219099 User submitted reviews online!!
Wilderness Oaks RV Park (formerly Rockport 35 RV Park Resort) was rated 6 out of 10 based on 32 user reviews. Phone: (361) 729-2307
CGID6244

Wilderness Oaks RV Park (formerly Rockport 35 RV Park Resort)

Camp Information
Sites
175
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$28



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   10   9   10   9   7   1   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2014
$28
Under renovations to cable and sewer. Management quick to explain why park in process of upgrade. Streets are narrow, lots of sand burrs in the grass. Pull-through at front of park for overnight and short term. Management continually improving. Older park, but not the worst park we have ever stayed at. It's clean, but dated. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2014
$15
Rate is monthly plus electric for the month. We picked this particular resort because of a combination of it having pretty good reviews on the internet and competitive prices. In general, we were satisfied. Wilderness Oaks RV Resort has a nice community feel. There are plenty of activities: exercise classes, a ladies’ Bible study group, pot luck dinners, special events, music nights, and table games most every night. People are welcoming and friendly. The campground itself is older and because of that the sites are smaller than we’d like. It was a challenge to get our RV situated in our site. The back-in sites are shallow and the pull through sites are narrow. The pull through sites out by the highway are so tight that there's barely for people to open their slide outs. Those sites wouldn’t be bad for overnight travelers but I’d hate to spend a month in one of them. The campground has a heated pool and during the winter there’s an inflatable dome over it. There’s also a hot tub. Probably the biggest negative is the county airport that adjoins the property to the south. It’s not a busy airport but at times, especially when an area Navy base uses it to practice “touch and goes” the noise can get irritating. There’s also a helicopter service that makes a lot of racket when they fly. Most of the noise is daytime only, and then, not all the time. Our feelings about this campground are much more positive than negative. The area is interesting, the facilities are acceptable, the people are friendly, there are lots of activities, and our campsite (although a bit cramped) was okay. We intend to return for a couple of months next winter. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2014
$13
Site: #77. Monthly stay: $349 (plus electric). Currently 140 of the 170 sites are occupied and the owner stated that they currently were not taking on any more occupants due to the stress it would put on the park. This can be appreciated seeing as how most parks would try and fill all the spaces whether or not they could handle them. The owner of the park held a meeting on 2/18/14 which resulted in a good turnout. He seemed to be very genuine and laid out all the plans he had for the park. He also owns another park about an hour away. Other future plans are to add play areas for children and add additional areas where you can walk your dogs. Note: The owner has RV'd most of his life from when he was a child with his parents and still travels in his RV. Our stay at the park was very enjoyable. The seasonal residents where all very outgoing and friendly. Although there were a few families with small children the vast majority are retired married couples. Allot of the people have dogs and when we were there they were all well behaved. For those that like activities there are many nights when they hold card and board games. The rec room also includes 3 pool tables. Located next to the rec room in the building that houses some of the showers is an exercise room. This exercise room has several weight machines, stationary bikes,a glider and a nice treadmill. There is a hot tub enclosed in its own building. The swimming pool is covered and kept warm which we found rare in Texas. The staff that maintain the park seems to be doing a good job. There are plenty of showers and restrooms and they are kept very clean and in good working order. The park is located next to a local airport. There were only a few times at night that we heard planes and found out later by residents that it is sometimes used for training the military. There are 21 drive-thru spots in the front of the park. The remaining spots are all back in with a mixture of smaller and larger sites. All of the sites throughout the park are on cement pads. There is a mix of 30/50 amp sites. One of the improvements the owner mentioned during the meeting was that they will be upgrading the 30amp sites to 50. Wi-Fi is adequate for an RV park. There were a few times that I had to switch to my phones hotspot because it became to slow to use but that wasn't that often. When I did use my phones hotspot (Verizon) for banking and other things the phones signal was nice and strong. As far as the area goes Rockport is large enough to have most of what you need close by and for those things they don't have Corpus Christi is within an hour drive. Goose Island state park is also within a couple miles of the park. The only disappointed came when we wanted to extend our stay another 2 weeks and were told that it would cost $5 less than if we stayed another month. Those 2 weeks would have the electric included. We opted to stay an additional week. After staying there 5 weeks my wife got to be good friends with some of the lady's in the park and wood go down and play games almost every night. Again the regulars are very friendly. Camped in a motor home. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2014
$35
My wife and I have been here before. We used this park as a overnight stay. The sites are paved pull-throughs. This park is a winter Texan type park that has a lot of people from the northern states and Canada. We will stay here again. The park is close to almost everything that you would need and close to the Gulf. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2013
$30
We stayed here for two months in the Winter/Spring of 2013. They have a lot of ammenities at this park. Many winter Texans were here. Lots of nice people. The people in the office were very helpful with mail, etc. Rockport is a beautiful spot and we enjoyed our stay here and look forward to coming back again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2013
$30
Clean park and friendly staff. Many Winter Texans who have been returning for years. Rockport is a fun little town on the Gulf of Mexico. Prices are great for things to do in the area. Rockport really caters to their Winter Texans. We may retire to this community. We would return again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2012
$36
Paid for 2 nights, $72.00, the park is very friendly with winter Texans. They do allow big dogs in the, of which several were outside their RV units and barked when the masters were away visiting. The parks cable strength is weak at times in the evening, and the parks electric was also weak. My volt meter was reading 110 during the day time with the temp at 77 degrees, and refrigerator running on gas. The laundry area is very clean with nice wash machines and dryers. The owners live on premise and are very nice. Rockport is very quite community with a lot things to do. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
January 2012
$36
We made reservations at this park in December. Made a $60 deposit for a one month stay starting January 15th. On arrival we paid a full months rent of $300. The weather was not very good and the forecast was for more rain the coming week so we decided to leave 8 days before our month was up. I went to the office to check out and pay our electric bill. I was told the electric was $59.44. I ask the owners to just take it out of our original deposit. They said they could not do that as I could not get my deposit back until my month was up. I then ask if they were going to mail it to me as I was leaving that day. I was informed I would not get it back because I was leaving 8 days early. I responded "but I paid for a month and am leaving early, you can rent my spot and get double for it". It made no difference, they made me pay the electric and kept my deposit. I have never heard of such an arrangement. As far as I am concerned they cheated me out of $60. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$36
We were quoted a $40 rate but the $36 was a "discount". The park features cement pads and roads but the pull-throughs have extremely tight width. If there had been neighbors to either side we would not have been able to put out slides or awning. Check-in was fine for us and the staff was very helpful and friendly. Aluminum can recycling is available. No one has mentioned this but make certain to have liquid laundry soap if you use the machines as signs are posted all over the laundry room that only liquid is allowed. No provisions to get other soap unless you drive into town to HEB. The park was clean, even during the windy April days we visited. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2011
$15
Our rate is based on a monthly rate prorated per day. This is a very quiet park geared to snowbirds and has numerous activities like water aerobics, various card games, bingo, etc., as well as weekly potlucks. It is a very "homey" place and very low key but is close to all conveniences. The laundry room is first rate. The owners were very hospitable and the sites were very nice, even though the pull throughs were geared for overnights only: no shade, very close together and close to a noisy highway. But the other sites were all nice and welcoming. There are a number of permanent residents who tend to be rather cliquish, but if you aren't afraid to join things, you'll be made welcome. There is a local airport nearby, which sometimes causes noise due to helicopters and small planes, but it isn't too bothersome. Overall this is a great place! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2011
$35+
Originally booked in for a week - stayed a month. Great park - friendly people, owners and campers. Enjoyed Sunday Church services, weekly events, location and people. If we decide to come back to Texas next year we will definitely be at Rockport 35 RV Park Resort. Thanks for a great month. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2011
$36
Tedious 30 minute check-in must have been developed by a team of obsessive-compulsive lawyers. After providing detailed information on pre-printed labels, I had to sign AND print my name 3 times. Check-in person guessed (wrongly) that cable TV provider is Comcast; it is CoBridge Standard. We asked about recycling--aluminum cans only. Environmentally unconscious; she was unaware of any other recycling options. We made one phone call to Chamber of Commerce; there is a rudimentary recycling center at county transfer station a mile away on Airport Road which recycles #1 and #2 plastics, aluminum cans-nothing else. Park is adjacent to busy County Airport; lots of air traffic morning and evenings, quiet at night. Water Pressure 40#. Very friendly neighbors; sites close together. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$11
My wife and I are fulltimers and have enjoyed our stay at this park for the last 4 years, November through April. The hosts do an excellent job of providing various activities plus keeping the park looking good. We especially enjoy the Thursday night Friendship Dinners and my wife especially enjoys many of the other activities. The nearby airport is a negative, at times, as it is used to transport workers to and from the Gulf oil rigs and for landing practice. However, it is only a small, occasional annoyance. Most of us who live here are friendly and ready to help when needed. Winter rates are comparable with all other similar resorts and we will return for our 5th year this November. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2010
$35
We are "Winter Texans" and have spent 9 winters at this park so obviously we are very satisfied. It fits us well and that is what one looks for. Very clean, great people, trees or sun which ever the season calls for. Away from town yet convenient enough to needs. Lots of grass, sites are not crowded together. Many activities available if you choose to participate-your choice. Most of us are retired, many from very responsible jobs and it is nice at this time in our life to do what we want when we want. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2010
$12
Spent a snowbird winter here (2.5 months). The nightly rate is an average that includes electric. All roads and pads are concrete. Facilities are very well maintained. Cable TV is excellent. I use Verizon wireless broadband and the signal was fine. Management is very friendly and helpful. Yes, there is a small plane/helicopter airport, but you get used to the noise quickly. Overall, a much better than average place to stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
January 2009
$36
This park has it good and bad points.The bad first the owners make you pay a $60.00 security deposit,which they won't refund when you leave.They say they will refund your credit card when they audit their books.They then make you pay your electric bill separate and charge $6.00 for the last night you stay.The roads and sites are concrete,but very narrow and hard to get into spaces. The water pressure is terrible. The other campers are very nice, and helped us park. The airport is next door and is very noisy day and night with helicopter noise and Navy planes doing touch and goes.The bathrooms and laundry are very clean.The wifi was terrible,a lot of people were complaining about it.They do have a lot of activities and trips going to places around the area.The breakfast on Sat is great for $3.00.The campers here are very friendly and made the stay worthwhile.We stayed for a month.If we return to the area we won't stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
January 2009
$10
Airplane noise unbearable. Helicopter noise unbearable. Airport next door has Navy trainers flying all day and night. No refunds from management if you want to leave because of this. Would not stay again. Beware! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2008
$15
We stay at Rockport 35 RV for 6 months out of the year and every year we look forward to going back there. We have all the conveniences of home . Rockport is a growing community and not far from Corpus Christi. There is many nice people to visit with. We have paved streets and nice shade trees. There is a nice club house with a kitchen,rec room, and dance hall also used for church services on Sunday morning. We have a laundry room all equipped. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2008
$30
As with all parks, there are goods and bads and these vary also by the type of rig you have. The sites (and roads) are concrete but narrow and short. Several are only 30 amp, so check. Fellow campers know parking is a challenge and pop up to help guide you in ... owners do not. People and the activities made this place a real gem and there is a nice blend of trees, palms and openness. Distance between the backs of units on opposing streets is outstanding. WiFi worked well as did the cable. Low city water pressure and questionable septic system. Record your meter reading upon arrival as electric is read and paid monthly - rate acceptable and while our own AC Volt meter rested mostly in the 113 volt area, it did not drop into the red. Have a rubber sewer connector sleeve to get attached to their sewer pipe. The air port next door does have regular traffic of helicopters that service the oil platforms from offices almost next door. They and the Navy trainers from NAS Corpus Christi that use the field for touch and go practice can make it very noisy at times. My guess is the owner that runs the office is the reason for all the negative comments given by others. My advice is to be very neutral when dealing with her and deal with her ONLY when you have to. Having said that, we love the Rockport/Fulton area and we did have a wonderful time for our winter months here but are looking to find something better for next winter. Maybe we won't find all we want. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
December 2007
$70
The owners do not tell the truth regarding the sites, as they are on concrete with not enough room to even put slides outs.The stories they tell on the phone do not hold true, when we get to the park. They charge extra for parking extra cars and cargo trailers and don't have a place to park them.They charge for mail delivered to the park, and also sign for mail knowing that the people are not in the park. Charges have be filed by DHL. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
November 2007
$65
The people are very rude and don't know how to tell the truth.They will charge your credit card without your knowledge if they have the #. I hope no one has to go through all the mess us and our friends have.They will tell you one thing when you call and reserve and something completely different when you arrive. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
April 2007
$35
Old fashioned park that is badly in need of an update. Small sites! Lots of overhanging tree branches. If you have a trailer or MH over 30 feet, you better go elsewhere. All dead end roads and no place to turn around. Heavy airport and road noise. Helicopters taking off and landing constantly. Pull-thru sites very narrow and by the main highway, next to the dumpsters. There are a number of really nice RV parks in Rockport--This is not one of them. Avoid it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2007
$30
We were reluctant to try this park due to previous ratings. However, it was so attractive from the highway, we went in and registered. The park is very clean and neat and all sites are on concrete pads. There was noise from the airport but mostly light planes and we really did not notice them. The sites are small. I would recommend a view of the site prior to registering to ensure that you can get in. We had empty sites across the road that allowed us to back in easier. The pull thru site were easy to get into but as noted, are on the highway and are very narrow. We were happy with the campground and were not inclined to move. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
January 2007
$30
This campground did not care about customer service at all. The airport was right next door so it was noisy. The owners did not try to make you feel welcome. We asked to be in a sunny spot and were put under a tree so it never dried out at our site. We could have moved but they wouldn't work with us. The roads were narrow and were dead ends on each street. They did have a covered heated pool. We were looking to stay 3 months but will not go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
January 2007
$31
Noisiest park I have ever been in. Next door to an airport where the Navy is daily training new pilots by having them circle the airport and do touch and goes. Planes would fly directly over the park about 200' high about every 3 minutes. Also next door to a helicopter charter service which takes off and lands directly over the park. Office staff rude. Small sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
January 2007
$30
I agree with the previous review on all counts. Thankfully, we arrived on New Year's Eve and the office was not staffed, or they would have had our money. There was a packet for us on the porch. The sites are very small, very narrow, and the trees are placed for maximum interference with slides. Even the streets are dead end; a very poor arrangement. Even though we had advised our trailer and truck length, the site was too small. The truck could not be gotten completely off the pavement. Camper next door was surprised we were there - stated that spot usually remained open because it was so small. Very disappointing. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
December 2006
$30
If you have a small rig then this is the place for you. By small I mean small. Don't try to get a 40 foot motorhome in their spaces as it is like putting a square peg in a round hole. There are a few sites at the front of the park where a large rig will fit but then you are parked so close to your neighbor that there is no walking room between the rigs, if you have a slideout. The owner has not updated this park in years but still insists it is big rig friendly. Very few 50amp hookups. No place to park your tow vehicle. To many rules for a select few. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
December 2006
$28
While checking in the staff was extremely rude. Site that I reserved for a 40 foot 5th wheel and dually truck was way too small, and underwater (it was raining). This park has lots of low hanging trees, narrow roads with no turn arounds. Pull-through sites in the front of the park are right beside a busy road and are very narrow with no place to park. The park did look clean and had lots of campers. There are lots of nice RV parks in Rockport, I will not be back to this one. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2006
$30
Very clean, friendly, people are very helpful. If you have a question all you need to do is ask. There are also church services every Sunday Morning right at the park. The owners are the pastors. They are great with the guests. I am very glad I stayed. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2006
$85
The owners and management were extremely efficient, pleasant,and concerned for our comfort. The park is family friendly and maintained perfectly. We felt right at home and would definitely return again should we be in Texas. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2006
$27
We went here on the first trip in our new travel trailer. The owners are very friendly and didn't laugh at us when we obviously didn't know what we were doing when we were trying to set up our site. They helped us find a repair man when we messed up our trailer hitch, and double checked to make sure the rest of our set up was okay. The chili cook off was great, and everyone was friendly. This place is family friendly, but of course if you are in Rockport in March, you are going to find a mix of families on vacation and winter Texans, so you are surrounded by good people. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2006
$25
We had a wonderful stay with all the comforts of home . Nice people in the park and the owners are very nice also. They had cement lots that made it also very neat to stay there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com