224096 User submitted reviews online!!
Valley of Fire State Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 41 user reviews. Phone: (702) 397-2088
CGID6232

Valley of Fire State Park

Camp Information
Sites
72
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   10   10   8   10   10   9   9   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$30
This was a gem of a campground in a beautiful spot...a little "mini" Utah with red rock, vistas, hiking, etc. There were two campgrounds, one with hook ups and one dry camping. There was a dump station nearby. I would suggest getting there early for an electrical spot. The payment method is unusual, you pay $10 to enter the park and the site with electricity is $30 but if you put your receipt for entry in the envelope with your check it is only $10...so $20 for an electrical site. A person could probably "do" this site/area in one full day. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2014
$20
Prepare your eyes for a feast. The bluest of blue skies and wind sculpted red rock in formations that continuously surprise. Seriously, this is a must stop and must see. Our rate reflects dry camping with a water spigot nearby. Sites with electric and water are $30. There is pump out and water fill at campground entrance. We dry camped in the Arch Rock campground, which offers vastly more seclusion and privacy. Site numbers that are the best in this campground are #15 - 29, which is a spur off the main loop. Arrive early in the day, this area is very popular. We plan to return We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2014
$20
We stayed two nights at the Arch Rock Campground. This campground does not have water or sewer hookups but it did have a water spigot close to our site. This is fine as we like the " camping" atmosphere. Our campsite was secluded as it was nestled in among the red rocks. We spent our days hiking the trails. The park is pet friendly. Dogs are allowed on the trails as long as they are on a leash. The Visitor's Center had information on the area's plants, wildlife, Native Americans, and geology. A nice gift shop, too. Just outside the campground is a water and dump station. It was easy to get to when checking in or out. Both the campgrounds are on a first come first serve basis. Recommend getting there in the early afternoon (right after check out time) to ensure a campsite. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$30
We stayed in Atlatl's water/electric sites. Free dump station at entrance. Arrived Monday at 1pm with plenty of sites to choose from. As the week progressed, sites were harder to come by because the campground filled up by nightfall. By the time we left on Thursday, people were circling looking for people who were packing up so they could claim their spot. Great location – kind of expensive. Showers by the check in kiosk are warm and free. Other showers are 25 cents for 5+ minutes with uneven shower spray. Arch Rock sites have spring-loaded water spigots generously spread throughout campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2013
$20
I have been to this park 4 times in the past two years, it is one of my all time favorite places to visit. Recently, they have added several sites for RV's with good electric and water hook-ups. Beautiful level sites with plenty of room and tastefully done without ruining the ambiance of camping right in the beautiful Red Rock. The views around the campground are to die for. Get there early for a hook-up site. It fills up especially on the weekends. There is a dump station near the entrance to the campground area. I also was able to get 3G service on my Verizon Hotspot, so able to get email, slow but it worked. No TV reception, but who needs that with the views. Don't miss this campground, one of the best in the country! I will return many, many times. The hiking and photography around here is amazing. Tent sites are $10.00 per night and RV with electric and water are an additional $10.00 per night. Very reasonable for such a beautiful location. Great sun shelter and picnic table and fire ring at each site. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2013
$30
Two beautiful campgrounds, both set among towering red rock formations. Arch Rock is dry camping only, with pit toilets and unthreaded water faucets scattered throughout the widely-spaced, mostly-level sites, some of which can accommodate big rigs. Atlatl Rock has both dry sites and water-electric sites, flush toilets and showers. Campsites are $20 for dry, $30 for water-electric, and include admission to park ($10 fee if not camping) which has many scenic rock formations to tour. Some areas of the park have weak, but generally adequate, cell phone reception for both AT&T and Verizon, but reception at either of the two campgrounds is generally non-existent. A very pretty state park, and well worth a day or two of exploring. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$20
This state park is located about fifty miles north from Las Vegas, so it is a very popular spot for day trips and campers. There are two campgrounds in the park right near each other - Atlatl Rock and Arch Rock. Atlatl has some electric sites, water and hot showers and fills up first and early; then later on mid-day Arch Rock campground fills up. We got there around 10 in the morning and found a spot in Atlatl. So many RV’s drove around looking for spots late in the afternoon and this was only a Thursday. Many rental RV’s with tourists from overseas. There were some electric sites open, but we chose to dry camp because the temperature was only around 75 degrees and our site was more private. The sandstone red rock formations are stunning. The host was very helpful and it is a self check-in station. We had to pay $10 to get into the park. When you self register for the campsite: if you put your gate receipt in the envelope it was another $10 for dry camping and $20 for electric. If you don’t include the receipt dry camping is $20 and electric $30. One can hike in the campground and the park itself has a visitor center. There is a variety of places to hike and pullouts for scenic views. Everyone has always raved about this state park and I can see why. It is beautiful! I wish that NV would release the handicapped sites at the end of the day so all those wanting to camp here could use them. Also, they should put out a campground full sign so that campers are not going through the campground late in the evening thinking there are sites available. The sign should be at the entrance gates so you do not have to drive in to find out. Another interesting point, it seems they only collect the fee into the park at the west gate, so if you come in and leave by the east gate you don’t have to pay. If you can’t find a camping spot there is also a great BLM spot right on a cliff just north of the east gate heading to Overton Beach. There were about 30 RV’s there when we drove by in the morning. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2013
$30
Valley of Fire is a very nice, off the beaten path park. The place is clean, and when a campground is available the showers, and restroom are the cleanest you will ever find. Most of the park staff are very friendly, and knowledgeable. One of the perks I like about this park is you get meet folks from other countries. Give it a try, and you will return again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2012
$28
Camping among the Red Rocks is a breathtaking experience. For a desert campground it is a 10 even though there are no sewer connections in individual campsites. Another drawback and the reason for my 8 rating is that the sites are level side to side, but not front to back. Cell service is non existent except in certain areas of the Park (That can be a good thing). You're 15 miles from a grocery store in Overton, NV. The park has many easy hiking trails. Each site has a shade shelter covering the provided table, a fire ring and charcoal grill. 50 amp service is available. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2012
$30
The most magical and unforgettable campground you will ever stay in. Plan on at least two nights; there's a lot to see here. Sites are very spacious but far from level; you will need 8 to 12 inches' worth of blocks for most of them. If not for that I would rate this a ten. We will not only stay here again, we go out of our way to make this park part of our itinerary anytime we're going to be within a hundred miles of this place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2012
$30
This is a very unique campground, set amongst red rock formations in a desert wilderness. Water, 50 amps, but no sewer. Road and pad are gravel so dusty, but not all the pads are level. Pull throughs with good big rig access. Very quiet with plenty of space and privacy around the RV, covered picnic table, barbecue and fire ring but no shade trees. The views of the red rocks from our RV are breathtaking. Bathrooms are old and need a good clean. No Wi-Fi but cell is good. Overton is about 18 miles away, there is nothing there, so stock up with groceries before you arrive. There is lots to see and do in this spectacular area. We would stay here again. The dump station was out of order, and extremely difficult to access from the Atlatl site exit in a big rig, so we were unable to dump before we left. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2012
$20
As usual, one of the nicest State Park campgrounds with hookups I've seen. Sites are incredible - large, level, clean, great hookups, and unreal views. We were here in the heat of summer, so there were only 4 other rigs in the campground with us. You will not be disappointed! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2012
$30
Don't miss this gem of a park, on the north shore of Lake Mead. Breathtaking red rock formations surround the campgrounds. For hookups, use the Atlatl camp, not Arch Rock. For a primitive camp in a smaller RV (say 24' or less) the Arch Rock camp is memorable. The $30 rate is for Atlatl, with water and power. Without the hookup, the rate is $20 per night. No TV, no wifi, but natural beauty by the cubic mile. Definitely will visit again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2011
$30
Awesome campground in amazing state park. OK, it's the southwestern desert wilderness, so don't expect lawns, pools, etc. It's a state park. We camped in late December for 4 nights, the Atlatl campground was half to 3/4 full. We had one of the spots in the "first row" with an amazing sunrise and sunset view (at that time of year they're not that far apart). We've been touring the western deserts for years and somehow managed to overlook this gem of a park. Highly recommended in the right season. Don't try this in summer! The tent sites looked wonderful too. They're in the back tucked in between breath-taking sandstone formations. Not a bad tradeoff (no view). The atlas (?) campground was closed, it's really just around the corner. It has fewer views, no hookups, and the main portion is perhaps a tad denser. There are a few spots at the periphery that have incredible privacy, though. The gift shop was open (now run by the state) and we enjoyed sunrise and sunset hikes. There are no real shops or gas within miles (18, I believe), so come prepared. Overall, highly recommended! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$30
This is a hidden gem of a park. Gorgeous views all around. No crowds unlike Las Vegas thats only an hour away has millions visiting every year. Granted not much to do here except hike, bike and relax. We were here on a week night before a holiday weekend so the park had several opens spots. No reservations taken. Has a visitor center but currently no gift shop. Weather was perfect in the mid 80's. Large open level sites with tables and shade covers. Nice walk-in camp sites for tents with tables and BBQs pits. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2010
$30
This park has about a dozen sites with power and water, a few of which are handicapped accessible. It's a beautiful area, but windy and cold, which is to be expected in December. Restrooms were handy with showers also. A bit noisy with folks shouting about how high they had climbed on the nearby rocks. No cellphone service here. The Park welcoming center is easy to miss as the sign wasn't very obvious. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$20
Wow! What a gorgeous park. We camped in a dry camping spot nestled among the red rock. Price was $10 entrance fee plus $10 dry camping. Another $10 would give us hookups. The surroundings are the most beautiful we have seen yet. (We are full-timers.) People were very friendly and we were ready to move in for good. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$30
$10 park entrance fee + $10 camping fee + $10 surcharge for the water and power loop = $30 a night. Sites are large and pretty level, camp sites have a shade structure, picnic table, grill, and fire ring. The whole loop is well-laid out and easy to navigate with your toad. Bathrooms and showers (pay) are clean and practically new, as is everything about this part of the campground. Can't beat the views, either. Very hot and windy when we stayed, so having power for the AC is nice. Bring everything you might need with you since any stores are a long drive away. Some good hiking and biking (on-road only) here, too. Quite a few bees here, too, when we stayed. And they are thirsty. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$10
This park is one of Nevada's "hidden" gems. Superb doesn't do it justice. The Atlatl site (main campground) has 3 distinct areas: RV with water plus 30 and 50 amp electric, RV/tent with water only and tent only with common area water. If you're a Nevada Senior, get a Nevada State Park Senior Pass ($15 cost and good for 12 months) and wave the park fee of $20. That's right: it's only $10 a night! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$30
Great park with a view in every direction. The $30 fee includes the entrance and camping fee for power. Power is a very good idea: when we were here it was hot and very windy, so A/C was nice. As others mentioned, the sites are not all level and some effort may be required to level your unit. Would definitely stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$30
The best days in Nevada were spent here at the Valley of Fire State Park. We stayed in Atlatl campground which can accommodate large RVs. Price increase starting April 2010. For electric and water hookup, price is now $30/night which includes your entrance fee. 20,30,50 amp outlets at hookup sites. Water pressure great. Sites are pleasantly far away from your neighbors. Each site comes with picnic table on a concrete covered patio, outdoor grill, and fire-pit. Bring your own firewood for those late nights under the stars. Toilets and sinks at hookup sites were modern, free, and clean. Showers are $0.25 for 5 minutes. No site reservations taken, so get there early morning around 10 am to find a good spot. Non-handicap sites are gravel. Handicap are concrete. We moved 4 times trying to find a gravel site that we could level ourselves on. If you have adequate blocks or tall levelers you shouldn't have the problems we had leveling. Red sand and dirt around the park. Park rangers and park hosts drive through and walk through the park, so don't even think about a handicap spot or not paying the fee. Cell phone and broadband access about half-mile away from the campground, near Rainbow Vista overlook. You'll have to sit in your car with a laptop. Strong winds this time of year. Keep your awnings closed. Some RV's had satellite that worked well. Dump station is near the entrance of campground. Plenty of places to walk dogs. Have plenty of propane, food, gas before you enter the park since amenities are at least 40 minutes away. This place is amazing and fun to explore. You have to see to believe. Would definitely come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$28
There are two campgrounds in this park. One is Arch Rock Campground: the sites are smaller, it has no hookups except for water and there are restrooms are located there. The other campground is called Ataltl Rock: the spaces are bigger and wider, there are gazebos, tables and fire pits at the sites. One area has electric hookups with 20, 30 and 50 amp service and water with threaded faucets. The rest of the campsites just have water, tables, gazebos and fire pits. The showers are nice, with plenty of hot water and good pressure: they cost 25 cents for five minutes. There is double dump station with fresh water located at the entrance to Ataltl Rock. This park is the oldest in the state: 75 years. It's a really pretty park. There one hwy that runs through the park SR169, it is narrow and winding in spots. There are places to pull off and park so you can take pictures and enjoy the view. The visitor center is small and informative: it has a help desk, books and stuff to buy and a lot of good exhibits. Except for the vending machines in the visitor center, there is no fuel, food or supplies in the park. If there is a need for those, you have to go to I-15 exit 75, 14 miles to the west, or you could to Overton, Nevada, 14 miles to the east. The place was quiet at night. The weather was great, the days were comfortable and the nights were cool. In the summer time, it will be very HOT. We camped during the week. On weekends and holidays, being close to Las Vegas, NV (45 miles), the campsites will fill up quick. No reservation are accepted and the park does not allow saving of sites. It is a pretty park and we enjoyed it a lot, we will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2010
$24
One of the best State Parks we've ever stayed at. This was our third visit. The scenery is mind blowing and the campsites are laid out thoughtfully to take in the views or nestle in among the big red rock formations. There are great hikes and scenic drives. Everything is well kept up and there is a small but excellent Visitors Center. This rate is for a site with electricity and water. Dry camping is $14 per night. Your $6 entry fee can be deducted from the cost of your first night's fee. I highly recommend this park! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2009
$24
It is a beautiful setting, only spoiled by the dust from the gravel interior roads, campfire smoke, and the noise of out of control kids crawling over every square inch of this park. If people would actually drive the speed limit, and watch their kids and dogs, this place would be a 10. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2009
$24
This a Great State Park. My only complaint, now they have power and water, too many people have found it. Truly one of a kind Park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$24
This place is so beautiful! The sites are very spacious, but not very level. I would have given it a 10 but it didn't have full hook ups. There are a lot of places to hike and climb on rocks. The bathrooms and showers were clean. We had Verizon cell service only if you stood right near the main bathroom, otherwise we couldn't get it anywhere else in the park. This is a must to stay at if you are passing through. We will definitely be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$14
Wonderful dry camping place...loved the red rocks and clear ,starry night. Hookups loop was full, but Arch Rock is very nice. Pit toilets were okay. Main reason this doesn't rate a 10 is no cell, no internet, nor antenna TV reception .If you need to make a call, do it at the east entrance station- and maybe the VC. And get to the park by mid-day for a site; no reservations. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$24
Gorgeous location, nicely designed sites, and hookups (which were necessary because we had hot temps AND wind, which necessitated the A/C). $24 for hookups; $14 for dry camping; the $6 park entrance fee can be subtracted. We stopped at noon to check it out (we were on our way to Utah), but we had to stop and camp here--beautiful! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$38
This is a very nice state park. There are a good variety of roomy site types with some pull through ones. Our rate included an extra vehicle. The staff was friendly and helpful. One negative was that the central trash container was overflowing (we were there Friday through Monday), even though the sites were not completely full all of the time we were there. Several sites are designated for handicapped use and are on large level concrete pads with easy access to the rest rooms. Some of the other sites are a bit of challenge when it comes to leveling your unit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2009
$24
We absolutely love this campground. This is our 5th time here. They have added a new loop with extra large (enough space for two rigs - side by side) spaces with electric and water hook ups. Nice and dark at night and very quiet. Hard to get into because of Easter vacation. The only drawback was the trash truck that arrived before dawn to empty the dumpster. It's first come, first serve for spaces and although the ranger said no "saving" spaces, we saw alot of people doing it for others coming in later in the day. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2008
$24
We just spent 3 nights here and I must say that the campground and surrounding area is a must see. There are two separate camping areas with a combined total of 73 units. The basic rate is $14 a night and there is a $10 surcharge for campsites with power and water, which where recently added. All of the campsites appear to be well layed out and many of them back right up to the red rocks. Most of the sites are fairly spacious especially the newer ones and will accommodate any size RV. The campground does not take reservations and is a first come, first serve basis. There are many short or longer hikes within the park and the visitor center is very informational. It is rather remote and there are no services within the park, so be sure and bring everything you need. It was rather cool while we where there and during the summer it can be extremely hot. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2008
$14
While visiting Zion National Park, visitors there recommended this state park. The scenery is spectacular and the visitors' center is very informative and entertaining. We stayed two days at Atlatl Campground, and we enjoyed it the most of anywhere we have stayed. I was even treated to the sight of a bighorn sheep within our campsite! We highly recommend this well designed and maintained State campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2008
$24
Another great state park. The park is 50 miles north west of Las Vegas. Take I-15 North to Exit 75. If you need supplies make sure to stop at the Moapa Band's of Paiutes Travel Stop. There are no supplies available for purchase at the park. Found out the hard way! On to the park. They have both tent camping and RV sites. The RV sites (20 in total with 2 set aside for handicap access) have electric and water hook-ups. There is a dump station just outside the entrance to Atlatl Campground. That is the campground with the RV sites. Sites were very spacious with a ramada and picnic table. Bathrooms were very nice, looked to be almost new. Showers are pay showers so bring some quarters. The park covers 35,000 acres and is absolutely awe inspiring. The red rock seems to glow a dark red at sunset. The visitor center has construction going on but it's still open and has some neat stuff to see. The scorpion suckers are supposedly very popular! We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2008
$24
Two campground areas, the one with some water & electric hookups is called Atlatl Campground. There is a $10 premium for the sites with water & electric; the base rate is $14 which includes a park entrance fee. The sites were reasonably level and enormous, designed to handle two rigs/site if needed w/ double water taps. Each site is graveled, has a shade cover over the picnic table and a fire pit. Several sites backup (or nose-in) to the spectacular red rock formations and all are spaced well away from each other. Individual rest rooms are unisex as are the individual shower rooms. The scenery is simply magnificent and the climate wonderful in mid-Fall. First come / first serve basis and the park fills up on weekends even in the Fall, so arrive early. Only negative on our visit was the large number of dogs running off leash and the absence of a regular ranger patrol to advise the owners to leash up the pets. Great place to visit and we'll certainly repeat again and again! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2008
$24
I love this park! The beauty of the setting just filled me with peace and contentment. The new section has huge sites, easy to use water and electric hookups and clean, well-designed restrooms [the showers were out of order the day we were there due to a line break]. The dump station is also well laid out. The campsites are staggered in such a way as to provide a lovely and private view from each space. We will probably come back and stay longer. I would like to enjoy some of the hiking trails--it was too hot while we were there. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$24
The sites here are very spacious. My nearest neighbor had to be 100' away. I had a great view, was glad for the electrical hookup. No water or sewer hookup was a pain, but wouldn't ever discourage me from staying here. Each campsite has a BBQ, and picnic table with a patio cover over it. I love this park and will be back soon! The lower rating is due to the cost, $24 a night is a rip-off in my book, but better than three times that to stay at a hotel 30 minutes away! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2008
$14
This park is an excellent state park. There are two campgrounds. One campground is called Atatl and has two sections. One section has electric and water, the other section is dry. (There are faucets for water at the site but they are not usable for filling your tank.) There are showers in the Atatl campground. The showers located in the hookup section are pay showers while the showers in the dry camping area are free. The other campground down the road, called Arch Campground, is dry camping and has a few sites for large RVs, although most of the sites are better suited for tent camping. We did not see any showers at the Arch Campground. Before entering either campground, there is water and dump available. We stayed at the non-electric Atatl campground. The sites are surrounded by red rock and quite scenic. The campground is a good base for exploring Valley of Fire. The drawbacks of the park as I see it are that you should expect your RV will get full of fine red sand. If there is a windstorm, as there was when we were here, then this hampers sitting outside and enjoying the scenery. None of the sites are reservable so you might consider calling ahead to check availability. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2008
$24
I gave the 10 more for the surroundings than for the park itself. As mentioned, the campground offers more spots tucked in with the red rock and some that are a little more private, but none of those sites have hookups. In Arch rock, they just opened a new section in December which has power and water for an extra charge of $10 per night. Several hikes in the area to explore. The kids play for hours at a time in the red sand and rocks. (your RV is going to get sandy, especially if you have kids) The additional sites will be a help as in the busy season this place fills quickly. That is the one downfall of the park in my opinion. You can't make reservations, and it is over an hour drive each way from Vegas. I have seen many folks make the trip out there only to find that all sites are full. I don't understand why they don't simply get on board with many other state and government campgrounds and take reservations. I don't see how it could cost them anything. All in all you need to spend some time out there, it truly is like another planet. On our last trip, we were lucky enough to sit and watch a big horned sheep forage around for about 25 minutes. It was only about 200 ft from our RV. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2008
$24
This is one of the best state parks we have ever camped at! There are two campgrounds. Arch Rock, where we stayed, has several spacious sites with water and electric hook-ups that will accommodate the largest RV. Atlatl Rock campground has smaller, but more picturesque sites. A lot of thought has gone into the design of the campgrounds and the layout of their sites. Many are very private. Just about any campsite will give you wonderful views of the dramatic red rock formations and some allow you to nestle right in among them. All of the buildings and picnic structures have been built in such a way as to be as unobtrusive as possible and blend in with the scenery. There is a good Visitor's Center and many scenic drives, walks and hikes to keep you busy. Although this park is only about an hour form Las Vegas it is a world away. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2007
$14
Very quiet in the park when I was there, very few campsites were in use. There is an area with electrical hookup posts that was closed off, it looked very new. My spot did not have any hookups. The sites are large with a sheltered picnic table. The campground is situated right in the middle of the red rock hills. The scenery is just simply awesome. Will definitely come back for a visit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2006
$14
This was the most beautiful place we stayed during a 6-week tour of the United States. The campground was obviously designed by an artist. Even the signs were beautiful! The sites are not extremely far apart, but they are designed in such a way that you can't see from one site into another. There were also handicapped accessible sites, and accessible restrooms as well. Everything was extremely clean and designed to blend in with the pink-orange rock formations. It was such gorgeous landscape. Each site has a water spigot, but not "water hookups" as the spigot is not threaded. Our site was gravel, had a picnic table and water spigot. The site was not really level, but we didn't care. We were exhausted after a long, long driving day, but this place was worth the wait. We played and hikes and exercised our dogs. Once the sun set, it was very dark, right away. The next morning we awoke to amazing views again. We did some hiking and spoke with the friendly ranger. She advised we should watch where we walk because of snakes and scorpions. The sites and entrance fee were paid by putting money in the envelope, so having the correct cash amount is a good idea. I highly recommend stopping here. I imagine the scenery is comparable to Red Rock Canyon, but this place was very quiet and private. Also it's a state park, so it was clean, affordable, well-staffed and well-funded. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com