozark Travel Park is the definition of "southern hospitality" at its best! The town of Ozark should be thrilled to have such a business / representative of their community. This past July my husband and I ended up stranded in Ozark, AL on our way home to south Florida, after our vehicle's transmission decided quit after a day of driving from Kentucky. We cannot thank the staff enough for everything they did to help us and make us feel at ease while our vehicle was being repaired over the course of 7 days. Ozark Travel Park Manager went out of his way to make sure we were all right, after having our truck towed to the local Ford dealer. He found us at the dealer gave us his cell phone number just in case the rental car didn't work out. (Which it did not). He ended up driving back into town two hours later, 6 miles one way, and picked us up. After two days without a car, he even offered to let us take his truck to replenish our food supplies. What a great thing in this day of untrusting people. (Thanks: I thought I was going to go crazy here for a minute). The amenities for this park are outstanding. I can say, without hesitation, this is one of the friendliest and cleanest campgrounds we have ever used, having traveled for over 15 years. The way they treated us and the other guests felt just like family. Campground owner definitely has a great group of people working for him and his patience was very much appreciated. After getting our truck back and packing up our gear and preparing to leave this adventure behind, my husband realized the truck was still not repaired. This Park owner hooked up the trailer and prepared to "plant" us down again. But, as it ended up, an unnamed gentleman helped my husband determine the transmission was "kind of" working and the truck limped home to be repaired at our local dealer. What a vacation. It could have been a great deal worse. We thanked our lucky stars that we ended up at Ozark Travel Park and met these kind and generous folks. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2004
$21
Great park to spend a couple of days. Friendly staff, very well maintained park and excellent restrooms some of the best we have seen. Plus FREE WiFi access! We also liked the Army Aviation museum nearby. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2003
$26
We stopped over here for one night on our way to Florida. Very nice park. Owner was very helpful in recommending an easy way through Montgomery, AL. After checking in, he personally guided me into my site. Also enjoyed having WiFi internet access. Playground and grassy area for kids to play was another big plus after a long day in the back seat of the truck. Restrooms/showers were very clean. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$22
Very nice park! Was the franchise park of the year two years running. A perfect stop on the way to Florida. The only reason I gave it a 9 and not a 10 was because of the very mean rotweiler on the other side of a wooden fence at the doggie hydrant. Scared my little dog and me badly. However, we would stay here again in a heartbeat! Try the La Bamba Mexican restaurant a couple of miles south of the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2001
$20
This is a clean park that is operated by friendly people. The sites are paved, but very close together.It would be good overnight or a few days, but not extended stay. Good location,right on US 231 north of Ozark. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com