217661 User submitted reviews online!!
Big Pine Key Fishing Lodge was rated 8 out of 10 based on 9 user reviews. Phone: (305) 872-2351
CGID636

Big Pine Key Fishing Lodge

Camp Information
Sites
97
Date of Stay
June 2013
Latest Rate
$57



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
no
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   7   8   9   8   8   2   10   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$57
This is our favorite place ever. Super clean. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Lots of events for all ages. Key Deer are amazing! Even if you don't have a boat there are rentals on the property. Lots of places to bike. Close to everything in the lower Keys. We can't say enough about how much we love it here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2013
$47
This park has multi-generation returning guests who stay all season. We needed just a few nights but were able to get a reservation in the rustic section with no hookups which was fine and at a reasonable price for the Keys. After making a deposit, we noticed in the literature mailed to us that generators are not allowed at any time which made our stay a bit more challenging. Some campers return each year but use solar panels. No dogs are allowed, not a problem for us. Facilities are very nice, lots of winter activities, great for boaters. Management very well organized. We might return if we could ever get a site with electricity. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2011
$55
We very much enjoyed our stay here. The comments about tight maneuvering and parking are not exaggerated: it took a village to park our 34' motorhome. Motorhomes any larger are really not feasible, but longer trailers or 5th wheelers can be done because of the park's parking service. This means that you really can't count on day trips out in your motorhome. There is bus service around Big Pine and the keys, but no bus stop near the park. The park is right on the ocean, but not a beach per se. There is an excellent hiking trail with trails to the water, small fire pits on the water, and geocaching searches. The pool is nice, a bit on the small-side as is the playground. Recreation center includes pool table, ping pong table, a few arcade games, a large TV, and a rec room. The store is well stocked, with both food and supplies. There are boats that can be rented for days trips on the water. The Key Deer really do roam the park and are not afraid of the people, or campfires as we found out while roasting marshmallows on the water! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2010
$53
We spent six days camping here over Thanksgiving week. We loved it! Lots to do and see. Everything was spotless: the restrooms, rec room, pool area, etc. The camp store was very well stocked and the prices weren't highway robbery. Only 30 miles south to Key West and about two miles north to Bahia Honda State Park. The Key Deer were all over the place and very friendly. They often came walking through our campsite. No pets are allowed because of the deer. The RV sites were nice, but some areas are a little tight. The campsite offers a service where you pay them $15.00 and they place your camper in your spot using their tractor. If you have a long trailer like I do (30 ft), PAY THE MONEY! It was well worth it. Some of the sites are close to the Overseas Highway Bridge, so it's a little noisy for those sites; however, that wouldn't keep me from those sites as they are really nice. If you aren't into camping or have friends that want to vacation with you but who do not camp, Big Pine Key Fishing Lodge has very nice motel units and rental mobile homes. We'll definitely be going back. By the way, Big Pine Key Fishing Lodge does not have a website. It's all by word of mouth. It's a best kept secret! I give this place a 9 instead of a 10 because of the no-see-ums, the bridge noise and the sites being a little tight. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2009
$65
We have stayed many times and find it to be one of the most enjoyable trips we make. The owners are so very nice and the office staff is very helpful. The pool is upstairs above the game room and it's a gorgeous view from the pool. It is not part of the Encore chain and it is not run down in anyway. There are apartments you can rent, hint the name Lodge. I do not understand how anyone could mistake it for some of the others in the area. No pets because of the key deer that roam throughout the campground. Fabulous views of the ocean and the gulf when the seaplanes land. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2009
$65
I am really confused because I can not believe that the last reviewer actually stayed here. All I can say is that I have been familiar with this park for several years and stayed here a couple of times while in the Keys and I have never experienced anything like the last reviewer related except for the fact that most of the people who stay there are transients. They eventually move on and do not live there permanently. After all it is an RV park not an apartment building. This place is clean, friendly and in a great area. If you are towing a boat then this is the place to stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
October 2009
$65
We stayed at this park many years ago and it was private owned. It was very nice at this time. It was expensive but we didn't care because it was nice. We stayed there again this Oct. and it is owned by Encore. It has went down. The roads are full of pot holes, junk laying all over the place. Many of the sites look like they are occupied by refugees and transients. Latin music is playing loud all the time. The staff is very rude and most of the workers don't speak English. The pool was closed and so were many of the other areas such as the game room and canteen. I think the owners are using this place for a write off and don't care what it's like. It will be a long time before I go again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$40
Its our family tradition. Endangered key deer visit campsites in the evening. Family oriented. The best place in the world to get away. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2002
$20
If you tow a boat they will remove from motorhome with a small tractor, launch boat, park trailer in storage lot and you can drive boat around to your camp site.Great service, marina and fuel on site. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com