221664 User submitted reviews online!!
Torreya State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 18 user reviews. Phone: (850) 643-2674
CGID6378

Torreya State Park

Camp Information
Sites
30
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$18



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   9   8   7   8   5   9   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$18
This park has a very different feel than any other of the many Florida parks that we have visited. It is only about 15 miles off of Interstate 10 but has a very remote feel. The road to the park is good but very narrow and at times slow. I suggest you use Exit 166 off of Interstate 10. There are numerous well-placed signs leading you to the park. There is about a half mile of dirt road leading to the campground and the drive and sites in the campground are dirt/sand. There were some pretty big potholes and standing water during our visit. There is a gated entrance but the gate was not working during our visit. The sites are fairly well separated with moderate privacy. Our site, number 19, was a strong 50 amp. Our water hookup was some ways away next to another site, so we just used water out of the tank since we were only staying one night. There is a dump station along the entrance road. It was stopped up during our visit and not draining. We had a very strong Verizon phone and data signal with 4G service. We were able to find a hole in the fairly dense vegetation to get satellite, but it is not easy. There is a historic house with tours at 10:00 during the week, so we were not able to participate because of our brief stay. This is not a park that I would recommend for a simple overnight while traveling I-10, it takes too long to get there and it is too difficult. We plan to return at some time and spend a few days there to relax. That is the type of park that it is. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$18
Friendly and informative staff. A little ways off the I-10 but well sign-posted and well worth it if you like an isolated and beautifully scenic location. The road in the park is sandy and bumpy. Our site was long but many are not. Reservations are critical as this is a small popular park. You're on your own for Internet service. Beautiful walking in the park along the river. We loved it here and would definitely revisit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2014
$16
Beautiful views, clean (although small) heated restrooms, dirt roads and pads. Did I mention the beautiful views? Hiking trails we were unable to take advantage of due to our limited stay. Small park with only 30 sites, definitely a "come back again" park! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2013
$16
Campground is located about 12 miles off of I-10 Exit 166. Directions to the park are well marked once off of I-10. The road is hilly and curvy, and a bit narrow until you reach the Liberty County line, where the roads become a bit wider. Some speed limits to the park are really low for such a rural area (35 MPH) because of an uptick in driveways. At the entrance to Torreya, there is a night gate. If you have reservations and are arriving late, be sure to call ahead to get the keypad number. The campground is reached on a packed sand and gravel roadway. Each site is sandy, fairly level, and firm. Sites 1-16 are pretty close with little privacy vegetation separating the sites. Fire rings are located behind each site. Each site has 30A max. Sites 17-30 are a bit larger, further separated, and have more vegetation. These sites have 50A service. Water pressure and electricity operated perfectly. Bathrooms were spotless, and kept that way. Staff friendly. Quiet and dark at night. Coyotes howling. A CCC barracks building serves as a sitting area and office, with a book exchange. Washer and dryer available for $1 per load. Yurt and camping cabin looked clean, each had a nice deck overlooking the ravines. DTV service was outstanding, with all major networks represented two and three times. CSpire phone service was 3 bar voice, consistent 3G service. Cell phones operate confused as to what time it is. The park is in the Eastern Time Zone, while across the river is Central Time Zone. If you have minutes vs. free minute times, you need to be careful. Rangers said Copperheads are a problem in warmer months, and warnings were posted. Torreya is primarily engaged in being the premier hiking park of Florida, especially given the spectacular topography (about a 200 ft range from ridge tops to the Apalachicola River banks). It is also a botanical and birdwatching wonderland, rich in biodiversity. More akin to the Appalachian Mountains than Florida. The Gregory House, an antebellum plantation house, is worth the $3 tour fee. Small but nice gift shop. Group picnic facilities are vast, looked new. Children's playground located there, excellent for family reunions and large picnics. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$19
Very quiet park. We were in # 16 which was very nice and right next to the overlook so only neighbors on one side. Our satellite worked well in this site, but could be a problem in others due to the trees. We got there on a Thursday and there were only 3 other campers in the park. By the weekend there were probably about 10 others and that included the yurt and cabin. This is the first state park we've been too where you proceed to the sight. There's no check-in at the gate. The sign said to check in between 3 and 5 at the building in the center of the campground, but no one was there. Awhile later the ranger came by with the info to re-enter the campground after hours. Most of the other campers were tent campers and most people were hiking. This location is far from any groceries and gas so come prepared. Not many restaurants to chose from either, but we enjoyed our stay. The view was wonderful and even though we didn't do the tour of the house, the view from the back was great. Restrooms were very clean! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2012
$14
We reserved our spot in Reserve America and had no interaction with anyone at the park. The staff did pass by occasionally but never did anything other than wave at us. The park was full, the trails for hiking were nicely maintained and everyone was friendly. We enjoyed the visit and plan to return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2012
$16
Best part of Torreya is the hiking trails. They are like no other in Florida. Miles of remote trails filled with hills (mountains by Florida standards) and gorgeous views. But make sure you are a great hiker; especially for the Torreya Challenge - its tough, no water and no exits. But totally worth it. The campground is older but still nice in that its remote. Our favorite site was 17 because it overlooked a 150ft cliff into the wilderness and did not have neighbors on one side. Caution with this site. The water hook up is on the wrong side and a long hose is needed. The Ranger gave us one since ours was too short. Campground host is amazing. Super nice guy and so very helpful. Bathrooms are older and hot water goes quickly. Overall, it’s OK in that it’s remote and good hiking. But that’s it…limited biking, no water access for 30 miles. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$9
Rate shown is for Florida resident seniors. We were here for 4 nights in handicapped site #10. This is a beautiful, scenic park with many trails through atypical Florida terrain-many ravines and hills with radical elevation changes. Most trails start downhill so be prepared for uphill on the return as the campsites are on a ridge high point. The park is on the "Bluffs" side of the Apalachicola River with overlooks at the camping area and at the historic Gregory House. The bathrooms and showers have recently been totally redone and are perfect. The access to the handicapped bathroom and shower is about 50 feet from sites 9 and 10 and are separate buildings (very spacious) from the main bathrooms and showers located between 24 and 25. Firewood is $3.00 donation per bundle, bundles that would go for $5 to $6 at other parks. We got 26 TV channels with a simple non-adjustable antenna. Cell phone reception on T-Mobile and AT&T was excellent. It is about 12 to 15 miles to ice or convenience stores, so don't forget anything. With few exceptions, the sites are narrow with little buffer between sites and not much screening vegetation. Site 1 has an interesting overlook effect but overall, 1 through 14 are narrow. Site 16 is fantastic, as the overlook is between 16 and 17 and 16 has a beautiful view over a 150 foot drop to the river valley. Site 17 and 18 and 30 offer better privacy than most other sites. All sites are convenient to the bathrooms. Contrary to the way I describe the sites, when we go back, we will take any of them! The old CCC barracks is used as an office for the rangers, but has games, books and toys available. The rangers were very helpful and friendly. There is a washer and dryer at the main restrooms. This is a first class facility and perfect for hikers and families. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$16
Beautiful park, with a wonderful history. We enjoyed the trails although use caution as the snakes are out. We did the online reservation system, and on arrival found our site had not been marked as reserved. It wasn't a problem since the park was mostly empty, but it could have been if the park had been busier. Be sure to take in the Gregory house and the trails. Bristol is the closest to get supplies, at the Piggly Wiggly which is fairly new. It's only about 11-12 miles away. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2011
$17
Wonderful State Park, we love to camp there and try to go at least 2 times a year. Trails, wildlife, photographic views and educational. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2011
$16
This small campground is located in a large state park that has miles of hiking trails. It’s quite some distance to the nearest town, so be sure to pack all that you’ll need for your stay. The remote location makes this a good place to relax. Verizon broadband offers a medium-strength signal while several of the major networks can be received on over-the-air digital TV channels. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2011
$16
Out in the boondocks..very quiet and dark..site #2 is too small for anything..only 2 cement pads for handicap. Most sites are well kept, fire pits, 1/2hr to minimal shopping, beautiful, and tall treed location. Tough but not impossible for satellite. Verizon phone and Wi-Fi had strong signals. Several TV stations via rabbit ears. Camp is on highest point in Florida. Great hiking. Gregory House tour inside park.. Would come back and recommend. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2011
$17
This campground is small but the rangers are very friendly. The sites are dirt but they are was cleaned and all leaves blown off. We do not mind the dirt. The bathrooms were clean. Just plan your bath time when the campground is not busy (or you will not have enough hot water). We will be back to camp here in the future. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2010
$17
This is an unimpressive campground at first glance, largely because the last road into the sites is narrow and dirt, but it is pleasant once you get settled. Most of the sites are also dirt, but they have a fair amount of separation. There is excellent walking and bicycling, and the park includes an 1800s plantation house (moved from elsewhere). Verizon is available, but weak. We definitely will visit again. However, the park is not easily accessible from I-10, so we will come in from the south side. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$18
We spent 2 nights here in October. There are a limited number of big rig sites with 50 AMP and water. All the sites are fully shaded. We observed a lot of wildlife. The park is named for the Torreya tree that is very rare and only found in the local area. There is a manor house/museum with daily tours. The views are great. This park is off the beaten path, but is well worth a 2 night stay. The restrooms and showers are very clean. We would stay here again for a getaway with nature. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$17
I have to give this park a high rating because it's so pretty. We loved staying here! However, you need to know we were in a 40' motor home, and it was a bit tricky getting into our site! Lots of trees in the way! I doubt they can fit many of us big ones there at a time, and you really need two people to coordinate the maneuvering! Also, the road in (several miles) is quite narrow and no shoulder! It didn't help that it was pouring rain while we were on this unfamiliar, narrow road! Just the luck of the draw. But we made it, and we're glad. Yes, it's out in the sticks, but it's a lovely spot. You can go check out the Gregory House. The rangers give tours daily (10am on weekdays, 10am, 2pm, and 4pm I think on weekends, we ended up not having time to attend). Nice view of the Apalachicola River from here. And lots of trails to hike. The CG itself is mostly sand but easy to drive on, even when wet. My hubby said the bathrooms and showers were spotless. They had one washer, which had an out of order sign on it, but I guess the dryer worked. The rangers and hosts at the park all very nice people. And I couldn't believe it, but we had a good satellite signal here! They were expecting more of a crowd for the weekend, but we were lucky to be here when things were pretty quiet. Price seemed cheap, even without senior discount (only FL residents get any discount at FL state parks). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2007
$12
A nice FL state park, but not as nice as others I've stayed at. Some sites are narrow due to overgrowth. Also, some sites have electric and water on opposite sides (due to sharing water hookup with neighbor). Water pressure was low, possibly due to drought. Sites are mostly level, but could be difficult to back in with trees depending on type/length of rig. Not much for children to do and park is out of the way (approx. 15+ miles from I-10). A good place to go to relax (without kids). Other FL parks nearby are nicer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2007
$13
Family friendly hiking trails, antebellum mansion to tour. Very quiet. Roasted marshmallows in the campfire ring. Bought wood on honor system for $3 a bundle. Sixteen is a beautiful view site next to open area with lookout deck. Able to get satellite by parking close to the road. A few sites on this row would be too tight for a big rig. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com