206669 User submitted reviews online!!
Anza Borrego Desert State Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 30 user reviews. Phone: (760) 767-5311
CGID6303

Anza Borrego Desert State Park

Camp Information
Sites
140
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   4   8   8   9   9   8   10   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$25
We stayed in the dry camp area. Site was OK sized with a nice shaded picnic bench, fire pit, and lots of backyard. Good privacy. Best part was the quietness at night. No noise whatsoever. Sites are fine gravel and level. We used our Verizon MiFi, which worked well. However, before paying $25 a night for dry camping, we will try a boondocking site in the area when we come back to Borrego Springs. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2014
$35
I've been to Borrego many times from 2007-2010. The rates have increased at the park since my last visit, but the park is still as nice as it was years ago. There are full hook up sites and primitive sites throughout the park. It is a quiet family friendly park to be sure. Internet and cellular connections are not the greatest, but given the location visitors should spend more time outside exploring the area. Oh, and the showers now require tokens which is a change from our last visit here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
April 2013
$35
This is actually a beautiful park with a lovely campground - full of cacti and the spaces are level - and the restroom facilities are outstanding. There are also several great hikes you might want to do here. BUT -- if you are an RV owner and have a dog, beware - the Park Police at Anza Borrego will cite you for leaving your dog unattended in your vehicle, regardless of outside temperature or how short a time you are gone. We are rating it a 4 because of the behavior of the State Park Police. Since this park makes it so difficult to enjoy the outdoors if you are a dog owner, we suggest you drive through, enjoy the sites from your vehicle, and keep on going. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$39
We were here April 26, and it was quite hot still. Unfortunately our Rooftop AC decided to fail too. Next year we will try to come in March when they said it is possible to get the wildflowers. The campground is great. Most sites are pull-throughs. Relatively flat too which makes for good bicycle riding for the kids. It said shaded sites are available, but I did not see any unless you count the palm trees. This is typical California High desert. You get a few bushes and cactus and maybe a few palm trees. The visitor center was nice, well done and air conditioned. We didn't get a chance to do any of the hikes. Next time.... We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2013
$33
We were here for 3 days and were lucky enough to get a site without a reservation. We could only check in for 2 days at a time and you have to renew every two days if you can. When we got there the first night we couldn't get a site and went back outside of town to Pegleg Road where we were able to boondock for one night, then we were able to get in the campground. The campground is very nice, palm trees everywhere, and you're right in the middle of the desert. Sunrise/sunsets are spectacular and the park is really quiet. Borrego Springs is a "dark sky" town so you can really see the stars at night. I think if I go back, which I will, I'd try to get one of the dry sites in the upper canyon, numbered 90 and above, since in a motorhome we can go dry for several days and use their water and dump stations. No matter where, it's a super campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2013
$33
Great park. Level paved sites with awesome views both day and night. Sites are somewhat close, but have seen much worse. Lots of hiking and sightseeing in area. Would go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2013
$33
Great place and we look forward to coming back. Wonderful RV park and great state park. Earlier statements said there was W-iFi there; this is not true. But you can go 2.5 miles into town to Calico's for great coffee and goodies and get on there. Or just use it without buying anything. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2012
$18
Have stayed in this park a number of times and always enjoy it. State staff and volunteer hosts are friendly and efficient. I do wish that the staff would clean everyone elses junk out of the fire pits out between stays. Other than that, everything is very clean. AT&T Wi-Fi is available with their pay for use service, signal is strongest at entry gate. Free Wi-Fi in library parking lot in town. Dark skies and lots of stars to see each night. Many hiking trails are available. Palm Canyon trailhead is right in the campground and is a wonderful 3 mile roundtrip hike to the "Fan Palm Oasis." There is a wonderful visitor's center 7/10 of a mile away which can be accessed by car or a nice paved hiking/biking trail. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2011
$33
We spend three weeks here almost every year for Christmas and New Years. Also occasionally book a space during wild flower season. This is our favorite California State Park. Lots of space between sites and the night sky is spectacular. The little town of Borrego Springs has a market and several good restaurants. The old town of Julian is about 30 minutes away and is fun to visit. If you like driving desert roads, there plenty of trails to travel. Dog friendly providing you keep your dog on a lease and off the hiking trails and open desert. There are hiking trails and a good visitor center. We will return here next Christmas. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2011
$35
Lovely park, nice long pull throughs, spacing between sites was nicely private and well planned. As others have mentioned, the hookups can be in awkward location depending on how you pull in. The biggest complaint I have is that the sewer covers were put in backwards in most spots. Not all, which makes me think the contractor wasn't paying attention or didn't know any better. But if you use a 90 degree elbow connector from your hose to the drain pipe gasket, be prepared to run your hose around to make the bend. Other than that, it was quiet (except for the coyotes!), clean, peaceful, and exactly what we were looking for in Anza-Borrego. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$35
Great location, nice clean park w/ great desert view. Near the small town, hikes, etc. Seems to attract nice campers: interesting, friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2011
$35
We have been camping here several times (most recently this past spring to see the wild flowers) and am thinking of planning another trip. It is "camping" at its best. We don't care that there's no cable TV because we'd rather sit out by the camp fire and look at the night sky. The stars are killer! The sites are decent sized and you don't feel like your neighbors are on top of you. There are some sites where you only have neighbors at the ends of your rig. Those spots mean you may have to run your hook-ups underneath your rig. We love it here because the restrooms and showers are clean; it is quiet; there is great hiking walking distance from camp sites; and it's an easy trip to Borrego Springs if you need groceries, a dinner out OR tons of other great hikes. I am glad this State Park is not on the list of those to be shuttered although some of my other favorites are. I hope every one is being proactive with our state govt. encouraging them to keep the parks open. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2011
$35
As others have stated, GREAT PARK! Friendly staff, great location, and very nice facilities (we used the full hookup sites but used the very clean dump station even though our site had sewer--it was in an awkward spot). Our only complaint is that our site (and, most other sites from the look of all the leveling devices) was terribly unlevel, front to back. Other than that, nice site spacing and amenities. We don't tow, so we love it when we can set up and then walk to many things. Here, we could take the .6 mile paved trail to the gorgeous Visitor's Center. As we returned at sunset, we saw desert hares, cottontails, and a coyote right along the trail. You can also walk to a variety of other trails, too--the hike up Palm Canyon to the oasis is just phenomenal. This is one CA state park that is very well taken care of and worth the $35/night fee. (And, if you need it, you can get Wi-Fi at the Visitor's Center. Our Verizon card worked at our site.) We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2011
$35
We stayed for the long MLK weekend, late Friday night through Monday morning checkout. The park is very clean and well maintained. Friendly staff and very helpful. One caution, the main road coming in is also the main road to the trail head to the desert Oasis and people coming in do not pay attention to the 15 mph speed limit so if you have kids keep them off of the main road. I mentioned it to the rangers and they posted signs attempting to enforce the speed limit. Didn't notice any traffic after they posted so I don't know if it worked but they made an attempt. Some things I pointed out to my wife is there were no flies that we noticed and ants were only deeper into the campground, we didn't see any at our sight. Some spaces like ours need no leveling side to side others may need a little more work. Each space in the full hookup section is asphalt paved and very roomy. Big rig access is no problem as we saw a 40+ foot motorcoach in there with apparently no problems. I look forward to our next visit! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2011
$35
Borrego Palm Canyon has lots of pull through, full hook-up sites that are plenty long for big rigs and the roads are also suitable for big rigs. Our electrical management system shut us down momentarily several times for low voltage. Ideal location: 1/2 mile trail to the Visitor's Center and other trails, leave from campground. Plenty of space between sites, including a fire pit and picnic table. Sites are paved. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2010
$35
This is an awesome place to camp in the desert. Quiet and serene. There is a wonderful visitors center that you can drive or hike to 1/2 mile from the campground. Many places to hike or go 4 wheeling. Was blessed to see 9 Peninsular bighorn sheep, 5 rams and 4 ewes all at the same time while hiking the Palm Canyon trail. There are only 400 left in the US and only 275 in the park. They are on the endangered list, see them while you still can. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$35
Gorgeous views!!! Very quite. Great night sky's, we love it here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2010
$35
Great place! Wi-Fi available through AT&T for $7.95 per day. Visitor Center within walking distance across the desert, .6 mile, on a concrete walk. Beautiful area though a bit cold at night. Rest room very basic with cinder block walls and cement floors. There were paper towels though rather than the usual electric hand dryers. Showers required 25 cents for two minutes. If you depend on GPS for direction enter address as I ended up in another part of the park, some 15-20 miles out of my way. Spaces are pull-throughs and about 30 feet apart with the distance in between sites covered with desert vegetation. Woman at gate was pleasant and helpful. A place certainly worth visiting. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2010
$35
Excellent park with spacious pull-through sites. Rest rooms and showers were the cleanest I've seen in a government-run campground. We will definitely be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2010
$35
There are good paved roads and large paved sites with picnic tables and fire rings. It is quiet. There is an excellent Visitor Center. Be sure to see the slide shows. It is the best place to view night skies. Maintenance has been reduced due to California State Budget cuts. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2009
$29
Our site was a pull-along site on the outside loop of the full hook-hook area. Being parked along side of the road, I was not able to use our awning as it would have projected into the roadway. Other than the awning issue, the pull-along site was roomy and seemed to have a more private feeling than the pull-through sites since there were no rigs to either side of us. The park personnel were very friendly and helpful. If you bring your pets, be advised that dogs are not allowed on any park trail or wilderness area within the park limits. Dogs can only be walked along roadways or within your campsite. Full hook-up sites 30-48 have Palm trees and are the only sites with any shade in the full hook-up area. A very quiet park and I will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2009
$29
The rate reflects senior discount. As mentioned earlier, sites in the full hook up area can handle big rigs, as they are very long pull through. The few outside spots, as we had, were around the edge of the campground were like scallops and had the hookups curbside, so make sure you're close enough for sewer hookup. Most sites are level, however several seemed to be sloped. It is quiet, very quiet. We went to see wildflowers, and were not disappointed. It was very windy, one of the four days we were there. 40's at night, 60's and 70's during the day. We came in from the west, rte 79 to S22. Very steep, long and windy got me thinking of a brake setup for the toad. The showers and toilets are concrete, walls and floors, and showers cost $. We did not use the facilities. Mama does not like desert, she found it too dirty, but I would go again. Verizon cell and air card access was very good. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2009
$29
We camped here in January 2009 and just loved the area and camp ground. Wow, what a quiet setting in the park. Lots of hikes in the area and there is also dry camping available in this park. Call the park for reservations as the 35 foot maximum length advertised for a rig is wrong, as most of the sites are over 50' long. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2008
$29
Spent the Thanksgiving weekend at this amazing camp ground and while it is a State Park, I was impressed by how well kept the park was and how clean the facilities were. The sites are HUGE with full hookups in the one section. There were many sites available to choose from and my advice to those booking through reserveamarica, call them and find out what sites are available as the website is not always accurate.This is a peaceful place to camp and the stars at night are incredible. The rangers were extremely friendly and helpful and there are great places to hike and also cycle on your bicycle. I'm making it my regular long weekend getaway destination and hope to keep this place a secret. The only issue was that the WiFi obviously was not working as I did not get any signal from my camp site.Then again you do not need to be on the computer when surrounded by such amazing beauty. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2008
$29
Camping here now and using the Wi-Fi from my trailer before bed. The park is clean and eerily quiet for a city dweller. The full hook up spaces are nice but the connections could be better placed. That is my only gripe about the site. Great time of year to visit with weather in the 80's and flowers blooming. Park was sold out so reserve early for this time of year. If the connections were in the middle of the site I'd give it a 9. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2008
$25
Another one of those campgrounds I almost hate to review because it is our favorite spot. The first year we stayed two nights; the second year a week; and this year we will be there for a month. If you get one of the the sites around the edge of the full hook-ups you will face the desert and feel you are all alone in the middle of desert. And once you hike up Palm Canyon and get so close to the Bighorn Sheep that you can almost touch them you will be hooked. This is a special, magical place. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2007
$23
This was a first time trip with a 5 year old boy and all had a super time. It was off season so not crowded at all. We got to pick out our spot. We hiked 2 of the trails over our 3 days and they were fine, even for a 5 year old. The interpretive museum was good too, and you could hike to that from the Palm Canyon campground. We even saw some bighorn sheep, which is a rarity we've heard. Weather was awesome and flowers in bloom. We couldn't have asked for a better time! We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2007
$25
Great place to camp. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2007
$28
I rated 8, husband rated 6. Great ranger staff, clean, new facilities. We had off-season pick of rather few places for larger RVs, with that fabulous desert-evening quiet. Watched Super Bowl with ease on satellite TV. Rest of RV crowd was at newer resorts in town. Pass by, if in-season, as there are too few level sites for larger RVs, or if you have young kids to entertain, or if you are not into hiking, biking, and just contemplating life. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2005
$25
Nice campground, the bathrooms and showers were clean. The park rangers were nice and helpful. We were there during the off season and pretty much had the place to ourselves. Looking forward to going back. We camped here in a Tent.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com