206622 User submitted reviews online!!
Fort Clark Springs was rated 8 out of 10 based on 17 user reviews. Phone: (830) 563-9340
CGID6249

Fort Clark Springs

Camp Information
Sites
85
Date of Stay
December 2012
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   1   7   10   9   7   8   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2012
$25
Sites are close together and there is very little grass anywhere. It's a nice park for overnight. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$10
After a long drive through the community, we finally found this RV park. It's very peaceful and well kept with herds of little deer that come browsing at twilight. The Wi-Fi was perfect. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
January 2011
$16
This is more like a big parking lot with RV's parked very close together. Not only were we not given a picnic table, there wasn't room for one. People parked their rigs on the road because the spaces were so small. Nothing to do here if you aren't a golfer, except to tour the old historic fort...that takes half a day. There was a dead rat by the trash cans that stayed there the entire week we camped there. I also picked up glass from the campground. Must be lots of old DEAF people here as everyone seemed to have their TV's up VERY loud. Our dog was the only one we ever saw on a lease. I would not recommend this campground to anyone. The only reason we stayed a week was because we had booked this online before we actually saw the place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2011
$14
A very nice place to stay and lots of history. Staff that run this place are very friendly and go out of their way to help you. There is not much to do here except watch the deer and turkeys and visit with other campers. If you need medical treatment of any large amount you have to drive about 40 miles. Wal-Mart is about 35 miles away but there is a grocery store in Brackettville which is just out the gate. The Wi-Fi works good except when the park fills up. That is to be expected. Sprint air card works in EVO and is fast. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$13
This park was a great find! It is very well maintained and secure. The park is exceptionally well managed. The Wi-Fi was excellent during our entire stay. We stayed for 9 nights and used our Passport America discount for the first 2 nights (cost was $12.75) and then paid a very reasonable weekly rate. For those traveling on US 90 in Texas through Brackettville, we would highly recommend staying here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$12
Right off the highway, but you have to weave through the complex to get to the park. The site was level, long and wide. Check in was easy and manager is friendly and helpful. Has cable TV, WiFi (we couldn't log in), Verzion phone and aircard worked. We couldn't lock up our Dish. We had deer walking through in the evening. Nice quiet park off the beaten path. Very large interesting Fort in years past. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2010
$26
We arrived yesterday. I have to say that the office manage was very nice and helpful and yes the park is on an Army Depot. However there is nothing here. The town is the size of a Wal-mart Shopping Center. The Old Town used for John Wayne movies is closed and you can't see it. The closest shopping center is about 40 miles away. If you want quiet and to sit and watch the deer and turkey, then this is a place for you cause after that there is nothing. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$21
I would have to agree with some of the previous reviews in that this is one of the most unique RV Parks I have ever stayed at. It is an old Army Fort that has been converted into a gated home community with an RV Park located towards the back of the fort. The deer roam everywhere and anytime. We saw a few turkeys but lots of deer. The pool is the largest I have ever seen, 100ft X 300ft and it is located in the front of the fort. There are 2 golf courses, a 9-hole for free and an 18 hole. When you stay at the RV Park you get use of the fort amenities. If you stay here, be sure to see Alamo City, an old movie set built by John Wayne in 1959 for the filming of The Alamo. There have been over 100 other films made there since then. We will return if we are ever in the area again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$15
A very neat place. I will go back and spend more time. The people are very friendly. WIFI was very good. There are long pull through sites. I Saw deer and wild turkey. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2009
$22
We spent a week at this interesting and unexpectedly friendly park. The RV park is located on a portion of a WWII Army post which was purchased by a private company and turned into a resort and housing area. The park manager was very friendly and stopped by frequently just to check that everything was OK. The sites are fairly wide and level, some asphalt, some grass, and hookups are convenient. The cable TV is limited, but adequate since there is no broadcast TV available. The free Wi-Fi was spotty in the RV area but worked well closer to the office. This is a park with many amenities, albeit not fancy. A small laundry is inexpensive, and there is a game room/library, golf course, spring-fed swimming pool, and museum. This is largely community of snowbirds who have been coming here for years, but they welcome visitors and encourage attendance at the almost daily activities. Deer and wild turkey roam the park, there are walking trails along a wooded creek, and birds are everywhere. Brackettville doesn't have much to offer, but all services are available 30 miles away in Del Rio. This is a great place to stop and rest; we'd stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2009
$11
Passport America rate. RV Park situated on a former US Army base. It has most amenities and the staff were very friendly. Washrooms are sufficient most sites are pull-through. It has a lot of activities for long stay RVers and two golf courses. Deer were frequent visitors to our campsite and the town is situated about one mile away. Lots to do if you love nature and very interesting part of Texas. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2007
$21
This was our second time at this park. It is an excellent price/value park. The park was clean and well maintained. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The history of the Fort is great. We were not able to locate an acceptable restaurant in the area, so drove back to Del Rio. We will stay at this park again if we are in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2007
$22
Golf course, hiking trails and the huge spring fed pool were the attractions for us. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2007
$12
Monthly rate This is a wonderful place. Only the outside row of sites is dirt. They are scheduled to be paved in the summer of 07. The storage area is close to the RV park but has modern rigs that snowbirds leave here in the summer, nice boats and one old jeep. I'm not sure what poster 1 was looking at here, but he must have had his eyes closed. This is a PA park. For $12 you don't get Outdoor Resorts. The wildlife is abundant and the fort is steeped in history. There are two large herds of deer. One is the typical Texas whitetail and the other is a herd that started from an exotic ranch (there are a lot of them here). These deer are called Axis. The wild turkey are abundant and large. We heard about some javelina, but didn't see them. Its a great park for the price. If you want a resort, go pay $50 someplace else. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
February 2007
$24
Impressive brochure, lovely entrance, huge (2700 acres) property of an old large fort with many buildings, many restored some time ago in some parts. The further one drives into the park, the shabbier things begin to look. Many of the buildings have been turned into row houses - which if cared for, would be lovely. Other parts of the park have aging park models here and there. The "RV" park is a big dirt parking lot with spaces close together, no shade - a big disappointment because there is a lot of undeveloped land. Our site overlooked the storage area of obsolete boats, trailers and junk. We had hoped to stay for a week or so, but checked in for only 1 night and were thankful we could use Passport for a total price of $12.75. The whole place looks like it is quite short of funds and is sliding downhill, despite all the very interesting facilities, land, huge natural springs pool, 2 golf courses, 22 miles of roads to bike and walk. Sites quite close together also. Not the worst RV place we have ever seen, but for sure the biggest disappointment. A couple of million into this entire place to re-energize it and it would be sold out year-round. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2006
$12
This RV park is located on the grounds of an historic old cavalry fort which is now run by a private homeowner’s association. There are wonderful old stone houses, a museum, spring fed pool, 9-hole golf course, gym, nature trails, a bird sanctuary, etc. The sites are gravel (some grass) and level. This is not a resort type park, but there are lots of activities and the people are extremely nice. There was a park-wide bar-b-que and pot luck while we were there. This is a PA park so the rates are very reasonable. We will camp there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2006
$17
Better than Average campground in a great sight seeing tour location viewing Alamo Village and Old Fort Clark Springs.Also, only 33 miles from Old Mexico. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com