223427 User submitted reviews online!!
Birmingham South Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 106 user reviews. Phone: (205) 664-8832
CGID63

Birmingham South Campground

Camp Information
Sites
114
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$42



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   8   8   7   6   8   4   6   6   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2014
$42
Listen, it's not a bad place. Just not a great place. It needs some serious repaving and the spaces are tight for a big rig to get into (but I did it!) because one side is flanked by random concrete (broken up) and the other by railroad ties that encompass the hookups. The power was steady, and we can pull some amps, but the Wi-Fi was like most and slooooow. We didn't use the bathrooms. Nice staff, delivered a package for us after hours. We will likely stay again, but I'm gonna gripe about being too expensive for what it is. If they paved the place and removed the barriers to getting into a site it would easily be worth the $42. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$21
This is our 5th time at this former KOA park. It honors the Good Sam discount now. Our 1st time was in June 2011 and it has gotten better on each visit. We have stayed in 7 different sites. On this visit we were in a long term back-in site and the rate reflects their monthly charge (30 days) for a 50 amp site. It was $627, and that includes a state tax of $75. The asphalt site was in fair shape and almost level. The surfaces of the sites we have stayed in have been fair to good. Some are gravel, some are asphalt, some have concrete walks, but it has been a while since the sites have been worked on. A lot of the concrete is broken and a lot of the asphalt sites need resurfacing. There are a few sites that look unusable. Water and electric and sewer has always worked fine. There has been a lot of asphalt patching and the roads are much better. The Wi-Fi has recently improved too. We have always been able to get a good shot with our DirecTV portable dish. Verizon 4G works fairly well too. The staff is extremely nice and helpful. When we pulled in we had a problem with the site next to us and as soon as we brought it to the attention of the office, they took care of it. There are some negatives. Propane sales stopped being available while we were there. They have a large tank and we have purchased propane many times. Management told us there was a leak, it was shut down and that it would be at least 2 weeks before it was repaired. The only dog "run" is a quite small fenced area on the extreme north side. It would be nice if there was another one on the south side. The park cable is very bad. There are signs up acknowledging that and stating that it will be upgraded soon. Long term residents told us that the signs had been up since April. We will stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$45
Nice, clean restrooms. Laundry and all facilities were nice and clean. Pool was very nice. Roads need paving. Some lots not level. Cable not to working in some areas. Internet sketchy. Some long term campers in the back but they were friendly, well kept and nicely decorated. Not a problem there. They should invest some money in the roads and parking. Other than that, I would definitely recommend the campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2014
$39
We were here a week for the SEC Baseball tournament in Hoover. This facility was convenient for this. Best restrooms and showers I have ever seen at a campground. Lots of permanent or semi-permanent residents. However, every site is neat and clean. Many with improvements to beautify their area with well made flower beds, decks and screens. Don't let comments that there are some permanents here be of concern. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2014
$45
It rained a lot while we were there, and some sites were flooded and had to move during the night. The sewer overflowed. Not a pretty campground but convenient. The cable did not work when we were there. Internet was slow, but usable. Not the most friendliest staff. We seemed to be bothering them when we got in, and everyone in the front desk stopped to listen to our conversation with the clerk. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$45
This campground is a pretty good stop for an overnight stay. There is easy access from the highway. It's a former KOA. Some sites have broken pads and leveling was a bit tricky. Owners were friendly and helpful. We will stay again for an overnight. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
March 2014
$44
It's a site that's convenient to Birmingham. Overall a pretty good site, but the detractors included poor asphalt and non-level sites. Drainage is poor; there had been significant rain and quite a few sites were flooded (we were assigned a site high up enough to not be affected). Cable was very poor quality; antenna reception was marginal due to nearby hills. Noisy due to a nearby train and many workers departing in trucks to work early in the morning. Not a bad campsite, but the amenities do not support the price. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2013
$42
We have stayed at Birmingham South several times as an overnight stop for one night. Good location for restaurants, fuel, etc. The restrooms and shower facilities are the cleanest you will ever see in a commercial RV park. The Wi-Fi works very well. There are several full time residents here. The cable television hasn't worked the last three times we stopped here. Several of the sites are not level. The asphalt is breaking up a lot on many sites and the concrete walk in front of each site is also in bad shape on many of the sites. For $42.00 per night for 50AMP is a little more than I want to pay until they work on the cable and sites. Will probably stay a little further down the road for a lot less. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2013
$42
Although the website says cable exists, it is extremely poor quality. Antenna was much better reception with no "snow". The sites are very short - not really enough room for a large 5th wheel and a pickup. My main complaint was ants everywhere! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$39
We stayed here overnight. It was very difficult to level and ended up changing sites. Cable was out and too many trees for satellite. Rate, which is too high for what you get, reflects 50 amp and Good Sam discount. Access from interstate was easy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2013
$41
OK for an overnight. There address does not take in most GPS, so call for directions as there is not a sign on the interstate. They say they have told the owner to put directions on the web site, but he must be too busy. I am always amazed how a few hundred dollars could fill at least the large potholes and this park did not spend the money. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$40
This park is an old KOA and has several full time residents; however, it was clean and maintained, had a nice pool, and plenty of shade. We were only going to stay one night without unhooking, but stayed two nights because of bad weather. We had to pay an extra fee for 50 amp. service, but other than that it was a decent stay. We would probably stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$38
Very easy access to park. Clearly marked from road to show entrance. Good check in and clean and tidy office/shop/laundry/bathrooms area. Laundry was clean and tidy - Open 24 hours. The site we stayed at up near the office area was almost level and required very little leveling. The rubbish bag was picked up from outside the trailer every day. The interior road is mostly gravel and needs some attention. Some areas need some tidying up, grass cut, some concrete slab patio area repairs. It is convenient to shopping - Home Depot, grocery stores and gas stations in close proximity. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$42
This park was formerly a KOA. It is conveniently located to the south side of Birmingham on I-65. The landscaping in the park is appealing. Restrooms are clean and are somewhat updated. The park's biggest detraction, as noted by other reviewers, is the need for repaving of interior roads and providing level sites. Also, utility posts need updating. It rained heavily the night we camped there and we had considerable problem with electrical outages. The emergency staff responded to our call but could not perform a repair of this nature. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2013
$35
Good Sam rate. Noisy with trains (all night), convenient to I-65, facilities worked well, sites not overly level and need paving, regrading. Park is kind of run down, lots of permanent trailers in the back part, but the pull-throughs are for transients. Wi-Fi is slow, Virgin Mobile signal was good. Interior roads are in poor shape. Convenient location while traveling north for one night. We would stop here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2013
$35
This is a good stop-over campground with easy access to and from the interstate. As a result it is a very busy campground, but staff is well organized and helpful, so the check-in process is very smooth. They have a large camp store, and a fenced-in dog-run area that was most welcome. We would stay here again on our way South We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2013
$40
Had all the amenities, but seemed a little run-down, maybe due to the time of the year and nothing was green. As was said, cable was limited, WiFi was slow. Staff was friendly, and they had a small fenced dog park. Well stocked store with RV supplies. Our site was level, but needed paving. Hard to get sewer hose to run downhill due to landscape timbers around the hookup. We stayed here on way from Florida: this price was more than down there. We will stay here again due to good location. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2013
$45
Park has some wet areas and needs drainage, has a number of seasonal users who are respectful and normally keep their lots tidy and clean. Cable is poor but a sign indicates they are exploring improvements. Train can be annoying but certainly tolerable. Great location just off the main hiway and close to all amenities Desk clerks are friendly and helpful, the General Mtce man is attentive, friendly and willing to offer assistance and information where required. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2012
$37
Very welcoming campground. Only one night stay while passing through. Clean and ample space. Comfortable! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
November 2012
$44
I wish I had read the reviews before staying here. They charged $3 extra for 50 amp, which is fine, however $1 extra for sewer is out of line. Pull-through site was good and level. The train noise is awful. I agree with previous reviews, The cable is pathetic, we did not try the Wi-Fi. We will not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
November 2012
$40
I thankfully was only passing through and stayed here just one night. Bad cable TV signal with few channels. Wi-Fi was way slower than most campgrounds I’ve stayed at. Have Good Sam discount and I agree with others that $40 for this place is way too high. They have eight unisex showers which can be nice. However, they appear to keep half of them locked to (I assume) save work by not having to clean all eight. If you are going to do that, then you need to at least spot clean the four you leave open more often. Because of that fact, in my opinion the showers were disgusting. Bathrooms were okay overall, but one of the two hand dryers in the men’s bathroom is not working and the other one barely produces any power to actually dry your hands. There were quite a few wood ashes left at my site from a previous camper. The showers did have really good hot water and high pressure, the location is a plus, the store had a good selection, and the people I dealt with were friendly. Need to fix the cable TV and Wi-Fi and tighten up a few things and they’d have a solid campground. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2012
$40
We only stayed one night, thank goodness. This is an old KOA and hasn't been a KOA for 9 years. Sites are gravel. This should have told us something. KOA uses a park until it is worn out. The only good things about this park is the water pressure, voltage, and proximity to I-65. Site was not level, tree branches brushing the side of the trailer but I cut them off. Cable is barely watchable. Wi-Fi is as slow or slower than dial up. We had a pull through site and it is good we didn't want to unhook since it would not have been long enough if we had. Another thing, $40 with Good Sam discount is a ridiculous price for what is here. We will not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
October 2012
$44
Lot's of permanent residents, some in FEMA trailers. Those sites are not well kept. Sites are long but narrow and not in good shape. Full hook up rate of $44.00 way too much for this park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$36
Nice park for a day or two stay. Seems to have quite a few full timers there. Lots gravel/dirt yet level. Was quiet except for the trains that ran off and on all night long blowing its whistle. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2012
$39
Office lady was very nice and helpful. Grass needed cutting. It had rained nite before we arrived, but grass still long. Back of park and right side were long term campers and it is very messy. I would stay there again. Store is well stocked and park is very near stores. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$24
There seems to be some long termers, and the majority of the rest were overnighters on the way to Florida. Close to highway and pull through sites for those that did not want to unhook the tow. Pool was nice and the park was clean. If you want satellite, then pick sites with no trees. Would stay again for an overnight stop. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2012
$43
Nice reception area and store. Several pull throughs. Nice pool. Doggie area is dirty. Weeds in grass were a foot high the whole 5 days we were there. Easy to reach from I-65. One row of seasonals getting a little seedy. Could be a great park but they need to do a better job cleaning and landscaping. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2012
$40
Park seemed to be unkempt. Staff was friendly. Showers and restroom were clean 2 of the 3 days we were here. Good park layout. Dog park needed cleaned and some work. Would return if in the area again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2012
$45
Overpriced for what they have. Off season rate the same as in the summer when you could, at least, enjoy the pool. Wi-fi non-existant at our site; only at the office. Cable TV was limited and very fuzzy. Interior roads have ruts and big holes. Sites very unlevel. Their store is the best feature. They have a good variety in case you forgot or something breaks. We stay here only because there is no other place on our route. Will probably try to find something else, somewhere in the future. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2012
$45
A very nice camping facility. All the conveniences of home are here - playground for the kids, and pet friendly! This place is convenient to most everything Birmingham has to offer. I have stayed here many times with my grandchildren. They enjoy the game room and the pool. There is a store offering almost anything you can possibly need. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2012
$44
In appearance this is a somewhat rundown park in need of a lot of TLC but utilities are fine. WiFi was weak. Most sites are reasonably level, but most here use a leveling system or leveling blocks. Good for a night stop or as a destination if you have business in the area. We come about twice a year due to family & friends in the area. For big rigs (we are one), we've learned to ask for a "satellite TV" site which keeps you away from trees. Some work has been done to the roads, but they are still a bumpy ride. It looks like they are re-graveling the sites as weather and occupancy allow. The staff is fine. We camped here in a 5th wheel. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2012
$49
Price reflect extra fees charged for 3 people. Site was level. Bathrooms were clean. Showers were individual private units. There was a fenced off leash dog area that had a waste container, but no bags. The dog area was clean. Must have been responsible pet owners visiting Fido area, because there was no dog waste. My dogs and I appreciated that. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
October 2011
$35
We stayed here because Good Sam rated them 9+. How wrong was this. I don't understand how Good Sam could have rated this more than a 2. Massive potholes, unlevel lots, what pavement was there was all broken up. Not compatible for a big rig as I had to pull up & back up several times to get out. Tree limbs hanging low & excessive noises, a train every hour with large acorns falling all during the night making it impossible to rest. The cable channels were very fuzzy, couldn't pick a clear channel to watch. I will finish with a positive note, the water pressure was great. We will not return! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$39
Interior roads have many pot holes. Sites had trees branches that needed to be trimmed and rubbed on the RV all night. Worker stated Wi-Fi wasn't available in the campground as a storm took it out a while back and it hadn't been repaired. This was a KOA approximately 9 years ago. It has a feeling of disrepair. Minimal cable TV. Sites were not level. Very expensive for the poor quality and low level of services. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
September 2011
$40
Old KOA now privately operated. Very run down and in generally poor condition. Roads are asphalt but full of potholes. Sites are uneven, and some sites make leveling difficult. Turns are tight and the sites need repaving and leveling. We chose a site that was fairly level, and thankfully our auto-leveling was able to do the job after much adjusting. Our mud flap was dragging and our corners were all at very different heights. We watched a couple of other large coaches towing toads have to make a couple of 360 degree round trips to find a spot at their site where they could level. Lots of workers and others living in this park. Restrooms and showers were only adequate. Train noise at night. Close to Home Depot. Biggest problem is ants, ants, and more ants. it's been weeks since we stayed there and we're still trying to get rid of them. We stayed 3 nights in a 45' Quad Slide coach & towing. That was 2 nights too many. I tried all the usual tricks to discourage the ants. No luck. When I told the front office their response was: "Yeah, we have a big ant problem, you can buy some Raid on the store shelf for $6." That should tell you all you need to know. This is not a comfortable big rig park, and we will never use it again. My opinion; if you have no other choice it's a one night stand. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$42
The only reason this park did not get a 10 was due to their roads and tree branches that needs to be trimmed. They was in the process of trimming some branches where they put the big rigs so next time in I am sure the trees will be no problem. Now just get the pot holes filled and that will give them a 10. Staff was very nice and helpful, the first site they assigned would not work for us (45 footer) and they immediately changed us to the site that we knew would work: no trees and very level. Would stop by this park again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$34
This RV Park has a lot going for it. Very clean facilities, well maintained, and a great value for the dollar. Go, enjoy and know that this place is all that people say it is! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$42
We really like this park. We stayed multiple days and plan to return. It is a former KOA that could use some sprucing up, but it's clean and quiet (there are 2 active train tracks within a quarter mile, with crossings that require train horns; we didn't mind it a bit because we are used to train sounds, but some might) with a friendly and helpful staff. Our only complaint is the Wi-Fi. It is not usable unless you sit in or at least very near, the office/store. Management is aware of the issue, but said they did not expect an improvement anytime soon. Also, the cable TV signal is poor. They were working on it while we were here, and it did improve somewhat. Not the park's fault but our Verizon 3G did not work very well here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2011
$42
The park is old and somewhat rundown. The site (51) was too short for my unit and dingy. The front of the pad sloped considerable. A tree prevented me for getting satellite service. From the site, about 150 ft from the office I was unable to get internet service. For this rate, $47.00 with tax, there are places which provide more value for the money. They even charged a premium for 50 amp service. It won't be hard to bypass this park the next time we are in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2011
$38
Stayed for a month after the tornadoes came through. I was in one of their "least desirable" sites (their words) and was quite comfortable. (site 32) Roads do have some big pot holes and the pull thoughs in the center are on a slope which makes getting in fun. There is a train track nearby that may disturb some, but I actually liked the sound. Staff was super friendly as were my other campers. Not far from tons of shopping, state parks and the big city. Hope to go back under better circumstances! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$42
We liked this CG and would stay again. Clean, well managed and well maintained but be careful of the large pothole where the access road meets the roads to the sites. Our site #28 had plenty of room for our 40" MH + towed. The satellite worked at this site as well. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2011
$38
We stayed at this campground as a one night stay or stop over. It is an old KOA campground that is now a Good Sam park. It is well maintained and has not been up graded over the last decade. The campground location is close to the interstate. The site we had was to have been one where you could stay hooked up. We had to disconnect due to a 6 inch drop in the site (front to back). Other sites did not have this problem. The internet seems to be limited to a fixed number of users. Once you get logged on it works OK. This campground is not a destination. It is good for a stop over or short stay. We would return if passing through the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2011
$32
Stayed for a soccer tournament in Birmingham. I found this park on Good Sams web site. Good stay, personel friendly, and clean bathrooms. Sites clean except for permanent sites which were kind of junky but overall we would stay again for a weekend. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2011
$38
Stayed overnight on the way home. Site 23 is difficult to get in as there are branches that hang low and the turn into the site is difficult. If you decide to use the sewer, have at least 20 feet of hose. If staying at this campground stay in the third row as there are no trees that will touch your RV. Staff is mediocre and points to where your site is rather then taking you to the site or giving better instructions. Many pot holes in road going to camp sites. Be careful as you will rock & roll. Would not stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2011
$43
This is a nice RV Park, but it is pricey for what you get! We had full hookups with 50 amp. and cable and even with the Good Sam discount it was $43/night. Restrooms, showers, and laundry facilities are all clean. There are pull through sites, back-in sites and all seem to have black top or gravel or grass. Big rigs will do fine in this park. The only negatives are: they need to do some road repair to fill in the big pot holes, and they need to do some extensive tree trimming to keep the limbs from rubbing on the roofs of the RV's or the sides as you are pulling in or out of the sites. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
January 2011
$45
The check in people were polite but not overly friendly; and they were very quick to add extra charges for water, for sewer, for 50 amp, for tax etc. My discounted price of $28 soon rose to nearly $45 for an overnight stay with all these extra charges. The campground itself is nice, but the management runs a clip-joint for snowbirds. I won't stop here again. Get me once, shame on you; but get me twice, shame on me. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
January 2011
$30
Very old park needing upgrades on the sites and the roads. It is not a pretty park. Laundry worked well. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2010
$38
Stayed overnight. Was cold. Road maintenance is needed. Tree trimming is needed in area where we were assigned. Staff was friendly and helpful. Store looked clean and had more items available than I would have expected for a non-tourist area. We would stay here again but would probably try another location in the area first. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
December 2010
$42
This is an older KOA park so infrastructure shows signs of age. The roads are mostly gravel some treed areas and some open; so satellite access and shade are both available. The grounds are mostly well-kept with the exception of some full timers who have “junked up their sites”. The restrooms and laundry rooms are exceptionally clean. It is very close and convenient to I-65. THE Wi-Fi SERVICE IS TERRIBLE; ERRATIC AND WEAK. They say they are going to fix the Wi-Fi; we’ll see. We have stayed here many times over the last 3 years because it is close to my son’s workplace and home. An alternative is the Hoover Met. Nightly rate includes full hookups, 50 amp and taxes. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2010
$39
This is a fairly nice campground with easy access to the interstate. Our site required some leveling and I couldn't get their WiFi to work. Also some of the extended stay sites were looking a little trashy. However my biggest issue was paying $39.00 a night at the Good Sam rate and I wouldn't stay here again for that reason only. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2010
$40
I don't know what happened to the reviewer who entered a complaint about noise from the trains, but we did not experience that problem. We heard a couple of trains but nothing to the extent that he described. I want to give this campground a better chance at being selected as a stop-over. It was easy to get in and out of; has pull-through sites; is quiet and convenient not only to I-65 but also to shops and restaurants in the Pelham area. A 10% discount to KOA, Good Sam. Nice gentleman in the office, very helpful. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$30
We arrived after the office had closed and it was very easy to still get registered. We were however given the smallest tent site and would have rather one of the larger sites and we were the only tent all weekend. The camping kitchen was a nice touch. The bathrooms were spotless!! The pool was nice and we were informed that they would soon be heating it. The campground was very quiet except for the train that goes through several times during the night. It didn't bother me but it did my husband. We would and will stay here again. The lady in the office was very sweet too. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$38
We were in site 49, which I would not recommend. It had a tree right in the middle of the site which made it difficult to have the awning out and the picnic table was in the wrong place. I would say that out of all the sites they had I liked only a hand full of them. The campground itself was very clean and well maintained. It is an older campground and does need some updating. The pool was really nice with a nice playground for the kids. The restrooms were clean just outdated. This is a great place for an overnight trip. The train did not bother us at all during the night. The pricing of the campground is a little strange, they charge extra for a few things such as guest for more than ten minutes being there. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$34
I really enjoyed staying here! Great for kids to play and swim. They had a very nice pavilion that was close to the pool and the playground. I also enjoyed using the very nice bath house due to a heating problem with our RV one night. I actually got to take a hot shower. We stayed on our way to Tennessee and on our way back home. This will definitely be a good stop for us on the road. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$25
Wonderful RV Park with clean facilities. Price was super. Good safe place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2010
$42
WARNING: If you are a light sleeper/not used to very loud train horns all night, don't choose this park! I almost gave this park a "1" simply because that's how many hours of sleep I got the first night! One! But fortunately, with good ear plugs and total exhaustion, I slept better the second night and am feeling a bit more generous. The park is OK and has nice features (a great kid playground, a small fenced-in pet area, is close to a lot of stuff). However, it is VERY pricey for what you are getting. Compare it to staying in most state parks with nearly the same hook-up features for about half the price! The office hours are strange: often closed, evenings, and sometimes mid-day. Many of the pull-through sites are kind of short, so it's hard to fit your toad. And one of the things that may serve as an alert to me in the future: they won't even consider refunding your money should you decide on a shorter stay unless you make that call within the first hour of being here! I certainly had no idea about the loud trains within the first hour of our arrival! Now, all that said, apparently a lot of people aren't bothered by such noises, as I didn't catch any warnings about that in any reviews: until I looked deeper, into older reviews. One other thing: their strange pricing policy. I guess our rate for 50amp was $41, with Good Sam, they took $4 off, but then the tax rate was huge, which essentially brought the nightly total to $42. Too much. I wouldn't want to put them out of business, but I sure wouldn't want to stay here again. Only reason we ended up here was because Oak Mtn SP was already full for the weekend. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2010
$42
Garmin GPS did not recognize the address, but it had a KOA in Poi: bingo. Easy access to I-65, we just needed to overnight. Was an easy check in, has a great camp store: it's like a mini CW!! There were several negatives. The price is too high (although if we were using pool etc., it would be ok). They charge $5 for 50 amp, and the site was not level! The cable TV was very fuzzy, but our satellite dish worked. And the sewer connection was too far back: we would have needed several hoses to connect. All in all, fair at best. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2010
$34
A very nice CG; excellent value. Superbly stocked store, very friendly staff, pool heated to 85 degrees in March! The only criticism was our unlevel gravel site, which couldn't be corrected with our ramps. Doors have to be held open and the refer heated up by 6 degrees; hopefully no damage will be done. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2010
$34
We stopped here on the way to Florida. There is very easy access from I-65. The facilities were very clean. The camp store was well equipped. There is a playground and a pool. We especially liked the little pet area. Some of the sites are a little close together. I would definitely stop over here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2009
$37
This is our 4th time to stay here on our way home or on our way to the mountains or to visit relatives in Birmingham. We like this campground. Very convenient! Friendly Staff. We will always stay here when in the area. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$40
This park is easily accessible from I-65 and is big-rig friendly with numerous pull-through sites. The facilities are very clean. The paved and gravel sites and interior roads are in need of repair. The staff was friendly and at check-in offered us a cheaper rate, but the manager, without explanation, withdrew the offer made by the check-in clerk which caused some frustration. The manager then made rude comments. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2009
$36
Old park roads and some of the sites are in pretty poor condition. This place is pricey for 30amp service and water. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$43
Nice park, well laid out, easy access. We arrived late and left early, so had little interaction with the staff, but the one contact was friendly and helpful. The shower arrangement was not well received by the ladies in our family camping group. A door from the bathrooms leads to a common hallway with individual shower rooms all along the hall. This is obviously an efficient system, but the ladies were not too comfortable with the arrangement. A little high priced, but a good place for an overnighter. We would come back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$38
We stayed here for 2 nights whilst visiting Birmingham. Very convenient location near to Interstate, and close to Home Depot; grocery stores; Starbucks; shopping mall, etc. Close to train track with some train horn noise at night. Friendly staff, nice shop, & facilities. Some access roads rough / gravel. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2009
$50
Ok for a stopover. Pretty full on a Saturday night. Older park with poorly maintained roads, sites. Pool was ok. Playground was nice. Bathrooms were clean and had private shower rooms. I definitely did not get my 50 bucks worth out of this park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2009
$41
We spent one night at this campground. The campground provided what we needed for that night. We wanted a pull-through, since none were available we took an alternative. We don't plan on returning. I feel the park is overpriced. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2009
$25
We camped here in the winter. The campground was not full. The sites were very close together. We were behind the store. They had a pool, but it was closed for the winter. Some roads were paved. It was very near the interstate and would be a great place to stay overnight at. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2009
$37
Nice Good Sam Park. Friendly staff, clean park and easy access off highway. Restrooms clean, organized well and heated. We only spent one night here but would consider staying again even for a few days. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2009
$35
This is a friendly park that is well maintained. The sites are very close together, but there are small trees at most sites with nice landscaping. It has easy pull through sites, good cable and strong WiFi. This campground also has a great camp store for general rv supplies. As mentioned in some of the other reviews, it’s not a campground for sitting outside, but it is a clean, safe place for an overnight stay. We’ve stayed here several times and will visit again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
January 2009
$36
First and foremost, the sites are grossly overpriced! It was impossible to level my RV in the first site they assigned me. The next site (a pull through) was not long enough. My toad was half on next site and front of my RV was in the roadway. The sites are also too close to one another. In my opinion, these sites should be no more than $18 - $20!! I will not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2008
$36
This is a clean park with well maintained sites. The office staff was friendly and helpful. The cable and WiFi worked well. The only negative was that the sites are very close together. If you want a place to sit outside, this would not be very comfortable since you are so close to your neighbor. If you want a nice place to stop for the night, it's great. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2008
$38
This place is OK because it's cold, and we need to stay inside. If we had to go sit out, we would be sitting within 3 feet of neighbors connections. When I step out I step over the concrete walk. My motorhome is 38 feet with a toad, and if you pull forward enough to get the toad out of the road, you need a sewer hose extension. There are many permanent residents. We arrived at dusk and maybe the morning sun will cast a better view. I don't think the distance between neighbors will increase, however. Maybe at $20 it would be different. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2008
$32
This is our third stay at this campground. We like it here and stay whenever in the area. The only reason I do not give it 10/10 is some of the sites are a little difficult to level, but not bad. Bathrooms and showers spotless and Staff could not be better. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2008
$46
Very nice place for an overnight spot or just to relax for a few days. Management was extremely nice and accommodating. Grounds were well kept, showers and rest rooms were spotless. Great place for pets also. We will definitely return if in the area again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$34
We were only here for one night, but it seemed like a nice campground. The staff was very nice, and the store was very well stocked with RV gear (the best I've seen actually). We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2008
$38
Staff was very friendly. Sites were small and not paved; but fairly level. Lack of directional signage to park. Wide variety of store stock. Lots of trees. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$30
We stopped at this campground while traveling to the panhandle area. Very good campground for overnight stop. Very close to I-65, and easy to find. All pull throughs, clean restrooms, very nice staff. Excellent camp store. Small sites which is typical for overnight travel stop. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2008
$35
Neat, clean easy to get to, grounds were immaculate. This campground is very nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$36
We stopped her twice in may 2008. Both times the staff were friendly and helpful. We had to ask directions to several locations. This is apparently an old koa campground, but now independent. The roads were paved, but tight for a big rig. The sites were gravel and could use some work as both times they were unlevel and we had to shim up the wheels, however they were not dirty or muddy. We would stop here again. It was quiet and had easy access to the freeway,but not no road noise. There was a train track but it was far enough away so as not to be a problem. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2008
$32
Sites were fairly level but were very close together. Staff was friendly and helpful. This is a good overnight campground even though we stayed here for 3 nights. If you happen to stay here while it is raining AVOID site #55. This is where we stayed and all the rain that falls on the upper end of the park seems to funnel it's way to the creek via site #55 which remained wet with standing water the entire time we were there. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2008
$35
Some pull throughs are concrete ( and level) others are asphalt and NOT level. Lots of shade trees, paved roads, very pleasent staff. No firepits at sites. Office closes at 6PM so get there early. Would camp here again. Trains run frequently at night and keep their horns blaring quite a while. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2008
$20
A bit above average campground. A little further from Birmingham than I thought advertised. Very nice staff. Probably would look for somewhere else to stay next time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2007
$36
Wonderful staff, we felt very welcome at this campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2007
$34
We like this campground. Has Cable TV, WIFI, and close to I-65. There are a lot of shade trees and the only reason that I do not give it 10/10 is because our site was not level, but everything else was great. Friendly staff and clean restrooms and showers even though we used our own. We camped here in a truck/camper, and will return when in the area. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2007
$36
Nice and clean park for overnight stays. A bit crowded. The WiFi was out the first day and weak on the second. We were here for 3 nights. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$30
This campground offered just about everything we needed for our one-night motorhome stay. Everything functioned properly, staff was cordial, restrooms were extremely clean and the atmosphere was peaceful. Access from the Interstate was convenient. Most impressive: a magnificently appointed store, complete with several less-than-common RV components. WiFi service was excellent. Probably wouldn't want to spend an extended time here, but, for our purposes, it filled the bill well. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2007
$35
We camp here several times per year. We only live about 30 minutes away and enjoy just getting away. We stay at this campground and still go to work daily. Sites have always been clean and maintained. We normally camp at site #4. It is close to the interstate for those of you that want to find someplace to camp as you are on your way to the beach or just someplace to get away for a while. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2007
$30
This campground is old and appears to have been a KOA. It has a number of long time residents and they have the sites that are along the sides in the trees and shade. All sites are gravel, not level but close enough. Pool is nice, laundry is nice, restrooms are nice. Trash pickup along each site every morning. Employees were nice. We stayed here over the Memorial Day Weekend. The shore power is modified to handle 50 amp units but were configured so I could not use my surge suppressor for the 30 amp connection. Water faucets are close to the ground so I had to rework how I use my regulator and water filter. There are two faucets for each site, never saw another CG that was made this way. Sewer was good, no problems. This is not a pretty campground but is was doable. We looked around at other campgrounds in the area, Hoover Stadium and Oak Mountain SP and were glad we stayed here. Picnic tables were very old and warped. This could be a nice campground if they made a number of minor improvements. Have a nice pavilion by the main office. Kids in the area liked the pool. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2007
$33
Very nice park just stayed for an overnight on our way through. People were very helpful. Bathrooms and showers were very clean. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2007
$30
We selected this campground based on Internet research, a little scary. What a pleasure to discover that it is a really nice place! The management has been super. The ENTIRE place is clean and orderly! A very nice store is maintained. Each site has a concrete patio with a picnic table. Almost every site has shade trees. We are close to lots and still a little secluded. We will definitely be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2007
$37
We used this Park as a home base to sight see it the area. We were very pleased with it and the staff was very helpful. Some posters have complained about them charging for AC, at least they give you a choice, most parks just have it added in their price and everybody pays if you use it or not. With Good Sams discount it was $33, not bad for everything including WiFi. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
February 2007
$15
I really like the campground a lot: it was extremely clean and quiet; it has all the amenities that I needed; and it is close to the freeway. There is one main problem with this site - there is a train station near by. Normally, listening to train going by is NOT a big problem. In this case, trains like to horn about 5-7 seconds strait when they are about to take off. This happens once or twice a night. I originally signed up with the site as a long term guest(30 days - maybe 2/3 months longer) because I was between jobs and starting in a new city. After the first night of no sleep due to the trains, I discussd the train noise problem with the site manager and wanted to cancel my long term stay (I was very willing to pay the highest fee for the one night stay). Needless to say, the manager flatly refused and indicated that they only allow customer change of mind upto the 1st hour. How the heck am I going to know there are a train near by? She also indicated that it is an inconvenience for her to do so(accumulate other charges from the credit company). Because I am between jobs, I don't have the liberty of dropping everything and moving on. More importantly, $520 is a lot of money for me to overcome. Hence, I bought $3 ear plugs to deal with my issues with the campsite. As soon I have made enough money, I am leaving this train central. Until then there will be a lot of sleepless nights for me. As for this campsite, it is obvious the site manager doesn't care about customer service, it is a matter of greed and convenience to them. Hence, if you don't like noisy sites and don't like being disturbed in the middle of night, don't come here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2007
$33
This is an older park, but is well maintained and in excellent condition. We stayed only one night on our way to somewhere else, but really enjoyed it and we will definitely stay here again. The employees were very friendly and helpful. The WiFi is great! Nice areas for walking your pet. There is also a nice playground, pool, and laundry. We liked this place a lot. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2006
$37
Park was clean and sites were better than average. The major complaint with this campground is their a la carte pricing; e.g. it cost an extra $3 to use your air conditioning. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2006
$39
The price was not worth the stay. Nothing there to warrant the cost of one night stay. $2 extra for A/C, wrong. No quiet time apparently. One group was making loud and making noise until after 1:30am. They set off their car alarm and allowed it to blare for minutes. Sites are so so, crowded. I would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2006
$36
Reasonably spaced sites with some open pull throughs and some woodsy back-ins. We stayed an extra night because of the forecast of a tornado watch in the direction we wanted to head. The heavy rains came in a deluge and this rv park drained really well. The next morning there was hardly a puddle. The only minor complaint I have is that they charge $2 extra if you run your air conditioner. To me that's petty. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2005
$30
Easy on/off interstate 65 very nice clean park with pool and recreation area for kids. We will definitely stay here again. All sites appeared to have asphalt pads and tables. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
April 2005
$31
Reserved a specific site and upon arrival was told the occupant of the site had extended. I reserved this particular site because it would accommodate a big rig and there were no obstacles to be concerned about. I was assigned another site that had many low hanging tree branches. Unfortunately the coach came in contact with many of these branches scratching the painted surface. This was a costly stay and could have been avoided had the reservation been honored. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2004
$31
They charged alot - bathroom showers were shared (male and female) with out notice! I was glad to have put my cloths on in the shower area as I open the shower door a man open his door in the next shower stall! Very strange. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2004
$27
We used this campground merely as a base during our weekend visit to the area. We had several activities planned and this campground was well suited to our needs. It is not far from local business, but it is clean and relatively quiet: at least for being so close to town. Yes, the sites are small. We had two cars and asked about a long pull through. We got a pull through site in which we didn't even have to unhook. There were 6 other campers in the same loop and none of them had to unhook either. As far as a destination, there isn't much at this campground worth seeing or doing. Besides, there are other parks in the area that are much nicer destination parks. So, when taken as a convenient place to stay, it is very nice. It does have a nice playground and a small pool. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2003
$30
Sites little tight. Level sites. Dog area not very modern and inconvenient. 14%tax charged. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
2002
$30
Rude management! I felt sorry for the employees. Campground has had improvements, but still looks ragged. Bordered by I-65, an active RR, a huge construction site. Tried to upgrade from a weekly to a monthly rate 2 hours after arriving and was told that "I'm not the owner, but I wouldn't do it and she surely wouldn't do it either"? Finally called the manager, who said we'd have to move to another site if we wanted to stay a month and spent 10 minutes telling the poor worker what to do about the paperwork. Wouldn't budge on moving issue, even after the worker explained that our rig was too large for the remaining monthly sites. The daily sites are always 3/4 empty. We elected to leave after our week and never return. Very expensive, but the only campground near the Interstate, other than Oak Mt. State Park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2002
$33
Small, pleasant compact campground. Has Gazebo style structures w/cooking & cleaning areas. Don't know if they cost extra. Good place altho expensive, for overnight stop. I would have rated it higher if the price were $6 or so lower. A nicer KOA. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$32
As a rule we do not use KOA sites if we can find other sites close by due to old age of KOA parks. This one is not the case. The staff has turned this one around. If the couple small hole in roads had been fixed this site would be a 10 rating. The staff people said that work would start soon to repair roads and add more 50 amp. sites. The tent sites were the best we have ever looked at. The sites were very clean. Same people have run this park for years. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2001
$24
Very nice well kept, clean park. Obviously knows what the RVer needs. The grounds are landscaped and decorated very nicely. Has camp ground store, clean laundry, several pay phones in a quiet area. The roads are all good and easily navigated in a big rig. The pull throughs are very adequate. There is a security patrol at night. Happy to recommend this campground to any one. Extensive play areas for children. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
2001
$27
Stayed in August, 2nd time in 2001. Grounds neglected, grass uncut, sites in disarray. Charged extra for A/C. Minimal TV cable channels. The highest rate we paid on the trip from Gulf Coast to Ashville, NC. Will avoid it in the future. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com