220396 User submitted reviews online!!
Cheraw State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 16 user reviews. Phone: (843) 537-9656
CGID6209

Cheraw State Park

Camp Information
Sites
18
Date of Stay
November 2013
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   10   7   10   9   7   7   8   10   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2013
$20
Great park! We really liked our stay here. The road into the campground is not paved, but was in good shape. The park office is in another section of the park and requires driving back out to the main highway and to the main park entrance. The road in the campground is gravel, as are the sites. Most, but not all, of the sites are fairly level. Several of the sites require creative backing and parking to fully utilize the site. It seemed as if everyone staying had a dog and no one cleaned up after them. There were doggie land mines all over the place. During our stay we rarely saw a park ranger and there was no camp host. AT&T service is good with 4G, park office has firewood at $6.00/bundle, TV reception is a limited number of channels, Bath house was older, but clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$18
Stayed on site 1 and site 3 for a total of 10 days in a 40 ft motorhome. Very clean park, well maintained. Fantastic inexpensive state run golf course. Senior rate was $18 for 18 holes with a cart. Sporting clays available at Moree Game preserve, you can rent a gun there, too. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$20
Beautiful location by the lake. Camp host was excellent and very friendly. We played golf in the state park. It was a great course and only $20 a round. We would definitely recommend this site. Very clean bathrooms. No Wi-Fi, but we were advised of a location in Cheraw with good Wi-Fi. Cheraw is an interesting city with a fascinating history. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2013
$20
Stayed at site 16 on the lake. Booked months ago to get a lake spot. This is still a gem of a park. Hiking/Biking trails are a little sad this time of year as they did a lot of forest burns over the winter. Restrooms are spotless. Campsite host keeps everything clean. Beautiful onsite golf course. 4 miles from Cheraw . Kids (age 10, 13, 14) love it here. Absolutely beautiful tall, tall trees. Highly recommend (and we are picky!) We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2012
$17
We got here late on Friday night and stayed 2 nights. This is a great little 'getaway place' for the weekend. It's a relatively small, older campground but is well maintained and the sites are most all flat and wide. They have been installing new electrical and water connections in many of the sites. There are probably 8 sites with good views of the lake. Lots of areas to walk around and see including across the lake at the golf course and cabins there. If you're a golfer, this is the place. There are 18 holes here and another 18 across the road at the country club. The ranger was very helpful and even brought some firewood by that we purchased at the park office. We received digital TV signals (4) and cellular data service. Very nice campground, we will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$17
First time we stayed at this park. It is a small park, sites are pretty good. Campground host was friendly and helpful. Not much to do at the campground. A few pet owners think that they own the place. A camper went out in a canoe and was gone for one and a half hours. Their dog barked for the whole time. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2010
$16
We decided to come to Cheraw SP for a quick weekend getaway. I was pleased overall with the CG. The sites were big, but unpaved. My sons were looking forward to riding scooters, but not on unpaved roads. The lake is nice but the fishing is terrible. Golf course is very nice, and affordable. Nice cabin area also. Not much to do at the CG but relax. Playground equipment is average. The campground host/park ranger was very nice and informative. There is a civil war re-enactment in the area in March or April. I would love to come back to the CG for that, or, NASCAR race in Darlington about 26 miles down the road. There is a country club across the street, and I was told campers can use the pool for $5 a day. Other than that, I can not see staying here more than three nights. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$16
Very nice state park. Small, but sites are roomy with fairly easy access. Encountered some low limbs in area around office which is separate from campground. Golf course looked beautiful but we did not use it. Many trails around lake. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$15
Very small quiet campground. No swimming in the lake might deter some people. We stayed a week just to have a quiet relaxing week. We tried fishing and NEVER even had a bite! The sites are on a bit of a slope, but we never really had a problem. We would definitely go back for some relaxation. Great golf course and lots of walking trails. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2009
$15
The high Rating is due to the Golf. The course is in excellent shape and a very low price. You could pay 4 times the amount in greens fees 2 hours away and not have as nice a course it is awesome. If you are not a golfer there is not much to do. This is a quiet lakefront campground in a very secluded area. There is a Wal-Mart about 4 miles away. There are walking trails and a large lake. For golfers it is an unbelievable course for $30.00. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2008
$14
Great little gem of a park next to a nice lake. Fun for boating and fishing. Good hiking in the park and national forest next door. Golf for the folks that enjoy the links too. The camp host was great and a fun person to chat with. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2008
$15
We were a little concerned when we first pulled into the entrance as the roads were dirt and it had rained. But it was not problem as the road was solid and the campground road was nice enough to navigate to our site. We had one of the two pull through sites and had no problem getting level. The best site for large motor homes is number 3, but many of the sites on the water are also nice although smaller. There is a small playground which is on the other side of the lake, but a nice walk. Other than that there isn't much to do in the area, but enjoy nature and relax. We were able to get several digital tv stations over the air. We plan on camping here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$16
Very nice state park and wonderful golf course. Site #1 is great for a motorhome and we were able to get satellite easily at that sight. Only water and electric, but for 5 nights that is not a problem for us. Air card service was pretty good and it was nice and quite. Would definitely stop again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2008
$12
Nice State Park. Clean Level sites, Gravel,and Sand. Roads into the camping area are Loose sand and a little gravel. A little rough and rutty but passable. Nice rangers and camp host. We had to stay in the primitive area because hookups were full. Wish we could have made reservations but SC parks will only allow 2 consecutive night reservations. overnighters have to take their chances on not being full. Overall a nice Campground we will return again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2007
$15
Campground is circular, beside a lake, with most sites back-in. There are 2 pull-throughs, but all sites are large and level on stone. No light at night on the entrance to the park from highway. It is situated on the next road to the main state park entrance (which has a light). No lights in campground either. Very nice clean park, would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2006
$15
This is a very good state park. Way more than 'no frills', but, of course, not like one of those 'RV Resorts'! The access roads were dirt but firm. There was adequate room to maneuver even a large rig. The sites were wooded, stoned and relatively level- large enough to enjoy some privacy and still not feel isolated. About half are lake front, the others shared a view of the lake. We were on a lake front site and the view was fabulous, as was the fishing (Don't know for sure, but my DH thought the lake was probably stocked). Rangers were friendly and helpful. Very family friendly, yet no playground for kids. The lake was the biggest recreational attraction. Bathhouses were clean and adequate in size. We went with a camping group and there was plenty of room for all to enjoy the campfire. Rating reflects the quality of the campground for the kind that it is. Not fancy, 'just a state park' but South Carolina knows how to do state park camping! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com