223260 User submitted reviews online!!
Hells Gate State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 37 user reviews. Phone: (208) 799-5015
CGID6329

Hells Gate State Park

Camp Information
Sites
93
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$38



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   10   10   8   8   7   9   8   8   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2014
$38
An attractive Idaho State Park with many mature trees and shaded campsites. Loops Alder and Birch (A&B) have W&E sites, while the Cottonwood (“C”) loop has “no service” (i.e. tent) sites. There is a nice, paved, walking/bicycling path running along the Salmon River. All camp facilities were clean and well tended. (Even the gravel area where we parked had been raked smooth prior to our arrival.) Camps sites are fairly level. There are some “big rig” sites, but most sites are probably more easily entered with a rig under 30 feet. Restrooms and showers were clean — and otherwise typical of the facilities seen in Washington or Oregon parks. No tokens or quarters were required, though for continued water, a button needed pushing every 45 to 60 seconds. No WiFi. Verizon signal was 3 bars. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2014
$35
We camped here on the first day of the Memorial Day weekend. My husband, who can be old and cranky about kids, was worried about the number of children that would be in the park for the holiday weekend. There were certainly children there, but they were extraordinarily well behaved. They can ride their bikes forever in a circular paths of the park. There are three loops, the first two dedicated to RVs and the third set up for tenting. We actually camped in the third loop because the other two were full, but we had a very nice pull through site and there were lots of other RVs in this loop as well as tents, just no hook ups. Our site had a nice view of the river. The sites are spaced perfectly from one another. Lots of trees and a gorgeous walking/biking path along the edge of the river. There is also a great swim beach and for us, a place to throw the toy in the water for our lab. The park is spotless and well groomed. The setting is spectacular. It was really hot the day we went, but the canopy of trees made is cool and welcoming. My only complaint is the front desk is quite up tight. We arrived at 1 PM and official check in time is 2 PM. Our site was empty but they would not let us go down there without signing a waiver about sprinklers damaging our trailer. I wondered, what about the trailers of the people that are already in there? And I mean they were strict about it! We waited in the parking lot with lots of other people whose sites were also empty. It just seemed a little ridiculous to me. Maybe they've had trouble in the past but it seemed overly cautious and regulatory to me. But would I stay here again? OMG, in a heartbeat! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$22
This is a beautiful park! We were only there for one night, and decided not to stay longer because we had to be on our way and also because it was so hot. The sites are huge, spread out, very grassy, with a lot of big shade trees, and the Lewis and Clark center was fascinating. The rangers were pleasant and friendly and obviously enjoyed their jobs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$15
RV park was very nice and well kept up. Plenty to do here and great roads to ride. Lots of good restaurants and sights. Fishing was good and river trips were fun. During the busy season it is best to make reservations early. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$40
Very nice park. Excellent sites, level, easy access to restrooms. Some great trails start w/in the park. There is also a marina, frisbee golf course and small restaurant/store. BEAUTIFUL check-in facility which is also an interpretive center. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$28
Campground is right on the river. Roads and pads are paved. Our rig leveled easy enough with 4 Lego style blocks. Park allows fires and our neighbors kindly shared some of their smoke with us. There is an excellent Nature Center located at the entrance. Walking down to it, we saw an amazing assortment of wildlife: a beaver, muskrat, raccoon, ducks, geese, and osprey. There is a paved bike path that parallels the river right into town. The showers work on push buttons rather than knobs. Since we camped on a cold wet day, we skipped the showers since we couldn't tell if the showers were hot or not. We would camp here again, and did. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$23
Open year round. $23.43 for electric/water sites, $26.56 for full hook-ups, but there are not many full service sites there. There is a dump station located right outside the entrance to the park. Nice showers, good electric and water. Spacious park with lots of walking trails. We lost our power at 10:30 pm, and it did not return until 6:30 am the next morning. We asked for a discount, but were told it was an 'act of God' due to winds the previous day, so no discount. I imagine the canyon can get pretty windy a lot of the time. Beautiful area. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$27
The rate includes Reserve America fees of about three dollars a night. We like this Park and decided to make reservations so we could have full hookups with sewer for only two dollars more per day. There is no more rangers available so any issues are handled thru the campground host or an occasional Sheriff that cruises through the park, by the way there were no problems. The park fills up on the weekends but thins out on late Sunday. Bathrooms were dated but seem to be clean. This is a nice time of year to come, no bugs or critters flying or crawling around, we will come back but only after Labor Day. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$24
Nice area, but too few sites have sewer hookup. Ample shade, and nice large sites that give you plenty of space. Area is infested with flying bugs and spiders! We were killing both in our rig constantly! Many campers, including the camp host in A-Loop, let their pets run loose! Rules not enforced at all regarding pets being on a leash, and picking up after your pooch! Very, very nice day use area with swim beach and boat launch! Due to the high temperatures and bug problem, wouldn't won't to stay at this park again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$25
The sites have nice lawns and are big. Our 40' motorhome fit just fine. There are many trees for shade. There are non-hookup sites which would be great for tenters. The other two loops have good 50A electric and water and some have sewer. There is a very large dump station area. The bathrooms are clean, large and have nice showers. The hosts and office personnel were very helpful. We chose a river site for an added cost but were very disappointed because there were only peek-through areas of river because of the thick growth of bushes, trees and tall grass. There was no river access from the campsites. There is a huge, very nice beach area within walking distance and a boat launch. This is a boaters paradise and many campers brought them. Definitely do not try to check in before 2:00 because you're not allowed due to watering of the grass at the vacant sites. We got here at 11:00am and had to wait until 2:00! In the meantime, across the river in Clarkson, WA is a super WalMart and Costco which gladly took some of our money! We didn't have reservations for two nights prior to Labor Day weekend but all sites are booked for the weekend. I would expect all weekends are the same for this popular park. Our Verizon air card and phone worked great! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$26
We were in town for a baseball tournament and were fortunate enough to get a spot in this park. We had a great back in spot with lots of shade, a large grassy area and a picnic table. The spots are all very roomy but I think the back-ins have more room than the pull through sites. There is a really nice walking trail along the river and a sandy beach for swimming. We were there on a weekend and there were lots of families and children but it was very quiet at night. The lady at the booth where we entered the park and the people at the visitors center where we registered were very friendly and helpful. We received a few television channels with our antenna. We had no internet service as there was no Verizon signal. The rate we paid reflected the on-line reservation fee. We can hardly wait to come back again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2012
$22
Very rude and unprofessional staff. We have never been watched over like this ever! Several times during our stay the Nez Perce Sheriffs were in the park dealing with issues the Park Ranger can't seem to handle, and they call this a family friendly park. I would recommend finding a different campground if you want to enjoy camping. We will never stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2012
$25
What a mess. I talked to the manager. What a jerk. The campground was dirty and the Rangers were walking around like they were lost. The only saving grace was the office staff. I will never stay there again ever. Restrooms dirty. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$22
Beautiful Idaho State Park with large lots and huge trees on the Snake River with a swimming beach. Next time would stay in a back in site for more shade and privacy. Only 4 miles from Lewiston and Clarkston, with full shopping opportunities including Costco and Wal-Mart Superstore. Would stay here again and again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$25
This park is really a very nice place to stay, but the showers need refurbishing. The sites are generous and level. There are paths to walk, trails to hike, a great play ground for the kids to play in and lots of others things to do in the area. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2012
$25
Sites not very clean. Spider webs and bugs in all restrooms. Not very well maintained. The host was rude. Staff, over all, were rude and not very caring. Park Ranger seem more like just another rude ranger. This park does not merit a visit unless you want to be watched. Over all not very helpful. Manager does not seem to care if you stay or leave. Too much money for what you get, I would never stay in this park again! Move on to another park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$22
Showers need updating and cleaned, but as far as the campground, very nice. We usually get a back-in for more privacy, but this time of year you have your pick especially after the weekends. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$26
We spent Labor Day weekend here and the place was booked solid. Fortunately, the sites are large and laid out in such a way as to make you not feel cramped. A few of the sites have sewer hookup and there is also a large dump station at the entrance to the park. Sites also have 50 amp service, which came in very handy. We weren't able to get rooftop satellite access; lots of trees here but our portable worked. Our Verizon aircard was sketchy as we were on an extended network. We booked on line and the nightly rate reflects the additional fees for doing so. We would recommend this campground and are looking forward to a future stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$23
When we checked in, no one seemed to know what sites were available. The site we were given was a back in, no problem but I did not want to unhook and that was not option. We called and requested a pull through site which was no issue and we moved to a fairly level site where we did not have to unhook the trailer. The sites are asphalt, grass all around with shade. We had electric and water, a dump station is available. The restrooms were clean as were the showers, just well used as most state parks are. We would stay at the park again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$25
Pros: Large grassy sites, on river, nice bike/walking trail, friendly host. Cons: Can be very hot in August, otherwise none. This is an outstanding state park campground. Lots of outdoor activities, easy to book reservations. Great place to spend several days. I will definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$23
Big shady sites. Very nice. $23.50 total for four of us. Two in a travel trailer and two in a tent. Buggy after dark but a good place to stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$26
Only got an 8 because no Wi-Fi. You can go to the Jack O'Conner Center and use their Wi-Fi. Sites are really large and well shaded. There are only 10 full hookups so reserve well in advance if you require. We stayed in Aspen Loop with full hookups and the hosts are great and bundles of firewood are reasonable. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2011
$11
The campground was full, so the park ranger allowed us to park in an equestrian lot for a discounted rate. There were no hookups available, but were able to use the restrooms and showers (they were about a half mile from the lot). We were tired and grateful to have a quiet place to park. This is a nice state park with a good Lewis and Clark Interpretive Center and a nice paved trail that runs from the park into Lewiston. We would return to this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$26
Way to go Idaho! This state park is very nice, we would stay here again. Paved, level, spacious sites - very quiet along the Clearwater River. Some highway noise, but not intrusive. Great paved walking trails. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$22
This was a neat park with lots of shade, our spot did not have sewer hook up but I guess some do. We stayed here two nights visiting friends in Lewiston and I would come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$27
Very nice campground but had lots of gnats and ants. I thought the price was a little high considering we had no sewer or WiFi and cell phone service was in and out. The river is a pretty steep hike and there didn't seem to be any designated paths to follow. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2010
$26
We stayed here for two nights while visiting friends in the area. The sites are pretty well spaced and the entire campground is fairly shaded (which is important in the Lewiston heat). The sites were level and the grounds were well maintained and clean. We did not use the shower facilities although they were clean. The Park itself centers on the Snake River water activities. Otherwise there is not much to offer in the way of outdoor activities. There is a wonderful visitors center. It is close to town and worked for us because we were visiting friends. We would stay here again if visiting the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$23
This is a very pretty campground with huge sites. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$20
A very nice State Park! We had a pull through space that easily accommodated our 38 ft. MH and our toad. Our space had water and electric. Park was clean and well cared for. We walked the paved trails that go along the river at least twice a day. Be sure to check out the Lewis and Clark display at the park's office where you check in. We will be back to this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$20
This is an OK campground. Our site was 30 amp, but the fuse would blow if the line of RVs on the river side had too many things going at once. We had to get the host to reset it several times (he was always very nice about it). My daughter and I went to go hike on the trails down along the river, but some people on horseback told us there were rattlesnakes, so we turned back. Many of the campers there had boats and it looks to be great if you have one. There are no ranger programs, but there is a Lewis and Clark visitor center. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$22
Very spacious sites and lots of shade and trees. Wonderful bike path runs for many miles. Swimming beach if you like cold water. We took a jet boat excursion right from the park, very nice. Restrooms could have been cleaner. We had an electric/water only pull through with 50 amp service. All worked well though the pull through would be tight for anything much over 35 feet. The back ins are huge, however. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2008
$17
This is a beautiful park situated along the Snake river, I would guess that in season it would be very busy. During our visit in early October, even on the weekend it wasn't busy. The spaces are set far apart, so you have the privacy that really only comes with the State park system. I highly recommend this park! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$21
Pretty park and well-maintained. We could not figure out how to use the showers--they were of some strange design we'd never encountered. Otherwise, we enjoyed our stay and will return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2008
$30
We enjoyed our stay at Hell's Gate State Park. We were staying in a site with no power, but it was still large enough for our rig. The river and trail access was great. The kids loved the large grass area to play in and we didn't feel crowded at all with other sites around us. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2007
$22
A great park near the Snake River. Lots of trees and grass and a great hiking trail along the river. Many pull throughs with water and electric. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2006
$22
Nice state park, many sights scattered over at least 50 acres. There is a Lewis and Clark history center at the entrance of the park, cabins for rent, lots of trees, good paved roads and easy pull through sites off the Snake river. River sites are back-ins. Nice beach and picnic area and large play areas. Trails leading up the roadless east side of the Snake river make good hiking and biking. Large boat ramp and marina for boating and fishing access. The park is about 1 mile south of Lewiston with all the stores and services you could want. Very quiet, but summer months are much busier than the fall when we were there. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2006
$25
Located right on the Snake River. It gets Hot in the summer here. Lots of things for the kids to do, but the playground is off aways from the camp sites. Nice swim beach, nice big group shelter available for rent. Small camp cabins also available. Good fishing right from the bank. Maintenence of the grounds was lacking a bit, but not to bad. Grass needed mowing, and by the end of a busy weekend the garbage containers were overflowing. Rangers and workers drove through every hour or so, but seemed to avoid eye contact and didn't stop to answer questions. We would stay again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com