206876 User submitted reviews online!!
Pecos River RV Park & Store was rated 6 out of 10 based on 11 user reviews. Phone: (575) 887-9835
CGID6385

Pecos River RV Park & Store

Camp Information
Sites
18
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$39



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
2   3   8   5   3   8   4   7   8   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
April 2014
$39
This place is a dump. It's actually an old trailer park behind a convenience store. The street noise was loud, and the published pictures were not representative. The neighborhood worried us so we just locked our doors and waited for morning so we could leave. Very overpriced. Driving in and out with our 34' motorhome and toad was a real challenge. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2013
$33
A very old campground. Poorly maintained. 50 amp service but no circuit breaker. The electrical receptacle actually had old fashioned fuses. Large, half-dead pecan trees overhung the camp sites. I asked the owner who would be responsible if a large limb fell on a camper and he said that would be considered an act of God which means he would not be responsible even though he knew the trees were half dead. No thanks-we will stay elsewhere the next time we stay in Carlsbad. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2011
$27
Pecos River RV Park & Store is located on the Pecos River in Carlsbad, NM, on Greene Street. Access is a little tricky because the highway going past the park in under construction and the bridge very near the park is being re-enforced so one lane is closed during the day just before the entrance to the park. The easiest access is through the drive directly behind the store and it takes you into a small but neat campground with full hookups and level gravel sites with wood picket fences separating the sites. There is a Pecos River Walk easily accessible from the park and it's lighted at night with paved walkways. The park owner is a great guy who goes out of his way to make you feel at ease and he takes immediate action if there is a problem with the site or hookups. This is a good place to stay over for a night or two, or the long term, depending on your needs, and it's close to Carlsbad Caverns National Park and Guadalupe Mountains National Park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2010
$33
Park management is very friendly and helpful. There are only 2 pull through sites in this very small park (it looks like they might count the driveway as a third one). The one shower was "closed for repairs". Supposedly there was one bathroom, but in order to get to it you'd have to walk through what looks like a mini-junkyard next to a house, so I can't comment on the condition. The park borders the Pecos River and was easily accessible to a lovely paved riverwalk that went in both directions on the river: very nice for walking or bicycling. There was a nice public beach and park that was within walking distance. The pull-through's are in the front of the park so there is an awful lot of truck and motorcycle noise and the train tracks are across the river, so you hear them, too. Most of the park seems to be permanent residents, but they are quiet and well-maintained. Park is convenient to Wal-Mart, other grocery stores and restaurants. No pool or laundry. Free Wi-Fi worked pretty well and the cable TV was limited but worked well. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
March 2009
$33
This park was a major disappointment. We are in a 45ft coach and had made reservations two weeks in advance. Upon our arrival there were only two open sites. One under a large tree with electric but no sewer; the other in the driveway immediately next to it. The spacing was so tight that we weren't certain we would even fit. With careful maneuvering we managed. Our spot was the one under the tree and less than 75ft from the highway. The traffic was heavy, and we spent a very noisy night. All of the other spots looked as though they were filled by full-time residents. To access the riverwalk you had to take the stairs next to the highway bridge. There was a man and his dog living under the bridge. We had originally planned to stay two nights but left immediately in the morning. We won't go to the Pecos River Park again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2009
$30
Good cable & Wi-Fi. Very friendly & helpful owners. Nice place at river walk behind park to walk pets. Mostly long term renters. Call ahead. If you pull a toad, plan on un-hooking to leave park, even with a pull-thru. The biggest down to this otherwise very nice park is the road noise. It starts early, before 5 AM, and it seems every pickup truck in Carlsbad has to have loud tailpipes. Even given that, we would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2008
$30
This is a small RV park located along the Pecos River in the city of Carlsbad. It had a number of long term campers in it during our stay. There are several back-in sites along the river and two level, gravel shaded pull-thru sites for short term stays. The owners were very helpful and friendly. Their convenience store is located adjacent to the park which is handy. The WI-FI signal and cable TV were very good. The only drawback to this park besides the limited number of spaces available for campers is that it is located along a thoroughfare through Carlsbad, and truck and car traffic are heavy 24/7. The road noise is very noticeable and bothersome(at least to us) at the pull-thru sites which are about 150 feet from the road. Noise level would probably be acceptable further into the park. This park is convenient if you are visiting or have business in Carlsbad, but we probably would not stay here again when just visiting the caverns. I would have rated this park higher if road noise had not been so loud. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$27
Nice small park in Carlsbad. Some traffic noise and some train noise. Friendly staff. Appears to be 4 sites for transient RV's with remainder taken by permanents. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$35
Wonderful small park. The new owners are great, live here, hands on with a smile. Our site backed up to the edge of the park, with only the lighted walking/bicycle path, between us and the Pecos River. The park has big shade trees, lots of grass, flat gravel parking, Wi-Fi worked great, kitty friendly, and everything worked. I would guess half the sites were long term visitors, we would have stayed longer but our site was reserved. If we find ourselves back in this area we would definitely come back. There was, unfortunately, no recycling available on the park grounds. We did find a yard with dumpsters just across the rail road tracks. They took cardboard, and plastic, but not glass. Oh yes: there are local trains across the river so there is some noise. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2007
$35
We have been in the campground for awhile now and find it to be great. The new owners are truly good people and are trying as hard as they can to upgrade the camp as quickly as possible. You will not be disappointed. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2006
$25
New owners just took over the park and the phone number change making it hard to find someone. The park is right on the river and centrally located in Carlsbad. It has large trees surrounding the place. The new owners have some work to do and they said the rates would go up but if you ask me it is worth it. There is not another park in the area that has that much shade and is right on the river. We enjoyed walking on the riverwalk in the afternoon. If you are looking for good size spaces and friendly faces, this is the place to stay. We will be back! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com