223427 User submitted reviews online!!
Rancho Los Coches RV Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 11 user reviews. Phone: (619) 443-2025
CGID6382

Rancho Los Coches RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
142
Date of Stay
October 2012
Latest Rate
$39



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   4   9   6   10   7   9   5   3   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2012
$39
Rate based on 7 day stay. Motorhome has 3 slides. Parked on my patio to get slides out but I can not get into compartments on driver's side due to electric hook up. Sites are VERY NARROW. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2011
$40
We arrived at 06:30pm, and the office was closed. My traveling buddy was directed to the manageress who was very grumpy and not too impressed we turned up "late", despite our calling ahead three hours ago to say we'd be arriving after 6pm as we'd hit traffic and road works. She told us to go park in a lot and to fix the rest of the business up in the morning, then closed the door in her face! Not a friendly reception! And no key to access the facilities overnight that we'd already pre-paid for in full. Boo! No discount given in the morning either for a lack of access to the facilities. The park itself is a little out from San Diego, about 35mins drive, about 3 hours via public transport. On a positive note, there is a bus stop right out the front of the park that takes you to the trolley, which runs into SD. Unfortunately, this service is limited and inconsistent, and non-existent on Sundays. It also drives through some pretty rough neighborhoods. Otherwise, the grounds of the park are clean, and it's got a reasonable amount of shade. It's very hilly with some tight turns. The lots are gravel, some have concrete slabs, and most very uneven. There is a clean pool, 2 large showers with 2 sinks and a key is needed for access. As previously stated, the "Fitness room" is nothing more than a large closet with a treadmill with two dumbbells and a multifunctional gym piece that is falling apart. It requires a code and is located right behind the office. If you use it with music aloud, the office complains. It also smells like it rarely gets air. The laundry is a mix with both top and front washers and there are plenty of dryers, note however, the facilities (including the pool) all get locked at 9pm. Too bad if you are doing laundry and you've spent all day at the SD zoo. The park is generally quiet, filled with a large number of permanent residents, and often it feels like you're intruding. The management is unfriendly, inflexible, and at times, dictatorial rude. One day I mentioned to the office that the hot water was not working in one of the showers after waiting 20mins (timed on my phone). Despite being there a number of nights already - where the water did work - (and in the USA over 4 weeks) and showering frequently, the management told me there was no problem with the unit but they'd get maintenance to review it anyway. The janitor then came to my RV stating because I was "a foreigner", I didn't "know how to use the shower faucet correctly". I was not impressed. Hwy 8, Walmart, Vons, Radioshack and UPS are located about 2mi from the park. I'd recommend staying elsewhere but it'll do if there is no other choice. Although there doesn't not seem like a lot of choice in SD, there is plenty of hidden gems closer to the city. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2010
$41
We stayed in this park two nights on our way home. When we called, we asked if they had any pull throughs and were told they had one which happened to be available. That is true, this is the only pull through site in the park and it is new. It was easy to get into and we had plenty of room. It's on the curve of one of their streets. It isn't level side to side: you'll need to put boards under your wheels on the side away from the road. It's gravel and there is no concrete pad though for our rig, the pad is usually in the wrong place anyway so we didn't care. I can definitely see that many of the other sites are small and getting in to some of them would be a challenge. We received a "goodies bag" upon checking in that contained very helpful info about local businesses, some advertising about the park (pens) and a little bag of Famous Amos' Cookies. No park ever gave us cookies before! We did have trouble with the Wi-Fi the first night but after calling the Customer Service number on the card we were given, it did improve. The park is quiet, the landscaping is lovely and we were most pleasantly surprised. We would definitely stay here again. The nightly rate with a Good Sam discount was $40.50. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2010
$43
We stayed here for five nights. This is an older park. The sites are extremely narrow and tough to get into. (Dented fender to prove it!). We were also told we had 50 amp service. Our breakers kept tripping until the electricity finally quit altogether. The office told us to just plug into the empty spot next to us. Without water for four hours one morning. Don't know why. On the up side, this is a very quiet park. The staff was very friendly. Half hour trip to San Diego for sightseeing. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$25
We have been camping here since the middle of Aug. 2010 and absolutely love the place! This is the cleanest campground we have ever camped in. The showers and restrooms are spotless, as are the pool, spa and laundry room. Staff is very friendly and helpful. This RV park is very quiet and peaceful. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$44
Our first RV trip close to home to test RV systems and get moved in. Spaces are close together, hard to park at our space due to a light pole at the front of the space by the drive aisle. Gravel parking, concrete and paver stone patio at side of trailer. Very friendly staff, very friendly residents eager to assist. Campground very clean and quiet; appeared about half full with 75% of those camped as permanent residents. Access drive windy and a little steep at back of park, but no trouble for the fifth wheel. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$43
This park is an excellent place to be. Granted the roads are narrow as it is an older park, but the management is friendly and helpful and the people are nice. I would recommend this park to anyone who wants a nice beautiful peaceful place to go. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2009
$45
Visually attractive,clean and well shaded park with unique layout. Very tight spaces with twisty, hilly, turns makes larger rig parking difficult. More suited to 30' max for short term camping. There are larger rigs, but they are full timers who are set up as permanent or semi permanent residents who are employed in the surrounding area. There is a clean pool, but only has a depth of 5' and is about average size for an RV park. 2 large showers with 2 sinks and a key is needed for access. Fitness room is nothing more than a large closet with a single barely functional multi exercise unit with two dumbbells and several treadmills. To enter, a 4 digit punch in code is needed, but you'll most likely turn around and exit immediately upon entry, or not return a second time. Plenty of washers and dryers that are clean and functional. Although the park is generally quiet, a large group of ravens or crows dominate the parks trees and are quite loud and disturbing. Each space has a small concrete pad that needs to be reached by crossing about 10' of stone pebbles which presents a major problem for motorcycle parking and turn arounds. I would suggest two wheelers avoid this park for any stay over a few days as maneuvering about these pads which have a small drop off, is exasperating and dangerous. Management is inflexible, dictatorial, and unfriendly. It's almost like being in some kind of confinement atmosphere. I had planned on spending the summer here to escape the Arizona heat, but after only a few days have decided to look elsewhere as the parks minuses outweigh the pluses. I certainly will not return, and recommend anyone looking for a casual, fun, park look elsewhere. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2008
$45
There are narrow roads, and space numbers are not clearly indicated. There are some unfriendly full time residents. I would not stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2007
$35
Small park wedged into a little town. Level sites, but very close when you put out the awning. Bath house use only if you put a deposit for the key, so we didn't. Lots of long term residents. No noise from the highway that's only a mile away. Restaurants and shopping in nearby El Cajon. Good Verizon cell and aircard service. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
February 2007
$38
Nice visual park in city area near hwy. Hilly, twisty, narrow interior roads with very narrow difficult to get into sites. We went to 3 before fitting into one. Would be better for smaller RV's We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com