223554 User submitted reviews online!!
Furnace Creek (NPS Campground) was rated 7 out of 10 based on 26 user reviews. Phone: (760) 786-3200
CGID6396

Furnace Creek (NPS Campground)

Camp Information
Sites
136
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$18



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   7   9   8   5   8   6   7   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  question  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2014
$18
Dry camped. Spacious back in spot, paved. Table and fire ring. Very busy in March, recommend reservations. Roomy dump station close to sites. Will stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2014
$18
Rate is for a dry camp site, paved, back in. Reservation fee comes on top. This campground is pretty busy, compared to others in Death Valley. No privacy or shade. Be aware of sudden windstorms. We experienced one while staying and saw several awnings being ripped off the rig. Best thing about the campground is its central location in Death Valley. Potable water at the washrooms. We saw some people using their phone, but had no reception on our Verizon MiFi. There is pay as you use WiFi at the general store, but we did not try. When coming back to DV we would rather try the dry camp across the street or go to Stovepipe Wells instead. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2014
$9
This is our second time at this campground. Last year there was no power, but this year there was. No more generator! Huge space, at least 30-40 ft. wide, and reasonably level. Water pressure was adequate. My only complaint would be about the number of fires. You can't leave any windows open or the rig stinks of campfire smoke. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2014
$8
Nice campground with some paved sites with electricity and some in the gravel with dry camping only. Improved sites are more $$. Excellent rest rooms and stainless dish washing station. A few sites where you can get under trees for some shade in hot weather. Make sure to have plenty of provisions. Store about a mile away has very limited choice and Very high prices. Restaurant is also expensive and the staff is very slow and seems to have an attitude. Used Access pass so it was free park entry and $8/night for the campsite. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2013
$37
Although the host claims the restrooms are nearby, it is a 4-block walk from the camping sites to the restrooms. The rusty-looking water runs red when you first turn it on. There is no shade, and the sites are very crowded and un-level. But since it's the only place around, campers can't be choosy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2013
$9
The rate reflects a 50% discount with a Senior Pass. This campground is a little nicer than Stovepipe Wells or Sunset Campground (across the street) since it has more separation between sites and a few trees for a very little bit of shade in some sites. There is a dump station and fresh drinking water. There is also a restroom with flush toilets but there are no showers. Each site has a picnic table. The campground is open year around. It is the only Death Valley campground to accept reservations, and reservations are essential during high season. Satellite is not a problem in most sites since there are few trees. We were surprised that our Verizon phone worked; there is a cell tower at Furnace Creek. However, our Verizon data card did not work. Furnace creek is the main headquarters area for the park. The Visitor Center is a short walk away and there are restaurants and a small (very expensive) store. There is also a gas station with very expensive gasoline and propane. Since we love Death Valley, we would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2013
$16
We looked at the resort with the same name, first. What they had available was in the employee housing area. With a total length of 60' maneuvering around their roads was not worth risking damaging our rig. This Furnace Creek NPS Campground was much nicer then that resort or Stovepipe Wells. It was great not having to run our generator and having water & sewer hook-ups. The campground was very easy getting in and parking. We will definitely return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2013
$18
This is a typical NPS campground, the restrooms where clean, the park was well kept and the spaces where large. The dirt is very fine, it was hard to keep out of the motorhome. The electric is in but they are waiting from Washington DC to tell them how much to charge, in the summer that would be essential. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2012
$9
Stayed 4 nights and it was great. This is a true find. Many spaces now have water and sewer as ours did. Electricity is installed but not turned on yet at many sites. The ranger said that power will be on sometime after the first of the year. Price is with senior discount card. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2012
$18
This is a very nice, clean National Park Campground. Not very many amenities. Clean restrooms, potable water available in places & clean dump station. Dry camping, however the campground closed Feb. 1 after we left. They are in the process of putting in 21 full hookup sites, water, electric & sewer. They are replacing the sewer lines in the park and are going to rebuild the restrooms. Even without hookups, the park was very nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2012
$18
Perhaps the most vegetated of the campgrounds in Death Valley, but still pretty bleak with sites close together. Constant drone of generators between 7 AM and 7 PM. I would rather not stay there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2012
$9
The rate was half price Access card. We came here after two nights at another RV park just up the road. It was quiet, and the stars at night were something to see. The sites were roomy with some small trees. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2011
$18
This park is a great place to stay while exploring Death Valley. It is centrally located and close to services such as gas, restaurants, park headquarters, etc. The campsites are fairly large, level and have a table and firepit. We enjoyed our week-long stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2011
$12
This is a nice centrally located campground in Death Valley. It's the best campground in the area for a large RV. It's just a gravel, self service campground but it was a great base camp for our day trips out into the desert. There are no hook ups, this is dry camping only. Generators are allowed between the hours of 7 a.m and 9 p.m. Except for the one knucklehead from Canada, everyone seems to abide by these hours. The volunteer staff in the campground was less than friendly so if you have questions, go across the street to the visitors center where they at least try to tolerate a 'tourist'. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2011
$9
It is a dry camp but placed in the environment of Death Valley it is nice place to be while viewing the valley. Fresh water and a dump station is available. At the nearby Furnace Creek Ranch there is a restaurant, gift shop and well stocked mini-mart plus a bar. All very pricey, but as they say, "If everyone owns a candle and you have the only match, you can command a steep price for that match". One caution. Top off your propane and vehicle fuel tanks before entering the park. We did so at Amargosa, NV for $2.99 per gallon. The Chevron station at Furnace Creek was asking $4.52 for the same gallon of gas. Diesel was $4.74 a gallon. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2010
$9
Nice secluded park with some trees and nice mountain views. Easy entry with wide sites. Close to Furnace Creek Ranch (walking distance) which has Golf, stores, Post Office, and a really nice hot springs pool (available for $5.00 per person, includes shower) Since this is a National Park campground, my senior pass allowed 1/2 price ($9.00) and Park fee. No hook-ups, but it does have a dump station and fresh water. Great for dry camping. We stayed at Furnace Creek Ranch, which has full hookups, a couple nights and then here to save a few bucks, would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$15
This was dry camping, but it was nice. It was off-season so there seemed to be no staff, but other campers were friendly and courteous. The campground is close to most of the popular attractions as well as the golf course, hotels, and a general store. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2010
$10
This is "camping" for sure without any of the amenities we've come to expect. Campground is within walking distance of the Visitor Center where there is free Wi-Fi. Ranger personnel at Visitor Center are very pleasant and helpful. Park is quiet at night. Not much shade and lots of dirt. Rate is Golden Age Passport. Garmin GPS directed me to turn toward the old Borax mine several hundred yards before the actual turn into the campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2010
$9
Our fourth trip to Death Valley and we enjoyed it just as much this time as in our previous visits. Death Valley is one of our favorite National Parks and Furnace Creek Campground makes a great central location for exploring it. Don't expect luxury, this is basic camping. There are no hook-ups, but a dump station with potable water is available. There are flush toilets, but no showers. Some of the sites have great views of the Panamint and Funeral Mountains. Limited generator hours, no cell phone reception and no Wi-Fi. Come with everything you need. Gas, propane, groceries, etc., are all very expensive within the park and it's a long way to town! The rate quoted is with our Senior Pass. The regular fee is $18. We'd definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2010
$18
Excellent central location for exploring the park. Stayed here for five days. A very short walk to visitor's center which is very nice for daily led ranger programs. The museum is very nice and they also have a well stocked gift shop. The visitor's center along with many other areas within the park are on the list for a major rehabilitation thanks to the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act and the Federal Lands Enhancement Act. Look for this to all take place over the next 24 months. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2009
$18
We stayed here in season and on a Thursday the park was sold out. There were other campgrounds in the area though. No a lot of amenities, but it was expected in this location. The visitors center is nice and offers free Wi-Fi. The signal isn't strong so you most likely won't be able to pick it up from the campground. Furnace Creek Inn is nearby and has a very nice restaurant, although pricey. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$12
A very convenient campground for Death Valley exploring. We were here just before the high season so there were lots of sites available. It might be difficult in the busier season but there is a parking lot style campground across the road with hundreds of sites that will open in peak season. There were a few trees which is rare in Death Valley. There were no amenities but this is why you choose National Parks. Enjoyable stay for two nights. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2008
$9
Golden Age rate. Not one of the better National Parks that we have been in, but considering the location it wasn't bad at all. Death Valley is a really big place, 3.4 million acres. Our only mistake was forgetting to fill our toad. Gas is available here but, 60 - 70 (cents per gallon) over the going rate back in Pahrump. Our pull through was nice and level, a very large site, #62. You just have to watch out when the wind blows. Keep everything closed, because it takes dusty to a new level. We played 18 holes at the Furnace Creek Golf Course; a very nice course for the location, water hazards and all. Coyotes running around all over the course. Besides the gas station and golf course, they also have a store, cafe, saloon, post office, sit down restaurant, etc. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2008
$18
Basic campground in Death Valley--the best one in the valley without many amenities. No hookups, but a good spot for sightseeing. Next to the golf course. Sites are very busy due to the demand in the valley. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2007
$18
I agree with the above poster. I got a pull through site and it was level. I saw other campers swimming at the Resort pool though we didn't. You can only camp here for 14 days each year, so its not a place to winter. Be sure to come fully supplied, the closest full grocery is in Parumph. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2007
$18
Furnace Creek Campground is operated by the National Park Service, not a concessionaire. We have stayed at two other campgrounds in Death Valley (Texas Spring and Mesquite Spring) and like this campground the best. First, there is some shade, albeit of a limited variety. Secondly, it is centrally located within the park and thirdly, it enjoys some nice views of the Panamint and Funeral Mountains which make for good sunset and sunrise watching. Additionally, it is within walking distance of the Visitors Center and the other services of Furnace Creek - store, post office, restaurant, etc. Amenities at the campgrounds in Death Valley are limited, but that's not what you come here for. I based my overall rating more on a comparison to other campgrounds in Death Valley, rather than to private campgrounds or resorts elsewhere. Generators are allowed but restricted to limited hours. There are a few pull-throughs. We had no trouble getting our 32' Class A in here. There are no hook-ups, but there is a dump station and potable water is available. The restrooms have just toilets and sinks, no showers. Reservations can be made at 1-800-365-2267 or reservations.nps.gov. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com