206531 User submitted reviews online!!
Bear Paw RV Park II (Adults only) was rated 8 out of 10 based on 13 user reviews. Phone: (907) 835-2530
CGID6327

Bear Paw RV Park II (Adults only)

Camp Information
Sites
30
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$45



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   6   9   7   8   9   4   9   10   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$45
This campground arguably has the best location in Valdez, right on the water near the entrance the small-boat harbor. About half the campsites have a water view, the others are back. Compared with other campgrounds in Valdez, there is at least some separation between sites. You have to check in at the “main” Bear Paw campground, but this satellite campground has its own restrooms and laundry. (On a side note, the guide book that we had did not match up with the actual street names. Although not difficult to find, it is a bit confusing when you first get into town.) We were lucky to get a water-view site. You can pull in forward, which we did, but the hookups will be on the wrong side. This first day, the power went out a couple of times, but otherwise the utilities were good. There is cable TV, but make for sure you get the “box” when you check in. It is a bit of a hassle to hookup, but we managed and got lots of stations. The WiFi is good, strong and fast. Our Verizon phone and data worked well. We did not have any problems with the noise from the harbor, but fishermen camp there and start up their diesel trucks very early in the morning. This campground is very close to the municipal pier with big supply barges coming in. Our main problem was with a supply barrage and the associated noise and petroleum smell. On the positive side, this campground is within walking distance of most of the tours and attractions in Valdez. We would have stayed longer, but there was a large caravan coming in, so we only stayed four nights. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2012
$45
Nice park right in town. Only down side was the busy harbor. Got a little noisy at times. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$40
This is a great RV park. Very clean, well maintained, easy to get in and out of. It's a 10 but I gave it a 9 because it's close to a very active harbor which is busy until dark (11PM in July). It's not excessively loud, mind you, but very active. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$40
This is one of the few parks that we have stayed in while touring Alaska that we would have liked to extend our stay. But we got forced out by 2 incoming caravans. The most popular sites back up to the bay and the ships come and go all day long. You are allowed to head in a motor home if you desire, but your hookups will be on the opposite side. We didn't have any issues with electric during our stay. The town is close by to walk to and there are lots of places to walk pets. We did however see several local owned dogs off leash. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$35
Small park with tight quarters, a few pull through sites which are generally used for the larger rigs. Mostly back in sites which are fine for smaller rigs. LOVED the location, the friendly folks, the clean well maintained park and it was very quiet! Nice laundry facilities with huge dryers. Major Cable TV was a bonus. Internet worked OK, but did get "kicked off" a couple times. Within walking distance of much every where to shops and services and charters. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$40
I do not give 9 or 10 unless out of this world. No pool so 9 is as close to perfection as this one can get. We had site 11 with 30 amp but no voltage problems. This site has a wonderful view of the harbor inlet and the mountains. Fun to watch the fishing fleet come and go as well as watch them unload at the Peter Pan Seafood processing plant about a block away in the harbor. This site is more suited to a 5th wheel with rear living space for the hookups. Bring a loooong hose for the sewer. I used a 50 foot garden hose for the grey water. The black water will and can wait. Sites 11 and 12 are set up for drive in forward 12 being the one with the better view. By the way, this park has some of the nicest tent spots I have seen for a commercial park. Many of them had wood platforms and all had wooded private spaces. Laundry and baths were very nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2012
$40
We had a lovely site right on the Small Boat Harbor's fairway. Our first night was fine. But, as the park filled up we had problems with the electric service. Our voltmeter indicated low voltage (< 105v) with no load. When we tried to run anything (microwave, etc.) our EMS would trip off due to low voltage even though our load was significantly less than 30 amperes. Nearby rigs also experienced electric problems. When we called the owner's attention to the problem, he shrugged his shoulders and said there was nothing he could do. We had signed up for a week but left after three nights. To their credit, the owners did refund the four day's rent. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$40
Wow, the only reason this did not get a (10) is because (like most RV sites) the spaces are not very private. BUT the view is awesome. I could have camped here the whole Alaska vacation. Showers clean in separate rooms with toilets, and available while you are doing your laundry, all in one large hall. The park is small, and quiet and not in the middle of town like the original. Check in process easy, and this location has great access to the Alaska Marine Highway. Beautiful site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$40
Worth a little extra $. We stayed here 7 nights. Beautiful views of the harbor and bay area. Bear Paws other park is a block closer to harbor, nice, but sites are very close. This park has more privacy,nice to sit outside and watch the boats come in. You'll be glad you stayed here. Best site is #11. We stayed in 12 and it is great also. We will stay here again if we return to Valdez. A beautiful, very walkable town. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$44
The views from here are fantastic. The park is very clean with a full laundry. It's a small park a little walking distance from all the hustle and bustle of the harbor. We have a front bedroom Airstream that has full wrap around windows in the rear dinette area, so the view is a 9-10. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Lots to do here and the drive in has incredible views during the spring when there is still lots of snow on the mountains. We have 2 days here and tempted to go for 3. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$35
I have stayed here several times and each time I love it, you can't beat the view and all the amenities. The bathrooms are clean and the staff are great. This is the only place I stay when I come to Valdez. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$40
Like anywhere, you pay bigtime for the view. Every site in the adult section has a bigtime view. Sites are a bit close and the WiFi can be slow. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$35
Beautiful views of harbor. Most sites face the water. A short walk to the harbor area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com