220931 User submitted reviews online!!
Brannan Island State Recreation Area was rated 5 out of 10 based on 7 user reviews. Phone: (916) 777-6671
CGID6395

Brannan Island State Recreation Area

Camp Information
Sites
102
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$48



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
1   8   6   6   4   5   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
April 2014
$48
Great location and facilities but the people running the area don't answer phone nor do they return calls when you leave a message. Most of the time there was nobody in office at front gate to ask questions either. Fees are ambiguous; extra cars some signs say $8/night, others signs and people say $10/night. RV sites very close to each other and very small. Trees blocked exit out of RV area so i had to back out so I didn't damage my trailer. Tree also blocked access to dump station. People running place came by camp and rudely stated we must move a car parked on lawn, and couldn't wait for me to finish dinner before he "called in re-enforcements" to get us to move the car. All I wanted to do was finish my dinner. This was after the same people had driven by camp 5-6 times before and seen the same car parked there for the last 1.5 days and said nothing. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$40
We stayed in this park for one night on very short notice. We were fortunate and got a site with electric and water hookup. We found it very quiet, pleasant and enjoyable. It is on the Sacramento delta and the area is known for being windy. Be forewarned; awnings and other external equipment will be put to the test. There is no store on the site, but the town of Rio Vista is just 3 miles to the north and has supermarkets with just about everything you could need. They do have boat launching ramps and the fishing on the delta seems pretty good. We'd camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2009
$35
Good place to go off season. Hook-up sites are very few and can be windy in the early spring and fall, but the park has built a berm around the trailer sites, so it helps. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2009
$28
The hookup 12 sites are crammed together, but with water, electric (30/50), picnic table and fire ring. The sites are very close together, so you can hear and see your neighbors business. We wanted to sit and enjoy the campfire at night but had to listen to our neighbor's music and fights; we finally went inside. It was not too crowded in the off season; could not imagine when it's full. The non-hookup sites are spacious so might be more pleasant. Access to the river/slough is fenced off in most places. Most folks were here for fishing or boating. We'll come back but only in the winter when quiet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2008
$15
I went for the AWA ride back in June. Cool during the day, cold and very very windy at night. Ice Cold (Pay with quarters)showers. River water was warmer, not kidding. No ranger at night, so if you don't like to party all night, don't stay here. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2007
$28
We checked in on the 5th of July and had booked one of the more expensive sites that had both electrical and water. The significant problem was that these sites are small should only be used for trailers and motor homes. Unfortunately the Rangers allowed tent campers to use these sites and created a very messy situation. All of the tent campers spilled over into adjacent sites and made for a stressful trip. The park itself is sprawling and spacious. There is a large boat ramp and swimming area, though there is little access to the delta along the shore line due to it being fenced off. If I go again it would only be in off season times and would opt for a regular camping site as opposed to the more expensive sights with the water and electrical hookups. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2007
$13
This is an attractive public campground set along the Sacramento River Delta. It is has a large boat ramp and docks for those who like to boat and/or fish. We enjoyed walking along the many trails that meander through the park. There is a dump station available. I don't remember if there were any pull-through sites, but we had no trouble getting our 32' Class A into a back-in spot. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com