206561 User submitted reviews online!!
Ponderosa Pines Campgrounds was rated 7 out of 10 based on 13 user reviews. Phone: (570) 253-2080
CGID6342

Ponderosa Pines Campgrounds

Camp Information
Sites
76
Date of Stay
July 2011
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   1   10   5   9   8   10   7   9   3   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$40
Very out of the way campground, which suited us just fine. Our site was between 2 seasonal sites and was very quiet. When we first arrived we needed to clear out all the leaves in the site and there was garbage in the fire ring. The lake was nice and was able to do some fishing. They have available internet which came in handy for us. We had a hillside site and was ideal for us. If you want sun, try a lakeside site. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2009
$38
First, let me say this is a beautiful campground, especially if you camp on the lake sites. This used to be a nice campground where we camped at on holidays. But the new owners should not be in the campground business. The sites have not be leveled in a couple of years. There is no escort to your site to make sure you can get in (some of them are hard to get in to). There used to be garbage pickup and wood delivery, but not anymore. You have to do that on your own. There are creepy looking staff members working there now. Not to mention if you have a difference of opinion with the owner, she throws you out. I've seen good people thrown out for stupid things...both weekenders and seasonals alike. For the most part the seasonal campers are nice people, but when we camped there last, a lot of them were fed up and not going to return. There are people up at night making noise and no one comes around to check on things. There is no security either. If you want a party campground with no rule enforcement, this is your place. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$38
This is our favorite campground in Pennsylvania. The owners make the effort to maintain the facilities to a high standard. The pool is one of the cleanest pools that I have ever seen. The owner spends almost an hour every morning cleaning the pool. The Lake front sites are to die for. The other sites are mostly pretty roomy. The staff goes the extra mile to make your stay enjoyable. For instance the owner's son saw me walking to the dumpster and he stopped and offered to take my trash to the dumpster. The campground sits at a high elevation and is quite cool. We have run the heat in August during the night. We have never had a problem with the electricity even with the air on. I have seen people have trouble trying to use 50 amp adapters on the 30 amp hook ups. The best seasonals are the friendliest group i have run into. I am normally turned off by parks that have a lot of seasonals. This place is the exception. The owner seems to not have a problem with kicking out problem campers. This is important in a campground with a lot of seasonal sites. It is a long drive into town (about 25 minutes). This is either an asset or a liability depending on your needs and attitude. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2009
$35
This campground is in the middle of nowhere and the sites are not really set up to support large motorhomes. We had problems with the electrical cutting off at the box outside and were told that we should shut off the A/C to keep the circuit from blowing. If you are a tent camper or in a smaller 5th wheel or trailer, this is a nice campground. There are lots of activities for children. We would not return to this campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$40
Wow! We used to go to a different campground nearby for July 4 holiday. We've found a diamond in the rough here. Extremely friendly staff. Very friendly campground. They had a 35 minute fireworks show over the lake (outstanding). Good fishing in the lake (catch and release; some nice size bass) Now the negatives: Roads were pretty slippery but take into consideration it rained something like 24 days in June. Water pressure up on top of the hill where we were was pretty weak. Our solution was to just fill our tanks and use the pump. Problem solved. I'm also not so sure the electric up top is 30 amp. We didn't need the AC because those sites are fully shaded. I did use the microwave and it didn't sound like it was getting full power.We do a lot of state parks so we're kind of used to roughing it a little. The positives far outweigh the negatives here. We'll definitely be going back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$38
This was my first visit to this campground. It is very quiet and the staff were great! Sites are very large and some with grass. The small lake is a nice size and the kids had great fishing with a variety of fish. I'm going back for the fall 09 colors! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$30
Beautiful campground way out in the middle of nowhere just where we wanted to be. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$40
We camped there during Memorial Day weekend & the place was crowded. The staff was friendly. The pool was supposed to be heated, but it wasn't. If you are able to get a lakeside spot, you would have enough space; however, we did not. Our lots were small, and everyone was on top of one another. My in-laws stayed in the cabins, and they were in great condition. There were alot of activities for everyone. I would return only if I could book a lakeside spot. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$39
We camped at Ponderosa Pines the weekend of May 1st, which was their opening weekend of 2009 camping season. We are so happy we found this campground on the internet. It is a great place to stay. The owners and staff are friendly, helpful and willing to help with whatever you need. They've just added disc golf. We didn't know how to play so their Activities Director showed us how and now we love the game. We could of stayed for an entire week and still had something to do every day. We've already made reservations for additional weekends this summer. Great place to stay. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
March 2009
$35
The park is very nice, big lake, good fishing, but the owners should not be in this business. We went here with a party of 4 campers. Made reservations 3 months in advance. When we got there, all was messed up. Our party was split up. We were told that we still owed money. Then I found our party was split due to the owner's friends wanted the sites. I spoke with the seasonals and was told these were new owners and that they were not renewing their seasonal sites. I will not return here We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2007
$30
Very nice park, but very noisy from other campers allowed to sing and chant late at night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2007
$30
This is by far the nicest campground that we have visited. The management and the seasonal campers went out of their way to make us feel welcome. It is very nice and quiet and the fishing is superb. The pool is among the nicest that I have seen. The only bit of caution that I have is that the cell service is very spotted. There is absolutely no road noise except for a few ATVS int he distance. We reserved for another weekend later in the summer. My Favorite campground in PA! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$30
Nice remote location at elevation. Great fishing in pond! Owners were very nice and friendly. We'd camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com